Nigerian church leaders react to John and Love Kumuyi's suspension | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 7 July 2013

Nigerian church leaders react to John and Love Kumuyi's suspension

The son of the General-Superintendent of Deeper Life, Pastor William Kumuyi, was suspended after his wife wore a wedding dress the church termed 'inappropriate'. If you missed it, read the story here

Church leaders are now reacting to the suspension of John and Love Kumuyi, calling it hypocritical. The General Overseer of Latter Rain Assembly, Pastor Tunde Bakare said:
“I personally did not see what they have done wrong. A man is entitled to his own authority in his own home.1st Peter Chapter 3. A wife should dress to please the husband and not the members of the church or public. It’s sheer wickedness to the couple, they should leave them to enjoy their honeymoon. They should not squeeze them to the modus operandi of a particular organization. I did not see anything wrong in the wedding. The bride was not naked or dressed inappropriately and  the groom didn’t. Esther the queen was beautifully dressed in the bible to gain the king’s attention. They should not make mountain out of a molehill. I was in the Deeper Life Bible Church for five years and nobody compelled me to dress the way I dressed. My wife was with me in the church though we weren’t married then. She wears earrings and dresses nicely. All this talk about this couple should stop.”
The General Overseer of the Royal Family Life Ministry, Pastor Sam Segun-Progress said:
"Dressing in any way does not affect the faith of any individual. Putting on earrings and making up do not by any way mean sinful acts. It’s not against Christian faith to dress the way the woman dressed. But it was actually against the doctrine of Deeper Life Bible Church, and since the church is not the Kingdom of God, the couple should be allowed to do that which pleases them and their belief.”
“There is no condemnation to them who are in Christ Jesus. For any church leader to condemn a member contravenes the standard of the scripture, which is the symbol of our Christian faith. The doctrine of any church has nothing to do with the kingdom of God. Every individual should be allowed to do that which pleases his faith.
"I would have appreciated it better if this affected couple were just disciplined within the church and were not suspended. The suspension of the two notable members of the church is capable of sending them out of the church and Christianity totally.
"All I can deduce from what happened in the Deeper Life Bible Church is hypocrisy and this is not too good for our churches and the church leaders. I will urge the leadership of Deeper Life Bible Church to read the book of Exodus and see what God says about hypocrisy. The development in the church was a bad omen for the body of Christ and did not portray the church well before the public, especially the non-Christians.”

156 comments:

1st to comment. Yay!!

Honestly i didnt rilly see anything wrong with their dressing....May God judge

Mark said...

Well.. I think they should just forget about this whole case.. weve heard enough.... Date a Millionaire In Nigeria, Sugar Mummy and Daddy, Rich Kids and Meet A Millionaire Friend Today

@EDDYSYFAR said...

Nawa o, all for the wedding gown

DADDYSWIFE said...

Hope no hard feelings,first to comment,yekpa!!!!!

Wetin concern una?? U no go mind ur own church. Ne kwanu m echichi biko nu. Hian o o

Well Said.

They shouldn't complain about the actions of the deeper life assembly, they don't need to chastise at all, I would rather turn to the members who can't leave, if the doctrines of a church are not in line with what you envisage then leave! They are lots of churches everywhere!

Queen Bee said...

Hope This will make them change their entire uptight doctrines!
I am tired of advising them abeg.

Y dis kain pastors D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ jam tawk na,wetin concern dem or dem D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ find customers. We all kno it's against d doctrine of deeper-life 2 dress lyk dat during weddings.
Sinz na deeper-life way,y d couple N̶̲̥̅̊☺ follo d rules,y did D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ bring al dis shit in it or y did D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ nt make deir wedding a low-key something.
It's lyk a muslim eating 'pork' insyd a Mosque or a member wearing slippers incyd 'Cele' church or a non-initiate goin in a sacred groove.
Bt Ȋ̝̊̅̄ still N̶̲̥̅̊☺ feel em deeper-life members oº°˚˚˚°º,nd deir galz D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ receive Dicks wella. #Dodorima

Well said.. Therez Natf. Wrng wit the dressing.change is constan.. They dint wanh wear d normal deer life wedin dress they wore a new one but they weren't naked... So wats d biggie?

Floberr

Oh Yels!!! Tell Dem More.....Foolish set of human Rice
Deeper life My Bom Bom

Ndi Ara Butara uwa

Am sure this same deeper life tells their congregation the style of sex to have and not to have in bed.mscheeew.they shld allow these young couple enjoy their life abeg

e bonto said...

