Kenya female lawmakers stage walkout as polygamy law is passed | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 21 March 2014

Kenya female lawmakers stage walkout as polygamy law is passed

It was a sitting filled with drama today in Kenya's parliament as female members of the assembly staged a walkout during proceedings in the parliament. Their grievance was as a result of a new law their male counterparts all favored which they see as derogatory to the rights of Kenyan women.

Prior to today when the Kenyan Marriage Amended Bill was passed into law, it was customary in Kenya for men to seek the permission of their first wife before bringing in another woman as second wife or even marry as many as they want. The men obviously woke up from their slumber and decided to remove that clause in their constitution and this infuriated the women big time. Continue..

Mohammed Junet, an MP representing a constituency from the western Nyanza province,

"When you marry an African woman, she must know the second one is on the way and a third wife… this is Africa," Kenya's Capital News website quotes him as saying.

MPs Aden Duale, Jakoyo Midiwo and Junet Mohammed said it was against tradition to seek consent to marry a second wife and claimed their female colleagues had an ulterior motive in trying to push for the clause.

"I want my Christian brothers to read the Old Testament, King David and King Solomon never consulted anybody to marry a second wife," said Duale.

The women would have none of those talk as they believe it is a sign of respect for a man to discuss with his wife his intention to marry a second wife. MP Soipan Tuya says"It behoves you to be man enough to agree that your wife and family should know".

Despite their walkout, the bill was still passed into law as the men outnumbered the women in the parliament when voting was required.

The law on a brighter side enables Kenyan women to have 30%of any property the couple acquires during marriage and she can go with it even after divorce. The bill amongst other things also bans marriages of anyone below 18, and does not recognize live-in-lovers known as "come-make-we-stay" in Kenya.

118 comments:

FUNMINISTA said...

Things fall apart.boring*yawns*

Africa keeps going backward everyday,first anti gay bill now polygamy is legal. Shame,the black race is cursed

Only ladies with low self esteem that would be a second wife or third wife to a man.

See how stupid the black race is. A man can have 3 wives. WHY

If a man can have up to 3 wives, a woman should also be allowed to have 3 husbands if she chooses. Equal rights for all sexes. #flawless.

Shame. God why did you make me black,I am ashamed of my race.white will always be better than black.period

Come make we stay.lol

Dis kenyan law strong ooooo?pattluvz

What a barbaric law, a law the that shadows God's view for marriage and buttress how shallow minded humans can be

Is polygamy not beta dan same sex marriage?
"Come_make_we_stay", sounds nice

haters-slayer said...

this news dosnt concern me,so i'll just walk away

Yea?dey want to marry as much as possible without consulting dier wives but wana kilk gays ?seriously? Am ashamed on dier behalf!!!

This is backwardness. I wonder what is happening to us in Africa, we are quick to pass bills on polygamy, underage marriages and other things that do not have value while our economy is suffering and none of our lawmakers is thinking of progressive bills to pass to redeem the ugly situation. There is wahala in Africa o!

Hmmmm #bright bravo#

M said...

I THINK IT IS A GOOD IDEA TO LET YOU KNOW THAT HE WANT TO BRING IN ANOTHER WIFE.

I AM THE FIRST WIFE , BUT MY HUSBAND HAVE TWO OTHER WIVES.

I DO NOT THINK , IT IS MY BUSINESS, BECAUSE , I TOLD HIM TO GIVE ME MY OWN HOUSE, IT MEANS I DO NOT HAVE ANYTHING TO LOSE, AS I HAVE MY OWN SPACE. THE PRESURE WOULD NOT BE TOO MUCH ON ME , SUCH AS ENTERTAINING HIS FRIENDS , COOKING, OR ASKING ME WHERE I GO , OR WHEN TO COME BACK. OR WOULD NOT ALLOW ME TO SLEEP OVERNIGHT. BECAUSE , HE WANT TO HAVE SEX WITH YOU MORE THAN SIX TIMES.

SO , I FEEL ,THAT IT IS A GREAT FREEDOM FOR ME . I AM NO LONGER COOKING ALL THE TIME , AND HIS FAMILY INSULT ALSO REDUCE.

