The Chairman,
Senate Committee on Defence, Senator Thompson Sekibo has said that
members of the Senate will not be intervening on the death
verdict handed to 12 soldiers for mutiny by a military court on
September 16th.
Senator Sekibo who spoke with journalists after a closed-door meeting between the senate committee on Defence and the Service Chiefs at the National Assembly in Abuja yesterday September 23rd, said the verdict of the military court is meant to instill discipline into the military.
"No we are not, because the Armed Forces are established by an Act of the National Assembly. The Act spelt out categorically the conduct of the soldiers and the way they are to behave wherever they are. If you join the military, that Act is to guide you and your conduct. If you go contrary to any of the prescribed sections of the Act the punishment prescribed for the Act you violated will come on you. So the military did not just wake up one day and say that they are going to kill Mr. A or Mr. B."
They went through the necessary processes and they found them guilty. But I think that those found guilty also have a way out. They can go on appeal and if the appeal finds them not guilty that will be it. But for what the military has done, they have done the best thing; because you must instill discipline in the Armed Forces. If you don’t do so, one day all of us here will be sacked and you will not hear of this place,” he said.
Meanwhile the
Nigerian Labor Congress has condemned the death sentence. Speaking through the Acting President of the
Union, Promise Adewusi, the NLC described the verdict as unacceptable
and advised that the verdict be converted to a more tolerable and
acceptable one
"We expect that the Military Council or the appropriate authority, whose responsibility it is to review sentences of this nature, should commute this sentence to a more tolerable or acceptable one.”.He said the sentence to death verdict handed to the soldiers if carried out could sow the seed of a major security problem in the armed forces.
103 comments:
This Country!
Awwww,someone please do something,imprison dem,u can't kill....
GEJ should intervain, i will be sooo sad if these guys are killed
U see them?
Because it dosnt affect their salary/benefits they r not interested.
Oloshi's
Judgement awaits u all..
Keep fighting for your pockets and not the masses
this is really not fair though..these peeps have family.. some politicians have committed worse crimes and therz no death sentence.. when it doesn't favor them, they look for a way to amend the laws. which way Nigeria??? they should tamper "justice" with mercy.
they should not kill those guys
Hahaha but why???
⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥
Mr senator we are aware that it's a case of mutiny but that section of the law can be amended.the have the right to appeal the judgement but where the system is already corrupt you don't expect the grasshopper to win the elephant .
Military rule is very very harsh.
Linda o, wich one be dis Omo detergent cursor again na. Na wa o! Me dont like it o. It makes clicking on items tedious.
Eya
Hei! God please save these soldiers from this... so no punishment for the one who sent d late soldiers to a careless operation. Hmmmm... and GEJ is busy spinning d news of victory over BH
Discipline is good but i think this one is kinda harsh.
Let the senate not plead who cares,dats d same way dre will be no pleading when d devil come for your souls, demons! Meanwhile this soldiers knew d consequences of their actions n dat its death,i feel they are ready for d after life. If they like let them fail to execute Satan wen they get to hell. There will be no mercy
Hmm.I don't know what to say.But God will help them
Thompson Sekibo, no soldier killed. They're human beings. No harm should come to any of them. Maximum punishment is 6 months detention and after that, they must allowed back into the army. No army law about killing any civilian or military should apply under a civilian government. If anyone deserve capital punishment, it's you rotten and corrupt creatures masquerading as politicians. Nigeria is not under a military rule. I 100% support what they did. I'm disappointed it was an incomplete job. The Senate, Service Chiefs and the National Assembly must set those HEROES free immediately. If anyone deserve capital punishment, it's politicians. THOSE MEN ARE 100% JUSTIFIED IN THEIR ACTIONS. SET THEM FREE IMMEDIATELY. THOSE FULANI BOKO HARAM PEOPLE THAT WERE CAPTURED WERE NEVER SENTENCED TO DEATH. THEY WERE TREATED BETTER THAN THOSE NIGERIAN SOLDIERS THAT ROTTEN CREATURES DETAINED ON STUPID CHARGES BECAUSE THEY ARE NOT FULANIS. IF THEY WERE FULANIS, YOU PEOPLE WOULD NEVER DARE UPSET THOSE MURDEROUS FULANIS. IF YOU ARE TO SENTENCE THOSE SOLDIERS TO DEATH, ALL OF YOU SHOULD ALSO SENTENCE TO DEATH ALL THE SPONSORS OF BOKO HARAM THAT ARE WELL KNOWN INDIVIDUALS.
