GEJ accepts US offer to help locate and rescue abducted girls | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 6 May 2014

GEJ accepts US offer to help locate and rescue abducted girls

A statement released by presidential spokesperson, Reuben Abati on his website, says Pres. Jonathan has accepted the assistance of the US Government offer to send US security personnel to help in effort to locate and rescue abducted girls. Statement below...
President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan Tuesday welcomed and accepted a definite offer of help from the United States of America in the ongoing effort to locate and rescue the girls abducted from the Government Girls Secondary School, Chibok three weeks ago.
The offer from President Barack Obama which was conveyed to President Jonathan by the United States Secretary of State, Mr. John Kerry in a telephone conversation which began at 15.30 Hours today, includes the deployment of U.S. security personnel and assets to work with their Nigerian counterparts in the search and rescue operation. Continue...

Mr. Kerry assured President Jonathan that the United States’ is wholly committed to giving Nigeria all required support and assistance to save the abducted girls and bring the reign of terror unleashed on parts of the country by Boko Haram to an end.

Thanking Mr. Kerry for the call and offer of further assistance, President Jonathan told him that Nigeria’s security agencies who were already working at full capacity to find and rescue the abducted girls would appreciate the deployment of American counter-insurgency know-how and expertise in support of their efforts.

After speaking with the United States Secretary of State, President Jonathan today met with the Chief of Defence Staff, Service Chiefs and heads of national security agencies in continuation of the national efforts to find and rescue the abducted girls.
The President received updates on the ongoing search and rescue effort, and gave approval for recommended further actions.

Reuben Abati
Special Adviser to the President
(Media & Publicity)
May 6, 2014

152 comments:

lini said...

Nice 1

now i wonder what we will hear next.

Do you feel a desire for some income/extra pay? If so , here a way for you to get that financial freedom starting today. click

Maheeda said...

Dear LIB Reader u need to see this crazy nude of Maheeda....hit my name to see

Loke siad said...

Must you guys announce your plan to rescue the Girls?, America Never announce when they were going after Osama, please FG you ppl should take this Boko Haram guys unaware stop making your plans public

Now you are talking

BLAZER said...

#BRING BACK OUR GIRLS AND BUS!!!

so embarrassing, giant of Africa and you can't even look after your own home.

its sad.

That's why you will never break away from the whims and caprices of the west. They will never respect you until you deserve it

Good. We need the touch of experts. Not just the wt d missing girls but to help fish out these culpable beasts.

All these abokis el rufai,buhari and co just want to frustrate this man administration,good thing he has acceptd help offered from the US, they must suffer!!

The security "diff" is forever clear.. But #Oluwaisinvolved

Phewwwww! Finally GEJ did d sensible tyn

Henry said...

A step in the right direction

Tnx to God Almighty,our prayers will surely be answered

OMG...let tis be true Biko ooo

Lovely as hell, atlist jonah took the step we all have been waiting for and i pray they come out succesfull....

Thank u Jesus

Nw nigerians should get ready for bombs upon bombs and am very sure the hollywood is going to make a movie off this no doubt....

#BRING BACK OUR GIRLS#

Now they are talking. ..In as much as America cannot help you for nothing; they can suck all our oil for all we care, as long as BH and their sponsors are brought to book and severely dealt with,, there'll definitely be no fear or favor. It's good they stopped Sanusi from running away.

#GodIntervention
#BringBackOurGirls
#JonaPlsDivideNigeria
#EnoughIsEnough

* My R1.50c comment *

Jayla said...

Any and every offer of help from America comes with a price! Especially in a country where there is oil. America my dear Nigerians should never be trusted with their offer of help, Mr President your special advicers are of no help to you and your brain needs rebooting, I pray for you everyday but you need to open your heart to hear the voice of God speaking to you, ask Him for wisdom daily...my 2kobo

Jonah had woken from his slumber. .. That's what's up!

That's good #bright bravo#

He's obviously obligated to accept it... I still cant fathom how 276 humans can b missing 4 over 3wks...

Ok good..

dis is progress. tnx Obama........... on a lighter note. plx include JACK BAUER OOOOOOO

I dunno why I just hate that special adviser shit it is now dat he will talk shame on all these politicians

Praise God!

Working with American security operatives is an agglutinating fragrance that Nigerians must inhale, they should also come with jack bauer

dis is progress. tnx Obama........... on a lighter note. plx include JACK BAUER OOOOOOO

Praise God!

Praise God!

Ok o.

PROF said...

I hope dis broughts about a positive changes

PROF SAYS SO.

