Dr Dre, Jay Z, Drake top the World's Highest Paid Hip-Hop Acts of 2014 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 23 September 2014

Dr Dre, Jay Z, Drake top the World's Highest Paid Hip-Hop Acts of 2014

Forbes released their annual list of Highest Paid Hip Hop Acts today and of course, Dr Dre led the pack with a whooping $620 million from June 2013 to June 2014. Apple bought his Beats by Dre for $3billion so... See the top ten highest paid below...

1. Dr. Dre - $620 million
2.  Jay Z (tie) - $60 million
2. Diddy (tie) - $60 million 
4. Drake - $33million
5. Macklemore & Ryan Lewis - $32 million
6. Kanye West: $30 million
7. Birdman: $24 million
8. Lil Wayne: $23 million
9. Pharrell Williams: $22 million
10. Eminem: $18 million
See the top 20 after the cut...

11. Nicki Minaj: $14 million
12. Wiz Khalifa: $13 million
13. Pitbull: $12 million
14. Snoop Dogg: $10 million
15. Kendrick Lamar: $9 million
16. Ludacris: $8 million (tie)
16. Tech N9ne: $8 million (tie)
16. Swizz Beatz: $8 million (tie)
16. 50 Cent: $8 million (tie)
20. Rick Ross: $7 million (tie)
20. J. Cole: $7 million (tie)
20. DJ Khaled: $7 million (tie)
20. Lil Jon: $7 million (tie)
20. Mac Miller: $7 million (tie)

124 comments:

Good stuff! This money must be made!

Fellyella said...

Chaii, Jehovah God, when is my turn?

jaybeyblu said...

So good to see 'ye @ that spot. Drake & Macklemore tho...when did they start rapping wey dem hold reach like this?

Big up Dre mehnnnn that's some mad accomplishment, see dusting.

Jay boo! We still on top 2015 will break that tie .xoxo

@sugarcassie said...

I want to be like dr Dre in terms of finances only oooooo! #waoooh# to have that kind of cash #smiling# just at the mere thought!

Kudos 2 Diddy n Jay Z for being so strong afta all dis yrs. For tje rest, drake, pharell etc enjoy while it lasts

APPLELIPX said...

Yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Drake dint just make d list buh vry well positioned
#nicky congrats... its your birthright

Eminem, kendrick surprised they made d list
Rozay the most noisy rap artist wth all d blinks and songs he releases on daily basis, only 7mil

Amicable said...

Wow dr dre working behind the scene and making alot of Benjamins,me like

Nawa o...620M...blessed talent....y's Nikki d nly gal

omani chukwunalu said...

see money

Money money money...I tot as much dt dr dre will mk d first on d list..hmconcept2000@gmail.com

too much money

www.9jahub.com

Nice one @Dre...

Damn...See the difference between Dr Dre and Jay.z.... hmmmm

The Sexiest Mother Of This Blog said...

congrats u kinda resemble my man

Bosslady Chinwe said...

Linda where is Beyonce?but dre though choiiiiiiii
God bless me too

cute man

drake emmmmm......

Nawa o, so Drake gat paid more dan Birdman.. Dis dude gatto stop making ds bird sound nd sing somtin

Dr Dre, it's your turn

1)I respect dr dre he's reali an american igbo man please they shudd trace his ancestry,dude knows how to invest and get returns,,
2) Kanye west I so much love dah dude loves d way he raps and murder beats with different approach to it, not dah one patterned jayZ dah always say uh uh uh,listen to the song ''tom ford'' u wud knw dah dude is wack.
3)Eminem shud hv bin second in this group if it's been judged by talent dude got it..while kanye comes 3rd..jayz can go hawk dry fish rapin aint his thing.
4) Wahs nicki minaj doing there,with her folded silicon waist I guess her money is not up to dah again ooo cus I sense she might have done surgery to correct her wasit dah shifts from front to back d other day.

