92 year old man sings love song to dying wife in heartbreaking video that has gone viral | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 24 September 2015

92 year old man sings love song to dying wife in heartbreaking video that has gone viral

An elderly man's sweet serenade to his dying wife while in hospice care is warming the hearts of viewers across the globe.
Erin Solari recorded her grandfather Howard Serena, 92, singing "You'll Never Know" by Rosemary Clooney and Harry James to his wife Laura, 93, on Sept. 12. Laura currently suffers from dementia.
"We knew that this was probably the last time, so we wanted to capture that moment," Solari told ABC News today. "It was really loving.
"For me, right after the video, I was so overcome," Solari added. "I broke down and started crying. I was so happy that I'd captured this moment for my family. It touched me, so it doesn't surprise me that it touched other people as well."
The elderly couple have nine children and 18 grandchildren. They've been married for 73 years.
Solari's heart-warming video was a hit on social media.
"It [the video] was posted minutes after it happened on Facebook and it had over 3 million views," she said. "I know it seems private, but my family is very proud and happy to share this love with the world. As for the feedback, all the love and support we've gotten, being around my grandmother, I believe it maybe it had a little bit of an impact of her feeling better. She's been able to go home and we are very appreciative of that as well."
After being told the video had gone viral, Laura remarked:
"I told you Howard that I'd make you famous."
Watch the video below

114 comments:

awwww! so heart rendering.
So lovely of him.

seyi crown said...

That's so sweet, I can't hold back my tears

Seyilicious

This is exactly the kinda luv I'm talking about.Grandma & Grandpa growing old together not the Romeo & Juliet dying for love or the Paris & Helen causing the Trojan war kinda luv.
This is so so touching.This days true luv is in short supply & the remaining few of us with a dose of it aren't even many to share it around.Whew!

sky said...

Aawww. Good bless them

I hope it will make people believe in love again. Love and marriage.

Eyaaaaaa. Shows he really loves her. May God grand him d fortitude to bear the lost.

To blog or to blog not? said...

So sweet. Brought tears to my eyes.

Truthurts said...

Now this is wat we call LOVE!

Chai,so touching

So touching, brought tears to my eyes. Thank God she is getting better.

Awwwwwww, So touching .

Order for your beautiful bedspreads @ 5671CDBE. Delivery available nationwide.

http://jobrize.com/index.php?ref=313816

My eye became watery as I watched the video clip. True love is hard to find.

Awww! How loving...

Awwwwwww..... That's so nice αи∂ lovely. See love at old age

#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise

OMG! so lovely. This is The Notebook all over again.

Wow! 73yrs and nine children later... OMG! This could only be love.

<< LIB Addict >>

Oh! Agape love.what a touching video.if only our todays our youth will emulate this pure love,not showing us his wife curve or the wife showing us her husband huge dick.
Am sure that yoruba men and women are seeing this extended to africa at large.

Awwwww, dis is so touching. Linda take note!

Oh! Agape love.what a touching video.if only our todays our youth will emulate this pure love,not showing us his wife curve or the wife showing us her husband huge dick.
Am sure that yoruba men and women are seeing this extended to africa at large.

So who took the video and who released it, bcos i didn't read the post

ada said...

Lord please strengthen my marriage with love stronger than this. 73years! Wow.

And some idiots approve divorce, learn from these 2. Am sure it wasn't easy but they lived through it. And who says marriage and love isn't one of the best things that can happen to one, am a prove of these.
Perseverance.
God bless them

Touching indeed.... true love stands till the test of time #onelovefromsnow#

Really, this is sweet.
Married for 73 years? Wow wow!!! That's the kinda marriage I desire.

Linda how can you just make me cry this early morning. So so sweet

ebony said...

Wow! How sweet. I and my hubby will live this old together in love

Omotayo said...

wish I could do this someday. So sweet, life's good when you see and hear things like this.

Sweetest thing. Growing old with your lover and having your lover there by your side till the last breath... #sweetestthingever

luvmybaby said...

True love! I wish we stil hav it in dis our open eye generation! Am a sucker for true love jst hope I find it someday

Wow ! It's just too emotional

Awww.. 73 Years of marriage? So swit!! N myn is just 3+ n my hubby is tlkin about divorcing me to his frnds olredy, stil waiting for him coz d only thing this marriage has done to me is emotionally drain me of my self worth.

Touching!

Pro. promisepompom@yahoo.com said...

Just seeing this stuff this morning Linda my love thanks for posting this, can't express how I feel watching this stuff. O God pls I want to this to my wife in our old age IJN Amen.