BECAUSE THEY DO NOT COME TO MY HOUSE ANYHOW AS BEFORE.

THEY NOW GO TO HIS HOUSE , AND HIS NEW WIFE DO THE ENTERTAINING.

I AM VERY PLEASE THAT HE SPEND THREE DAYS WITH ME AND GO BACK TO HIS NEW WIFE. I HAVE MY BUSINESS, AND I CAN SLEEP WHEN I LIKE NOW AND MY CHILDREN ARE VERY HAPPY , HAVING OUR OWN SPACE.

hmmmm. wat a law.

Awwww. They should be grateful for their 30% now. Wow....in this day and age. Smh!

Odikwa risky!

NK said...

Dis law is nt totally wrong especially dat of juvenile marriage n living 2gther when u re nt married. My own opinion

slimzyose said...

Lol @ "come-make-we-stay"

Nice step

JJ said...

The moral of the story for our Nigerian ladies looking to marry foreigners is not to marry a man from Kenya because he will not consult you when he decides to marry a second, third, fourth, fifth, etc wives.

Sylvonce said...

Odiegwu.com!

Ndi ara julu uwa... They are all perverts!

*My R1.50c comment *

I am relocating to Kenya.

That's great! A good one. We need this law for Nigera!!!! LWKMD!!!!!!!!!!

joycee said...

i wont be a second wife and i wont share my husband. This man go soon die for hypertension o

Awwww kenyan women are strong women.They really had a point but as always african culture always supercede that of individual and collective needs.Its just unfair.Money doesn't buy love and understanding so the 30% isn't so cool

leecia said...

Oga Duale,we re aware of d old tastement,but we ave new tastement which distinguishes us from oda faith and believe,I dnt knw y men c women as property u acquire,use and dump anytime u feel like,but I agree on d last bill of 18 plus and oda tins dat followed.

yusuf said...

Why must you consult/contact her before you marry another one? It is a choice which I think already made known to them. A man is 'liable' to marry more than one wife.

Lol...@ "come make we stay" LinLin,pls don't kill me wit laff biko! Nai wa!

Methink the law is fair on both parties after all the females are not left empty handed, why would a man need the wife's consent when she can easily refuse to give the consent. In Cameroun during registry wedding the man is asked if he consents a either polygamy or monogamy and once he signs polygamy he is free to marry a second wife. Its funny though the lawmakes easily found bible references to support their position.

THE BILL IS YET TO BE PASSED INTO LAW BECAUSE THE PRESIDENT HAS NOT SIGNED IT

They are talking about old testament,what about new testament ?? When jesus said one man one wife? These people are mad....and local.....hiv aids.is coming their way.....foolish country!!

His eminence said...

Our women in eastern nigeria are very lucky becouse their men mostly dont think about second wives.

Wow; Africa... Are they kidding me? Even the women agrees to the idea of their husband taking another wife except they that they want to give consent to it. Africa is a ridiculous continent... Raise the gay topic and they wl go all crazy quoting scriptures, binding evil spirit and talking end time fish... This is funny! What a law.

Na kenya that kind thing go work

@chuks you're a very stupid person and your mother is a goat, same sex marriage is better than polygamy, what is one man doing with 5 wives. Olodo oshi

You suffer from low self esteem,your husband will put his penis in another woman and come and put the same penis inside u. God forbid. I'm sure you're yoruba. Dirty piglet oshi

@M,I'm sure your a foolish yoruba woman,that didn't go to school.I'm sure you also bleach extensively.mumu.

@onyx this bill also means, a man can marry as many underage girls as possible.cause child marriage is legal also.

I know wicked jobless people will start to insult my gay brother ONYX. All of you should go and eat shit. Gay will prevail in africa small by small.

SLIMZEEY MUSIC BLOG said...

We need to find time and think about our life... Linda Publish my comment please

VIDEO: Olamide – Higher ft Bez

So man without nose can get three wives, but a man with nose can't even get one...lol. Kenya please! we know you slowly turning into Islamic state, first the mall shooting, now the polygamy law. Soon Africa will be one Muslim continent..no what the brotherhood slowly working for. Let who have eyes see. Nuh only place some will be able to escape is to join lion pride, or elephant family, nuh only there Muslim will leave you alone.