Wow that's great...I hope this girl are back home soon....@blissful_jay via Blackberry Bold 1

Its a welcomed development.
Can't wait to hear the last of this evil.
#BringBackOurGirls

Ghen ghen chuck Norris & jack Bauer are coming to Nigeria. Boko haram no get hiding space again.

Gosh My Family and I need to leave this country soon very soon

Yaaaaaaay! Yippeee! That's more like it. In God we still look up to.

Praise God!

Ohhhhhhhhh! So bcos Shekau mentioned/threatened that he will kidnap GEJ's daughter he decided to accept Obama's request! Issoright! @ least he is using his head for once nd doing d right thing! Just hoping America will not come wit conditions cos their forte is banking on other countries bad situations to get wat dey want from dem! Anyways, The holding of those gals has been long overdue! God keep them safe! Thumbs up GEJ! Ur advisers used their chicken brain 4 once, I've being wondering if they were paid to sleep!
#GozManuel#

Well appreciated move Mr President.

Hallelujah!!!

Good one let them help us #bright bravo#

A country that can't fix its own problems! Shit! If na to steal money now una go carry first! And don't expect the U.S to leave when this operation ends.

Is high time we change our history and say Nigeria was colonized the America rather than the United Kingdom? The UK seem never interested in what happens here. Look at the relationship South Korea has with America and the tremendous benefits they enjoy.

benito said...

If Nigerian Government and the President cannot guaranty the security of its citizens, then the Government and President needs to step aside. If Nigeria has to seek outside foreign assistance to handle its internal security issues then the country should no longer be independent. This is a slap and disgrace on the Nigerian Military which is acclaimed to be one of the best in Africa. The military really needs to take over control of the country.

benito said...

If Nigerian Government and the President cannot guaranty the security of its citizens, then the Government and President needs to step aside. If Nigeria has to seek outside foreign assistance to handle its internal security issues then the country should no longer be independent. This is a slap and disgrace on the Nigerian Military which is acclaimed to be one of the best in Africa. The military really needs to take over control of the country.

Father lord I tnk u,at last.I wish dem victory.
#UKWU 1 say so

Dee Tee said...

Hmmm... There's God ooo... Chai!!!

Good one my dear President.

DOBY DOBY said...

Cnt wait to hear good news. .

Thank u Jesus ---- D Moon !

DOBY DOBY said...

Nd pple wil start insultin Gej lyk dey ar berra dan him

we really need their assistance coz the state of the nation is getting worse by the day

Wilson said...

This is long overdue and thanks to America and all other country who have been showing their supports through the media on this trying period of our blessed country Nigeria.

Now we re heading sumwia. God pls assist dem on dis journey IJN,Amen! Thank u US president & Kudos 2 our president.

Mz Mimi Lee @ DAVIDO my concern! said...

God bless Obama!

Mr.President,with deepest respect,while the Americans are sending their security experts,we must ensure that our national security intelligence and other classified information is away from the American's reach.
Its my prayer that they come and make a fool of themselves when they see the kind of politics at play here.

Edidiong said...

I'm not against help from the US; thats quite thoughtful of them. BUT like we all know, dis so called 'help' is a 'scratch my back, I scratch ur back' kinda thing. So my dear Nigerians, are we waiting for america to finish d oil in 9ja, have hands in other lucrative ventures in nigeria and strike a 70%:30%(I.e they get 70% of the nations profit while we are left with 30) before d scale from her eyes will fall off? What has stopped us from training our military and equipping dem with state of d art machineries and also training our intelligence personells. The US intelligence do they have 2 heads or is their body composition diff from ours?that we can't be @ par with them. The diff here is just dat dey invest time n money in d right places, while nigerian govt is busy squandering, embezzling and funding Boko haram. We want to experience 21st century colonisation by the US abi? Lets all keep acting like fools cuz dey will use the living daylight out of us and as daft as d govt is dey won't know wen to tell dem enough is enough not to talk of standing dia ground. Make dem dey mumu up n down. May God help us!

Awesome Mr. Obama! Can u also help find our missing $20billion dollars? Our govt is apparently incapable of locating tht as well.

Edidiong said...

By the time d whole world wants to help us I wonder what will be left of our resources in nigeria. Meanwhile Jona is busy shining teeth n boasting of how US, UK and d rest want to help...issorai...

Zeme said...

Mr President may God continue to bless and increase you in wisdom! This is just a phase, God will raise himself mightyly like He did in 1998. And like Abacha, boko haram will become history

Its about time.. God of Elijah come to our aid..