That vuvuzela P guy

Wow....they had me in tears. such Love....i pray for this...

Wow! How sweet...

Touching....

I cried

Debbycorner.blogspot.com

Got to the sweetest video I've ever watched. Made me teary...

So emotional. Was moved to tears

Omagod I cried!

sweet

This is beautiful ... This just made my day

I want this kind of forever .... Till death do us apart kind of love... This got me crying .... My worst fear in life is spending my old age alone... Nahhhhhhh! I can't even imagine that...

Visit register and get paid http://TheRevenueJob.com/?ref=8662

HMMMMM....A MAN IN LUV....TOMJERRYSWIT

It moved to tears. Married for 73 years!!!!!! Who finds this kind of lasting marriage these days. I pray to ve a beautiful and lasting marriage wit my man.

AbiolaVJ said...

Awwww

Love is amazing. ..

andre kelvin said...

Awww

serious love nwa tin tin, Beautiful feeling

Awwww! True love!

Gabby said...

I cried while watching this.. Chai i need this kind of love in my life, honestly love is the sweetest thing ever..

THE VERSATILE BLOGGER AWARDS

Awwww

hrm paul ojeih said...

Dat and dis is wat love should be like care companionship friend ship till dyin days dats wat 'yes I do' means.not divorcee divorcr divorce d wholeworld don go crazy

Omg, got tears.

AWwww! True love

Omg, got tears.

True love

Touching hm.

Oh that lovely. Oh see love. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

Awwwww! So touching...feels so good to love and be in love, genuine love o! not all these craze love we see here Lol

Waoh, this is wat they called love

So very touching. *tears*

Candygirl said...

Oh my God I have tears in my eyes right now!! Lord!!!

Awww lovly true lov

This is how it should be...so lovely

This is how God planned that we should leave and grow old together...no divorce,no change of sex or anything but staying together and going through all thick and thin together God help us all IJN

Abilaxyjewel said...

Brought tears to my eyes. .. soo wish dis kinna love for myslf!

amanda said...

Oooh my God I am so so happy,dis is what luv should be,God please bless my innocence relationship,dat will soon metamorphosis to marriage,Amen....

Awww, i pray I grow old with my husband by my side dis is so beautiful and it gives the hope dat true love still exists

mimi said...

I cried it was so touching, love does exist even at old age. I pray God heals her speedily Amen.

Awww! So touching

Aww..So cute.

Mrs CJ said...

Awwwww
I miss my grannies

BB said...

OMG! That brought tears to my eyes. How how sweet.

itohanhope said...

OMG!!!dis is leaving me in tears..

Awwwww...

Aww...caring old man!

So sweet,,,

Soooooooo touching. Pure Love.

Ooh God!!! how can I survive this *crying***

I cried too. This is love.

Awwww! So touching! Dear lord i need a man that will love me till I'm old and grey! Linda God will give u a young loving man that will love u till u are old and grey in jesus name! Ape ko to je ko ni je'baje loruko jesu!! Love u plenty linda! Ur life is an encouragement /inspiration to lots of us! Pls keep up the good work, God bless!

Speeches

Speechless

Ada Edwards said...

What better lover can a woman pray for?Blessed woman!

Abegi!

These oyinbo people that dump and forget their relatives in nursing homes, only to gather quickly to shoot a video when the person is about to die.

I had to fight back those tears!

Love Is A Beautiful Thing!!!!!!

Oh my God...this is true love.#gift#

Such love!

joy Egbunu said...

Wow! Datz true luv right there!

Queen Raffy said...

omg....this just made mi cry

Sean kessie said...

Wow! So hard broken

Oyindamola said...

True love never dies Am proud of them

AMARACHI (LindaIkeji's Daughter) said...

So sweet!!! Future husband take note

Love is beautiful
God help me locate my missing rib

Continue...

If only 9ja Men can copy this.

brought me to tears

What loss biko?

U are an idiot na... foool

KWEEN said...

Wow. Even at this age, their sense of humor is still sizzling and the love evergreen. This is what true love looks like.

seun said...

love is a beautiful thing regArdless of what age. God bless them both

Ever green love.

Remain strong, God is your strength

Anon 10.44, are u not ashamed even in the face of truth? She got sick and dis took place na si others reach 73yrs in marriage, u try am now and still loving on top. Black man- Black heart!

Pure Love is ALWAYS diff. from PureLust!
One lasts no matter what while the other has uncountable excuses and gives up for d next

Mo Sibyl said...

What a wonderful love steeped in timely moments, adoration and tenderness towards each other.

The Austinite... [Love is God is Love]

Awww, sweet!