Government should stop giving actors money - John Okafor | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 21 March 2014

Government should stop giving actors money - John Okafor

Popular actor, John Okafor, in a recent chat with Punch, criticised the recent visit of the Actors’ Guild of Nigeria to President Jonathan.

Okafor, popularly known as Mr Ibu, said he had beef with those who went to visit the president  because the president is yet to set his priorities right with regard to Nollywood.
“The government should stop giving Actors’ Guild cash, because we don’t know how to handle it. Some people will go to the office, process the money and squander it and we (actors) never benefit from such goodwill.
“If they (government) can give us a structure or land, we (actors) can go ahead and secure funds from investors to build five-star hotels and other facilities on it, because it will be a tourist haven. We can bring the Nigerian Censor’s board into the same arena." Okafor tells Punch. Continue...
"How can we be paying N50,000 to have one movie censored and then generate N5m from over 100 movies produced in a month and yet there aren’t any structures in place for Nollywood? “With such amount of money, government should be able to cater for us. If this is done, the industry will make a giant stride.”
Okafor also talked about homosexuality in the Nollywood industry...
 “Homosexuality is very rampant in our industry and it is one thing that aggravates my anger many at times,” he reveals.
He talks about fans not taking him seriously because of the 'unserious roles' he plays in the movies.
“Many people do not take me seriously because of the kind of roles I play in movies. But the truth is that those who know me very well know that I am a very focused and principled person.
“In fact, I teach and mentor many upcoming actors and also organise workshops and seminars regularly for them.”
He recalls when he knew he would be an actor.
“I think I got the gift of acting from my grandfather. I discovered this in the early 70s. My grandfather was a foremost comedian in his own right. Back in the days, he would take me to places where he performed. Growing up, I realised that I was going to become an actor somehow,” he recalled.
Okafor says acting has not made him rich
“Acting has not made me rich, but I’m very comfortable. I am able to feed and adequately take care of my family; neither do I borrow money.
“It has also opened many doors for me and it has taken me far and wide beyond my wildest imagination. It has exposed me to certain level where I can say that God has done it for me.”

106 comments:

Very well said.

I think I agree with him, he should pump money into the industry rather than giving some particular set of actors money

Oga Mr Ibu, Maka why kwanu? Why should goverment stop na? If they give u no collect simple!

Your comment will be visible After u Translate ds »* ds Okro dey Draw well well »* to a better english.

Jide said...

Hahahahahahahahaha! He actually looks serious?! Hahahahaha! I'm gonna pee! Lindo carry go jare! Baddest blogger ever liveth. Show dem why u boss

Finally!! Somebody dat aint scared to speak up!!! Wit d amount of money dey mke dey shud b almost on same level wit Hollywood... Nd d homosexuality - na today yansh dey back? Story

Jide said...

Hahahahahahahahaha! He actually looks serious?! Hahahahaha! I'm gonna pee! Lindo carry go jare! Baddest blogger ever liveth. Show dem why u boss

That face though!! Don't let the people eating the money come after u oooooooooo

He jst said it all...

Make sense! I honestly support him.

I imagining how serious he'd be while saying these things..lol! But I agree with him on the squandering of fund meant for better things.. That's why there's always a fight in AGN

Makes sense i meant.

Mr Ibu has spoken with all seriousness. good to knw

Make sense! I honestly support him.

IFY NWAJESUS said...

My bros,tank God.

So you mean if I comment now,i'm likely to be the 1st to comment?

Angie Cape said...

Mr Ibu n'onwe ya!

*My R1.50c comment *

I luv dat

Is making a point #bright bravo#

Lol neva knew he was dis smart nd mature dou, mr ibu Godbless ur hustle
#MzEmerald

Naija Movies Nollywood said...

is it because of that money given to AKI & PAWAPAW
CAN YOU ROCK THIS? LADIES?

This mr Ibu head too correct.He's got a a real asset on top of his shoulders.Too much wisdom

nice one Mr. Ibu.

Gud man and nice statesment

leecia said...

Never knew dis man can talk wit so much sense walai.

Hmmmm found it hard reconciling the message and the messenger. Never knew IBU could make the much sense.
He hit the nail on the head.

sojiment said...

Na you know the aggravation wey hit you in homosexuality simply because you don't practice such.
In fact, your mumu role in movies aggravates my anger and make me throw up at many times...Beeni!

last baby said...

God bless u Sir

E is rite tho cos @ d end d moni dey give dem mst of dem dnt realy c it...

Molurlah's MakeOver said...

