Nigerian man who stabbed his wife while she slept jailed for 12 years | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 26 February 2014

Nigerian man who stabbed his wife while she slept jailed for 12 years

A Nigerian businessman has been jailed for 12 years after he was found guilty of stabbing his wife as she slept in their home. Oluwabusayo Abegunde, 38, (pictured above) stabbed his wife repeatedly with a kitchen knife after he went through her phone and discovered she was seeing someone else.

Esther Abegunde, 33, told her husband of ten years that their marriage was over and moved into a spare room on February 16th 2013. Abegunde attacked her with the knife after he discovered why she wanted to leave him. Oluwabusayo stabbed Esther in the chest, arm, and punctured her left lung, according to the Manchester Evening News. Continue...

As Esther began to bleed to death Abegunde agreed to call an ambulance after making her promise she would tell police she had caused the wounds herself. To make it believable, he cut himself with the knife to make it look like he had also been attacked before emergency services arrived.

Esther survived the brutal attack and later told the police the truth. Abegunde, who has businesses in Nigeria and was a respected member of Manchester’s Nigerian community was arrested and charged with attempted murder.

He was found not guilty of attempted murder at an earlier trial but the jury at Manchester crown court found him guilty of grievous bodily harm this week and he was jailed for 12 years.

The former couple have two sons, aged eight and four.

248 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 248 of 248

even if he kills her its worth it! he trusted her, loved her gave her all..... let the bitches die motherfucker! And to yah all bitches that look for money and run when things get though.. u gonna all die...they are all bitches and MUST die... IF U CANT KILL THEM CALL ME , AMA GIVE U A HELPING HAND. i look forward to kill one BITCH myself... MOTHERFUCKERS.!!!!!!GGGGRRRRR

No matter what she did, the man had no right to attempt to take her life. What if he succeeded in killing her just like my late sister's husband succeeded in strangling my sister to death and up till now we didn't get Justice. No human has the right to take another human's life. The woman is not right if she was unfaithful, and the man is guilty of attempted murder

Hahahahahahaha*rolling on d floor* is ds guy 4 real?so u jst read headlines stabbed then she's dead ba?na wa sme pple rili don't knw hw to read details!I hail deee....lmao xoxo Charmie

Wahala dey dis world.

OIL said...

It's a pity d man cldnt control his anger, I don't know him 4rm Adam but wat some married women do in UK is terrible...God is a patient God,he'll serve his term on earth but she'll serve hers in hell..

God knows best, and He will judge us all

Eh hen! So he bought her ticket to heaven. So? Other man have done so much more n got worse treatment, did they try to kill the women in question? Rubbish! See leave her n her God, He has His ways to pay people back. Anything he did for her was out of love na so y is he tripping. Stupid man. He for die for prison. He s lucky idiot.

God's judge is upon who ever commits sin and does not repent

anuoluwa8285 said...

@anon 3:46 You don't know anything so please be quite

anuoluwa8285 said...

Yes I have lived with them and I know!

anuoluwa8285 said...

You don't know anything so I refuse to reply u

anuoluwa8285 said...

Sir/ ma thank you u r 100% correct

Unattached said...

Men that wants to be scammed by women gets scammed. As far as I am concerned, even if your get p***y 24/7, she cleans the house and takes care of your kids, when a woman isn't sharing her resources she's not your wife. Until a woman is flexible with her resources with her husband, that is when there is any marriage, anything otherwise is business. Chikena! Mr Man, if you like let your ego puff up and be answering the tag 'oko iyawo' and be working your ass off like a donkey and be talking 'my woman won't contribute a dime to the family cause I'm a REAL man'. Your type gets this kind of treatment. Most times, these kind of behavior is associated with fat women, once they begin to loose weight they tend to get a kind of self-confidence they have never handled before which they end up misusing. Prior to that time, they will be looking for ANY MAN who can accept them for who they are, let small money and anything they can use to get and feel powerful touch their hand like this, they throw respect into the wind, go crazy and start fucking anything that walks. Funmi or whatever your name is, Oshi lon she e. Omo oju O ri ola ri ni ran yin. I blame this man who fell mugu to your evil schemes, you had no love for him from the beginning, you only used him to survive. The signs will be there all along, he just would be ignoring it. You think that lover you have right now loves you and he is blind? Hahahaha, I am a man, with all these stories, he will be laughing behind your head, he and his advisers will have a ready plan for your ass. With this kind of attitude, you can NEVER win at the end of this story. Your type never does. We will be watching!

