Popular broadcaster and Yeni Kuti's ex husband Femi Segun dies | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 21 March 2014

Popular broadcaster and Yeni Kuti's ex husband Femi Segun dies

Popular broadcaster, PR guru, humanist, businessman, speaker, master compere, Yeni Kuti's ex husband and renowned writer, Mabel Segun's son, Femi Segun, has passed away. He died today at a Lagos hospital due to complications from multiple injuries he sustained from an accident he had with his powerbike last week Friday, March 14th. He's survived by wife and 2 daughters, Rolari & Fikemi.

Too sad. May his soul rest in peace...amen.

95 comments:

D mam wit one of d best voice ever.may his gentle soul rest in peace.Mariam say soo.

Ha really sad!!! R.I.P

Oh dear.RIP sir

-Blunt Ibo boy- said...

Bad new,so sad.

NK said...

Powerbike has sent so many young n old pple 2 their early graves, may his soul RIP

Too bad rip #bright bravo#

May his soul rest in peace

Like femi kuti has a brother i never knew.... May his soul R.I.P....

Wow!! This guy is gone? Just a few months ago was of the daughters birthday, I remember I read it here!! Oh aunty Yeni tho they are exes, take heart!! She may not appear on that show they do on TVc for some time then!. #Godgives andGodtakes...sleep on Sir

Femi,
This is a very shocking news. What will happen to your dream of hosting an International Meeting of Bikers in Lagos? You were so passionate of your interests. May the Almighty Lord grant your Love ones the fortitude to bear your loss. Rest in peace my Brother.
George

Femi,
This is not what we planned for 2014. What will happen to your dream of hosting International Bike Meeting in Lagos? You were so passionate about about your interests ... I can't believe the same interest took your life. May the Almighty Lord give your Love ones the fortitude to bear your loss.
George

So sad RIP

HEPATITIS AFRICA said...

as an avid biker, rest in peace, the second super bike death in a few weeks.

Sad indeed... If only he knew dat its dis bike dat he was posin wit dat wil end his life......

AnnMarie said...

Accidents from power bikes are usually very complicated. may his soul rest in peace

Leave the power bikes to small boys when you have a wife and kids to provide for...... Sad.

this power bike thing is not for everybody oo.even Nigerian roads are not friendly to risk ones life driving bicycle not to talk of power bikes on them.u invited premature death though. RIP

Rest in peace...So sad

mimi said...

Aww, I remember him, such a lovely voice and presence

mimi said...

RIP sir

mimi said...

Aww, I remember him, such a lovely voice and presence

Naijas stupid health care system don take another great man like HCODE
Well, RIP man

Too sad! May God grant the family the strenght to bear the loss. These bike incidents are becoming a bit rampant o.....I hope other riders will be more careful and wary!

AMEN!!!!

AMEN

AMEN

What a shame! Oh no! We were in Unife together and strangely enough I saw the accident in lekki phase1! Rest in peace

FUNMINISTA said...

Power bike now kills faster than HIV.na wa

Uncle am yet to believe ur dead, I hv taken sleeping pills n when I wake up I want to be reminded it was a bad dream I had, u just can't die like dat, ha God oh dis is rather too much to bear, wat a life, vanity upon vanity, Godnhow do we begin to bear dis great loss? Give us d grace

May we not use our hands to buy what will lead to our death.

Rest in peace

Amen!

All these power bikes are death traps...please beware!!

Another powerbike accident?...RIP

RIP, but he is too old to be riding bike na. *sad smiley *

what a big waste? O' Death where's thy sting?? O ma se Ooooooooo!

Powerbike @ his age...so sad sha RIP

Powerbike or no powerbike...death has to come one way or the other, so all those that died without and never ride powerbike in life b4 they died what wl you say..pls. human beings with their mouth....at the end of the day everyone wl die....whether you ride jet, car, bike or footwagon.

Powerbike or no powerbike, one day everyone wl die, no matter where yu are, what yu are doing or riding...death is inevitable.

Didn't someone die in a power bike accident last week in Abuja?

He lived a good life, so many qualifiers. RIP.

@edDreamz..did you read the article at all? Where did you read that he is femi kuti's brother?