Acting has made him comfy? I remember when he asked Nigerians for help sometime ago
Government should give Nollywood Land so that they can build hotels and turn it into a tourist attraction? What to dem building a proper Nollywood ground....dunno whatelse to call it..... where they can act and have all their studios in one huge place with space to do all d action movie stunts like Hollywood. our people lack imaginatn

I think he is very right..Nollywood needs total santification.No wounder they hardly marry or even stay long in marriage.Shame to them.

Wow!

MeEe!!!!!!!!!!!!! said...

#true talk..
other industries should learn from this. It is not always money but away to invest for the next generations.

U hv spoken well in all big bro,keep up!

No b small tin

Good talk. Let's go there.

winniekoko said...

Lol...... that is Mr Ibu talking...pls u ppl should start taking his words serious oooo...weldone Mr John Okafor u 've spoken well!

mmykel said...

That's the truth bt who'll listen?

OJAI baby said...

Ojai says"hmmm, ibu thats a very brilliant speech. Bt y should these pple be collecting money and using it on their own. Grredy pple full nollywood sha

I see ur passion n understands were u coming from. The govt should ermark areas for them to build world class studios. They should organize fund raisers to raise the fund.... They should also use their influence to get this our corrupt politicians to invest some of the stolen monies back in the society. Sweet anonymous.

Maypas said...

Mr Ibu May God bless u d More!

jannygurl said...

Ok. Nice speech

Nice 1

Gud to know dat! Wotz next!

He is right sha cos most actors run around this politicians for cheap popularity or what they can get from them and not for d growth of d industry.

fadig said...

Nice one..luv this man..

Equila said...

I AGREE WITH YOU, first to comment.
#comment already approved.

Chichi said...

Nice talk mr ibu.

Equila said...

i tot they federal govt promised Nollywood parcels of land in the FCT. 100% i suppport of this.

Very well spoken

Totally agree with you!

Mischievous said...

If government give this man money, he go grab am. The hustle nor reach am, that is why he dey shout. Sorry Mr John Okafor!

Issokey.

I too think like that. Government should take necessary action for this. Thank you sharing with us. celebrity news

Good comment from mister ibu ppl who are doing evil shud desist from doing evil, for the homo thing it's nt normal at all

BOOTYLICIOUS said...

what he has said as regards nolly wood having structures is so true . our president and his ministers are actually blank on how to generate money for this country. which really isn't his fault because the average Nigerian typically doesn't see beauty in anything that's why we cant even do well or maintain what we have. all nolly wood needs since it has a name is an a large expanse of land, hire a good architect, surveyor and civil engineer to create this wonderful make believe world like holly wood. but hey! who am I? they'll just keep doing the same shit they know how to do best.

Na wa for u ooo linda u dey luk face post comment again?na mi get tym dey check ur blog sef#mtcheeeeeeeeew#

John okafor is a closeted hOmosexual, a foolish one at that, never an interview has he granted without talking about homosexuality, self-hating fool.. U hide and do it and say something else to the masses, Nemesis will catch up with u soon..

U be small pikin shaa! So u never make love to another fellow guy b4 eh? U're missing out oh if that's d case

Well said! But this coming from this man? Never judge a book by its cover.

@ Molurlah's MakeOver, you have a good point. Infact, there is a very standard studio built by Donald Duke in Tinapa. They dont use it. They'd rather shoot a 2week movie that will not make sense at the end of the day.

Mr IBU weldone u've spoken well as a real Nigerian, but the government will keep deaf ears b/cos some top politicians are into homosexuality that's makes them to give them money b/cos they are all partners in crime. IBU I Luv ur boldness God is with u

They shud pump d money into Nollywood abi? So u ppl can make more movies lyk.. Mr Ibu dance skelewu?

They are all thieves, they don't trust themselves.

Onyxx I wonder oooo

Ur copying Hollywood & its our pple dat lack imagination

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

John Okafor has spoken , gbam!!!!!!!

Chai d thing dey pain some gays dudes, everybody is entitled to his own opinion Mr Ibu hate homosexual wit passion, wen u ar Fucking shit u think u ar normal #trowfacenosendu#

All dat Mr Ibu said is nothing but the truth.
@Sojiment, u must b out of ur senses! Are u into Homosexualism? cox i dnt y its paining u dat Mr Ibu lamented on dat mainly practiced in d Industry. D truth is bitter u know. U better leave dat practice if u are into it cox 1 day, ur cup will be full dat u will b apprehended cox its against Nigeria's law. *SIMPLE TRUTH*

Linda are u ok, you don't u always post my msg. Mtcheeeeeeew.

@Anons 11:19 God punish u for such disrespectful nd annoying comment!
Is you that nemesis will catch up with.
Ewu Gambia

"NT JUSTOK.COM"

I Agree With Mr John Okafor What he is saying is Very right, Nolly Wood is so fucked this Actors are Suffering, The Government should stop Giving them Money Because the money is Being Eaten by A particular set of People nd that's so Unfair, Voice of The wood.