I also knew this couple, and I can boldly say Busayo was a very cool dude who gave his whole heart and all he had for this marriage to work. Though not justifying his actions(even though most of us dont know the true story), Funmi must have pushed him to the wall. I pray that the truth prevails sooner or later!
Linda, kindly use the medium to get the true picture (and not just what the UK newspaper said, cos 'they' will always believe the woman anyway!) and keep us informed.
Thank you....

Even if he bought her d moon, na e mke am wan kill am chop. If ur story is true d lady shld b tot a lesson bt nt dis way

N u av cheese as brain @ badoo

Men will never learn o! Instead of marrying a woman in the UK where you both understand each and how the system works no! You run off to Nigeria and bring a wife because London girls eye too open they too know their rights blah blah blah. Then the one you bring from Nigeria go come worse pass London babes. See where you land yourself? It's the annoyance of all he's spent that frustrated to him to the point of stabbing her and all. If and only if he had jejely married from the UK when marriage breaks down each will go his own way. Nothing like all these stories of the fortune spent and all
Lessons for all men living abroad marry in the country where you're at

What about women bringing men to western world idiot! You think u hv done her enough favor bringing her from nigeria and she will come and cook clean work also carry ur baby for 9 months,... western world is not a favor mind u, we that re here we knw how it is mtcheeeww

Only12 yrs?

Anon 8.35am, u r so right! I tell my friends in the diaspora never to make the mistake of coming to marry a wife from Naija. These girls r worse than any Akata! Poor guy.

Anuoluwa. U are lucky, I had to rrtype this message,

So you knew them abi, ku ori buruku, how come u didn't advise the looser to move on. He sponsored her education, well greet him that he did what no one ever did shey?!! Craze ppl, did he sit exams or attend lectures on her behalf. You should be ashamed of Ur self, 2 boys to show for a marriage and she is a prostitute, is he soubting paternity??? Write back o, let devil push u guys to try anything silly with the lady, u lots will languish in jail, let God judge her. Mind Ur f*ckin business and go counsel him while in jail to ask God to lead his heart right. Shame 12 yrs will run concurrently. If it was kirikirii he would come out with 144 stab wounds to his ugly face

Busayo thinks he can destroy other homes by duping people in his so-called business deals while he maintains his own home? This is his own karma so he should face it. He is a wicked soul and deserves the worst treatment he can get. His brother Oluwatomisin Abegunde is next. 419ers.

Linda don't get tired pls. This one may have 1000 comments, now when Funmi get over all this. Let her tell us all AS IS... that where I want Ur blog to go. no all this "them say" Biko. Bless u gurl. Well done

The man is a real learner. Stab ur cheating wife for what? U no fit find gun?

Hilary, I agree with u 100%!

God bless America! Magnum for settle this matter better than any yeye knife.

Funmi Abegunde, hmmmmmm! U ve done ur worst, u said u will send uncle busayo to jail ,and u achieved ur aim, hahaaaa oberu Olorun, after all this man did for you nd ur family!

This badoo is always pro anything that has to do with violence against women. That's how he was also cursing the family of that woman who got killed by her husband saying they shouldn't have prosecuted him. This guy, where lies your heart? Hope you're just saying these for effects tho. By the way, no; most of us here wouldn't do more than that, not everyone's interested in killing their partner due to jealousy or disappointment. Jail term/death sentence no be joke. And you're only saying things from the man's pov, the wife has her side and reasons too, the man isn't always as innocent and blameless as you try to make it look......... Linda abeg, post my comment joh

Y 12years he should b sentence 2 21years joo no sentence 2 death bcus :e could have killed her

uk.kofo said...

Shit happens in this UK. Lord help me in my marriage. No justification for a wife beater. Take a walk if u can't handle d heat.

uk.kofo said...

Anu pls let say no to domestic violence in this UK. Many women die silently cos of it. It's a taboo to call d cops. U re warned not to do that once u do, that is d end of ur marriage. It must stop abeg!

What ever the case must have been Baddoo, stabbing her was not a right step. He should av controlled himself. It's a pity cos he will now spend 12 yrs of his life behind bars after all he did for her and she would be free to galavant. Sad.

This is to the very well informed Anonymous person:
You state that Busayo is your uncle, he is nice, generous and all what not....so that gives him a right to stab his wife for cheating??? You must be a STUPID INDIVIDUAL.