Ndigbo we don't do this kind of rubbish,na yoruba and muslim dey do this kind thing. We igbo men,one igbo woman is enough for us.cause igbo girls are fine with big boobs.

Why do men fancy having more than one wife? Isn't one problem enough? And in this day and age when training kids is harder than algebra, who wants to have more than 3 or 4 of em? Well to each his own! Women well make una endure!

Let me clarify something. I agree with people's opinion that d africa keep on going backward. But when it comes to d issue of polygamy, other races are worse of. It does not mean only having wives by d number that is bad, most other races are animals as a man would hv slept with more than a hundred ladies. The rate of their sexual PROSMICUITY is second to none. I don't see any much difference between such practice n polygamy

janny said...

Africans keeps surprising me each passing day I tank God I live in America where dese bullshits dnt work, I bleam the ladies dat decend so low as to be a second or third wife

Diary of Dido said...

Polygamy is better than same sex, period!
Same sex marriage is a disgusting, nauseating anomaly we should be saved from- we should not have it shoved down our throats- as repulsive and sick as it is- because of so-called modernization.
People are not "born" gay, they form the habit and its a pity the habit is considered repugnant to natural existence- why don't we then allow people do as they please?
Sleep with "their" animals- afterall, it is theirs?
Afterall, they might have been born with the innate and inexplicable desire to copulate with animals.
We should also let cleptomaniacs run loose- they were born that way, weren't they?
I'm pro- opposite-sex-marriages, Period.

I don't see a big issue here.. it's a matter of choice not force. If homosexualty and other forms of sexual preference are accepted why can't polygamy be? After all, it's a matter of choice.. if ur husband wants polygamy, divorce him, period.

Why abuse M? She only stated her situation. Why call her a fool or uneducated?

God forbid

Are you fucking stupid or something? This is Africa idiot where polygamy do not need western approval to be legal. The bone if contention rather if men should seek their wives before they take more wives. That is subjective to a debate though. Homosexuality is an outright anomaly in Africa, and no matter how perverted the western world has become in the name of human rights and individual sexual preference, and the legality they have attached to it will not change our culture. Shame on you and your warped mentality. I am black and proud to be moron. Oloshi to you. Moreover, I have gay friends Ode

@anonymous 7:15pm, ' I'm sure your(sic) a foolish Yoruba woman that didn't go to school '. I don't think you are in a position to say that. Why? Your written English is not better than hers. Unless you too didn't go to school.

Please note that this applies to men who marry traditionally. For those who marry in church, only one wife is allowed. Africans!! This is however ridiculous. In Nigeria you can marry a child, in Kenya you can marry more than one wife traditionally. Africa will never progress with such laws....

U dat perfect person insultin chucks polygamy myt be wrong buh same sex marrige is an abomination. If Polygamy even happend in d bible days hw much more now. infact I think ur gay sef no nid 2 waste tym on ur mater........... etenkaliko

U are right, our economy suffers while they are busy passing laws that favours he goats.

Because you also is a product of polygamy moron. Your family is who's stupid anyway. Polygamy does not sound right to your hypocrite self but cheating in relationships is entirely acceptable. Re evaluate yourself. I am a woman FYI

Didi said...

Shut ur gutter my friend!! So the anti guy law is taking us backwards? ? U r just a retard!! Mtchew. Btw, I hope u r white. Nduk!

tenun ikat said...

is amazing artikle ,, i like it,, good article,, thank for your sharing, salam kenal dari kain tenun ikat

What is d point seeking consent from the poor woman when d deed is as well as done! Up Kenyan men!

LINDA IS D BEST

Na for Kenya e fit happen.

I laugh @ d Ibo's, like u don't realise u're d dirtiest tribe in Nigeria but u're quick 2 open ur mouth 2 abuse oda tribe. Can see u're d illiterate here with complex. Stupid tribalist.

AnnMarie said...

It goes for women with low self esteem. Why would a lady want to be a second wife?

Thank God it's Kenya, nt Nigeria. I would hav been so mad dis evenin. M tryin 2 kip quiet in the face of this injustice I go through evridei cos I m a woman. I wnt hav any stupid law giv men mre power than the bible n tradition alredi givs dem.