These cats re balling
I expected Dre to top the list,cuz of the influx of cash frm the beat by dre sale on to apple
Was really expecting rozay to be among top 10
Anyways,

.....SƖεεkz

Nice... But sports still make much more money... D money footballers make makes me cry y i can't play ball...

MsTee said...

Dre tho.. 620millie??? WOOO! Thot Luda was or is broke? So wit all of RickRoss's noise...smh. I'm so proud of Wiz khalifa sa.

Thywill Be Done said...

Dr Dre worths the No. 1 spot... I love all his drops.
Am surprised that 50Cent was not in Top 10.
Nick Minaj is a super Woman... She must have put in double effort for her to be in the Top 20.
Infact, all artists in the list are my Sweeties.

Lindashian I thought it was Meek mill abi dem don change ham overnite to mac miller..or are dey different pple...im inquisitive abeg make na join hands tell me.

Lindashian I thought it was Meek mill abi dem don change ham overnite to mac miller..or are dey different pple...im inquisitive abeg make una join hands tell me.

Chineke mo! Toure and sakho must be the... I just cant. Lol

I see u Jay Z

The gap between 1st and 2nd is so massive.

Bianca Bruno said...

Men c spacing Dr dre gave the others.
Whoa! Is Nicki d only female there?
Then kudos to her. Linda I hope u never waka loss oh this one u have refused to post comments so since morning.

Bianca Bruno said...

Chopping and swallowing comments is equal to d sin of witchcraft
Repent...
LindahoardingcommentsIkeji

NaNcY DreW said...

*Yawns*

Cynthia Iyede said...

Hnmmm Dre is really balling please. Thank u Lord for mine that will soon surface. Gbam!

wizzi said...

It's not about how hard/long you work but how smart & God on your side. Abeg the gap too much! Go dre!!

Where is rihanna? Beyonce nko? And 50 cent not among the ten? Drake can't be @that position na. Mi o gba o. INDIGENOUS LIB.

wizzi said...

This is where luck/opportunity meets preparedness!! Let's all get ourselves prepared for when opportunity comes knocking.

Dre be my side nigga*wink*

Kudos 2 Dr Dre silent billionaire and Hova and the best female rapper of her generation...Nicki minaja a.k.a YMBitch. #####QUEENMAYA#####

gabriel philip said...

U talk so fishy man!! Go to school and learn how to read b4 u make comments!! d amount u saw there is not wot dey are worth rather itz d total money dey got frm showz all tru d year fish brain!!

jaybeyblu said...

Shut up there! What do you know? Ignoramus. His "uh uh uh" has opened a million doors for him. What have ur senseless comments on diff blogs done for u? Stay begging

YES!!! Jay Z use huh huh in his music and stiil top list but ur own is the read about his huh huh money. *Kinda shame* #####QUEENMAYA#####

Diaris Mac Mill(Malcolm James McCormick) d white dude and Meek Mill(Robert Williams) d African-American
Bee gurl

Omo! Dis Dre guy is now exceptionally rich. Chai! Just look at d gap

jaybeyblu said...

Now looking for where I mentioned anything about their worth. Notice d comment about Jay breaking tie in 2015? Reference to amount he will make in d next year in review seeing as he started his tour in July 2014. So shut ur stinking mouf there MOFO. Na u be mumu here

I must get dere

jaybeyblu said...

It's hip-hop sweetie, Bey don't do hip hop.

50 cent has dropped so LOW! Chai!!! Look at DJ Khali and Rick Ross, after they will be disturbing my ear with the phrase 'we talking money, you talking nonsense'

Linda it's evident that you were home all or almost all day blogging. Dalu so...well done

Zichy said...

See my Nicki,only rap bitch on the forbes list!

na wao

hmmm

Good for them.

jaybeyblu said...

Oh! And I ain't a "man" no proper man gat time to leave and reply comment on blogs. + Emmmm it isn't d money they made from "shows" Dre did have any show in 2014 lol.

JAY said...

That's to show you that making money is not by muscle, but by brain and God's grace, dude got something upstairs.

Xxxyman say so said...

MONEY IS DE NAME

U making sense,kanye is far better than that jayZ.