The GO's of other Churches has spoken,and I agreed with them totally.

Linda u 4 put ur usual one cent 2 seal d gist naa*yeye geh*

Am in Absolute support of all the three pastors have said. What the Deeper life church did is Hypocrisy at its peak..I bet in their hidden lives they all have skeletons which are by far worse than what the couple did..what am i even saying?The couple actually did nothing wrong as far as am concerned..Let God judge us and not pastors who are also humanbeings and sinners themselves

PRETTY GIRL

Well said! I don't see anything wrong with d gown....

Their act of suspending the couple was simply......STUPID!

Tell them on d last dy we will hear d result of Ĥøω we live on earth.Nekky

church people....wea re nu nwayo

Very well said...
B

GLAM ME PRO said...

Well said. There suspension would have made sense if the girl was half naked. In fact this should even make them change d doctrine. "Change has come" they should be dressed in a wedding dress and covered up not looking like one being used as an item for sacrifice in d water like d white garment churches. It's d heart that matters after all same time dressing good and modestly not in rags or unkempt to show u re a child of God. At d end of all prayers, we all say #AMEN# na One God..

Even God adorned the israelites with gold, jewelleries of all sorts n manner... Let Christ be true n all men liars!

sir, the brides that marrried in the church before this couple would have appreciated your comment sooner rather than now!

This reminds me of the book ANIMAL FARM: All animals are equal,but some are more equal than others!

na wa oooo. This is church politics. Bt to me there is nothing wrong wit d dress d lady is putting on. Must everybody dress like an old woman to show dat d person is really born again ? one's personal relationship wit God matters a lot than all dis things they are saying .

chizzie said...

And who made u pastors the judge?! If kumuyi is right let God be the judge,if He is wrong Let God be the judge! But remember "To whom God loveth He chastiseth!"

Wetin concern dem?...why wont they let deeper life be?... What u do in ur home may be a serious crime in another man's... Didnt they knw its against the doctrine of deeper life before the wedding?....
The punishment is duely deserved!
And linda, its not unforgiven spirit, if u offend me, i may forgive u and still punish u...that is called DISCIPLINE!...... Kelvin

9japikin said...

My thoughts exactly...!!! Thnk u pastors.

Tochi said...

Ơ̴̴͡.̮Ơ̴̴̴͡ na wa ooooooooo

Dnt mind deeper lifers! Bloody set of hypocrites! U need 2 see dem act nd u'll be shocked @ d wickedness of their hearts! Dat's y their daughters go wild whn they enter universities. They condemned TV b4, now their pastor is showing his kumuyi on dstv! Nonsense!

They should just forgive him na, abi who never sin b4? At least he has apologized

My own is ds: isn't it a pastor dt wedded dem? Y did they wed dem if d bride didn't dress accordin 2 thr doctrine. I tink what most churches do is ask d bride 2 brng her weddin gown 4 inspection and if d bride or evn her brides maids are nt properly dressed, they wl be denied entrance in2 d church. 4 all I kare, ds is hypocrisy. Just cos d whole thng went viral on social netwrk, they are trying 2 save face!!! Mtcheeeewww... Who is deceiving who? Ol ds churches sef!!! Smh...

Wonders shall never end. The problem here is religion. They should focus more on what bible says and not our reasoning. This couple did not commit any sin. Na jealousy dey cause all this thing.

The couples in question are members of d church nd re aware of d cHurch dressin mode. I dont think d GS did a wrong tHing cos if they were left alone others will join tHem. He's leadin by xample nd must be praised for standin by the church. If u r in Rome behav like one.

Omotao said...

I wonder if these guys know anything called forgiveness, what shld be d problem self, cos she wear gown wey get lace n makeup.... Hypocrites Oshi.....mshewwww

Is there anything wrong in wearing Wedding gown on your wedding day?

norah said...

Pls des pastors shuld stop all dis long story.......this is a father ad son issue.......is suspension death penalty dey shuld serve it. Y call some 1 or anoda church hypocites as a man of God

Hmmm pastor Bakare may God for give u, since dey are hypocritic then u too just criticized which is also a sin for christ sake diff churches with there own doctrines,and if anybody is gonna break d rules, not d son of s general suprintendent now Nooo now....and if dey didn't take actions now u pple will still talk...nawa o notice!!! am not a deeper liver but d truth need to be said. Linda pls post dis comment

Love's wedding gown is ok for the public and it is not indecent dressing. The church should not suspend them bcos of this. We pray for a soul to be converted and not to push them out for the devil.