ALL KINDS OF WRONG.

ugochysom said...

oh! buh, anon 5:19 is not encouragin d law na? y r u attackin him or her?

I don't even know which is better. Marrying more than one wife so dat d oda wives will come in and face d stress dat d first was experiencing bc they won't be d last or refuse him to marry more dan one and yet he is deeping his dick in any available hole, keeping baby mamas and mistresses evrywhere to d knowledge of d wife. Which do u tink is better? Bc bye and bye, dis men are not faithful and d so called wife is not happy afterall. My tot oo

l dont know what this world is turning to.

@Onyx and Anonymous 7:17pm.I know both of you are happy because you're both gay men and have seen a topic that you could use to showcase your intellectual deficiency and shallow reasoning...however,like I said before to @Anonymous 7:12pm(whom I know very well is a gay and is the same demon as @Anonymous 7:17&7:18pm),there's a place where you guys can feel free to practice or showcase your talents in fucking your asses...that place is HELL,so grab your bags,call a cab and have a safe trip to hell!bloody demons!!!

LOGIC!!!

Ha, the person shouting ndi igbo don't marry two wives or more is silly. So your womanising men are much better than the man with multiple wives. Ok na!

Flawless, ur comment is truly flawless. They'll take the part of the bible that suits them calling Solomon n David. They won't take the part where Jesus said a man his wife. Jesus came so old things ar passed away. Nyway y am I wasting my time See their archaic uneducated village faces.----C21

I dnt support tribalism bt my dear ur a very stupid woman. U think its about house. Bush girl. Get sme enlightenment

Take note that that's when this world will come to an end @anon 7:19 and tooth pick onyx. I wonder y u guys weren't used as menstruation.

Agreed,it is called polyandry

Anonymous8:02 Either ur a liar U selfish chauvinistic idiotic man or ur the stupidest woman alife. Why should a man cheat or marry mre than 1 wife. Are u a moron. Is cheating n marryin mre than 1 wife the same thing. U need some sense slapped in2 u...mtcheew Black men 80prcent of them are chauvinists with zero respect 4 women. They go 2 big schls n still learn nothng and some black women cntribute by having such disgusting intellect n views. Get a life woman----C21

A man is also liable to die in his quest for thousand and one wives. So you should be prepared to get the answer to what you seek.

nenye said...

U a madt 4 ds comment! Whose blog a u opening? She z igbo o, Igbo peeps rock... Kill ur stupid self...

Are Arabs who marries many wives nt Whites.
Can't you read comment here and see dat majority are against it?
Go to western countries and get your full doze of racism. Bloody blacks with low selfesteem.

Anon 7:46 Plss what culture are u talking about. Since ur so in2 culture I hope u walk around with a wrapper tied only 2ur hip n u serve idols n still trek 4rm ur. home say mayb in abuja 2 lagos. I hope u still live in a hut n pay homage 2 the igwe of ur village. Ewu gambia! Mad people evrywer! The bone of contention is that 1st the entire mre than 1 wife thing is rubbish! Permission asked or nt. What stupid permission. U use culture 2 xcuse ur wickedness. Stupid black man

stranger said...

U ar just a fool. Oya bleach yasef na. U ar ashamed of ur skin color cos of a polygamy law dat was passed in kenya.
U my dear idiot are 1 of d problems plaguing the black race. And talking abt race here, u merely are still suffering from colonial/slave mentality. Whr u av bn brain washed 2 tink less of ur race.

stranger said...

So of all d problems dat might b plaguing kenya, legalising polygamy is all they about. Na wa 4 sm ppll sef. Well at this point anything is better than legalising homosexuality.

Nigerians we pretend..but wer still doing it..most of us..

All this selfhate will take you no where. There is definitely no difference between racist whites,bokoharam and sel fhating blacks as your biggest enemy has always been the black race. But you can never destroy us.
The only cure is to go read about what ancient blacks had accomplished such as the Ancient benin kingdom, mali empire, Ancient Nubia, igbo pyramid, ancient egypt(egyptian pharohs were 80% pure blacks),adams calander ruin, kingdom of congo,ancient ethopia etc
Then google list of "African America inventors"
Then google abt,Benjamin Banneker,he is the great black inventor who designed Washington DC after the excite of Pierre Charles L'Enfant.
Finally, Columbus and early
Spanish and Portuguese
explorerswere able to
voyage across the Atlantic
(a distance of 24,000
Kilometers) thanks to Moorish geographical and
navigational information,
in particular maps made
by Moors traders. Google "Moorish chief" and see what he look like

Are arabs who marries many wives nt white?