OMO cursor?...cool

@Shontelle Chinwe
Beyonce is not a/an hip-hop artist.

PURPLE said...

So, after all d 'we d best' and show of blings and cars rick ross nd dj khaled dey do, na dat position dem dey. Wack idiots

@ Gabriel Philips, y r u so bitter tho? U really do need to shut up, if what he said was right or wrong does it warrant the insults? Or they hired you here as interpreter? If u think you know it all can't you explain without sounding rude? U clearly have a very poor upbringing. Try sharpening your people/communication skills you need it.

@ anon 10:50... Huh? Pharell enjoy it while it lasts ke? Lol u clearly don't kno who Pharell Williamms is.

Yes oh..

God! Remember me.

Imbecile, how many footballers make 20mil in a year?

Ij pretty said...

I prefer Eminem to them all,he raps very well

Why would u be surprised eminem made d list. Monster was a great hit last year and early this year. His tour with Rihanna is highly successful.

She moni ohhhhhhhhhh

Bcos nicki is like the only successful female hip pop artist. Were u expecting iggy to be there

Wow! So much hard work! So drake outshine his bosses??? Damn! Dats wat we call hard work & determination. Go dr dre u d best. @SHoK

I still wonder y jay z is being address as ugly.. D guy is fyn mahn... To me he is more cuter dan ye..

The gap between the first and the rest is "three much" sometimes I doubt the authenticity of this forbes analysishow can drake be worth more than Kanye?

Drizzy drake my mentor,the greatest of this generation,I. See u boss,we are taking over,VIEW FROM THE 61X,.......OVO SOUND

The margin is crazy $620million and 60million jayZ whr is queen beyonce @

Breezy_p loving MTN

Nonnilyzn said...

When shall get there soonest...

libers it says hip hip acts not r n b

See d different b/w Dr Dre compare to others

Lmao...

Why am I seeing Dra's money as a sum total of all of dem... Money cough shit walks...

E ma wo didirin yi sha...how many footballers make up to 10m dollars every year?u better forget football and start rapping or singing..

Baby95 said...

I am on my way way to that list.i will make it.

How did Mac miller get to dat list pls

Neks said...

'thought Dr DRe was a billionaire, am I missing something?

Linda pls post my comment.

Tolu said...

Hova 4 life

Tolu said...

Hova

hairylegs said...

Choi c money baba God na ur hand i dey oooooo.

Beyonce is not a rapper...read well

Maybe i'm getting something wrong here. Please tell me when Rihanna and Beyonce started doing hiphop! #daftology

FIZZICHILLIO said...

Dr. Dre shouldn't have sold his BBD venture tho'. #justSaying.. it was very possible to evolve it into a major LIFE brand. Eminem is supposed to be in a much higher position and.. and What fucking HipHop act is BirdMan really??

#Fizz

SHEY YOU PEOPLE DON FORGET THAT DR DRE SOLD BEAT NI... OF COURSE HE IS NOW VERY RICH... OMO IGBO OF AMERICA... hehehehe

seen

Hmmmmm! Dr Dre. So much gap from the odas.
$money must be made!

My man mac miller is on this on d list as well. D most underrated rapper of last year. His new mixtape, faces is absolutely incredible!!!

Whos this kelvin happiness? nigga doesnt knw wah hes talking about... #smh

FIRST TO COMMENT***(GURU)

DR Dre have always top the list..Money speaking..

Oluwaseyi said...

Mehn,dis people are in money..

@ anon 11:29 d list is talking abt rappers nt r and b singer. Bad belle pple wey dey ask. Orishirishi

Drake wow.
Dre and Jay own it
Afolabi Tosyne's blog

KAY said...

Uummmm...bcos u r an ugly gay skinny bitch...maybe

y'al should hold up,Rick at the bottom lol and the fool never stop talking about is money like his the richest.....fat bastard.

Dr Dre. Pls kindly dash me $1m alone.

chisos...no chris brown

What do this people sing to make this kind of money? Must be some illuminati shit. Drake is cute though!

