I cannot ask my people to vote for you - Awujale tells GEJ | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 13 March 2015

I cannot ask my people to vote for you - Awujale tells GEJ

While receiving President Jonathan in his palace in Ijebu-Ode yesterday March 12th, the Awujale of Ijebuland, Oba Sikiru Adetona was quoted to have told the President that he cannot ask his subjects to vote for him.
"In Ijebu here, it is not possible for any Oba, not even in Yorubaland, to go out and say vote for this, vote for that, that person is looking for trouble.The only thing the Oba can do is to give them the opportunity to present their programme so that people can make up their minds on what to do. I think this is a very sound democratic principle and that is what I have decided to do, to give you the opportunity of meeting with the people.
One, they see you as a person, how beautiful you are, whether to engage with you or not, to listen to you and see if there are areas where we can meet, as a result, everybody congregating here, they belong to different groups, they are PDP members, APC members, APGA members. They belong to various interests, and when they come, they get to the gate, they shed their toga. PDP will remove their PDP, APC will remove their own, APGA will remove their own, they are going to the palace, to meet their ruler, their paramount ruler, to receive that important august visitor who is coming to their lands and give him all honour that is entitle to him.
“In all our churches, after prayer, they will pray for you, pray for the Governor, pray for me and all their leaders both in the mosque and churches as it is so required both in the bible and also in the Qur’an, therefore, I thank you Your Excellency for having this opportunity to address our people to listen to you, to hear your programme, what you have in stock for them and we shall all then pray to God for guidance, because the Muslims would say ‘guide us to the right path’, and God will show us the way because He is the only one that can show the way to people. Therefore, I thank you, Your Excellency most sincerely for making this trip. God knows the best, He is the ruler of the Universe. He knows everything and He can do everything, everything is possible in the presence of God, that is why I occasionally go to church to put up a songs.
“Each time I have cause, occasionally to talk to our people, I have always told them, in the churches and mosques that when you’re going to vote, make sure, you back your sons and daughter who will give something back to you, not the ‘Ojelus’, those who will be honest with you, who knows the way of God, those are the people you should vote for, not those who will give you two three spoons and mortgage your future, it is not right. I am sure over the years, there has been improvement but this election is full of tension, I don’t know how it is so, why has elections never been like this, about 55 years, I have never seen any election that is full of tension and the one we are having now, my prayer if God should guide us and make sure that there’s peace, harmony and tranquility in the country.” - the Awujale is quoted to have said by Sahara Reporters

115 comments:

Just read the post "A bible with your name in it " wanted to reply but my phone wouldn't allow! Now I want us to understand this: the birth and death of Jesus christ has made everything easy for man! When you read the scriptures and you attach your name, you are simply taking a step of faith which works for those that believe! You actually don't need to go the stress of getting a 400,000naira bible with your name on/in it. Pray with faith and your request would be granted you! Come to think of it, it has been working before you were born, it answered when you were growing and it's still answering so why wasted your time unnecessarily! By the way it's more important that your name is written in the book of LIFE. 1thess 5:22, John 14:6, John 3:16. @Bishop_Dammy

It's actually not something so serious! You can't mandate anyone to do anything! We are in 21st century. So let the people vote for the man of their choice. It is well. 2 Tim 2:1-3. @Bishop_Dammy

Well said baba!

I watched it yesterday on Channels news, I wish every traditional and religious leader would have this same disposition this electioneering period.
Oba Adetona is a man of honor, he told him I can't ask my people to vote for anybody, present what you have for them and let them decide.

ekaro sir, you are highly respected for speaking well. may you love long.

donnayna said...

Your head is there...

wise words,spoken like a true Oba.
aittyfinest xyz

EYA.....TOO BAD FOR OUR WEAK PRESIDO..LINDODO TAKE NOTE

God bless u.lindaobserve

"I think this is a very sound democratic principle and that is what I have decided to do, to give you the opportunity of meeting with the people.
One, they see you as a person, how beautiful you are, whether to engage with you or not, to listen to you
"

Oba Ure a great Oba, if he performed he won't av had to meet Ur pple to convince them, or introduce himself, if they'll like him let him keep begging for votes in all corners of d country....

Nicely said

He's Educated. Its obvious. Ur highness baba

This is actually how it should be!!!

Thats "Isho" in Yoruba

Kai this oba knows his onions joor.God bless u sir

Word Monarch. WORD!!!!!!

That's a brave ruler.

Olayinka adunni said...

My oba has spoken........ Money can't buy us over

He spoke well and I took my time to read wht he said line by line. Thumbs up to d Oba and more power to his elbows.

Wisdom, Neutrality & Royalty!

Well the headline gat me confuse though but reading through i understand nw.... Niceone oba though.....

TripleC SDK BlogBoo said...

Hahahaha Absolute Power, Intoxicate Absolutely..... If u wana no the true colour Of A Man, giv Him Smal Power, Wish U Al D Best Mr Presido

Seun Adegbite said...

