Alison-Madueke gets court injunction stopping reps from probing N10b jet scandal | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 28 April 2014

Alison-Madueke gets court injunction stopping reps from probing N10b jet scandal

Minister of Petroleum, Dieziani Alison-Madueke, who has been in the middle of a 10bn jet scandal has secured a court injunction stopping the House of Representatives from further investigating her, Premium Times reports. Alison-Madueke had approached a federal high court in Abuja where she asked the court to restrain the House members to discontinue any probe involving her.

Justice . R. Mohammed who presided over the case, barred the house members or their committees  from summoning her for any further investigations or even ordering her arrest if she failed to appear before the house. According to reports, the court injuction was secured on April 14th but was only made public today as the House intended to commence further investigation on the matter today.
Speaking on the court injunction, the Chairman of the House Public Accounts Committee, Solomon Olamilekan said they were surprised by the court injunction.
"Today is April 28, the committee scheduled to receive the honourable Minister of Petroleum Resources and other agencies that have stake in this investigation. But as we speak, there is a court order, which has been served to the office of the speaker, even though the committee has not gotten the copy of that order. The nature of the court order is simple. They are just restraining us from carrying out our own investigation" he said.
Spokesperson of the house,  Zakary Mohammed said the house would obey the court injunction
"As a law abiding arm of government, we will tarry a while and of course take a legal opinion as far as issues are concerned" he said
A member of the House, Samuel Adejare had on  March 20th presented a motion before the house accusing the minister of committing about 500,000 Euros (N130 million naira) monthly to maintain an aircraft for her personal use and those of her immediate family.

119 comments:

Yeye dey smell.

Mischievous said...

This woman is haunted by guilt.

Those who destroyed the country will pay for it, they and their families. God is in control. I pity those supporting them.

God Dey!

IBK said...

Using law and the judiciary to obstruct justice...nawa

bibi said...

wtf..if she goes scot free men i dunno what to say. just means that we nigerians are being taken for a fool....

Doez d court have such powers sef? Umm... Nawao....God bless me wit a political position, even if na councillor

The God wey handle abacha still dey alive you know !

Ngozin said...

Shame on this woman if u have nothing to hide why the restraining order.#verydisgusting

Look @ her eyes sef. She looks like a thief! Shior!

May God punish all this boko haram people for killing innocent people when people like this are there? #God dey

what was in her mind?

She has just shown us that those allegations are true afterall. Even the so called Judiciary supports corruption. Its a shameful fact that the whole system is designed to encourage corruption

beautiful woman wit a devilish mind, keep it up, fire wil burn u in hell.

Why grant her an injunction and not Oduah? Our courts have got to get their acts straight. I know the senators are chasing ghosts, but still our judiciary has got to start acting right.

Only in Naija will a public servant get an injunction to stop the rule of law

Welldone ***Clapping my hands****
Hmm......we sure get the leaders we deserve.
Just her audacity alone inspires this comment. SMH.

This country is lawless and ruled by lawless people! God dat deal wit pharaoh is still alive to deal wit them. As for me, dey should leave it for God to judge.

SEX AND INTIMACY said...

This is amazing. What is the Transparency we are talking about about? Why stop a probe if you are innocent? And who gives the courts power to PROTECT AND DEFEND CORRUPTION?

Nerd@titude said...

Ole.... See her eyes.

How possible is that? At the expense of who? Nigeria 4 life. Where any one can get away with anything....

How can nigeria be corruption Free n better country like this.

Hello Nigeria, How are you today? Lets do this quickly. DONT BE DECEIVED. Deiziani is not the problem. Ofcourse the House members knew before hand she was going to get an injunction. Its all a game to them. The common Nigerians are the pawns. The injunction has temporarily ....sorry, Permanently killed the investigation. The law makers wouldnt continue any other investigation by telling us they are abiding by the rule of law....which technically are LIES. Dont be deceived my people, Nobody is fighting anyones fight. All man for his pocket and household. Naija I hail thee.

Wow. Onyx Godwin still comments here? I thought he went into the hole. I still think hes too young to have valid opinion on some certain issues. Take a look at his comment. *sigh*

Oga @ d top has gat a nice 'BJ' and a gud waste turn. Ask google if u think I lied
$$k@y$$

Boko Haram should face people like this since they are above the law, instead killing innocent citizens.