Conqueror said...

Dats a gud one! Help @ last from super powers. Result of massive protest...

Peejay said...

Ok now! Jack Bauer, Indiana Jones and Liam Neeson from Taken 1 and 2 (whatshischaractersnameagain?) in transit to Sambisa! Hoot hoot! Best news I've heard all week!

GEJ if you will hear me,pls divide this country.

Chynscillah said...

In exchange 4 what? America no dey do free favours.... I siddon dey look
IAMMEEEEEEEEEE

God will see them through

This is a welcome development.

There is God oooo

Our leaders are so useless. Na everything una go put for news? Save the girls and kill all the BH, before una announce anything... Me I don tire for all these stupid news without success. When BH won attack, them no they put am for news headline, but when our stupid and useless leaders won do something, them go put am for Breaking news... How dem won take win the battle when them no get secrets? Long Hiss!!!

Salt

heheheheheh! which full capacity? wen dey cnt face d terrorists. I hp nigerian leaders will allow US giv dem their full support wit no restrictn.
Hopefully, its time for nigeria to have peace once again

Our leaders are so useless. Na everything una go put for news? Save girls and kill all the BH, before una announce anything... Me I don tire for all these stupid news without success. When BH won attack, them no they put am for new headline, but when our stupid and useless leaders won do something, them go put am for Breaking new... How dem won take win the battle when them no get secrets? Long Hiss!!!

Salt

Abeg oh we need it.

Thanks to the US. I hope this works.

I see this as the beginning of the end of BOKO HARAM

Jessica law said...

Good #bringbackourgirls".

Thank God..

Yay!! We also respectfully request that u add Delta Force and Navy Seal personnel as well...much obliged

Hmmm.... This might not end well for Nigeria. We are hauling the Trojan horse into our gates....

Chris said...

Please they should 'cause this dance has gone pass the usual kukere dance...

How 9c..a gud step if u ask mE *fashionista LeOnOrA*

Good development all we want is just for them to bringbackourgirls because God Is Watching oooo

Hmmm. It is well. May we see our daughters again and May this evil stop forever.

Jonathan u think say na free for obama to help u out abi?anyways get ready to resign the bill.God help my mother land

dats very good to hear......linda, i learnt, d robbers who attacked vine int school in my area at nyanya, has been caught n arrested at lafia,,,,,tnk God ooo......yaxx

Seriously I support u........they shld keep calm and work.

JO said...

Hmmm, I'm watching

smk said...

Since our military hav shown dey are incapable of handling ds crisis, we nid foreign aid...tho notin goes 4 notin

YES!!!!

For ur information, America has said they r not sending their troops down to Nigeria. They ll only share intelligence with our security agents. And I honestly don't see how that's going to help us. It's like putting Obama's head on Jona's body. It's still not logical abeg.

dhobiz said...

At what cost?d US don't invest where there's no gain

Sylvonce said...

..about time

I am really happy about this. Mmmm I hope they include JACK BAUER

If he doesn't announce people will say he isn't doing anything .

And in return 4dia good deed they'd get???

We got to this point as a Country because our Northern muslims opposition politicians boasted that they will make Nigeria ungovernable for President Jonathan. Boko Haram was encouraged to emerge by them. The very terrible result is what we are seeing now. President Jonathan appointed former National Security Adviser, General Aliu Gusau who is from the North East as Minister of Defence. It is currently his primary responsibility to lead the Country's security forces to deal with this insurgency. However, Gusau is nowhere to be found when other service chiefs are working. Gusau is probably sleeping in his house. We have not seen Gusau visiting, directing and encouraging our security forces. Gusau and others are trying to sabotage President Jonathan in order to gain political advantage.

Angie, r u that daft? Sanusi blew the whistle on this thieving President and was labeled a BH sponsor. U think America doesn't know the truth? They will remove GEJ along with BH. Just watch.

I jst tire 4 dis kind tin..bunch of FOOLS!!!

Gbam!

No be insult. I know 12yr-olds much more intelligent than this buffoon we call a President.

GEJ get choice? Kerry call am, he must shout "Yes Sir!". Mumu like him

Happy that the world is ready to assist but my greatest fear is the safety of the girls. This girls are with cannibals and satanic ocvultic lunatic, they could viciously kill this innocent girls before they are being rescued. Please let's be careful. Book haram are powerless but we must be careful in order not to endanger the girls any further.