Labzy said...

Not a brother bro! She is his Sister!

Rest in peace

Mr. Fantastic said...

How would you know anything when you are either sun-frying your brain or living in Jupiter. Dreamer.

Mumu u no sabi read ? Na fela kuti no be only Femi kuti get brother mugu....u for comment twice again correct urself idiot

so sad, death is something everyone must surely pay for, may his gentle soul rest in perfect peace

Mr Jupiter are you blind? Read again.

This power bike thing is too dangerous,I see pple dat does as pple dat dnt attach any importance to dia life abeg

How old are u. If femi kuti has a brother will d same brother have a child with d sister?

unique Lady said...

May his soul RIP. Anty Yeni kuti,take heart. U sumtyms talk abt ds ur ex-hubby on dat daily Tvc show.

may his soul rest in peace. Amen.

RIP sir..

iris said...

R.I.p sir

Honestly i so hate dis power bike i prefer my husband marryin a second wife dan he goin 4 a bike if i catch him with one i ll burn it 2 ashes b4 he put me an my children in agony, nonsense bike. RIP fine man

Phantom Reporters said...

His assignment has been completed on earth.. So sad..

Shut up u punk! Wat do u mean "naija's stupid healthcare system"? Wat happened 2 blaming him for daring 2 ride a power bike on our unfriendly roads?wen all dat govt cares abt is frivolous personal interests, without caring to provide basic healthcare facilities, what do u want d doctors 2 do? Do magic? Mschew!!!

Very sad news don't know when this will sink in that the motor bike culture isn't for nigeria abroad there are road use culture which protects bikers and the roads are good with dedicated lanes.please please give up the bikes for the small protection of a car interior.

Fool...! Yeni Kuti's ex husband. Pple learn to open ur eyes n read b4 rushing to comment.

U r sooo stupid.

We know we will all die someday, but must we die prematurely? The truth is that their are some things that shorthens one' s life.power bike is one of the them.speed thrills but it kills.I almost lost my husband thru a power bike accident. Our roads are just not safe for them.RIP.such a sad loss.

It sooo sad FemSeg had 2 leave dis way.....he had alwaz said he wld ride Power bike 2 d end & nau he's gone.......why you Femi why you.....*Crying*

Jay said...

RIP Sir. I have always admired you from afar. Can't forget the time you compered an event I attended years ago, you were so witty and articulate. May your soul RIP and may God comfort your wife and kids. Amen.

MAY HIS SOUL REST IN PEACE IN JESUS NAME. AMEN

Amen! RIP.

I must comment @edDREAMZ!!!!! Can u read @all, or u were ENCAPSULATED by sleep? Which one is "like femi kuti has a brother I never knew? U hear say na Femi Kuti's brother? Na wa 4 u o.

ibingo Bok said...

@ Anonymous 1:13......which one be foot wagon biko!, cracked me up. Really sad. RIP, may we live every moment as if it were our last! Are u ready for eternity?

Illuminati said...

Ahoy most ruggedest TBS!!!..... May you sayle with the 4gun Terrors of High sea. Derio till we meet again.....Sayle aweigh.

Anonymous 1:13& 1:15 oshi, power bike kills faster than Cars & Aircrafts! Mumu, had it been he was using a Car instead his life would have lasted Longer. Power bike kills, Riders beware joor !!!!

The Moment U buy a powerbike, u've signed ur death cert. Nigerian Roads are not fast toys like powerbikes...i hate the idea of having a powerbike...don't risk ur life, its not worth it...death has to come but not like this, powerbike will definitely cut them short...remember ur family and do the right thing ...RIP

You foolishness is on another level. Jeez. How is he Femi kuti's brother?

nekky said...

So sad ........RIP sir! Aunty yeni take heart, am so addicted to dt TVC show 'your view'

whether u like it or not power bike is a risky adventure,cuts life short,so many cute n rich guys ve died untimely cos of this craze for power bike

I agree with u anon 1.15 am

AGB said...

Rest in peace...I wish his soul God's Mercies.

musty said...

power bikes sha!!!!! i dont know if its compulsory to speed on bikes!!! RIP Sir!