Hypocrites, leaders of dis church do d worst tyns in hidden. If u meet dose of dem wtout earings, dey re worst dan d devil. God almighty is interested in our heart and our relationship wt fellow human.

seno said...

Yes,I'm totally in support of dis church leaders,d woman was properly dressed to start wid. It is a total hypocrisy frm d deeper life church

I love dis...God bless you.....alabosi SU

EMPERIOR OF DUBAI said...

GBAM......thats all

June said...

Well said ..Pastor Bakare

those pastors are saying their own.wetin concerns them

I love that these men spoke out against it. This kind of hipocrisy is so pharisee-like, God help the church and us Christ followers to stop holding our own standard as Gods standard...trust me Gods standards are so high that no man except Jesus Christ could and has met it, thank God for the Cross and the Gospel...now he's righteousness alone can stand for us...

NecFix said...

Don't you just love Tunde Bakare? On point.

I read that the General overseer of deeper life church wants to resign because of all the buhahahaha about his son wedding! Why can't they let this couple enjoy their honey moon and face their marital life rather than complicating their lives..

"Na wa ooo, so our pastors sabi bible pass each other, abeg make help me tell the so called Leaders of DLBC say d world dey advance. And make dem stop to dey behave like ppl of the Old." #OluwaJoe.

If you don't like it, leave the church. Wetin dey there.

I totally agree with Pastor Bakare!! Amen!!

Midas Banter said...

Sheer Hypocrisy

ℓ̊ don't Ơ̴̴̴̴͡.̮Ơ̴͡ anyfin wrong with what the bride wore, they shud stop acting hypocritical cos most of them are worse than they pretend to be// first to comment Linda abeg post ma comment U̶̲̥̅̊ never do A̶̲̥̅̊₪D̶̲̥̅̊ its № fair. XOXO RITA 4rm UNN

Boko haram judgment of a thing. Still laughing.

Every church have what they believe in. The couple can simply leave the church if they do not like the doctrines. And other pastors have no right to talk abt this cos their own churches have their own faults.

With all these comments do they want to start a XTIAN jihad, pls they should preach about the kingdom of God and leave God to be the judge.

Shepherd said...

And this here explains why I always tell my 'Frankie' that organized religion is a facade...why do you think God(if there's one)in all his glory as explained in the Bible(which I've read back to back like twice)will condescend as low as bothering Himself with what a mere mortal wears on his skin when there's the Devil constantly waging a war against Him and winning his folks over?I mean,God couldn't be that jobless,could He? Here's MY THOUGHT on this;It is only morally upright for one to dress in a certain manner that won't give em out as loose or wayward. Therefore,morality is what I opine and if your morality doesn't stipulate proper dressing,please by all means,wear whatever the flying fuck suits you. I think the Church should be more concerned with how to regain its lost folks who are constantly converting to Islam and other faster growing religions than it is with what people wear. In the immortal words of Karl Marx;Religion Is the ----of the masses!

Don't get deeper life wrong,every church has their doctrines and if u can't cope with the doctrine of a particular church then feel free to move to d one dat it's doctrine suits u...pastor Kumuyi's son and his wife knows abt d church doctrine and still decided to go against it and if he Pastor Kumuyi didn't do anytin abt it then d members will talk abt it and say it is because d offender is his son...inasmuch as I dnt support it bt I feel dat whoeva defaults must be punished accordingly and let all oda pastors protesting against it mind deir own churches...dat's all

with due respect to pastor Tunde bakare,sir dis nt ur church or ur political party,for God sake pls don't u have doctrine u follow in your church?,pls let them follow their doctrine pls,stop using the Bible verses on this issue.

They have no right to judge any1: "...let he without sin cast the first stone" Why I love my catholic faith #winks!

Abeg tell dem O°˚˚˚ , I jst hope ∂E̶̲̥̅̊Y̶̲̥̅̊ listen cos these deeper life people wicked pass devil sef, especially those wey ∂E̶̲̥̅̊Y̶̲̥̅̊ attend chosen, na dem worst pass. Hypocrites!

