Nigerian doctor killed by husband in the US has been laid to rest | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 4 May 2014

Nigerian doctor killed by husband in the US has been laid to rest

The 36 year old Nigerian Medical doctor who was shot dead by her 63 year old husband, Martin Ebegbodi on Saturday March 22nd at their home in West Harris County, Houston, Texas (read here), has been buried.

Dr Isioma Awele Ebegbodi was buried yesterday May 3rd in the US. Pictured right are her children, who are now staying with family members, because their mother is dead and their father is in prison. Too sad!

84 comments:

Really sad.The sting of death is sharp and painful.
Comfort to the bereaved.

Kampala1 said...

May her soul RIP..Amen.

LIB Kritik.

Sometimes I just wonder why God allows some things to happen. This world is a very cold place.

Hmmm dis is pathetic...May God protect d children she left bhind

Such a hrt breakn story!may her soul rest in peace.and such luvly kids left wt no mum now*life*????

When love turns to hate. For women who are still experiencing domestic violence, run now while u can cos u might not live another day to tell d story.

That's what usually happens when young Nigerian Women marries an older man they do not know much about just because he is abroad and could get them citizenship. Follow this story and you will find a host of stuff, including jealousy, cheating, and husband fear of wife leaving him for a younger man, So very sorry, wondered if her friends and family encouraged her to marry him?

vivian obey said...

OMG!!wicked man.see his mouth like pig. RIP madam isioma

Austin said...

Not every1 gets to be with the right pair in life..feeling for the lil. kids she left behind..rest in peace doc.

FIND THEM AND DESTROY THEM..
WITH PASSION, EVIL KEEP INCREASING,, NO PLACE IS SAFE IN THIS WORLD ANY MORE..
UKRAINE AND RUSSIA, NIGERIA AND THE CHIEF SPONSORS OF BOKO HARAM, KENYA AND ANNUAL TERROR ATTACK,

SYRIA AND REBELS, IRAN AND NUCLEAR WEAPONS, ISRAEL AND PALESTINE WAR EVER SINCE I WAS BORN. SOUTH

SUDAN AND WAR REBELS.
CHINA AND LAND DISPUTE BETWEEN JAPAN, NORTH KOREA AND HIS STUBBORNNESS NOT TO USE NUCLEAR SHITS.
THE WORLD IS IN TOTAL COAX,, NO PEACE IN THE WORLD...
MUDA FUCKERZ NEVER LOVED US... REMEMBER!!!!

That's her father with the children. It was a solemn service and very moving. Her parents and sister were there. The Priest said we will all have our stories told when we die. He recounted a couple of Isioma's stories - how she was a good member of St. Edith Stein and won the prize when they had the retreat on divine mercy. Also how she was so proud to teach the Church about Nigerian culture.

Isioma, you will be missed! I am glad I knew you. No matter what uninformed people say about you, God and your true friends and family know the truth.

Everybody reading, write a good story with your life.

Nawao! the age gap too much! may her soul RIP

May Her soul continue to rest in peace. Amen

I really feel for the children, how would they cope later knowing their mum was killed by their father heartbreaking

ANYA IKENGA said...

If the lady behind is the sister, why is she smiling?

mummy Ada said...

So us true

mummy Ada said...

So is true. May her soul RIP

zoomzoomzoom said...

Age, color, race or gender has nothing to do with wickedness. It is really sad when one is married to a monster.There has been cases of wife or husband killing their spouses in different countries and different tribes.There is young Ayo Arowolo who killed his equally young wife in Nigeria in 2011. It's really tragic this happened, especially for those poor kids...Dad in jail, Mom is dead. I can't fathom what is going on in their young minds.
May God rest the young lady's soul& comfort the kids, parents&other loved ones she left behind.

R.I.P

At least justice has being done.

Mehn, the age gap is too fucking much but why on earth will someone kill somebody he called his wife and mother of his kids.... May God console the kids and may that baga face justice to its full cost.....
>>>BringBackOurGirls<<<

See his dry face....
>>>BringBackOurGirls<<<

Nawaoooo this one tire me jor,RIP.

sarah isaac said...

So sad...

Too bad..RIP.

Linda love ,why is it that u don't like posting my comment?.

Them suppose kill d husband straigh abi na which one be jail term again.

#divideNigeria

Her mum was my senior colleague she was really devastated bcos she's now left with only a child,she had only 2 children

May her Soul RIP .....Amen

Chai!!!! RIP ma'am.

Imagine d age difference, May her soul RIP.

Lord please take care of her kids. Innocent kids without a mother or father. Guide the family members that take them in. Let them bring them up as they would their own in a loving home. Rest in peace Isioma.

Girls should be careful the men the get married to, all this rush to marry men that stay abroad hasn't paid well over the yrs. This guys in the USA n other parts don't have nice jobs and are jst hustlers so wen you marry them, the expect you to come over n work ur ass off and make money for them simply bcos the got u visas to travel. That man should rot in jail.

........... Atutu

This is so sad wonder what the faith of dose children will be may the Lord protect them

The age diff might be a factor for insecuritY for the man,even her job but the man is a monster,so sad

May her soul rest in peace! And Gods protection on d kids.so sad

Sylvonce said...

Omg! The kids! *Mummy is dead, daddy is in prison cuz he shot mum* God's comfort on them..

Rip to her+contact 2A547FA2 for d fixing of ur hair @ an affordable price

That's not the case here. She is from a wealthy home. The dad is also a medical doc.

Isioma was my very good friend. Back in medilag she had a crush on me, and she always said. I however didn't see us that way but we remained good friends, very beautiful soul she was, so pretty. We lost touch when she travelled and I remained a doctor here. Now she is gone. May your kids tell of your legacy. You will never be forgotten and you will always be forever loved.. RIP.