NO DOUBLE STANDARDS. YOU TWO FACED CROOKS MUST SET THOSE NIGERIAN SOLDIERS FREE.
I pray help comes their way,no doubt they went contrary to the rules guiding their activities,but death penalty is way too harsh.
NLC shud for once go and rest!! They (soldiers) ve a code of conduct and expected to follow. Think of it this way; they are spared and we are in a security mess coz anoda mutiny will take place. Jus leave the military do their thing!
So pathetic
Well deserved penalty if and only if they are guilty of the offence. They should be punished in place of others. I don't trust issues like cause there may be a guilty officer lurking around.
R.I.P in advance........................#KingOfKings
FIRST TO COMMENT***(GURU)
Ok! we have heard..
Linda don carry come with dis her OMO CURSOR.
Oga Senator dat is not 2 say dat dey cannot be pardoned nawww, disciplined or dismissed. Just dismiss dem best option, y take dere life's. If it were an issue dat was irrelevant dey wld kip deliberating on it, Dis one dey hv hands off.
Dis is really sad, knowing dat u wld die very soon. Such a pity!!!
The verdict is drastic & unethical in nature
De death sentence is just too much mehn. Feeling for de soldiers.
I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***
Like seriously? Coming from a very corrupt and indisciplined arm of the government? This oga Sekibo must be a joker.
please they should let the live. after all they only revolted due to the harsh conditions they were living.
These are sent to go and die. They revolted against lack of sophisticated weapons to fight Boko Haram, meaning they were willing to fight if they had better weapons. What they now get is death sentence....#pathetic
Can't comment here anymore
LIKE SERIOUSLY? WHAT HAPPENED TO DISMISSING THEM AS PUNISHMENT. RUBBISH PEOPLE. THEY HAVE NOT FINISHED KILLING PPLE FOR STEALING OUR MONEY.
Hello military tamper justice with mercy.
So, dose guyz ar as gud as dead. Na wah o
... Hmmm, no comment
They should consider another punishment for them nah.
It definitely sow a seed of Gigantic security problem
Am watching...
well before they joined the military it was well stated to them......pity
What do u expect from politicians...'Nothing good comes out of them' if its not money (billions)...then go and die... UP NLC...God will bless your generation...and for the heartless na the reverse.
ewo o. Na trouble o. Badguy.com
They won't plead 4 their mercy because its not their flesh nd blood. *Injustices motherfuckers* #####QUEENMAYA#####
sentencing dem to death is just too much..... sumtin else shud be done to dem nt death
They should intervene, these soldiers must not be executed. Their reaction must have been triggered by an action. What is that action and who was responsible? There is God oooo.
True talk from the labour congress..I do support em..pls they should consider those guys..the state of the country ain't too good for such verdicts now..we all need a second chance..hadn't been our leaders did the right thing this soldiers wouldn't hv bn in that battlefield with em BH there by resulting to their actions..and we won't be in such a mess of fighting terrorism...they should give em something tolerable and pass a strong note to others that if commuted next..the law must prevail...they deserve a second chance just the way GEJ deserves a second chance to rule the country #winks
yet the stupid idiots steal Nigeria's money every freaking day. They r the ones who deserve the death sentence.
Nigeria! Kai! So what abt those who have been looting money, those behind BH, those influential men that have been accused of sponsoring BH, what have u ppl done to them??? Kill these young men and their blood will be on ur heads. Foolish leaders.
Lilicious Lili,i am still waiting for the tori of the beggar that stole a man's wee-wee pencil yesterday @ Ikeja oh... Abeg do post that one jor.
As for these ones here,they're just playing stupid politics with these precious lives they can't even create.
Lilicious Lili,i am still waiting for the tori of the beggar that stole a man's wee-wee pencil yesterday @ Ikeja oh... Abeg do post that one jor.
As for these ones here,they're just playing stupid politics with these precious lives they can't even create.
Senator Sekibo or wat is dat ur name again, if ur only son is among this set of people condemned to death, will u go ahead with d martial court verdict. I don't blame u, when non of ur family is among dose fighting ova there.
Kill. Kee, Dats too bad. Y not jt remove den from d force
I expect nothing less
Pleading won't fatten their already obsessed pockets
So let 'em just hush
After all said and done,God dey and Karma is a bad bitch
....SƖεεkz
National Assembly talking of instilling discipline into the arm forces, what about the generals stealing the resources meant for their juniors? is this a selective discipline or what?