Joey said...

Wait ooooooh! 50 cent is not even in the top ten list self, and na him make mouth pass everybody... I run New York!

Despite all the criticism and hate, look where kanye's at.

hrm paul ojeih said...

Linda so all the noise way officer rick ross make na only 7m dolls he made and he is screaming we rich for ever oloshi dre still da boss fiddy cent has fallen off dude will soon go broke

@ day its just tie not all d money bein paid to dem monthly n der some extra money like ellen n other so the dff btw dr dre n jay z is just a pr

dr dre is not inclusive of tie but jay z is so go jay Z

50cent sold Vitamin Water to Coca Cola for $200. And Jay Z at 60million? This list is very very incorrect. LINDA MAKE U DEY TRY CHECK THE THINGS WEY U DEY POST.

the estimates aint correct thou..

The fact is ''They are Rich'', so its nobody's business even if they talk about their wealth in their songs.

Marshall Matters said...

Exactly, please google pharrell Williams...

Marshall Matters said...

Only 7mil.... Lol.... That is more than 1.5 billion naira..No vex but if I had that money... I might be richer than five of naija's richest artist combined..

naija dj said...

@PURPLE, how much did you make from june 2013-june 2014. Feel free to quote it in Naira.

Marshall Matters said...

Quit bashing him already, Yes some footballers makes far much more money than some musicians but that's not it you guys are just plain homophobic... Onyx I don't know if you are gay,,but if you are, you have to understand that people will always try to pull you down so they can feel better about their pathetic lives.... Live and let others live Nigerians after all nobody holy pass....

Marshall Matters said...

Wtf...lol, Beyoncé don de post comment for LIB...yay linda best blogger ever....

Happy for Drake. Loke Loke Things. Up up you go.

xzikob said...

Nigga...fuck yo mad at Jigga for?
You don't even know what he been through
He swam waters with great whites
Y'all muthafuckers woulda been chewed
He hustle with vultures late nights
Y'all muthafuckers woulda been food
fuck wrong with these dudes
Try to walk around in these shoes
See the shit he saw growing up
And maybe you can take a peek at these boo's
niggas fantasize about the shit that Jigga do daily like
These rappers rap about all the shit that he do really
Jigga like really half a billi nigga
Really you got baby money
Keep it real with niggas
niggas ain't got jigga lady money
Watch the Throne don't step on our road

xzikob said...

Nigga...fuck yo mad at Jigga for?
You don't even know what he been through
He swam waters with great whites
Y'all muthafuckers woulda been chewed
He hustle with vultures late nights
Y'all muthafuckers woulda been food
fuck wrong with these dudes
Try to walk around in these shoes
See the shit he saw growing up
And maybe you can take a peek at these boo's
niggas fantasize about the shit that Jigga do daily like
These rappers rap about all the shit that he do really
Jigga like really half a billi nigga
Really you got baby money
Keep it real with niggas
niggas ain't got jigga lady money
Watch the Throne don't step on our road

Shontelle Chinwe , Beyonce is not hip-hop artist...read the heading before asking.

xzikob said...

Totally agree wit u on Dre sellin his venture to apple. I tell u, he wud be a billionaira in no time if he did nt sell it. D same way one of the cofounders of Apple namely, Ronald Wayne, gave up his own share of d company for less than $1000 whn apple was stil so New in d industry. But today, Apple is d most admired company in d world and Apple is the largest publicly traded corporation in the world by market capitalization, with an estimated market capitalization of $446 billion as of January 2014

xzikob said...

Dre should be close to being a billionaire. Remember, his worth before dat big deal frm Apple was arnd 350m or so. Deal was worth 3billion$. The beatsbydre company beatd elctronics was co-owned by Dr Dre, Jimmy Iovine, Carlyle Group LP and Universal Music Group which is the largest record Label. So after tax, Dre git $640m frm d deal cos he had d lowest share in d venture. Jimmy his partner had %25 is now a Billionaire

xzikob said...

Yea right he on point. Haters always gon talk