Sanusi thought Nigerians that one can use law to stop his/her investigation or probe and she is following suit.

Work done zero. If they'd probed her and/or stopped probing her, it makes no difference. Ask Femi Otedola.
Just imagine the kind of judicial system 170 million Nigerians expect to get justice from. Somebody pinch me!

Aymii said...

No be small yeye dey smell ah dey tell you...This move she executed shows how "SUPER CONNECTED" she is........Top four most mouthed people in Nigeria Currently , she dey among...

Now let's reason this logically Y'all.....

In this Democratic dispensation where officials elected into office are supposed to be held ACCOUNTABLE by the Citizens, this woman has been accused of GROSS FISCAL MISCONDUCT..

Instead of her to humbly come before the lower house to explain her conduct she obtains a court injunction barring it......

It shows that her hands are not clean and she doesn't even RESPECT Nigerians enough to answer for her actions.....

The way the Nation is being run nowadays shows that some people are UNTOUCHABLE!....Not like am suprised cause Dieziani is like our Prime minister and her President is solidly behind her.

These leaders should take caution,.....one of these days ah swear it will backfire on them.......In any society where the leaders keep Getting Fat, and the masses are "Kwashiokoring"...one day, one day the people will revolt!

#20 billion still unaccounted for...lol.

ON 2 The Next!

So many others have taken that route in Nigeria, so, it is not out of place for her to same route. In fact, she will be a fool not to avail herself of that opportunity. Besides, the members of the house can and do witch hunt people unnecessary. If you are a government official, and you are not amenable to greasing of palms, there is very high tendency that you will be witch hunted. All these not with standing, it is my sincere conclusion, that the members of the legislature have lost all modicum of credibility to investigate any allegation of corruption whatsoever, since they themselves, indulge in corrupt practices. He who goes to equity, must go with clean hands. Their hands are not clean, thus, they lack the moral foundation to investigate others. No report of any investigation that they may conduct, will be credible, it will always be taken with a grain of salt both by Nigerians and the International community. If the government is desirous of probing the minister, let them set up an independent and an unbiased panel to do that, not members of the legislature.

not surprised at all

Hmmmm women in power.dia embezzlement no dey get part 2

anybody who votes for that useless man called jonathan obviously doesn't have sense.

KRAZY said...

WE ALL KNOW THE LEADERS OF THIS COUNTRY ARE EVIL. SO I AM NOT SURPRISED TO SEE THIS. EVERYBODY TRYING TO LOOT AS MUCH AS THEY CAN.
BUT IF A POOR BOY ON THE STREET STEALS A CUP OF GARRI, HE WILL BE BURNT ALIVE.
HAVE YOU ALL FORGOTTEN ALUU COMMUNITY!!!!
MOTHERFUKERZ NEVER LOVED US REMEMBER!!!!!!!

okk

The same way Sanusi got a court injunction...why is everyone screaming..PROBE SANUSI FIRST BEFORE MADUEKE

Aloetein skin care thank me later said...

wow they should leave her alone please!

mummy Ada said...

Goodluck must be keeping this woman, he removed other people on sit then what about this woman? I really like this woman but onwekwara ka odi ooooooooo!!!!!

People, before you start to castigate the Judiciary, it is important that you know the facts. I happen to have been at the Fed. High Court 7, Abuja in respect of another matter on one of the occasions this matter came up for hearing . From what I understood from the proceedings when the matter was called up, Madueke had filed a case against the House of Reps asking for some reliefs; then she filed an Exparte Motion to stop the Reps from going on with their investigation PENDING THE HEARING AND DETERMINATION of the substantive case she filed. The Judge refused to grant the order the first day her lawyers came to move the exparte application and instead suo moto directed that Notice be issued to the House of Reps to show cause why the exparte application should not be granted and adjourned the case to 17th of April 2014. On the 17-04-2014, which was the day the matter was adjourned to (which was the day I was in Court for another matter), the Reps did not show up or have any lawyer representing them come to Court to show cause why the order sought should not be granted. Even though the Court was satisfied from its records that the House of Reps had been duly served, it nonetheless decided to further adjourn the case to the 28th of April 2014 and ordered the officials of the Court to serve a new Hearing Notice to the Reps against that date. So we need to know what happened in Court on the 28th April; Did the Reps or their Counsels turn up in Court to show cause why the Order should not be granted? If they did not turn up again and made no representations, then the Court will have had no choice than to grant the order sought once it is convinced and satisfied they have been duly served but declined to come and join issues. I don't know what happened on the 28th April as I was not in that Court but I am just saying, we need to have the full details before we all go off cursing the Judiciary. Moreover, it is not a final Judgment but just a temporary stay pending the hearing and determination of the substantive case.