Nna so dis shit still dey exist lol archaic ppl linda na ur friend lupita ppl haha I no fit shout

Nonsense law. Mtcheeeew.

big fool wat hav u learnt 4rm d white if nt homosexual? Cnt u learn technology 4rm dem ewu

-Blunt Ibo boy- said...

U must be nuts! Everyone knows that yorubas are the dirtiest people in this country,no controversy.

Pure adultery,is any of this men we're talking here better than ADAM?yet GOD gave him one wife,to others in old testament that practice polygamy did it on their own..GoD did not told them so.... Even if i will wait till eternity then i will...just to have my own husband but doing what a prostitute does?God forbid its not food that we hv to share,,,,a harlot donot mind,if its her turn, is like,,,come n do so we get over with. GOD FORBID....n this is not new to us,the lust ones are into it since...

Brown suga said...

African men always wants to outshine their women as if they are in a contest, why? Was it only king's David & Solomon they can use as reference in the bible? Y can't they refer to d new testament where Jesus pronounced one man, one wife? Another way of enslaving women in Kenya, I'm sure this kind of bill will not pass in my beloved Country Nigeria or is some1 thinking otherwise?

Can't blame the women for doing so. That's kinda barbaric in this modern age. Neglecting vital issues to discuss 'polygamy' is ridiculous.

Brown suga said...

African men likes lording over their women as if dey are in contest wt dem, y must dey use King's David. Solomon of d old testament as a reference? Haven't dey also read about where Jesus pronounced one man, one wife too? Dis is anoda way to enslave d Kenyan women & relegate dem to irrelevance. I'm sure dis kind of bill will not see day light in my beloved Naija or is som1 thinking otherwise?

So,,,men the one trouble u hv is nt enough but lookin for 2-4 abi???then less see.islam said they marry 4 bcos women are plenty..funny but still go to their inhabitant n see things for ur self,when dey don sleep wt u finished,na there divorce 3 go set! Na there u go sidon ooo dey wait who go come carry ur okrika body...u go tire!

Brown suga said...

Na wa oo for Kenyan men, so dat is d only tin bothering dem on their Nation building? Women don suffer for Africa! Mtchweew!

Brown suga said...

Na waoo for Kenyan men, so dis is wot is @ top burner of National development for dem? Women don suffer for Africa I swear, mtchweew!

This explains why Linda is still single. African men are pigs.

I dey in Love with this Keyan new law,I wish they can introduce the same law in Naija to help reduce the high number of ladies out there looking for one guy to hang on his neck

Am sorry to say this but u r that which u accuse others of being "a stupid tribalist" cos I don't know why u r quick to insult a tribe when u r not sure which tribe dealt the insult! But even if u knew, is that the way forward?

They wil alys be btr than you!not me!so sorry u think lil of ursef and for ur info thr ar white men who r polygamous in nature cos u ve nt heard and seen doesn't mean dey dnt exist....

U dnt lik to read!I rili don't care whether or not they marry as many wives!afterall Muslims take as many wives as they want!but gay is jst gross and against nature.....

Well the guy no dey pity him life!the more wives d less ur life depreciates!

Fati said...

Lol!!!!!!!This continent they call Africa is just a marvel!!We are at the bottom of the food chain in terms of technology,infrastructure,human rights.....and with all these issues,what our lawmakers are being paid for is to ly to legalize under-age marriage for oloriburuku people like "yerima", legalize polygamy!!!chei,how did I find myself in Africa?????

Lesson for women,say no to joint account,full time housewife,annual baby manufacturing.....fir your own sanity because this law will be tested on Nigerian Women.

Coming soon........

Fati said...

