African culture! Even as a king, Sanusi kneels to greet his mother (photo) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 9 August 2015

African culture! Even as a king, Sanusi kneels to greet his mother (photo)

That's the Emir of Kano, ,Muhammad Sanusi II kneeling as he greets his mother. Nice.

101 comments:

I don't see the big deal

#kokomistress# said...

Awww! That's so sweet! My mum most not see this...... #alldisyorubamum# u most kneel to say good morning.....

bae said...

Aww.she must be so proud

Awww! What a lovely sight.

Correct guy!
Allah Yaja zamanin sarki sanusi

B4? If not for his mother, where em 4 from enter dis world come become king...linda ijiro okwu here

This ain't no news.....

Bjay Raheem said...

Very rich culture: respect for parents and elders is very paramount in the society.

Well cultured man

I see masquerades. Jeez

Wow! Dis is y they live long bcos they honour their parents. God abundantly bless them and I wish them all d best. Thumbs up and more power to his elbows!

Awwwwww

That's good.

Awwwwww

That's good.

I am humbled by this art of respect.

Sign of humility, nice

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

Sign of humility, nice

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

Nice one.
Shows respect.

Very nice of him.

Gaba da gabanta

Na lie, na leg dey pain am!, lol

All hail cercei.... #justjoking

Why not? Before the king there was a baby suckled and nurtured by a mother. Whatever height u attain in life, you are not above your mother or father... God brought you to this world through them and ur successes you owe all to them.

Pro said...

Good

That vuvuzela P guy

B4 nkor? Mothers are supreme

That is Nigeria for you, we have the best culture ever! What then is the use of copying the west! Smh

That's good of him, though nothing to agape about.

Y is it news?has it been written anywhere bfor dat a king suld not kneel bfor his moda?even d holy quran tells us dat wen ur praying nd ur moda calls on u, dat u suld foget bout d prayer n attends to ur mum.

Africans we are the best

Mind Treasures said...

If only you knew mothers are gods in their own right

Orisa bi 'ya o si laye

Arsenal said...

Lovely.

◇◇◇◇◇◇ If ignorance is bliss, wipe the smile off my face ◇ ◇ ◇ ◇ ◇ ◇

Luving dz..sign of respect

Its not African culture.its Yoruba and Hausa.When an Ibo man becomes rich,he /she stops respecting the elders

TheLazyNatural said...

Respect always comes first.

Nappyhaired.com

Nice but iliterate northerners will be harassing and insulting women. Smh!

That why I love my country,God bless Nigeria, God bless Africa.......

MUVA said...

Respect!

Not unlike our eastern brethen who greet their parents with an hand shake !

Nice one, that is how we also greet our elders 2

Linda throwing shade at a certain groom that refused to dobale fully? Hmm...

No god like mother

joyous babe said...

Good for him

Fan Emmanuel said...

I swear! Nwokea so na ndi isi boko haram.Ndi ufuobi aburu onu.Coursed souls!

*Linda's best friend*

it's different in the Yoruba culture, once you're declared Oba, even your mother bows to you. Though usually the son would always show respect to her.

Of course nah, but not in a public gathering. Linda take note!

Mrs Poche said...

Of course, will he stand 2 greet d one who gave Him life...if she didn't gv birth 2 him wud he v existed nt 2 talk of being king.

Our culture is what makes us African.

fatizak50@yahoo.com said...

Is he not a human being.

Honour your father and your mother, so that you may live long in the land the Lord your God giveth thee!

That's one thing I love about our culture

Linda, chei. What is African culture? Lol King? So what. Every person should show respect to their parents. Forget King. Go and read about how much Love and respect Jesus Christ had for his mother. What is the big deal about a king kneeling for his mother? He didn't give birth to himself.

Very nice!! African mothers = Best!!!!

That is north for u proud to be one ,#the good side sha#

I love being African! Bless him.

Tradition it is...Its alright

Moye says so via BB Passport courtesy LIB...

Even if na to lie down greet my mama I for no mind o,that woman too much

INK_HER said...

So you were expecting him to shake hands??

And what is new about the picture. Stop posting rubbish.

That's great ...... Humility

Tripllem said...

Iya ni wura!mothers love,the greatest of all!

Click on my name for EROTICA that'll put you in the moooood tonight 😜

He is meant to

lotanah changes said...

That's called humility linda...#ilovemyafrica

Yes ooo that's our culture

Wow

KING Nwa AMAKA said...

Respect for women.

Better pikin!!!

The northerners and humility...... and violence too. Lol

<< LIB Addict >>

Not a big deal nah. He did what he suppose 2do

GBAM!...atimes i wonder how Ms. Ikeji makes it all a big deal but then as a blogger u have to hype things up thru ur lenses. The king was first a son b4 king...kingship is a title that can be stripped off anytime. A MOTHER IS A MOTHER...So its expected if you know the child of whom you are!

Gbam! Cont'd ...besides if your mother curses his throne only GOD can save him..even GOD will request that he goes back to his mother to reclaim the throne :)

Ur culture can not necessarily be the best simply cos u kneel or go flat before an elder- but u can say it is a good sign in our own culture or (tradition for a group).
The way of life of a people is culture to them.
What u see the white man do is his culture to them.
There is no best culture.
What u have been trained to recognize as 'good manners' in our culture may not be so recognized & vice versa- i think if we can respect that, that is universal respect!
Killing of twins was a tradition or perhaps part of our culture- we THOUGHT & taught it was good..
Culture evolves!

Best abi? Like the killing of twins oyinbo taught u to stop - makes them the worst culture abi?

There are things greater than kings na! Ask Geoffrey on Game of Thrones

You are a big fool.... onye nzuzu!

You need to learn how to use hashtags

Of course nah.

Long life and prosperity your highness.....

Pls can y'all seat. Many cultures don't caare. Mother or not, you at least bow to the king. Unless out of respect the king asks you not to. This is a massive deal. It shows the queen ship and glory attached to motherhood. Can't y'all see how proud she is.

Astrid Lundberg said...

For those who can't see the essence of this post,I'm sorry but you need to be slapped with cutlass,maybe that'll show you maybethe point..

akinola said...

I love that. Beautiful one from my friend King Sanusi. More grace to your life. May you live long than your ancestors with prosperity and good health

Where did you get this crap of a view?

Ode! Its lovely and shows our rich cultural heritage u cant see dat in north korea

Love it!!!!! Love him now.

Kill of twins was never a culture rather a tradition towards religion. Then we all know that they were traditional worshipers then not Christians xo. That comparison is out of it. Is Gay and lesbianism a culture?

ode, is hashtag some kind of a manual car. use it anyway you want it

You're so dumb.... Ode oshi!

You no go teach am SABINUS

Doesn't he feel hot at times , with all these clothes

Chukwukamma said...

That's honor

Ade said...

Humility...some culture in Nigeria won't do this

You dis guy how come u speak yoruba so much like this? This is not d first time on this blog.

Truth!!! They have absolutely zero respect for their elders. The only thing d igbo man respects is wealth - then they kiss ur ass so they get close to u. After they get close they start plotting ur downfall or how to takeover ur business or steal ur partners. Never do business wt an igbo man.

True story in yorubaland d oba is lord. After d coronation d mother will kneel to him, but shes always respected as d yeye of d palace and lives wt her son.

Grand Limousine said...

The colors and how well they blend is thing of beauty.
https://grandlimousine.com