B’Haram writes Army, threatens to attack Maiduguri barracks | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 21 March 2014

B’Haram writes Army, threatens to attack Maiduguri barracks

The members of the Boko Haram Sect have written to the 7th Division of the Nigerian Army threatening to attack Maimalari Barracks on Friday (today), Punch reports. Read full report below...
Investigations revealed that security had been beefed up in the Maimalari Barracks which has the Headquarters of the 7th Infantry Division of the Artillery Corps, the Ordinance, the Signal and other crucial units of the Army in Maiduguri.
It was gathered that while security agents saw the letter as a ploy to instill fear into security operatives, all efforts were being made to ward off any attack on the foremost military formation in the North-East.
A source said that the insurgents might have compelled one of the drivers to get the letter to the military of their plan to attack the barracks.
The source said that the letter was written in Hausa Language.

“Yesterday, the Boko Haram sect wrote that they would attack the Maimalari Barracks. They wrote the letter in Hausa Language to give the notification of their coming.
“However, security operatives are praying for them to come to the barracks. The barracks is the biggest; it is the cantonment in Maiduguri.
“The barracks accommodates, the 7th Infantry Division, the Artillery, Ordinance, Engineering, Signal and other corps.
“People are even surprised how they got the letter to the barracks; one cannot rule out intimidation of one of the drivers to get the letter to the barracks.
“Soldiers are on the red alert. There are many soldiers there who are waiting for the attack. Soldiers are battle ready,” the source said.

The current threat is coming barely after the Boko Haram sect launched an attack on Giwa Barracks, the Headquarters of the 21 Artillery Brigade on March 15, 2014.
Authoritative military sources said that over 350 insurgents were killed in that attack while some soldiers were injured. A soldier was also said to have lost four children to the attack.
Our correspondent also gathered that the Special Forces had taken over the Gwoza Hills believed to be one of the strongest hideouts of the sect in the North-East.

Investigations revealed that the Special Forces stormed the Gwoza Hills and killed several insurgents in a combined operation with the men of the Nigerian Air Force on Wednesday.
The source said that a soldier was killed in the attack while some others were injured.
“There was an encounter in Gwoza Hills. Troops have taken over the place; it was another fierce encounter.

“A soldier was killed and some others were wounded. On the part of the insurgents, I can’t give you the exact casualty figure because the Air Force was involved and bombs were used.
“Gwoza Hills is one of their strong points. The Boko Haram took over the entire place before the battle but soldiers have taken over the place and have captured some of their arms and ammunition.
“That place is one of their main operational bases; corpses are smelling there. It is a joint operation involving the Air Force and others.
“The insurgents hide under the hills to launch attacks. It takes over three hours to climb to the top of the hills in some cases. The hills are massive,” the source said.

Source: Punch

115 comments:

Boko haram crazy bastards #bright bravo#

I think they are trying to divert the army's attention to attack somewhere else

Religion is not by force,everybody in nigeria can't be muslim

Eugenia Ekeji said...

Which way Nigeria?

This is just a strategy to divert their attention. They are attacking somewhere else

What's new?... Letter ke?
Boko Haram, your end is near!

*My R1.50c comment *

I dream of the day where islam will be banned in nigeria.

This is gonna be real war in Nigeria If this happens. D President shld pls give dem wat dey want before dey move over to d east nd west...

Faith Ogaga said...

Can U̶̲̥̅̊ imagine ?,!!!! Threatening the Nigerian army!
If notin @ all, I have full trust in the Nigerian army especially d ground soildiers , make dem try ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥A̶̲̥̅♏ ! Assholes!

I shuddered @ this as I remembered my PPA was in Gwoza 08/09 n I n my fellows used 2 stroll 2 n also take pictures on this same Gwoza hills. God!

Cowards,they should confront the army instead of killing innocent children in their sleep.
Seems they're running out of steam.

No muslim should open their mouth to deny boko haram. Boko haram is an islamic sect,fighting to make nigeria a compulsory muslim nation. So muslims sharrrappp there.

delight said...

Lord protect my people der

Muslims una don come again.

Terrorism!!! wen is dis gonna end...? Hmmmm See How Bowen University Students Riot

OBINNA JAMES said...

It's like someone in high plce is backing them up, govmnt should allow the army to shoot at sight and raid there camps. some of the insurgents must have confessed about there hide out and spornssors.

GRAPHICS HUB said...

Na Mouth, they can't do more than they are....They will be wiped out

World First Solar Toilet To Be Unveiled In India

I thought this people are even dead..... omg, who dey sponsor this people abeg....

El-Toro... said...

And u guys keep saying Nigeria is not at War?and that they shouldn't list Nigeria as a terrorist nation? When some idiots can write this to the Army?

