NBA bans racist Clippers owner, Sterling, for life; fines him $2.5m | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 29 April 2014

NBA bans racist Clippers owner, Sterling, for life; fines him $2.5m

Donald Sterling, the L.A Clippers owner who was caught on tape making disgusting racist comments to his girlfriend (read here) has been banned for life from the NBA and fined $2.5 million, which is the max fine that can be imposed under NBA rules. Under the ban, the 81 year old can't go to games, attend practices, make decisions regarding the team or attend NBA meetings.

Basketball Commissioner Adam Silver made the announcement this evening Tuesday April 29th, saying the National Basketball Association will force Sterling to sell the team, which he has owned since the 80's, to another organization.

Silver said Sterling admitted making those comments but showed no remorse. The commissioner said 'Sentiments of this kind are contrary to the principles of inclusion & respect that form the foundation of our diverse, multicultural and multi-ethnic league." Good move!!!

120 comments:

Good.

Good riddance to bad rubbish!!!!

* My R1.50c comment *

Which naira, ogbeni get ur facts ryt and
Correct the topic. Later lad

Good move! Good riddance.

Ngozin said...

Awwww 81 years ! Senile old man ,now he can kick back at home and watch blacks at his games on his television. Mtceeeeeh!

Racism cant nd will never leave America, I'm glad he was well punished, such debase thinking, if je like e shud b a trillionaire,he's mind is bad... Racism is even toooo far,lets cum home to Nigeria ,wat about tribalism,? Its worse seeing a Yoruba man hating on an ibo or vice versa in same country, or d political forum in nairaland??? We cant b complaining of racists wen we hav rigid tribalists in dis Nigeria...

Ngozin said...

Awwww 81 years ! Senile old man ,now he can kick back at home and watch blacks at his games on his television. Mtceeeeeh!

Caira said...

Anyone who need my nude picture hit mai name

Good decision all dis white with dere stupidity is he God

Post my comment

Some people still think he wasn't racist right?

They will also force a sale of the club.

Next? The banana throwers. Europe, listen up.

Fantastic.

Austin said...

"the plantation days are over"!..too bad he learnt dat far too late and the hard way.

Serves him right...

Austin said...

For real justice to be served ,some1 call me DJANGO
NB:the 'D' is silent.

Beuriful! Serves d hipoppotamus right! Fool!

Nice one....this should serve as deterrent to others.

nice move

9ja Parrot said...

Shikena! Magana yakarei!

pwitie B said...

Good riddance foolish old ma

PROF said...

That serve hims right

Well done Adam Silver but this stupid racist needs a heavier fine cos his old ass is gonna die soon. 2.5million ain't shit to him he should be fined 10 million.

Serves him right+ I luv d speed in reaction unlike my naija where dem go set up comitee, #unto wetin?

Bad man #bright bravo#

Umm actually that aint really any of ma concern. Just feeling so great for tonight's Match. Up Madrid!
see big girl caught stealing expensive hair and strippéd fully in public!pics

what a fine! racist b careful.... lol

At 81...he is getting to his end time ...unfortunately he wasnt convicted sooner despite numerous accusations in the past..

DANGEROUZ said...

Good for d mumu worwor cow

To banned him for life was not enough but making him sell the club would be good.

Good for him stupid old fool.

Linda, you are truly Nigerian O! Look at your heading. It says Naira.

Serves him right

Cynhams Cakes, Abuja. said...

This will serve as a lesson to other people like him.

Donald Sterling you got served!!!

Read news updates in Nigeria

sii Al said...

Serves him right

Ara gbachiekwe Sterling anya. Nne ya o kputali onye ojii. Mad man, can you imagine? NBA thumbs up. $£.

DOBY DOBY said...

Oyibo ppl shaa.. nobody is above d law.. dis kind tin no go happen for naija

serves him ryht

This man has being to hell...if he come back to planet earth again he wont talk about racism in his life again....good judgement been pass

Two UNILAG girls fights and tears each others clothes over a boy
Here

Hidden camera caught Doctor Abusing a female patient
Here

What secondary school girls do with boys when they have no teacher
Here

Caught on camera: Man trying to rape a woman
Here

Uzeeflyness said...