That's a really candid interview. I think of all our comedians, I actually like John okafor cos he is diverse. Saw him in a hausa movie recently, didn't think he'd know to make that kind of movie.

@ sojiment what are u sayin now dat makes sense?? May God 4give u..nice one mr Ibru

John Okafor is right. Nollywood after dark: sooooo gay. Shirt lifters in Nollywood are busy phuckin themselves, and the government retaliates by phuckin Nollywood (by intentionally not funding it). Homosexuality is PROSCRIBED in Nigeria. The government is aware of homosexuality in Nollywood. According to many nollywood actors, including John Okafor, “Homosexuality is very rampant in Nigeria's movie industry. Wouldn't the government be breaking its own laws by supporting and funding Nollywood, a gay organisation? As for you John Okafor, my brother, protect yourself when you're around those homosexuals in nollywood. Don't shake hands with any man because you don't know where their hands have been. Don't kiss any man or woman because you don't know where their mouth have been. Whenever you're on location, wear IRON PANT, and if any man is standing behind you, do not bend down and pick up anything or they will slide something inside you that will aggravate and cause you pain and you end up walking in a funny way - like you have half sh!t for your yansh.

lol

Diana said...

Any1 who need my nude pic hit mai name.

Dr IBU..I hail u

Nice one sir.

-Blunt Ibo boy- said...

Well spoken Mr Ibu, those supporting homosexuality with their comments can go and rot in the grave,fools! Pussy don finish?

if na homo d anger u na im be say u no get wahala cox no homo go ever near u.no be anytin wey get dick d make gud gaysex

Sylvonce said...

Yea, I agree wiv him also. Money is a device dt if not handled properly vanishes before u even think of spending...
It's nt too late if Ibinabo shld consider wht Mr ibu said wiv d recent funds they received

No Nigerian movie lover will take an actor seriously if he plays stereotype roles and those roles involve slap-stick comedy.

Gracee Love said...

Waoo nice saying

mr.ibu u even get time to talk abt homo 4 nollywood...na who go come talk d ones wey d 4 modelling industry and boarding schools?!hehe!na models own d even interest me..

The day u'll be hacked to death for homosexuality, will be the d happiest day of my life

Learn to read and understand u went to sch

Linda's Elder Sister. said...

This lad, that u a gay doesn't mean that u say it per comment on this blog. U a supposed to b reading for ur exams I mean JAMB, WAEC and NECO and not reading and commenting rubish on blogs. Tomorw now u ll start asking if Ghana is in Europe.

U are a bloody gay and a bastard. You will rot in the bottom of hell where you will be burnt by everlasting fire. You will also die doing gay things and your heart will be served to vultures. Fool. Let's look u with a man in a room for 1 year and watch your procreate. Imp.

You're a motherfucking fool. Gay motherfucker. And you're dumb to think that Naija rubbish wood would beat Hollywood. Ewu Cameroon.

Na yansh oga pay for.

CareITonline said...

Very well. A word is enough for the wise

Hacking to death must start from you Anonymous 2:40 PM
And then to ur family members

Mr alloy I noticed you have been trying so hard to take Bonario s place on this blog. I just hope you make out time to sleep in this your newly chosen profession. All the best

Well anon, that means u no go happy for the rest of ur life....and may all u wish on others befall u, amen!

Well said! God punish u homosexuals! Get over it! Its not Nigerian n will neva be. AMEN

People don't take you seriously because you are do stereotypical roles. Be diverse and get taken seriously. Article makes sense though

Charles I wonder if people likebu take ur time to read, not just read but read and understand his contents but rather u went talking rubbish. Well is don't blame u

Hear Hear

Ʊ ar a fool@diana. Go nd read d book of proverbs α̲̅πϑ also do not becum an agent of darkness. God luvs Ʊ very much

ZeeZee said...

One of the few honest people left in the industry- he is just acting nothing more nothing less.. he is not doing yahoozie, borrowning money, runs, drugs etc he is just acting and living honestly on the proceeds of that - open a business sir and become rich

Plateaupedia said...

Linda, am begining to feel this dude called Onyx Godwin is being bullied on your blog with this Homo issue. May i remind Libers that many have commited suicide cos of cyber bullying!

Is marriage an achievement?

Hello anon 11:22am I pity ur ass hole idiotic fool, if I catch u I will not only put u in jail, I will roast ur dick foolish man like u animal, just pray u won't go to hell fire with ur gay nonsense cos devil will devour u, ewu hausa, ewu igbo ewu yoruba

Arua Young Gabriel said...

Abeg who get Nokia charger???