Sad nation and we need help,something has to be done in this counrty,we at 1 point would have to stand up for ourselves...

Enough stealing,
Enough killing,
Enough hardship!

Na wa

Animals, thats what they are.... Upon all the lifes they have lost they still want to fight the army, who does such a thing..... Make una kill dem finish abeg bcos we dey una back..... Nigerian armies are our heroes.....

May aℓℓ their efforts prove abortive in Jesus ηαмє Amen.

base on my intel. I think BH are trying to lure the military out of the way then re-attack giwa barracks a theif can never alert u dat he will be coming to ur house knowing fully well dat u will be waiting for him

#milito da great#

May there be confusion in your camp boko haram in Jesus ηαмє Amen. For the innocent bloods you've sheded, may you remain defeated Amen! Foolish set of people.

Can the govt just put an end to this boko haram shit

All this can only come to an end with the intervention of our Sovereign God. Is it that we don't know how to pray or what is happening in this country?

hrm paul ojeih said...

Linda i am so disappointed in boko haram are they loosing their steam and energy in going head on with our army imagine these rascals writing the Nigerian army one of the biggest and strongest armed forces on Africa its obvious they are loosing the battle rubbish instead of writing let them just attack cowards who tell his enemy am coming to kill u prepare and wait for me only cowards do that

I have a strong feeling that these insurgents are begining to lose this battle and also greatly depleted in strenght, zeal and number. The letter seems like a threat/diversion 'cos they don't usually write or notify before they launch their attacks. However, the military should be vigilant not only at maiduguri barracks alone but also other potential target areas.

Jelila said...

God v mercy on we humans

Am out of wht 2 say, can't express hw I feel anymore...it war mhen war I smell it

I cover maimalari barracks with d blood of Jesus *Amen*

Linda, I'll so much Appreciate if you can get an exclusive from the chief of Army staff and the minister for Defense on why boko haram still operate successfully in Nigeria.

don't ask too much questions ooo. if u do, they will use corner corner to deceive us. just simply ask them to give 1 reason why boko haram still exists in Nigeria.just 1 reason.lets see if their answers wouldn't befit them to be fired and branded as incompetent!!!

The only redemption they will get,will be to own up to the fact that the govt is timid to make all dis go away. i pray that one of them in power loose their loved one's to this boko haram insurgents. then we'll see what step to take. Or have we heard that Borno state governors villa was burnt down by the insurgents? NO! But they can write letter to an Army barrack!Shiooor!!!

may GOD be with us all. nd may evil nt befall us. AMEN.

O my God, Father of d whole universe, d God who hav neva lost a battle, Lord, my beluvd country Nigeria is in ur hands, pls cum down and fight dis people for us, bcus I knw u are a God who specializes in makin impossibilities possible, pls arise and fight dis people 4 us so dat we can hav peace. In Jesus name I pray. AMEN

Imagine then threatening d army, there is a strong backing somewhere

Okay.

I am afraid to say our military is fighting a losing battle. These men have no fear and nothing to lose and the worst enemy is the one with neither fear or anything to lose.

leecia said...

My father do not allow Dem succed in Jesus name amen

IFY NWAJESUS said...

Their end is at hand by d grace of God.

Aproko Manager_April said...

Stupid dirty dullards. RIP to our fallen heroes who fought against B/Haram.

Go ahead and we will see world war 3

Dem go tire

Dem go tire

On a very serious note. BH members are dead serious. They got courage to face Nigerian Army. Don't get scared yet. God is in control of our dear tearing apart country

Dem go tire

Mehn...Wen will dey stop this guys??

God go catch dam

AGB said...

I love where the article says "soldiers are praying for the boko haram insurgents to truly come to the barracks." That sounds like deathrow for boko haram guys....God Bless the Nigerian Army.

God'll nt let you succeed o

yusuf said...

Oluwa gbawa l'owo asebi. May God deliver us from evil doers. Aamin

sanmi said...

omo this B people have got balls.

sanmi said...

omo this B people have got balls.

sanmi said...

mehn this B people have got balls oo.

Mehn dis BH boys own no good oo!!!

Satanic Motherfuckers, the Nigerian Air Force and the Nigerian Army awaits you! Come out and meet the Angels of Death.

And lets com to think of it, its posible dat dey jst used dat letter as a distraction for all our millitary operatives, for dem to focus on dat maiduguri baracks nd den direct thr attacks towards anoda direction

It be Well sumday!!

Dee Brown said...

How them take dey write letter wen dem say school bad. hmmmm.