Lol!!!!!!!This continent they call Africa is just a marvel!!We are at the bottom of the food chain in terms of technology,infrastructure,human rights.....and with all these issues,what our lawmakers are being paid for is to ly to legalize under-age marriage for oloriburuku people like "yerima", legalize polygamy!!!chei,how did I find myself in Africa?????

Lesson for women,say no to joint account,full time housewife,annual baby manufacturing.....fir your own sanity because this law will be tested on Nigerian Women.

Coming soon........

This is absolutely disgusting and treats women as property, which we're not. Bringing a second wife should be a decision between husband and wife, the wife should sign a consent to that. It's easy to say "well, she can get a divorce" but the fact that in the eyes of the LAW, women are still seen as tables and chairs is revolting and shows how backward Africa is. Women are equal to men, we are not decorations or sex-toys that you can have as many as you like. What if the tables were turned and there was a law like this except it favoured women? No human, man or woman should be objectified. even though I personally do not like polygamy because I still see it as ownership not a partnership, I still believe people have a right to their own way of life as long as they are not hurting others but this law just proves why it is still a form a slavery and ownership. The fact that your wife's opinion doesn't matter in such a crucial decision shows how much you value her. What if she wanted a new husband? What of if you (the husband) weren't good enough for her? But no, they consider passing that bill, that will go against their one-sided beliefs...plain gender discrimination. Women need to wake up and fight...people need to be educated on gender equality. #peacefighter

I have been reading some of the comments here, I find most of them very disturbing. "At least (the bill) is than same-sex marriage", "same-sex marriage is an abomination" Are you kidding me? same-sex relationships are between consenting ADULTS which is no one's business, your religious views are YOUR religious views which only YOU care about... and should not to be dictated the rest of us who don't give a crap about it. Throw your religious opinions out the window when you want to pass laws that affect people's lives, the bible itself is contradictory, open to interpretation and so cannot be used as "reference books" for serious issues. It is the same bible the Kenyans found verses supporting their stupid degrading law that someone else found verses in the new testament that refutes it. People argue that being is "un-African" or "it isn't our culture" what the fuck does that even mean? In the past it was in our culture (Igbo culture) to kill twins but that didn't make it right (we know better, we do better), we didn't even know who Jesus or Jehovah was until the Portuguese brought the scriptures to us. We discriminated against people we call Osu but now that's fading away. The point I'm trying make is that things change, culture changes with the people and because something has been a certain way for a long time is not an excuse not to change for the better. Homophobes say it is unnatural to be gay and you are not born gay which is total crap. I have always liked boys (btw I'm female) it wasn't a decision, it came to me naturally and that's the same way it is for gays. Humans aren't the only species exhibit homosexual behaviour, about 500 species (including Giraffes, dogs and bison) display homosexual behaviour...yes we're not animals but this shows it is perfectly natural. If still don't think it is and still insist it is a "choice", the thing is it doesn't matter, it is THEIR choice and it doesn't affect or concern you in any way. People normally associate homosexuality with different disgusting things like pedophilia and bestiality but here's a difference CONSENT! A minor or an animal cannot consent to sexual relations, it is that simple. If a gay man sleeps with a boy that will be molestation because a boy can give consent and the man should be arrested. Someone who engages in sexual relations with an animal is engaging in animal cruelty...why? because the animal cannot give consent...good! Homosexuality is a sexual attraction to or sexual relations with somebody of the same sex...period.
People who say that legalizing homosexuality will lead to legalizing any of these are morons. Another argument is that gays and lesbians cannot have children...smh, you guys are running out of ideas, tell that to barren women and impotent men. Not all relationships are for babies and I'm pretty sure the LGBTs know they can't have kids with members of the same sex. Besides there are other ways to have kids like through surrogacy, adoption and artificial insemination...open your eyes people, you no longer live in the dark ages where things could only be done naturally...that's the beauty of science. Some people say if we legalize homosexuality then more people will be gay and there will be no more children which will lead to thee extinction of the human race. Now let me point this out, if you "straight" and you feel that if the gay law is passed you'll be forced to sleep with someone of the same sex , then you probably are gay (embrace it). Secondly, I'm very doubtfully that lack of babies will be the downfall of humans, it's more likely that we will kill each other off with all the is hate and discrimination everywhere. to be continued #peacefighter

