We will thrill Nigerians at Glo Laffta Fest - American comedians | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 18 October 2013

We will thrill Nigerians at Glo Laffta Fest - American comedians

Popular American comedians, Tony Roberts and Deeray Davies, have promised Glo subscribers who will attend today’s Glo Laffta Fest show an exciting evening of fun and laughter.

The comedians who arrived in Lagos on Thursday evening for the biggest comedy show tagged Invasion L.O.L. said they would give the audience a different kind of comedy from what they were used to. Continue...

Asked by reporters what Nigerians should expect from him, Roberts who had a big smile plastered on his face declared, “Non-stop comedy. I'm very unpredictable, so I don’t know what I'm going to say. If you're in front of me, I might talk about you. I don't want to offend anybody, but you never know. You've got the best right here with you!

Roberts continued, “Every country we go to, we do our research. We try to read the mindset of the people, because what's funny to people back in the United States might not appeal to the audience here, so we just have to get ready, and make sure we operate on the same wavelength as the people here.”

On his part, Davies said, "I just want to have a good time and bring my own brand of comedy to a whole new place. Many may have watched me on TV, but they’ve never seen me perform live. It's going to be spectacular. It's going to be a different vibe coming from me on that stage. I just want to create a stress-free environment and make the audience have a good time.”

Anxious to work with some of Nigeria’s biggest comedy talents, Davies stated, “I want to see more so I can take in the culture, and learn as much about their comedy as I possibly can. I don’t want this to be my last trip; I want Nigerians to be so used to me that they’ll keep having me over, and not just for big events alone.

The duo will be performing with some of Nigeria’s biggest stars including Alli Baba, Basketmouth, Okey Bakassi, Julius Agwu and Gordons. 

On their expectations on working with their Nigerian counterparts, Roberts said, “Actually, it's weird because they're more used to this environment than we are. They know the local stuff, so they can say things that we don't know about. They have the upper hand on us, but all the same, we're super funny, and you're going to find out! We're going to get along with them and work as a team.”
The show which is packaged by national operator, Globacom, is scheduled for 6.00 p.m., Saturday, October 19th, at Eko Hotels, Victoria Island, Lagos.

48 comments:

tima said...

Basket mouth we proud of you.

Y is basketmouth smiling sheepishly, Shior. Nyways I stl wish I can go for dis show.

Basky...u 2 laugh joor

We're waiting. Basket mouth don open mouth again ooooo .

What the hell did this freaks meant, we are far better dan dem na.Again! See whats happening inside naija female hostels too badt.

jennifer said...

I love dis dude.........basket mouth...4o proud of U

wats the requirements please?

I'm still waiting for my invite from Glo oh... Wud really luv to attend this show

I trust BM. I can't say anything about the rest oh..

Video: Runs babes Disgrace a Businessman in a Train

Robert,u r damn right with "what's funny to Americans may not appeal to d audience here" so u do a brilliant research and get us L. O. L. Hahahaha

Ajiifixing said...

That's if they get the accent. Lol.

you will thrill them if they understand your nigga nigga accent.

Yaaay, my bf and I will be there. We got the entry ticket already. Can't wait....

Deray face is like,wtf am I doing in this shithole!.

Just go my invite though, I wish I could sell it,lols

Boston Red Sox i see you!!!!!!!!!

Y does. BM. Look pregnant??? LMFAO

@ Anon 8.50..U re a fool,if he shud frown,u'll complain and nw hez smilln,u re still complaining..u re just a fool

Basketmouth wear the same shirt for two days... Serious disgrace.

Wts funny 2 des guys is sure not gonna b funny 2 us....gba!

pure jida said...

Hmmmmm.

Choi wud av loved to attend though with my bag of purewater to treat any fuck up

An average Nigerian no go fit graps wit wot diz dudes will b dishing out!if nor b "pidgin english" abeg na wetin dem wan take crack ma ribs?

passive income: here's how to make cool cash daily;http://bit.ly/18q9Q37

Entry ticket? Simply load 1k on ur glo line and sms 'LOL LAGOS' to shortcode 33001, and bob's ur uncle! Enjoy the show folks! Am outta here!!

chizy said...

Basket mouth,*lashes lashes love struck!

I luv basket mouth shirt, dope... Femmefatale

Ehen? Kini kawa se? Did we ask if it was ur man friend dat wld be going wt u? #ITK.

Basket sef be baba,@italknaija

Read more said...

Liar... Show us your ticket...hehehe

Basket mouth please change ur hairstyle and look neat. Wats wif the hair.? Shey u de read me, I beg cut d hair low.

Dats cool

Dats cool

See dis two white monkeys, wat ar they feeling like? Trust nigerians to fall ur hands big time, by d time wey u perform ten jokes and no one is laughing, nobody go tell u b4 u leave d stage...

I need free ticket(s) biko

I have never posted a comment here before but PLLLLLEASE go and watch this show if you can. Deeray is honestly the funniest man in the world hands down lol

Forget all this accent yarns when una dey yarn, you'll love him, trust me ;)

Pity I live in the UK and can't be there at the time else I wldnt have missed it for anything

No recycle of jokes oh.otherwise una go refund our hard currency for outside gate.

feyi said...

Is there any other way I can get a ticket today? Pls anybody

Lol d african american jokes b like.... I saw a house as small as a fucking rat, hw diz kind talk wan make us laugh!!!! @modidavid

Actually people wuld laugh nt 2 dir jocks bt dir stupidity, lol I jst can't wait 2 get d feedback @modidavid

men... 4 dis kind, u gats 1st strugle 2 undastnd dia acsent b4 u fit get d gist. Or jst pretnd laf. Eno go eazy o...

Omoge Shade said...

Really make sense, baski man ride on.

Get to know more interesting gist and news aroung

Aswr Basket mouth is wearing nyc stuff*love struck*..wuldnt hv missd dis 4 da wrld..ehen + dat liltle niqqa complain abt his hair,biko let's c ur own na,mayb its jus lyk banky's..monkey!#peaches

Oladele said...

Haaba! Watin concern you, even if he wear for one week, he knows what he's doing.

guys CLICK to read more naija stories and GIST

saw them at SiP yesterday, with some thirsty looking girls lol......Would love to attend if it was a normal comedy show......I can only imagine how many peps ported to glo just for tickets.....