God bless the King. He is am embodiment of what Kingship should be

Eyaaa Jonah

A Oba wit a clear conscience. May you live long sir!

Word Monarch. WORD!!!!!! I am all 4 the TRUTH and ALWAYZ.

The Awujale is an honorable man. He spoke the truth.

Obioha Nnamdi said...

This Oba is either very wise or very callous.

Word Monarch. WORD!!!!!! I am all 4 the TRUTH and ALWAYZ. This King is a True LEADER that will enjoy lots of Blessingz on Earth n in Heaven.

Whether they vote or not Goodluck Ebele Jonathan is still going to rule come 2015,too many igbos and South south pepper are behind him,because of the rate of insecurity in hausa lands mist won't vote for Buhari. Middle belt era who are mostly Christians are supporting Jonathan,so it's very obvious Buhari will loose

BigChamps said...

Kabiyesi has said it all, no bias comment, I actually pray that people will vote GEJ

Ok, yorubas are not to be trusted

Let God guide us all through this election period and even after....

Wish all other rulers toll the paths of the Abuja let of Egba Land. Not just saying it but stand by it till the very end. What a better nation we will have instead of mortgaging their future like Esau for a plate of portage.

Very truism...exactly what he told jona..

Is quoted to have said by Sahara reporters? It's so obvious ur working for PDP

Boma said...

Jonathan should stop jumping from palace to palace, soliciting for votes, traditional rulers can not tell their subjects who to vote for. He has been in government for six years, if he had done well, there won't be any need for this aggressive campaign.

Is quoted to have said by Sahara reporters? It's so obvious ur working for PDP

Nice speech by the ruler, I like the way he addressed d presidential election

This clueless one is just too desperate, That's a true yoruba blooded man, not those igbo Ezes, sentimental and priceful cohurts. Sai baba.

Yes, I heard it on channels news. Ao can he support him wen he v his son vying 4 d post of VP in APC. He's nt an hypocrite, he jst spoke d bitter truth 2 him, der is so much tension abt dis election, only God can help n c us 2ru.

Kabiyesi you are a true leader, I dont know what Goodluck is looking for in d palaces

OK.

Oba wey get sense.

lol. GEJ keep praying and believe

Sir ure joking right?
You must convince your pipo
To vote for him. The money is not for free.

And Jonathan kept calling the Yorubas stupid. This is the same man, who after being voted (100%) by Yorubas, abandoned them completely in his regime only to claim he "wanted" a Yoruba speaker but for some dishonesty among them (the Yorubas) he cudn't.

Yeah insult upon injuries. Blames the Yorubas for his failure in that aspect and now election, he "knows" how important the Yorubas are.
How disrespectful!

Dont believe anything you hear the Sahara reporters.They are a notoriously a biased media group.Their link with the infamous APC is well known

Oba to sure, not like that Wizard called Oni of ife who has lost his glory from the day of Babangida, may the good lord bless Oba Sikiru Adetona of Ijebu Land.

Oba to sure, not like Wizard Oni of ife who has lost his glory from the day of Babangida, may the good lord bless Oba Sikiru Adetona of Ijebu Land.

That is very right, no king should persuade their subject to vote for anybody ur gd work should be able to convince people to vote 4 u. Not running fm Pilar to post 6 weeks to election. Yoruba's are sensible people the will collect ur money & vote 4 who the want.

Ask yourselves, why is one candidate travelling all over the country looking for endorsements from the elites & the other is trying to reach the masses.Nigerians, the decision is yours alone.

Gbam, Gbamer&Gbamest.true talk for those who hv ears don't mortgage ur future on top of few dollars.Gej abeg pull over. bikonu.

Gimplex logistics said...

Nyc one kabiyesi. Kaade pelori, kibata pe lese oo. Baba dey use style tell dem sey GEJ na ojelu, sey hin no go gv tu d ijebus. Me I'm shaa fr Sai ooo

Where did he say he can't ask his people to vote for GEJ? Copy n paste journalism.

Suleiman Ugbokhe said...

Sounds like a true Yoruba leader has spoken.
Long may you reign!

Good..

Politicians learn from this. Try to visit these men sometime in the middle of your first tenure. They'll feel important by that.

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Ok nah.

What a beautiful comment made by the king. Unbiased, short and precise.

Gbam! God bless my king
Proud ijebu gurl

mel20 said...

The best ruler ever.! Love him to pieces, so different in every way, long live the king!

I love this king. He'll always earn my respect at any particular point in time. My question is; why is our president running from pillar to post in order to win this election? Is it that all the developmental project he has done in the past 6yrs cannot save him? Smh.

Issokay, Oga Jona continue with your journey. Linda take note!

My respect 4 this awuja'le is so great, wat a man of integrity that money cnt buy,not the likes of oni of ife,oba of begin nd co,

Well said. This election is indeed full of tension. I just hope d loser accepts in good faith and not cause war.

