Nigeria Customs Service registers record numbers of PAAR generation | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 21 March 2014

Nigeria Customs Service registers record numbers of PAAR generation

Since the implementation of the recently released New Import Guidelines, Procedures and Documentation Requirements, which now gives the Nigeria Customs Service the sole responsibility of Destination Inspection (inspecting goods at the port of entry into Nigeria), there has been a tremendous leap in the number of Pre Arrival Assessment Reports (PAAR) generated. As a proof, the 13th week into PAAR implementation registered record numbers. Continue...

-          During the week, 5240 PAARs were generated.
-          A record number of 1276 PAARs were issued on one single day when compared to 800Risk Assessment Report (RAR), which was the highest number ever issued during the era of service providers

These numbers reflect that with the Nigeria Customs Service now in charge of Destination Inspection, importing into and generally doing business in Nigeria is sure getting easier.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/N2VTRhW1AOo" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

For more information on these new guidelines, click on this link:

Or call the 24-hour Nigeria Customs Service Help Desk on;
09 – 4621597, 4621598, 4621599

Or send an email topaarhelpdesk@customs.gov.ng

22 comments:

Linda, I will remain anonymous, but Nigeria Customs Failed, it is Webbfontaine Nigeria that took over the PAAR that is making it work, Former Destination Inspection contracts expired Nov 2013, since then Customs have been fumbling making a fool of themselves, revenue has dropped now there is pressure they had contact the last Surviving service provider (Webbfontaine Nigeria) remaining to save them from total collapse, the West Blue Nigeria Ltd Customs brought to take over are a mess...its a pity such things can only happen in Nigeria where anything goes. Customs has Messed up Big time. This present PAAR Customs are trying to take cheap credit for was relaunched this week in Civic Center, Customs have nothing to do with it. Period

Abeg Linda I don't know who is giving you statistic but the reality on ground is that outstanding PAARs is way far above whatever figures you are quoting now. Truth is the system has never seen it this bad in PAAR issuance. Just ask a clearing agent/ importers their experience! There are PAARS that are as old as 3mths pending. Whatever image they think they will launder by this PR on your blog is certainly not going to work.

Oh ye

I totally disagree with this report. My documents have been submitted since 11/03/2014 and we are yet to receive our PAAR. This system is meant to ease the problems experienced with obtaining a RAR; unfortunately it is creating more problems. I have repeatedly called my bank and the customs helpdesk to no avail. Please let the CG Dikko give temporary powers to all port CACs to issue consignment release until the processes are sorted. The delays are costing most importers huge demurrage charges as the shipping and terminal companies are not obliged to waive their charges whilst we are await the issuance of PAAR. Hope Dikko reads this.

Pls where did u get this figures from? Cus clearing agents and importers are paying to have their PAAR issued as the customs are still learning or not fit for this program/ project call PAAR. Pls ask from clearing agent, go the ports and count how many container(s) that are coming daily.

Nigeria customs service is working

Pls who are u fooling with dis 'propaganda'?
Dear Linda, Journalism 101: Always clearly indicate if a material is an advertorial. Clearly this is an advertorial and I refuse to believe u didn't get paid to use dis latest form of misinformation.
Just seek d opinion of people in d importation buz n int'l trade sector to understand d damage dis poorly implemented policy is affecting Nigeria's economy.

Still watching without blinking an eye.

Increase in quantity and decrease in quality.. do they know what they are issuing on the PAAR?. They should give us the amount generated for these PAARS for the nigerias customs , were the customs duties given correctly, were good classified correctly? these are the questions ....

For us to believe this, they should;
1. Indicate d actual number of requests received on a daily basis;
2. Do a graph of the requests n PAARS issued in the month of February; and
3. Indicate d role of 'TechnoWestBlue ' since it is NCS dat is in charge of PAAR issuance according to d above statement?

T

Nekky said...

This is absolute rubbish and a cheap shot @ publicity cos I work in a bank where I process documents for PAAR for customers and agents. I can tell you @ no cost that customs have failed woefully. Ever since they took over, importers have been going through untold misery. We have PAARs that have are still pending for as long as 6 weeks and even more. This was never the case with RAR. Can't remember any customer complaining then. So instead of customs trying so hard to look good in the eyes of the public, they should focus on getting it right!!! Cheap liars!!!!

Lindodo abeg, disthing na biggest lie. I work in freight forwarding company n we open PAAR for customers everyday. It takes minimum 3weeks for approval, it is terible n shameful. Customers don call us tire for their shipment, d delay is unprecedented

Haaa lwkm de paar is not really forthcoming cos the one wey I applied since december I neva c am oh lol

Linda this is definitely not true. I work in a bank and handles customer's PAAR related transactions. Customers are suffering with the PAARs taking longer than necessary to be issued by NCS. Demurrage keeps piling up and they pay NCS tips to fast track the issuance of their PAARs. This is failure on the part of NCS.

U lie! I work in a bank n it takes a minimum of 2 weeks to get PAAR from customs....u have to call d agents personally n beg for it to b issued. NCS has failed!

Big lie custom. It took me over 3weeks to get my PAAR. I finally had to bribe an officer with 30k before mine even cameout that fast, has my container was accumulating Terminal charges at the Port.

Obviously, Linda this advert has backfired cos everyone knows the truth and its definitely not what you are presenting here

Linda this is rubbish. NCS has failed us. All the document we have sent to Custom for Paar are still pending. At times Customs issued 5 different Paars on container number with different value and different Paar no. It is better for Diko to give d job back to inspection agent oooo

Linda don't allow NCS to use your blog to misslesd the public. The truth is that PAAR has NEVER been out under 6hours, NCS totally failed in this regard. The ghanian IT company (westblue)they engaged to consult for them on the PAAR really do not have wat it takes to handle nigerian trades. The actual problem is the inter govt agency ego battle btw NCS and CBN. CBN used webbfontane to design the nigerian single window site(NCS wasn't carried along), this site is supposed to house everything concerning trade in nigeria, NCS came up wit PAAR on another platform(CBN was not carried along) that actually need data from the single windows platform(created by CBN). Long story short.....no technological integration between, webfontain which is the IT company that CBN contracted to put up the nigeria single window website and westblue ltd contracted by NCS for PAAR. Info i gathered is that there is a handshake now btw both IT companies and NCS has launched an enhanced PAAR system......we are expecting things to get better sha

Hmmmm since 20th feb 2014 shipping documents submitted for PAAR today 22nd mar 2014 PAAR not yet out. Who is fooling who?

Linda, its a big lie.. i am a clearing agent and i knw how much i pay for demmurages per container now compared to the era of RAR... as am talking 2 u, i have some shipping documents av submitted 2 custom since january n av still not seen the paar's.. clearing agents and importers are really suffering and loosing millions... plz, we want cotecna and global scan (RAR)