feranmi said...

I dey laugh.

What will a character like this be doing in public service? I wish this woman was a minister in Afghanistan or China. Eventually, all her material acquisition would turn to a waste & vanity. Shame on depraved souls!!!!

Of course....with GEJ administration, didn't expect anything less.

That's the kind of story you get to hear when the fate of a country is entrusted to the INSANE!!!! May my country never go the way of the later years of Qaddafi & Assad...

Chop Chop said...

Woman pass woman oh, Dis no be Aviation

How can we be corruption free when everybody is corrupt??.The three arms of government are corrupt,evn we the citizens are also corrupt.Its only GOD that can change&deliver this country.

##########################GOD###################################################Punish###################################################devil#######################

The efficacy of power. SMH

No be today, e don tey...not suprised!

God dey sha...hmmmm

eeven though I love you, pls dont let wat happened to Dora (FORMER NAFDAC)happen to you o, take wat is yours and leave Nigeria's money alone

We have serious problems in this country, court stopping an Investigation on corruption? Haaaa too bad and it is quite disheartened

She be BIG WOMAN now n this is naija, so what do u expect?

puregold said...

Geeeeeeeeeeez! WTF! Don't we have the likes of Jerry Rawlings in this God forsaken country? I wish I had the powers to wipe out these bastards from the surface of the earth. Gosh!

Talk abt d Nigerian police force has failed and I'll point you 2ward d nigerian judiciary too...

This comment reflect and represent the view of Linda Ikeji

And u dedicate ur entire life to read his comments? Let d boy live his life n let him grow! U weren't born old.

This country is damn annoying. ....the thieves are always honored.

Hypertek IshOlawale said...

One day the BUSH MEAT go catch the HUNTER...........

Madam minister, this action of yours only proves one thing and that is, you have something to hide... God will disgrace you himself.

This News is subject to verification bcos I've read something contrary that her request was not granted by this same court.

Bravehart said...

1st aviation minister, now this???

The highest jonathan can do is sack! Lol
As a matter of fact I would do more, knowing that my punisment would be just sacking me.

****Brave****

What now? Do I sing praises of her with such powers or the fact that our judiciary still try to show they are still functional? If you are not guilty, what is the point of getting such court injunction? At this point, I wait to see what the HRMs intend to do. Geez!!!

God doesn't do every thing for us. There are things He wants us to do ourselves so we no go leave this case for God hand. We have to do some thing.

This News is subject to verification bcos I've read something contrary that her request was not granted by this same court.

How is this even possible? This country is crap mehn. Corruption is the name of this rubbish jonathan's government

Femi said...

You are right on point there!!! I toally agree with you. What we now witness is a script thatt was written by both d Reps & d minister.........We are doomed for as long as we fold our arms and let thing like this fly!!

So to b in a position to steal is now a blessing from God?wich way nigeria wich way

what you see in a failed state,i think it high time they legalize corruption,it has already come to stay..

Naija!! God is not at sleep
~Onahboy

Yes! Kill all these thiefs! Whatever are they stopping d probing for?? Chai, I just hate this country

PURPLE

That's just fucked up....only guilty people tend to cover their tracks

Make una no worry. Daniel 2 verse 44 tel us wetin God go do 2 bad govt.

May this ur prayer never be answered, If not this country is doomed(er)

PURPLE

DOBY DOBY said...