May he live long for us....ade ape Lori, bata ape lese, iro kere ape lowo.

Man Of Wisdom!

That is myKing. Always forthright. No gberegbe re. May your days be long.

Okowright Balaxy said...

No right thinking Nigerian should take any report done by Sahara reporters on GEJ serious. Sahara reporters are pro APC bribed with billions of naira by Tinubu and his APC criminals. The title of the story itself is a contrast to the content. Poor cheap propaganda.

lami said...

He ddefinately spoke well. People should be allowed to make their choice.

He spoke like a real king. May God continue to bless his wisdom.

LOL!! U don't like the truth.

Why all the parade here and there seeking for people to vote for you. Let you work speak for you now, abi you dey fear ni. Mr Desperado

You know your true friends when you are down. GEJ please take note.

And Jesus said to the multitude, "if you deny me before men, i shall deny you before my heavenly father". Amen.

*An

Awujale,weda u tel ur people 2vote 4GEJ or nt,GEJ must win dis election.do u even tink dat telling ur people nt 2vote 4GEJ wil make him lose dis election.IMPOSSIBLE!

papa Eze... why should he be "down" while seeking reelection after a supposedly successful tenure?Wow.Fuck....if not for your age I would have said you're kinda daft.buh I won't. I don't care if the opposition wins or not but this government is inactive and in a sane environment they vote such govt out.Why should ours be different bcos of religion and ethnicity.Nigeria is going nowhere bcos of this kinda mentality and it's sad.I'd prefer we do not have a president at all rather than this hot mess.Since ruling has to be whether u perform or not,so far u're not from one region,u can come back and ask for reelection after failing woefully

I said it on here the day GEJ went to that palace.. It makes no difference!!!!!!!! they he was received well dont mean he has their support

Awujale is a great leader. In d days of abacha he was the only oba that refused to endorse him. Straight forward, dependable , reliable , apolitica, father of all...this is oba Sikiru adetona the awujale

Ok o!

GEJ will not win. Una hear?

U r a big mumu.

Nice...

Yet jonathan puts up more adverts than APC on Sahara reporters. So who is funding who? Ode!

Nice...

sweetie said...

Gbam! Dis is how it should b, no man on earth can tell me who to vote for, 50% of Nigerians don't look at party anymore. We vote APC and pdp of our choice in 2011. Failed GEJ if u ar good let ur work speak for u.

yabsy said...

Kabiyesi o, Ki Ade pe ni ori, Ki Bata pe ni Ese. U have spoken sir and u have spoken very well.

This Oba his a bold and a wisdom person I like him.

Datz d painful truth

Kanpemama said...

My Oba have spoken well ,, proud to be born in ijebu land ,,, Omo ijebu re mi wa!!!!!

Oba has said it all and well. this is how Kings talk, they don't talk anyhow. my only pity is that our pastors that are suppose to be doing these, money has taken over their lives. God is watching. He's the rewarder

You should check in at www.confused.com

Bishop Dammy, you are one of the problems Christians have. I read a couple of posts and I see you spoiling a fellow Christian's business simply because you believe 400k is too much for a bible. If I decide to have a Bible made in diamonds and I spend a million dollars on it, what exactly is your business. Do other stuff like defending Creflo Dollar who needs a jet for ministry or chide Linda Ikeji for promoting transgenders and homosexuality rather than someone who had a creative idea. Shalom

Na wa o, something wey dem show for tv people say na sahara reporters, when e no favour una dem go talk sometin different. A leader whether religious or traditional should be neutral becos your subjects are divided and you should be seen in the middle and not taking sides. The Oba spoke like the kind of leader we deserve in Nigeria.

afo baba said...

i trust my Oba Sikiru Adetona,Man who dont miss Deal with Bullshit,is different from all Onije kuje Obas that can Jump for anything,

Both of U need to take several seats. This isn't the avenue for what U do. But then again feel free

Dotty said...

Wonderful Oba. True son of Oduduwa l am proud of you. Sai Baba Sai Buhari as l am a true daughter of Oduduwa.

Mr Adewale did u took ur time to read what bishop Sammy said? In a summary salvation got nothing to do with how expensive ur bible is rather it is d faith u hv in him who was n is to come

You can't be callous if you're not wise

You shall be disillusioned after the election.

What has callousness got to do with this!!!

You shall be cured of your illusions after the election.

Nice one Sir - don't vote ojules; vote for honest people.

As per the tension? It's because GEJ has divided us the most along ethnic and religious lines even worse than the Biafra war period.

#smh - I thought GEJ was clueless but now I know he's wicked considering that in the past couple of weeks he has shown he can Fight Boko Haram, put EFCC to use, compensate Nigerians that are due, visit ethnic leaders which should have brought us together, commission turbines that OBJ bought, etc and he did nothing in 5 years??? This is wickedness not just greed!!!

Sai Buhari

Correct oba

u can see awujale isnt callous and broke like some obas. you forever have my respect. kabiesi