Let me correct your information: They met in Unilag, which her mother paid for. She came out a graduate and married him. 2.1 graduate by the way. He was busy smuggling then and wanted a virgin to marry, packed her up, lured her to the UK to do her masters, which he paid for and then she started working and earning quite well. 75% of everything they have which is in are name was bought soley by her. The house....no, Mansion they have in Nigeria was built jointly and put in her name to safe guard for the children because of the eventuality of problems from greedy relatives like yourself. Like every businessman, he tried to hide assets by putting them in her name.
They were greatly in love, she was always faithful and greatly supported all he's many ventures, however, unfortunately the devil began to spin an overtime venture (which I dare say evil-relatives like yourself who always envied the love & attention the shared engineered) She began flirting, texting & emailing a guy. She was not sleeping with him. She also made the grave mistake of acknowledging (during an argument which his insecurity due to hard times in business had brought) that 'Yes o, if that's what you want to believe, I am seeing someone, as a matter of fact I want a divorce to go to the person. like any angry person being wrongly accused & probed will probably do. He broke & took a knife, went to the spare room upstairs and stabbed her repeatedly with her brother and 2 kids downstairs. That I call INSANE. Now Anonymous....that's the story without bias, when you write, be factual and unemotional. Busayo was a close friend of mine and so was the wife, but the truth cannot be bent. Those who love him will be waiting when he gets out, as we know it was totally out of character. let's see where you so called relative will be to help your uncle start again. We will be watching.

There are different comments based on the different angles we viewed this case.
They are both well know to me. In DEFENCE OF BUSAYO: She gave her everything, built houses in her name, his Magodo house warming was to celebrate funmis 30th birthday. He lived his life for Funmi and her . He often told me, Funmi is my life, even when he had the opportunity to cheat on Funmi he wouldn't do such thing. He was financially down and making Funmi to spend the bill just for sometime Funmi got irritated with him and decided to play her game outside. He's highly indebted to a lot of people, just to satisfy his family. It would be a great heart break for him to discovered his wife his cheating on him. Not to talk of wanting to end the marriage. From his own word he said he did not stab Funmi, he told me 'I swear to God I did not stab her' to stand by his story Funmi staged it all to get rid of Busayo. It's Busayo's word against Funmi and his brother. Assuming he stabbed Funmi, Busayo should not have allowed his rage to take over. How i often called him a coward, bcos he could not carry out any threat of his. If it is true you did it so sad that you allowed Funmi to destroy you. IN DEFENCE OF FUNMI. He spoilt you with money, you got use to living good, and could not substain it again. He is not good for you again bcos you are made to pay bills you were not used to. You are irritated by him. You chose to bolt out. But he would not let you go. And he stabbed you for attempting to move on with your life. What if you have lost your life? What would have become of Joshua and Tolu? What about your family that you are their bread winner? Yes, he deserve more than jail term.

Busayo is my personal person. He wouldn't do such. He told me he did not stab that girl. He would do such a thing. Could be lousy but not to hurt. It's his word against Funmi and her brother. Just the 3 of them witnessed it. He did not do it. Funmi staged all these to get rid of Busayo. Busayo wz really broke. Could not even stand it to see Funmi paying the bills. He went borrowing just to satisfy this girl.
I'm a lady myself. Funmi should considered the kids: Joshua and Tolu. It's really sad. All I know is God will definitely judge. 12 years will soon be over. This is part 1 of the story. Part 2 will unveil the truth. You can hide for men but not from God. The truth will eventually come out. I know this. I doubt if he has any property in his name all his properties are either in Funmis name and his kids name. Even his New Magodo house warming was planned for funmis 30th birthday party. All his language is Funmi and the kids. He wouldn't cheat on her. Soooooooo sad Busayo.

Only 12 years?