Nigeria my country. . When wil you get better. . Corrupt judges. . We need Gods intervention. . Nd d woman looks soo innocent

Ok, thief don dey get one particular eye? issoriat

i know her children read these blog and i know they fly private too

we've all seen the pictures

Diezani ur family will experience a heart break soon...

mark those words

Hello Nigeria, How are you today? Lets do this
quickly. DONT BE DECEIVED. Deiziani is not the
problem. Ofcourse the House members knew
before hand she was going to get an injunction.
Its all a game to them. The common Nigerians
are the pawns. The injunction has
temporarily ....sorry, Permanently killed the
investigation. The law makers wouldnt continue
any other investigation by telling us they are
abiding by the rule of law....which technically are
LIES. Dont be deceived my people, Nobody is
fighting anyones fight. All man for his pocket
and household. Naija I hail thee.

Hello Nigeria, How are you today? Lets do this
quickly. DONT BE DECEIVED. Deiziani is not the
problem. Ofcourse the House members knew
before hand she was going to get an injunction.
Its all a game to them. The common Nigerians
are the pawns. The injunction has
temporarily ....sorry, Permanently killed the
investigation. The law makers wouldnt continue
any other investigation by telling us they are
abiding by the rule of law....which technically are
LIES. Dont be deceived my people, Nobody is
fighting anyones fight. All man for his pocket
and household. Naija I hail thee.

Haba na so d House if Assembly and this corrupt Minister connive o!See home video.Choi!And na so all foolish Nigerians go fold hand..say God dey and forget this errant rubbish.R we fools?Y can't we protest this blatant corruption we see daily?Yet they will say BH is evil.Diezani is d FACE of evil.Iv finally lost hope in my country.

Linda's Elder Sister. said...

Can u imagine, well God is alive and watching,

The almighty God is on the throne,just yesterday Sambo's brother died,it is good that their family feels the pain and the agony the Nigerians experienced,judgement is of God if Diezani or what is her name can bribe everybody here on earth will she bribe God.Just wait and see your judgement has been announced by God u will soon av it,shameless woman

It's right time we Nigerians should start taking laws into our hand. Since there are some stupid Nigerian Bastard that are above the law.. Firstly that judge that make that court order should be kidnapped and killed, record everything and make it known in the video tape the purpose of his punishment and send the tape to one purpular TV station. Dis is what d modafucker boko haram should be doing instead of killing innocent pple. I wish I can have the skills of Oliver Queen in Arrows. All of dem bad leaders will just be a dead fish. Bastards.

Does it mean someone could just go and commit crime and quickly run to court for injuction against prosecution? I still dont understand the reason behind granting injuction

I knew sometin lik dis will come up, afterall she be Jonathan ASEWO!!! D God dat dealt wit Abacha is still on d throne

U can run away from the judgement of man but u can Neva run away from the judgement of The Almighty God. And he isn't sleeping He wil surely catch all those devils n evil doers...

F**k ur opinion

I saw that coming... She is untouchable, she is Jonathan's INLAW!

Naija my country

God dey look una o.

SOON BOKO HARAM WOULD GET INJUNCTION....is GEJ middle name actually ODAFE

This woman sure has a backup and we all know it so why worry ourselves.

Wat is ur problem wit Onyx? If u dont have anything to say pls just keep quiet.....cant u just let d guy be?

Wonders shall neva end in 9ja..... Getin a court injuction to stop a probing of coruption.... Only God knows how much she must have paid d judge to do dis....

Ayeraye ooooooo!

*** forst to comment ***

don't be deceived nigerians. i am sure the stolen money has been shared among the committee members. i wish i have book haram contact. they need to fight the real enemies of Nigerians, the political class and not the helpless.
How in a sane society would court stop investigation into fraud, theft, stealing, misappropriation? walahi suicide bombers pls deplete this corrupt leaders by half for God sake, at least generation to come in this country can have hope if half of corrupt leader seize to exist. i know my generation is already wasted. Everyone want to occupy mainly to loot. i think i am wasting my effort and time typing bcos it will not change a thing. BABA GOD TAKE CONTROL

Dear Libers, I do not think the Court granted such Injunction. Actually what the Court did was to refuse the move to hear the Ex parte Motion seeking such restraining injunction and order Counsel for MPR to put NASS (as the Respondents) on notice so all parties could be heard on the merits of the application. I think its a misconception by the news media that the order for injunction was granted.