God Gives and He Taketh.....RIP a man wit a melodious voice.

hrm paul ojeih said...

Linda i still don't get this why do we take our own hand to bring about our own demise wat i will say a lot of libers wont like it still am gonna say it
how in d hell will dis old man hop on a bike and zoom off for why naa.is he still a youth imagine bola tinubu or fashola or dangote say na power bike im wan dey drive absolute madness
who was he trying to impress power bikes are not safe in Nigeria see the guy dat died in charlies boys bike rally people die a lot in these things somebody go get range rover get bmw and 4matic benz na power bike im say im wan use tufiakwa God forbid bad thing extreme sports and dare devil sports is not meant for the black man see Micheal schumaker he is now a vegetarian all becos he wanted to ski he drove formula 1 for 3oyears not one day did he crash common ski na im put am for vegetative state abeg people make una dey use una sense to d dead rip

Power bike again???!!!!! Lord, we bid that spirit using that stupid machine to claim lives. What will his poor mom do, in this her old age? MayGod give his loved ones the grace to bear this great loss. Amen.

NWUNYE EMI

Sad. May he rest peacefully.

just def said...

We are not bikers because we are wreckless. We are bikers because we love the freedom that biking represents. It is a passion, which, may have its dangers but is still a passion none the less. But to be passionate is to feel, and to feel is to be alive. So we ride not with wreckless abandon, but with passion. We ride with safety and caution because we love to ride, and to enjoy our passion we must be alive. So to all the fallen bikers I say "ride on", and to we who remain, "Ride safe, Ride Responsibly, Ride strong!"

Hmmmmn RIP.

@ hrm paul ojeih shut up with your illiterate view. say RIP and move on.

@ March 22, 2014 at 8:45 AM was he a pyrate? a lot of these Lagos boys are in one cult or the other.

@ just def is it a passion or an addiction? Speed is addictive.even if you ride with caution, the odds are that other road users may not be doing so.the truth is that you are more vulnerable as a biker if an accident occurs.most bikers that I know who have been involved in accidents,weren't reckless, but that didn't stop them from dying.if you have a wife and kids, please for the love of them,give up this passion!

U Ar Not Alone said...

Hmmmmm! Posing kwa? Watch how u speak pls. Sounds like ur hating but I hope ur not cos he is dead now and its no time to hate. May his soul rest in peace.

I really understand ur passion nd I do respect it.but power bikes on Nigeria s roads? No traffic rules no road signs etc

Really funny.

Death will come when it will come! Either in a G. Wagon. It is time for him! May his soul be blessed

As a Biker, I say RIP to the rider of such a beautiful machine.
However, we all need to realise that death is going to come one way or another. Please stop driving in cars because of car crashes, dont fly because of plane crashes, dont walk because of kidnappers and gunmen on the road, dont sleep in your house because a flood can sweep it away. Dont eat because it might contain harmful toxins, dont use your generator because carbon monoxide can fill up your house....
At that point you might as well be dead because thats not living...

Get a life Paul. Ur so rude
Blabbing rubbish

I pray the Lord be with and strenghtens all hes left behind. May hs soul rest in peace. I must say its disheartning that all headlines published say hes Yenis ex?? The deceased had a wife who bore him a child and its obvious she hasnt bn mentioned except in this blog. Dint even know he remarried and has another child, poor woman.
May hes soul RIP.

Pls for does who are still in love with bike stuff , pls I beg of you , you Don't hv to be the next person before u lean , its kills so badly , while ur on that bike pls remember u hv love once even if u Don't love dem dat much dey do love u , play save on ur bike While u enjoy ur bike , its a power bike and not an okada , even okada kills and breack borns talk more of a power bike pls think sefty while u are on a motion , u Don't hv o speed with ur life , R.I.P

Bikes are lovely , I love bikes I want to become a biker , I feel peace in bikes , I even want to become one of the bikers club member , bikes are so powerful , beautiful , lovely , and so peaceful , it can happen to anybody in a car or an airplane ,but pls brothers let's be careful while we feel de redem of sound of a bike , let's be careful dat all ,and if we hv a bikers club in Nigeria pls let's meet some where and talk about sefty bcs its important ,very important , once more , RIP peace brother God be with you .