Wow Linda u r damn faster than Bale!! Now now u done update this news?? Well this is a good move and i hope fifa gets lectures on this cos racism in football is alarming!!

That serves him right. And come to think of it most of his player's are blacks so how does he cope with them??

evalsam said...

Wow.... see where his big mouth has gotten him! terrible

It's $2.5m not Naira, Linda

Good for Donald. Shameless old fool like my#Hayy will call him@RocaMM

GUd 4 d idiot...nonsense!!!dis is y I luv america...

1 million likes for tha Ban

Dollars

dhobiz said...

Very deserving....good riddance

Ijay thinks... said...

About time someone thought that old racist pig some lessons on prejudice! He should be incarcerated in some prison in Somalia

Ijay thinks... said...

Pls post this too. Appreciated.

I love this.....nice move!

Honestly "Good move "
~onahboy

Good move!

dollars Linda, dollars

Serves him better I hope football will follow the foot step of NBA by going tough against racist

There is nothing racist coment or racism. Itz just dat we blacks has refused to be proud of ourselfz. We hv 2 accept who we are and simply yab them bk if d tuant us. Inferiority complex is disturbn us, cos I feel if u are bigger than smbdy u wnt bother abt wat d say abt u. We are monkeyz, they are pigz finish.

Yes they are right !!!!!!! First to comment

It serves him right

2.5 million naira or $?

Yessssss. This is the way to treat an idiot who feels his race is higher and better than that of others.

He deserves what he got. By the way what is this young lady doing with this man. #women and money sha.

Urbane Hanger said...

Good move indeed! We should all stand up against racism.

HOW TO REDUCE SWEATY ARMPIT

SOLIDIFIEDPEACE said...

I guess a lot of rich white men will learn from this. He showed no remorse....Probably his money has got into his head so he thinks he can do anything. Are you sure this man is not owning tithes?

TWITS said...

This is the sort of news I love to hear. The NBA just made my day!
Hurray!!!
FIFA, take your cue!

The NBA is a black league....deal with it! People shld go to jail for being racist! Mr. Silver, lovely verdict.

good decision,i still dnt understand why he would make such comment when basket ball is a black man game and his jump off is black.

Well, this is how it is done... In Nigeria where ethnic bigotry and hatred abounds and is practiced in government circles , this should be a learning point, afterall Mr Sterling is Jewish and not necessarily your typical oyibo and he of all people whose ancestors must have gone through anti-semitism should know better

joy said...

who for ban dangote or atiku for nigeria here

gud move unlike nigeria where dziani madueke for go alaba intl market go give women 2k to protest God is watching nigerian leader.#THAT AKWA IBOM BOY#

Oops..feeling sleepy!

That serves him right...NO TO RACISM..

Berry said...

Good.he can now go to hell.
Say no to Racism

All for disrespecting black folk. I love it. Respect! !!

And so does my anger dissolve. I'm impressed. I'm placated.

Swagg isimemen said...

Dat is Very gud move. I like dat

i don't get this. the man doesn't want his babe around black people.. that is his babe!! look its not as if he sacked anybody or refused anybody from joining the team because of their race.. he was having a private discussion with his babe. since when did someones personal sentiments become food for the public?? na wa oh.. i think Americans naturally do not mind their business.. look if a man refuses his child to marry someone because of race.. i believe he is permitted to disapprove.. My mum might freak out if a bring a white man home.. she is entitled to. Na wa ohh. i just think its his personal sentiments so he should be allowed to be.. besides people need to stop intruding into peoples private discussions... for real!!

Small boy,racism will always be a part of America

Honestly unto wetin???

Good & swift judgment serves him right!!!

Please seethis page

That hin girl friend na Judas... Ugly ass hitch! as for Ette sterling...... olorun ti mu ee!

If they like sef 600million dollars.E no go touch the man.Master Sterling came out the winner from this controversy

Hip hip hip hurrray..... Baga... Go and chop razor and die...

Jesus Reigns said...

Ok then,stay at home and watch blacks on TV,better still commit suicide. Bloody waste of space

Who knows wah onynx wrote dat lin deleted! Buhahahahahaha!!!!

Please give your life to Christ.