This BH mean biz and the army really need to get prepared for war.But I suggest the army do a general sweep for mole on the inside.I have a feeling someone is giving them info and when they strike it will be catastrophic

Anytime i read ur comment,it upsets my stomach. Can u jes shut dafuq up if u dnt ve anyfin 2 say. U too dry

May God take perfect control and put them into Confusion.

Truetalk said...

I hope they don't want to distract them from the actual place they intend to attack. Trying to create a diversion.

Chyachebe said...

My thought exactly

Chyachebe said...

We are same set, just that I was in MMC

D dumbest comment eva made

Blunt Ibo boy- said...

No be lie.

islam means peace nd in no way does it encourage violence nd d boko harams are using religion to destroy innocent lives so to dos of u who are abusing islam it shows u dont hv respect for ur own religion or is it wat christanity is all abt

islam means peace nd in no way does it encourage violence nd d boko harams are using religion to destroy innocent lives so to dos of u who are abusing islam it shows u dont hv respect for ur own religion or is it wat christanity is all abt nd linda post my comment if u are heart is clean

SIMPLYCOCK said...

I tell you why it appears the Nigerian government led by President Goodluck Jonathan is practically prostrate in its effort to rout Boko Haram:
The Islamist terror sect has infiltrated not just the military rank and file or indeed the entire gamut of the country’s security system; it also enjoys massive sympathies among a huge segment of the country’s security apparatus.
This segment of the nation’s security establishment is predominantly constituted by Hausa Fulani Muslims.
They form a hushed dissident group within the country’s security network and make up Boko Haram’s eyes and ears, nay the terror group’s intelligence unit within the army, SSS, police, air force, navy, etc.
This rank of fifth columnists constitutes Boko Haram’s remote guide and the basis of the group’s successful launch of unremitting attacks on innocent citizens and even military institutions.
This is also why the security establishment in the northeast is phlegmatic and bereft of agility when occasion demands their prompt response to incidents of Bako Haram attacks.
The point is: the best of efforts by the nation’s security network to rein in Boko Haram is being sabotaged from within.
And the sabotage is quantum, considering that the Hausa-Fulani number in the nation’s security establishment is not less that 70 per cent, many of whom can’t wait to see a return of the good old days when the north held the rest of the country under its charge, albeit by military jackboots.
Thus they nurse sympathies for Boko Haram, believing they’re championing the northern-Islamic cause
Apparently therefore the real enemy here is not so much the external Boko Haram as it is their internal quislings and sympathisers within the military rank and file.
A mutiny of sorts is at the background, I feel.
Unfortunately, while the Boko Haram enjoys massive infiltration in the nation’s security industrial-complex, I doubt if same could be said of the Nigerian military that they’ve succeeded in infiltrating the Islamist sect.
The Boko Haram is also enjoying massive support from the political opposition, which admires the fact that the sect’s activities are in cahoots with their cause to unseat the Jonathan government.
Therefore, the political opposition can only but pay lip service to demands for an end to their onslaught.
Against this background, I doubt if the Jonathan government can win the war against Boko Haram, not when the political opposition is alive and well.
What’s the chance that the government can wholesomely purge the nation’s security establishment of quislings without gravely offending the Hausa-Fulani who may be quick to pass the move as ethnic cleansing and persecution, with the attendant implications on electoral fortunes?
Only if Nigerians would be patient, without prejudice to government’s all-out effort to intelligently combat the terrorists, I doubt if Boko Haram can outlast the inauguration of a new government on May 29, 2015, as they would have outlived their purpose of winning Aso Rock back for their sponsors.

Wahala dey oh

I beg you boko haram in the name of Allah pls go there so that the army will reduce you for us this time around its men wit guns you will meet nt the defenless you,v been killing stupid morons

Anon 8 if islam is peace why r you n ur pple nt conderming boko haram n why r they killing only xtains alone?lf you call yourself a true believer then condem what they r doing n b honest about it.lts an open secret that you r happy wit what theyr doing so pls don,t try to insult us ok?one thing for sure the day xtain take up arms to revenge u knw what will happen.

BONARIOS BABY said...

My dear dis are heavy signs of end time,the bible can never lie"nations will rise against nations,even human beings against themselves" whenever I see dis BH news I'm always scred to death,most times I wish dis world will just cm to an end.have mercy on ur children Lord

Janelicious said...

You are right.

AnnMarie said...

This is nothing more than a distraction. they have other plans

Let them settle this once and for all
Final round
Boko haram VS Nigerian army
Venue : desert
Rules : Anything goes

No need to write letter we need action movies like this, I will need a bag of kulikuli for this

Water wan pass their garri

Those bastards are bold.

I think that letter is just to fool them, maybe they would go attack another barrack

It has been and olways b dia from den till eternity. funny hw blind sum pple can still be

1 million likes u said it all thank you very much.