Why would they plead when it has nothing to do with money. Failures
M̶̲̥̅γ̲̣̣̥ God I don't know what Ï„̅☺ say again
They wunt plead cos cos none of there relative is involed, selfish ppl!!!
Linda you can beg for this soldiers now..lol.....God will surely help us in this country
Rules are meant to be broken, mAKE an exceptions. If this were normal times I would have said okay go ahead, but this isn't. Make a damned exception!
Bunch of hypocrites.As if they themselves don't break the rules of public servicemTheir coleagues will come for your heads after execution.
If they were casualties during the attack,,then they shud face the wrath of the law but if none then dey shud be judged in accordance to the law, giving them death penalty wud be partiality cus to my knowledge,is nt all crime dah warrants death.
hmmmmmmmm.....qudratadenike@gmail.com
Thats true,Buh the death sentence is too harsh,tho there got to be discipline in the armed forces does not mean we should be killing our field soldiers on the battle field,This fat tommy lawmakers cant go through the stress those men are going through,buh they the one protecting our dear country.I think jail terms should be considered,Because the fact remains.Nigeria military is very small proportion compare to the population of this country,All this kind of laws wont encourage the younger generation to join the military.so i think its important the authorities be considerate and dose out jail time instead of straight death sentence!
What have they done to deserve all these
Trust our senators, there money is not involved that's why they will not intervene.
This Sekibo man is so heartless. So the best way to discipline humans being is to kill them? Mr Sekibo, you need deliverance!
Pls let's stop being sentimental here.these guys shot their boss and almost killed him.if rules ar nt taken here one day another group will do the worse and seek for pardon.pls let's leave military to do their work.its nt like police u do any sort and go scot free.God bless Nigeria
Haba dey shuld ave mercy on dem na
Who deserve more to die, these disobedient soldiers that made a big mistake or those senators that have LOOTED the country TREASURY and put millions of Nigerians into ABJECT POVERTY. Pls Nigerians, tell the man occupying Aso Rock to release them IMMEDIATELY
1000 likes
Corruption has eroded our system because of sentiments. Yes the Punishment sounds harsh but the army has its code of conduct which if broken have penalties. It's unfortunate that they are the scapegoats. But even God has his judgement for sin(hell fire) and righteousness (heaven). God is not so good that he ll not allow the sinner to burn in hell forever. So why shld the military allow set laws to be broken
Most of us spk outta compassion. Bloody civilians! *tongueout*. These guys nid to b wasted... so ds NEVA repeats itself. D military is known for its dicipline. U cantttt do dat. A silly oda rank not evn officers, open fire on a General???? Nah dey r gud as dead. Watbif he had bn killed? If dey spare them this will repeat... u dont rubbish the military and act like civilians. They signed this bfre they went in. In d military, evn a peaceful protest can lead to ur dismissal.... then thnk of their unruly act??? Mayb cos im kinda involved with the military though nd knw this is just weong. They should hav thit twice. Lets c how it goes sha nd pray justice is tamperd with mercy. I doubt though
Exactlyyyyy Fabian. Cos it wil certainly repeat if dey r spared.
Why will they kill 12 peaple wat happened to dismisal nah wah o
I'm not in support of the death penalty at all but I googled "mutiny in the military" and the death penalty is the same punishment everywhere. I also thought about it this way, if we can't trust the people who are legally allowed to possess and use dangerous weapons at will(military officials) not to get swayed by emotions no matter the condition and discharge fire whenever they feel slighted,there'll be war and those of us mere civilians without weapons will lose. I feel like the soldiers all know this rule and the senior military officials feel like if these guys are not made an example out of, this will only be the first of several situations like this.
That being said, life imprisonment harsh enough....please no killings.
I'm not in support of the death penalty at all but I googled "mutiny in the military" and the death penalty is the same punishment everywhere. I also thought about it this way, if we can't trust the people who are legally allowed to possess and use dangerous weapons at will(military officials) not to get swayed by emotions no matter the condition and discharge fire whenever they feel slighted,there'll be war and those of us mere civilians without weapons will lose. I feel like the soldiers all know this rule and the senior military officials feel like if these guys are not made an example out of, this will only be the first of several situations like this.
That being said, life imprisonment harsh enough....please no killings.
So suddenly we ve laws in nigeria???
It will be better if their defence is done by their self
Please for God sake free those guyz
Amen.
kill them and new war not boko haram will start, starting from enugwu mark this
Imprisonment is way better than death sentence. As suggested, they can go n appeal..