GEJ, jst suprise Nigerians with dis decision & stop letting ur plans out as it may cause more harm than good, cos with this ur 'exposed efforts' to sort solutions, the 'enemy' will now deduce a 'smarter way in carrying out their plans'. The suspects or enemy's informant is never & not far from GEJ. SO BEWARE!!!

I hope to see jack bauer, Lol, n CTU to monitor dem..... GOD bless america.

#GIFTEDhands

Hin for no accept am... Mtcheeew

Dnt mind dis naija pple ooh i wonder why dey have to announce it now

That is a nice one GEJ attacks on the boko ants should be unware offcourse the should be ware of the intervention but should be caught unware

Mmmm I hope this is not a ploy to introduce homo and lesbo tinz sha. Cause after helping, america fit say oya jonah con un-sign that anti gay bill. So naijans never rejoice because it is not yet over until it is over.

Seriously bro,I mean no disrespect but what's ya problem really???

Alhamdulillah( thank God) Mr President sir,good move. These killings and abduction must stop.

Hell is now lovely shay???smh

Dumbest comment ever read....gosh,wtf is wrong with yhu???how's ya brain working Abeg??

Hehehehehe...damn yhur comment just made my evening. Yhu a prof,you a true prof.

The oil is not worth anything compared to the lives of those girls. #my own 2cents..... Just Me

Mumu by the tym US finish wit nig the sufferin of ur fathers durin biafra will be xmas

Oh Lord!!! Not again nah. haba mallam

I agree with you lets pray Nigeria doesn't turn out like iraq the Americans dont do anything for free

ok 4 a start i am voting GEJ come 2015, this man doesn't want 2 do 2 much cos he is waiting 4 his 2nd term, then he will ansa Buhari n co, just watch fellow 9ja ppl, Sanusi,Buhari n co decided to make dis mans administration hell as ey promised but cum 2015 they will c,

help from America? smh, if not 4 politics if Buhari is arrested we wii know we have started winning,and na only him go waka enter cell. There is God oh.

$tainl€$$ said...

What do they even mean by "Accept" at this point, this clueless government has no choice because it is only America that will know how to find them #AmericaWillKnow. May God help us. #BringBackOurGirls

The truth and success of this whole thing lies in hands of God. Presido your good luck will never stop leading us. Oga Obama thanks for your offer ,we believe that through the help of our lord Jesus Christ that you will be able to acheive a good result. We also beg you to render this help unconditionally.

What will this man do that u will not complain. Sikwa oburu gi

How? This is an admission by Nigeria that our govt cannot handle internal security issues. Even if it is true the resolution should be found within Africa. American security forces within any country in any sort of conflict has never been to that country's benefit. Abacha and Obj categorically refused NATO presence in Nigeria but now this weak man is selling us into slavery.

Please come guns ablazing! Destroy everything in sight! Bring Boko haram to their knees and their sponsors hung out to dry!

Benito or whatever u call urself the military are recuriting, go and apply and take over control. *sitdownDeyTalk

Politics

If they like let them take over nigeria as long as it will bring back our girls, no problem

Politics

Edidiong are u afraid that americans are coming. Are u a BH. Infact am suppecting u

If they like let them take over nigeria as long as it will bring back our girls, no problem

Benito or whatever u call urself the military are recuriting, go and apply and take over control. *sitdownDeyTalk

Rescue which girls? Are they missing again? Nonsense people. Something we should have rallied round to solve by ourselves earlier now we have deliveredour country into the hands of a colonialist. Nigeria as you know it may well be gone because Goodluck is not smart enough to control America's excesses.

AGB said...

lol....Naija people as lazy as we are,we are here rejoicing. Instead of us to have sat down and scattered our heads with all sorts of thoughts we could come up with to fix our nation and fight this insurgency and all the wrongs in the nation we were fighting tribal and religious war of words. We always dive to steal other people's help and be parasites. It is a shame that we claim to be an independent/sovereign & yet we cannot take care of ourselves.
THAT'S LIKE INVITING ANOTHER MAN TO BANG YOUR WIFE WHILE YOU WATCH BECAUSE YOUR WIFE SAID YOU'RE LAME IN BED. THE OTHER MEN THAT BANG GREATLY ARE ALSO HUMAN BEINGS & THAT MEANS OVER TIME,WHEN YOU TRAIN YOURSELF, YOU WOULD BE EQUALLY GOOD.
Let me tell you all my compatriots, inviting the US into this matter is the beginning of a bigger terror picture because the US would capitalize on this to frustrate our nation. You don't believe? Ask Libya (that was the African nation with the highest Human development index under Gaddafi and in just 3 years has become a nation divided without a real central government), ask Afghanistan (where the president of Afghanistan has been frustrated by US government and forces and he keeps asking them to leave his country but they keep refusing or stalling). Ask Iraq which is a bomb-test ground now etc. Expect your privacy to start being infringed on by fucking foreigners. Una never jam, continue rejoicing over our collective laziness to think beyond our noses to get solutions to our own problems. Later, we would say people discriminate against us....why wouldn't they? When we always prefer to lazy around,take backseat and rejoice at them "helping" us do the most basic things at every instance.
I really regret the day GEJ became president cos if it were a firmer president, based on Nigeria's track record in the past, I honestly don't think boko haram would have grown this big. This government was weak from the onset & so terrorists capitalized on that fact.