Dishonourable members please leave our women alone in this cabinet. U guys are the bigger thieves. What was ur members doing with the oversight function like when you went for inspection? Am just asking. Or looking for campaign money for in coming election. Abi they refuse to grease ur palm and u feel you will do this to her. U will never succeed. Sanusi had 8 units of BMW bullet proof cars nobody raise voice but this same criticism drove Odish away. We will not agree this one. Dishonourable people kettle calling pot black.

skilful_ said...

That's Jonah's GF. She's untouchable. I'm waiting for the next big scandal. Nothing dey surprise me again.

its only in nigeria dat a public servant gets an injuction and stops d rule of law!!wats next nw...wonders will never cease...and dey want to win nxt year ooo...God punish devil...my vote will never go to PDP...for what?

Such lawful lawlessness!

She's a thief! And hoping she's not a witch too! If care is not taken the masses will support Boko Haram against such ppl if they decide to attack them

This is pleading guilty before judgement. This woman na thief. See her eyes like agbero!

No wahala na but all I beg of u ppl is to please remain small for me make I chop during my own time o #Austine

NIGERIA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! How is that even possible?????????? To get an injunction against being probed by the govt???????? How is this even possible!!!!!!!!!!! Nigeria!!!!!!!!!!!! We need to start saving ourselves!!!!! Enough is Enough!!!! God isn't going to come down from heaven and save us. Per capita...we are one of..if not the richest country in the world..and yet our people clamour to escape suffering and strife. this is the reason why..all our resources goes towards the flexing of a few..who determine that their own must eat while others suffer. Enough is enough

A clear conscience fears no accusation............

What is she hiding???

You all should remember how Abacha was dealt with.? You this evil leaders will not go unpunished. Amen!

What is she hiding???

Av always know this woman to be a thief...with her deceptive innocent face...I wish I was invicible,I go dey slap una every second till u vomit all..

Beta4life said...

Not guilty until proven otherwise!!! People don't understand this great woman purpose to the betterment of this great country. She does not need this distraction the house is bringing up that will only be a clog in the wheel of progress in the Nigerian oil and gas sector. Judgement served!!!

Say no to jonathan

THE SAME WAY SANUSI GOT INJUNCTION FROM PROBE....WHY IS EVERYONE SCREAMING. ..SANUSI STARTED IT....WHAT DO U EXPECT. ...PROBE SANUSI FIRST BEFORE MADUEKE

Just like I said earlier, the Court did not grant such restraining injunction. Its on the news now that the Judge is furious for being misrepresented by the media and HoR and today ordered the HoR - as a party in the suit - to appear before it on the next adjourned date to explain why such false news was peddled. Pls let's get our facts right before we condemn.

Sanusi, the so called whistleblower started this madness of getting injunctions. She is merely following a trend. Sad for Nigeria.

Etsako Pearl said...

It is well with us ijn..Nigeria go better,soon n very soon. *

Pretending to have our interest @ heart, and yet with a heart αѕ dark αѕ a coal. Unqualified immunity. Smh for Nigeria.

How I di even posible, like seriously?hmmmm na wa oo
My mouth kpichikom

OLE!!!!!!!OLE!!!!!!!!!!!OLE!!!!!!

Kill politicians said...

This is it!! Our youths are being descriminated and enslaved in other nations, the ones in Nigeria are dying of starvation and idleness and on that day when the trumpet of revolution shall sound, ur likes shall be taken to gas chamber where your skin will be removed from your flesh and serve as meal to you.. Enjoy the time is near!!!!! Devil incarnate leaders wonder if you don't see what is happening in the outside world... Just enjoy getting things you don't need and deny others of basic needs for survivor! On that day, the waters of Atlantic shall swallow all the castles of the rich and sharks will feast, smoke will cover the cloud and ur jets will crash will you watch your seeds burn as your groan in pains and agony

This is messy...Unaccountability and corruption at its peak.

OLUWÆßÖßßÝ