Ngozi nwaugo its mtcheeeeww!!!!!! Nt mtceeeeh!!!

Who knows wah onynx wrote dat lin deleted! Buhahahahahaha!!!!

Hez such a fool so he didn't knw she wasn't white all along but was f**king ha.mumu white man

PD said...

Justice!God bless America....

Nadia says said...

Oh damn, dat serves him right, What does he take black people, got ya..

Serves him right, Old fool!

A vry gud measure for him... Racism if nt handled strictly can destroy d world

Wetin dis one dey talk?

I suggest dat other major league sports should do d same. What an arrogant man with plantation mentality but he will be humbled soon.

HOW CAN YOU HATE BLACK AND HISPANIC PEOPLE WHEN YOUR GIRLFRIEND IS BOTH RACE? LMAO!!! AM SO CONFUSED. DUMB ASS HYPROCRITE

Anonymous Apr 29 10.31pm, thank you o jare!
As long as one's perverse views do not manifest in professional decisions/strategy, its really nobody's business. Only God knows whats in the hearts of other caucasian NBA bigwigs.

Zero tolerance.

u see wat good governance can cause. They have set rules guiding the union irrespective of ur tribe n personality

Guy, what's your point? So many things u've said, with no point made..u think and talk like a child!

Moses, it's "it''s" & not its. Go home & thank me

Criticz said...

Real men don't do racism...i think he deserves whatever they throw at him....squeeze face that needs ironing

Adam silver judgement made my day,if there wasnt no maximum ammount in basketball rules,they would have fined him more than that.The consequences he is going to face is a big purnishment for him

Idiot

Mr lecturer said...

Wilheminna Moses she can decide to spell it anyhow she want to!!!.... who evn told u dat wz d correct spelling? it's nt evn in d dictionary!!!! #teacherchike#

oly said...

This Nba people are cruel, what!

Brina said...

Good!!!stupid attitude ....quick judgment....as for sterling...all I feel for you is pity because you have just turned into the world's dumbest person....old fool..

LMAO,E reach to ask ooo

Naijarian said...

Me, Apart from the fact that it is an intrusion into his privacy, I do not believe it was rascist... We blacks are angry because he referred to blacks... Imagine how our reaction would have been if the girlfriend took pictures with gays and he asked her to stop it? Truth is, I can decide not to socialize with Hausa/Igbo/Yoruba/fat/tall/short/dark/yellow/skinny/rich/poor/tiv/calabar/urhobo people within the privacy of my own time. It only becomes a problem when I extend it to my public life.

Bella j said...

He deserves it fuchsia head😈

Don't mind him. Ignoramus!

You dey crazy o . White man wetin you dey do 4 dis page.

But he made good point. U r the unreasonable one here, and u, apparently, lack understanding.

NBA is NOT a black league. You are terribly misinformed.

You sound really stupid. Incarcerated because of his opinion? What a dummy.

Mr lecturer, it should be, 'anyhow she wants to' and not 'anyhow she want to'

omalichaspeaks.blogspot.com said...

Yeah good, but he's still making money off the team where he has black players playing for him. Sick sick old man. Is it me or does his girlfriend look like a tranny?
The Grass To Grace Transition- click my name to read more and share your thoughts

hrm paul ojeih said...

Lind i no we are not allowed to swear on this blog,but biko allow me F--k the old racist bastard.
He got what he deserved at this day and age he is still a racist,a bigot his father and fathers fathers were the bastards that tied up black men in Alabama Georgia and Mississippi and hung them in a tree
NBA made a good call on this baning the red neck for life is the best move plus he gets to lose his team idiota he is screwing a mixed race girl that is old enough to be his grand daughter yet he hate mixed peole bloody bastard what will the NBA be with out the blacks dude forgot that WHITE MEN CANT JUMP

Yesssssssssss!

Anon 6:43 n 12:42, ur both fool n av displayed it here lol, u ple will alway wnt to pick fault wit di boy, wt he has I'd is tru, u on d oda hand cnt even make any contructive contribution, mst u always hate
Free d guy abeg. If I were u I wld remove d comments, bt wait ur cawordice has u commentin under d guise of "anonymous" Oloriburuku, wwaye kowai
@solary