From his quote "But for what the military has done, they have done the best thing; because you must instill discipline in the Armed Forces. If you don’t do so, one day all of us here will be sacked and you will not hear of this place,” what about doing the right thing and not just sheepishly following a rule.
Noted. But I honestly wanna know, have the senate sat concerning the missing jet? Have they come up on anything tangible? My friend has not heard from or seen her husband for close to 2weeks. I honestly think that is a very pressing issue, but it seems no one is talking about it. Meanwhile these guys do not deserve to die....
Nah wao!
after killing them make sure u use their bodies for peppersoup too, wicked senators, God will judge all our leaders
Its completely fair. They tried to kill their commander, the punishment is very reasonable. If they succeeded in killing him, then y'all would be singing another story. Lets look at the facts here.
The hangman beckons...buh,cant femi falana and his goons intervene ni?
»_»_• \0/ ^FORTUNEDEXC£L@REDIFFMAIL.COM^ »_»_• \0/
These guys must die OOOO
These guys must not die ooo
Their arguement is untenable. GEJ has to intervene as commander in chief of the armed forces. The capital punishment is way unacceptable! Moreover this is not a military rule for crying out loud!
Are you people for real !!!! Am not surprised you killed most of our young ones during the immigration saga and these was swept under the carpets. These young men are not your sons, not your son in laws, not your brothers, not your family members. What all these old men and women with their big fat stomach could come up with is to Kill Them All, we don't want them to Aspire because these upcoming soldiers wants to change the face of Nigerian Army from business as Usual. Kill them And be ready to bury your own children one buy one. Mutiny my boot what a country happy to get rid of your youths at any opportunity SHAME!!!!!!
We cant run our military on sentiments. Do they have extenuating reasons for what they did? Yes. But because of the sensitive nature of the military you cant be emotional when dealing with order and behaviour. These men, are soldiers who committed a treasonable felony, no matter how you look at it. So the judgement, based on the terms they signed up for is just. They can appeal and perhaps on compassionate grounds, have their sentences commuted. But as for the justice in this judgement, it is correct. Price for mutiny is death. We can plead but certainly nt start campaigning to make convicted traitors into national heroes. Think of the larger army. setting them free as a result of bro
THEY SHOULD NOT BE KILLED, THEY WERE FIGHTING FOR JUSTICE, THE OGA WAS POCKETING THE MONEY FOR THEM AND WEAPON, WHILE SENDIND TO WAR EMPTY HAND, THE OGA SOULD BE KILLED
Let's pray 4 dis men. D re ppl's fathers, brodas and loved 1s. Our land has enuf blood shed already. Pls let's pray dat d verdict will be amended to a reasonable le 1. Not in is impossible wid God
Ur a cold hearted being 4 laffin. Watz funny? Datz d act of a moron
@fabian I pray u experience something like dis so you know how it feels, wicked soul
My questn iz wat is d rationale behind their attempted killin of their general? There is always a cause n effect.sumtin made dem act d way dey did.they r nt foolish dey knw d rules n regulations dat guilds dem.dey r humans wif feelings.not goats wif instincts.if dey r culpable death penalty shouldn't b d last resort cos our politicians av done worst Dan dis.
@val
One word.. Fool!!
As a Civilian we plead mercy, if you stroll through this comment, soilders that commented asked for death. That tell you a lot about the military which is good for them..
But my people na still 9ja we day ooo, person way kill abiola wife was found guilty( den no kill am), almasia guilty(nothing was done), bola ige killers, funso williams killers, dipo dina killers, ex borno gov. (Free man walking around), senators way obj give 10 mills each for third term(bribe), so many instances to pick out from, we in the civilian regime not military so gej should do something about it ...
Life imprisonment is my verdict, if the military dismiss those soilders , don't be surprised 3 out of 12 might start a rebellion years to come..
Paidhombi
As a Civilian we plead mercy, if you stroll through this comment, soilders that commented asked for death. That tell you a lot about the military which is good for them..
But my people na still 9ja we day ooo, person way kill abiola wife was found guilty( den no kill am), almasia guilty(nothing was done), bola ige killers, funso williams killers, dipo dina killers, ex borno gov. (Free man walking around), senators way obj give 10 mills each for third term(bribe), so many instances to pick out from, we in the civilian regime not military so gej should do something about it ...
Life imprisonment is my verdict, if the military dismiss those soilders , don't be surprised 3 out of 12 might start a rebellion years to come..
Paidhombi