And how dare we ask for more children? We live in a world were millions of children die of starvation and diseases, Nigeria has passed a law encouraging child molestation...yes children are being raped by repulsive old men and it is "ok", do you know what happens to those young girls? the diseases, infections, the injuries, the neurological damage and not to talk of the psychological damage. We obviously we cannot take of the children we do have...how dare we ask for more. God said increase and multiply but he forgot to add the part where we should take care of each other. The problem isn't being parents but being good parents who don't sit around and watch stupid laws being passed. Homophobes should admit that the only reason you truly hate the LGBT is because they make them uncomfortable but that is your problem, you don't throw people into prison because it is "convenient" for you, most of you have never even met a gay person in your life and yet you are filled with so much hate hiding behind religion and natural and unnatural BS. So look at us now, in the 21st century and we still haven't recognised women as equals, human beings not property or sex-toys, we kill and prosecute the LGBT community because we don't "like" them and call ourselves Christians who are supposed to be loving and child molestation is legal in Nigeria because we have pedophiles in power. I choose not to lose faith in humanity even though it is very difficult, I believe women will be strong and more and more people will become feminists and fight for our rights, the acceptance of gays is inevitable, our children will be saved from the hands of these evil human beings...after all blacks were slaves for hundreds of years and not seen as equals to whites for many more years, now we have a black American president. By the way, not to bash religious people, I do believe that everyone has a right to their beliefs but heaven is a personal race, leave your religious books in your religious sect, not everyone is going to agree with you, not everyone is going to worship the same God or same way that you do.If you want to save people from going to hell, preach but do not discriminate, do not put them in prison because they don't see eye to eye with you. The only way this world will ever find peace if we thrive individualism and acceptance. That is what our laws should aim to do, accept people are they are not how the are supposed to be as long as they are NOT HURTING ANYONE ELSE. Until then we are just going to be killing each other off. I know that all these African countries including Nigeria are trying to fight against westernization but we are going about it the wrong way, degrading our women, abusing our children and killing our own people only shows that we are stupid and still have a lot to learn. #peacefighter

Chop Chop said...

i reserved my comments.

Why would you require the consent of the first wife to marry the second?? Very very dumb!

Do you need the consent of the husband to divorce him???

Africans and their stupidity, like it is not a free world anymore!

But really, i hope y'all are aware that if you marry at a lagos state registry, your husband can marry a 2nd wife (with or without your permission). So this one dat we are stretchn neck to another country to condemn them. When we get huge iroko tree for our eyes.hmmm. its really the african man's world isnt it? Spoilt greedy fools.

I dont know why people are abusing you o. Thats the 'best' u chose to make of the situation . Dont answer them, im sure they slp with married men o. See them abusing and going tribalistic. Hungry girls and boys. You want her to leave her 'load' ba. If your heart can handle the emotional stress its no use leaving especially if u can spell out your own terms. Do you know how the society (u and i) treats divorces or seperated women? No matter what u do or say, u no get 'iteriba' and you are an 'asewo'. Afterall, na africa we dey.

Its already here o, just warry under lagos state laws.

In Nigeria, you can also marry another wife under lagos state laws. Not just traditionally.

They r not white. They are mongloids. U av so forgotten ur social studies

Anon:3:43.hope you are planning on releasing that short story of yours as novel in a gay book club stand.listen to yourself,even as you are making some valid points in your essay writing,u sound very selfish and brainwashed.be a gay in the comfort of your bedroom but do not flash it in our face or else you face the music.as for the polygamy bill,women make your choice whether to settle for a man like this or walk.how? by developing yourself and stop seeing marriage as your last resort!

And they wonder why their girls are marrying white men.

Od said...

Caan you imagine this rubbish, the world is moving forward, and africans are moving backward. What kind of stupid law is that! can you imagine, those stupid male kenyan lawmakers passing stupid sexist laws, using their numbers to bully the females, and they dont even have a good reason for this law O! saying rubish about the bible. Very useless foolish fellows, their judgement is coming.

By the way I'm a guy, and I still think that law is messed up and sexist(too openly sexist and biased). Imagine wht the rest of the world will thing of africa(they'll think we are backward monkeys, they already think we're monkeys)