D pics is her dad and sis wit d kids....nt d husband

God bless you for this comment.

What a shame. Those children will be scarred for life.

May her soul continue to rest in peace

Rip ma.

DOBY DOBY said...

I feel for d lil gal.. God pls grant d kids strength to live witout deir mum..

Topebrass said...

So sad....thy Lord will be with d children

Bukola said...

Sad! So sad! May we all as singbe patient to marry who God has ordained for our protection and not for our destruction in Jesus name.

Bukola said...

May we all as SINGLES be patient and seek the face of God to marry the spouse that will protect us and not the one that will destroy us in Jesus name.

So what's happening to the husband what are the reasons he gave for the dastardly act

Isioma case might be different, but I have heard of several cases like dis in d state were Nigeria men kill their wifes (medical doctors) due to lack of respect as a result of the wife now making more money than him. So many women has been shot, especially the wifes dey came to get from Nigeria.

Anne said...

Who are you and why are you always leaving comments in capital letters? Comments that have traces of insanity in them?

Trumpet said...

Awww see life her father in the pic above established a hospital in Surulere which is named after her believing should would return home sometime in future after retirement to manage. My wife put to bed in the same hospital September last year. The father has been so inconsolable since after this sad event...may God strengthen children

So sad. Rip Isioma. May God bless d kids

Bukola said...

Sad! So sad! May we all as singbe patient to marry who God has ordained for our protection and not for our destruction in Jesus name.

Ehya... Poor kids. Rest in peace madam

the evil Man is old enough to be the father of his late Wife, imagine 63 - 36 = 27.

Opelicious Morgann said...

The children will now be at the mercy of people!! Forget whether they are family members or not, nobody can treat you the way your real mum can treat you.

Kai I feel xo bad...dis world eh...jst see the cute and poor kids she left behind..God will judge that monster and murderer of a husband

R.I.P

may her soul continue to rest in peace. may God give the children n family she left behind the grace to live on.........................

Geraldopino90 said...

Pls men stop killing women pls,if marriage tire u send her parking. May this wicked man nvr know peace n may d cries of dis innocent kids make u mental. RIP DOC*tears*

Rest in peace, this is so sad . Devil @work usin hsnd to kill his wife

~CYNTHIA~ commenting from my TOYOTA CRICKET

Just so sad.breaks my heart reading this.

Please. Stop asking why he killed her. The question suggests there are times a husband is justified in taking his wife's life. There isn't. He should have left the relationship and made arrangements to retain his parental rights through the courts. Murder should never have been his option.

Don't tell me this is Dr Unokanjo's daughter, Jeeeeezz!! cos that's him in the pix.
What d hell is this world turning to.

She should cry so that the children feel worse right?

So sad! The husband is a wicked soul.

Amen!

Fate

Some things should be left unsaid...don't you think?

Sad situation

anne said...

Anne just crackd me up wv "comments dat have traces of insanity in den"

I think She is related to Emeka Vertigo (an aunty).. According to what he said she was sleeping when the husband came in and shoot her.. Life really sad

Pls tell them. I had to run for my dear life too. Marriage my foot!

This wickedness has nothing to do with age! Come to think of it, are older pple not supposed to be more mature and have more self control?

Bbg Eze said...

No one has d right 2take d life of another just like dt. Sad sad situation...poor kids

Funke said...

Also in the picture above is the deceased father, Dr Unokanjo, a very competent doctor and confidant. May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace and may God give the family the fortitude to bear the loss

Funke said...

The truth about Isioma. they were not divorced/separated and she hadn't left him with the kids. if so, why was she returning to the house that day? she worked in another state after years of unemployment in the usa. she was never unfaithful to her husband nor did she "steal" his property. even the house where she died, was bought in her name, and she was never interested in it, only her children.their marriage derailed because this girl - who was a medical doctor *before* she came to the USA and not trained by him as so many people are implying - was not the cash cow that he had been banking on. she got a job and lost it, partly because of the discovery of her autistic son, and the fact that the useless, unemployed man (last job held in 2001!!) expected her to be the breadwinner of the family and take care of 2 small toddlers, one of them autistic. when he realized that his cash cow wasn't milking, he started showing his true colors, cursing her every day and frustrating her for many years.
by the time she finally got a new job, the marriage was over in all but name and the man realized he was going to be a loser. he tried to frustrate her many times. she travels 6 hours on road *every week* just to clean his house, do the daughter's hair, and make sure there's food for the children before she goes back to work. Once he claimed that when she left the house, there was no one at home, which is why she was on trial for child abandonment and was due in court just before she died.martin was a psychopath long before she met her. it is just a shame that nobody in her family properly investigated this man. this was a man who ran away from Nigeria because he had impregnated a girl and refused to marry her. his own mother died a few years ago and he refused to come for her funeral. they lost one of their twins who died under mysterious circumstances - martin was the last one to see him alive and the one to discover his dead body. she was a good-hearted woman who touched many, many people during her life. people should know the truth instead of spreading stupid gossip.

Sad indeed. lovely kids, its a pity. RIP. Amen

Ola lib

BLAJO said...

RIP Dr. Isioma. This life

This is indeed very sad. There are too many women in Nigeria foreign and local married to men who are not what they seem to their families. Too many women who are sole bread winners and have to take so much emotional and physical and financial abuse from spouses in silence just to protect the "good" name of the family and the man's image! sies man! Now yet another tragedy from which the family will not fully recover from. Jesus come back already!

Too sad,nkea bu ezigbo misfortune.