So,na only to dey harass poor civilians wey dey wear camouflage on the streets Naija military sabi.No good intelligence or special display of skills to contain these beasts called BH?You be all glorified boy scouts! SMH for my people.

true ,let jack baur n his team show ooo

(in shekau's voice ) they think i'm foolish to b waiting dem in this forest....relocating tinz boiz

Best news ever!!!!! Jonathan finally got some balls! Thank God

Be sure to note that when these security agencies come, they will have nothing but 1960 technology to work with n thus will not do any magic other than what Nigeria. Securities have done

It is amusing when people talk of the f**k**g yeye intelligence that may be privy to the Americans accept there offer to hear. Meanwhile the idiotic head of the soldiers with their big belle and stolen wealth are incapable of solving the problem. The weakling President is the worst leader Nigeria has ever had. Even Yaradua on his death bed was more capable. Let the moron relocate the idiotic chief of staff to the battle ground with orders not to return until the poor girls are released and Boko Haram defeated. Such a shame that today more girls were kidnapped. The office of the president has never descended so low in Nigeria's history and to add sand to Garri, the world is wondering if this is the quality of our PhDs, better if na mugu wey no see the 4 corner of school be president.

this is what obama has always wanted so that we can in return pay with our oil

If the 20 million dollars that was given to Nigeria from America for security was spent properly there would be no Boko Halal problem going on.

America has oil of their own, so I highly doubt this security assistant will come at any price. The price is to eradicate these insurgents, it benefits the entire globe to wipe them out entirely, that is the benefit for America and all of us. Boko Halal must be wiped out.

You just spoke my mind..This people haven't understood America's tactics...I just they watch

All you crazy people been scared that America is taking over is it not better? What good has the nations resources brought to you no light no jobs kidnapped children etc please you all shut up and let them work! If they wanna take over so be it! Too much stolen funds anyways at least let them be law and order in our country number 1 rule!

THIS IS WHY AMERICA IS REGARDED AS THE WORLD MOST POWERFUL COUNTRY. LETS DO IT AGAIN!

Anony hun, thieving is the least of our problem right now; tell me which president tht didn't steal.. Sanusi is amongst the ppl that are causing problem for Jona, with this BH terror. America has arrived specifically to wipe BH; let's all sit back and watch it all unfold.. They'll all duck!!

Liwa said...

It will also be helpful in the future if these experts train the various security agencies on counter-terrorism. This will go a long way in helping to improve the security agencies.

I ddnt support the idea of USA & UK coming to help Nigeria on d issue of Boko Haram & General insecurity. USA have long predicted dat nigeria will be divided by 2015 & we are bringing d same people to come and help us resolve a problem dt they are supporting silently , have U ever wondered how Boko haram is funded & operates without being caught, they have super intelligence network that even confuses our security chiefs. we shld take a look at all d countries they went in to intervene and see if there is peace in those places till now, look at Afghanistan, Iraq, Egypt , Libya just to mention but a few, they have more troubles dan even b4 their intervention ,how kan we compromise our internal security to US soldiers, taking in mind dat dey will never take orders from Nigerian security apparatus except from PENTAGON.They will make matters worst for us cos dey will remain in nigeria and do everything possible to make sure dt we ddnt remain a united country so dey will remain afloat as World no 1 police & start drilling our OIL .we should have contacted countries like CHINA & RUSSIA dat doesn't want nigeria to break if at all we needed foreign intervention at all. Our Govt should take a critical look at all d Donor Agencies esp from USA to know how dey spend d money coming into nigeria from their country .Some people may not see dis truth from my perspective but TIME SHALL TELL.#copied#

Domhands said...

let them come but discretion is advice,its a welcome ideal but let them be subjected to us,lets work as a team with them.after all its our problem not theirs.