Sincerely Karma is real! Funmi lied about so many things on here. You guys need to understand how badly it feels to see your treasured queen(wife) hold a knife to stab you, in the course of an argument over why she ad to cheat…
I mean a wife you ve trusted so much with overa decade of your active working life (Money n Asset), Niether she or her broke ass, so called pastoral family lacks a dime during this period.
A well furnished house in Manchester City for her and the kids, multimillion naira duplex with all anyone could wld in a house sited in the heart of Magodo Estate occupied by her siblings, A low cost housing estate building on the mainland for her parent (All in her name).
She lived in the UK for several years during and after her program till she became chartered without working(you shld knw wat that means).
And suddenly she points a knife at you and stabbed you before things turned around, all bcoz of anoda man who aldy had kids (Sighs).
We just need to see the young mans grievance, that he acted not with the intent to kill but was only pushed beyond limits. He stabbed you (Funmi) and could av also see you bleed to death knowing the implication if u have to charge him… but bcoz he still loved you and couldn’t live with the thought of killing the mother of his kids. He trusted you once again at ur death point so u couldn’t survive and probably both of you could make up and live happily again… unfortunately, like she’s always being (Betrayer) plus her desperation to see the mans life end.
She went back blackmailing the youngman with ridiculous requests like… if he doesn’t want him to tell the jury he stabbed him then he must (1) give divorce (2) foot her lawyers bill (3) not stop paying the kids bills (4) be ready to foot her own bills too till she gets anoda man to marry legally.
Who does this for Christ sake?
Well, I'm sure you and your advisers are glad to have him behind the bar, but remember its always good to cry first before smilling….

Sincerely Karma is real! Funmi lied about so many things on here. You guys need to understand how badly it feels to see your treasured queen(wife) hold a knife to stab you, in the course of an argument over why she ad to cheat…
I mean a wife you ve trusted so much with overa decade of your active working life (Money n Asset), Niether she or her so called pastoral family lacks a dime during this period.
A well furnished house in Manchester City for her and the kids, multimillion naira duplex with all anyone could want in a house sited in the heart of Magodo Estate occupied by her siblings, A low cost housing estate building on the mainland for her parent (All in her name).
She lived in the UK for several years during and after her program till she became chartered without working(you shld knw wat that means).
And suddenly she points a knife at you and stabbed you before things turned around, all bcoz of anoda man who aldy had kids (Sighs).
We just need to see the young mans grievance, that he acted not with the intent to kill but was only pushed beyond limits. He stabbed you (Funmi) and could av also see you bleed to death knowing the implication if u have to charge him… but bcoz he still loved you and couldn’t live with the thought of killing the mother of his kids. He trusted you once again at ur death point so u couldn’t survive and probably both of you could make up and live happily again… unfortunately, like she’s always being (Betrayer) plus her desperation to see the mans life end.
She went back blackmailing the youngman with ridiculous requests like… if he doesn’t want him to tell the jury he stabbed him then he must (1) give divorce (2) foot her lawyers bill (3) not stop paying the kids bills (4) be ready to foot her own bills too till she gets anoda man to marry legally.
Who does this for Christ sake?
Well, Im sure you and your advisers are glad to have him behind the bar, but remember its always good to cry first before smilling….

Oloriburuku badoo of toronto! Iya la ya e Ashewo. Omo ale jati jati

Wetin be 12 years? That's too short abeg

Mr Toronto
Geez hw men can have small mentality. So if he bought her a house or even a plane shud it warrant kill her? Na d same insecurity make am buy her love in the first place.. He wasn't doing all that cos he was happy doing it but he got her all the goodies cos he was scared of loosing her and that's beyond foolish. 12yrs is small,150yrs is jst perfect. U dnt buy a woman's love cos if u do,expect anything. If ur giving her a gift,ensure it doesn't take a pint of blood from u.. shallow mentality all over d place,they buy u one gift n expect to own u..

This goat only got 12 years for taking a like. What a coward. He should face his fello man. My thoughts and prayer go to the two kids who have to bare the weight of the wrong decision taken by their father,

Abeg why are u not posting my comments? @ Busayo is too nice to a fault. Since Unilag days people always take advantage of him. Funmi esan

yeh true same happened to ma dads friend in New York...he did d first time but let d woman go...d oda one did d same so he killed her n later killed hinself..

hahahah he/she reads his/or her books upside down....cant stop lafing...lol

yeh true same happened to ma dads friend in New York...he did d first time but let d woman go...d oda one did d same so he killed her n later killed hinself..

lmao! love your comment die

NA SO MY FRIEND TAKE END IN JAIL. THIS WOMAN SEF. SHE HAS FORGOTTEN EVERYTHING. I AM AN IBO MAN AND FRIEND TO THE FAMILY BUT THE LITTLE I WITNESS IS ENOUGH TO SAY THAT THIS WOMAN WILL SURELY LIVE TO REGRET THIS EPISODE. IFY

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 248 of 248   Newer› Newest»