Shout up! I reject ur thoughts in Jesus' name.

Madam your stupidity is legendary

My advice for the nigerian army is that the should be given a go ahead to fire using both land and air forces on those boko haram pple especailly the leader who claims ( he will never give up his babaric deeds except he lost his life) that was his claims some few month back speech was made in hausa wit his stinky mouth try that mess Shekau u will Know God is One n not two

pls stop using words against Muslims we are the ones being killed and blackmail at the sametime it is unfair. instead pray for us to be out of this horrible condition and the success of Nigerian army over the insurgents.

Boko Haram is not a Muslim thing!am a Christain but I ve seen der pattern they r of Muslim religion but they ve der own beliefs jst lik Bin Laden brain washed them!BH killed a Mosque Clerk simply cos he preaches against der act!but my only disappointment is dt d Imam and Northern Leaders shd alys engage their pple explaining their religion to dem!preach abt Peace more!even War dey bible but u don't see us preaching abt War!sme wicked pple jst picked a part in der Quran and al dey knw is War!thr ar no virgins waiting if u kill a soul na bulala dey wait ur P***s instead!

Well my President Jona hs said Boko haram is now Fire for Fire! Na here humility dey stop!he hs tried to hear der grievances!but nw it hs to cum to a halt!they wil be Fallen ds time!!!!

Military shd be careful cos Boko haram hs infiltrated d army dey ve spies too and dey giv info out to der sect.they shd watch and capture those traitors!!!

God save your people no power is above your power all powers is powerless god Expose them n their leaders by name happy

Brown suga said...

I think d military shud be vigilant & look beyond thier nose.

Brown suga said...

I smell danger, d military shud look beyond their nose.

Brown suga said...

Weldone JTF

Labzy said...

Leave him for Christ's sake! Its his opinion!

biggest fool eva

Your analysis z on point! D most intelligent comment I hv seen on ds blog abt BHaram menace.

Arkman said...

they re not doing all dat for the sake of islam...... use ur brain. it is political. are u trying to say muslims are not affected with d attacks.

Arkman said...

So, u still cant reason , to knw they re not fighting for islam but politics. Ur brain is meant to be used not to be managed.

Arkman said...

U re out of ur senses.... U dont generalise everyone bcos of a single action of one. BH is not fighting for islam but politics. Allah is powerful enough to fight for his holy religion. Happy to be a muslim

Anon12:20 you r now talking but your religion should condem it truthfully n we will believe u.

Arkman said...

why are u talking as if u re not in Nigeria. muslims re also affected na. We condemn their acts for it wasnt written in d holy Quran to force pple to Islam or shed innocent bloods for Islam. Islam is peace. By now, u should BH is political. Are u trying to tell me, there is no muslims in d public schools they attacked and some other villages where muslims are even the major residents. wake up Naija and use ur brains. this ppple are fighting for politics.

I hope the Nigerian army don't fall for this. Feels like a strategy to divert their attention to strike some other location... God help us

Linda y is it dat u dnt post my comments? Is der anytn spcial I shud do 4 u 2 do dat? Ds is not fair

You read my mind. First thing I thought.

These guys are super bold as if they have the backing of one world super power. Tell me how come they are so active in Borno where the "world power" wanted to build the so called africom base and were refused the opportunity?
BH is neither political nor religious but its all about international politics. Nigerians shine your eyes. BH is about energy.

@Arkman: I no think say anony 3:18 pm get brain. He no hear abt d muslims wey dem kill ni. This guy na confirm n correct ode.

Anony 3:18 pm. Correct ur sentence first. Its only den I can reply u. Ode oshi. Ewu nla!

Lol. Thanks peeps for giving vivian d correct comments. No more comment. Lol

Anony 3:23pm. Goat beta pass u walahi. I am a Muslim n i'm proud of dat. Na brain dey dat ur skull, try dey use am. Omo ode!!!

Anony 3:23pm. Dats a foolish comment there u knw?

@Arkman: y u dey explain give this guy? He no get brain na. E no dey naija wen boko clear people wey dey pray for mosque ni? Abi he no dey wen dem kill one Imam wey dey preach against dem ni. This guy na confirm ode.

God bless u my bro.

My take about all dis, is dat der 'ld be serious security beef up in all Miitary formations across Nigeria.

D power backing boko-haram is beyond africa not 2 talk of nigeria....only GOD can save us nd lets keep praying. Muslim & christian stop insulting each other we ar all 4 peace....am suspectin all diz deadlist terrorist country ooo they are their backbone!! Peace b unto Nigeria

for those who think boko haram is an islamic group,they hab better ask why they attack muslims on their festival days.is that to convert them to muslims also?boko haram is a problem for us all,both christians and muslims