Deeper life church does not force any of their memebers to attend their churches,everyone knows the doctrines and the rules of deeper life church if its too much for u pls attend other churches,those are their rules and everyone who attends shld stick by it whether ur father owns the church is not an exception!

D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ wldnt av been suspended itz possible d girl wasn't a deeper life member nd she can't become one over night,more S̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ itz a one I̶̲̥̅̊N̶̲̥̅̊ a life time celebration she gatz look good

Remah!

Make una tell dem..hypocrites

I think pple wil now realise wat Olamide meant by ''Abi Church Deeper Life Lon Lo Ni'' on his track 'Durosoke' Lolz.

JATE said...

Ar all dis hypocritical pastors commenting 4 real......... Wats fucking really unfair is generations of deeper life brides dat were forced to dress in a TARDY UGLY manner on d "best day" of dia live... A rule even d G O's son can't comply wit

I think pple wil finally realise while Olamide asked ''Abi Church Deeper Life Lon Lo Ni''(meaning Or do u attend Deeper Life Church?) on his 'Durosoke' track Lolz

aq said...

oh

kwansa said...

Tunde bakare and ur pal pls leave deeper life alone,u people shld mind ur own churches!kumiyi's son and wife dint come complaining to u or did they?

Hypocrites! If. They're the ones at gate of heaven now one wud enter there. Self-righteous pharisees.

Thank to pastor tunde bakare, I have always love u sir..deeper life bible church...hmmmm, *lipssealed*

Dan

Narutobase said...

They were suspended they will talk
They were not suspended they will talk
I personally think that what the church did was good cos, if it were to be a regular member they would be suspended so why not the pastor's son ??? Pst Bakare speaking I lol'd at what he said dat man is a serpent.
Hope I convinced you and not confuse you

Thank to pastor tunde bakare, I have always love u sir..deeper life bible church...hmmmm, *lipssealed*

Dan

Dan

cutee me said...

Thank u sir 4 saying d truth,they should leave d couple 2 enjoy their honeymoon,the whole drama is just hypocrosy,if they want 2 decieve themselves its a free world,am sure most of their females wish 2 wear such gown instead of their china white.

O! me I wonder what is wrong with the dress.

ohnyee said...

das all. no long talk. mtsheeew.

Deeper Life and their things self.

O! me I wonder what is wrong with the dress.

julivia said...

I think " men of God" should be very careful when expressing their opinions. They should do so with a sense of responsibility.
The issue at stake is not about what is right or wrong. It is about what is expedient. Also, DLCM, although a part of God' kingdom is also an institution advancing the kingdom of God. Their doctrine on dressing is not stated as a means to grace or salvation. It is part of the culture of the institution called DLCM.
The church has made a lot of impact in the society. They have furthered excellence in the academic sector, economic sector name it.
So, I will like to enjoin those in leadership to be careful about how they use their words.
The children always had a choice. Back out if you cannot cope. To scoff at the institution the way they did is not the best. They accepted leadership positions in an institution they don't believe in? I believe that is not good at all.

pastor tunde or what ever you call your self mind your own church

irish said...

I personaly do not see anything wrong with their dressing.But, If the church wants a perticuler dressing, and u r a member there, u have to keep to d rules or leave that church. Kumuyi's son of all pple should know his church Doctrine and obey d rules there.

obika said...

pastor tunde leave deeper life alone pls mind your own church

i tink i agree wit pst tunde n pst sam. Dis people are jst worshipin doctrines n not God. Dats too bad

Shut up. Anu nama

Ode.freedom of speech "ride on pastors"

infact annanimous@8:34 spoke my mind,and as for al of u pastors doing i chuke my mouth,if u like dnt go and stuggle on how to lead ur members savely to heaven continue minding pples business God wil ask u abt dose souls in ur church and ur ponishment wil b x2 if u dnt mak it @ last.on d other hand what matters is ur soul wit God weda Deeper life or not jst repent,do the right tin if u kw it bcus God is not going to judge anyone based on another person we al wil receive d reword of wht we hav workth for so mind ur business and run,excape for ur life bcus end tim is near.

I personaly do not see anything wrong with their dressing.But, If the church wants a perticuler dressing, and u r a member there, u have to keep to d rules or leave that church. Kumuyi's son of all pple should know his church Doctrine and obey d rules there.

Well said.......but it's an oppressive man made doctrine which he couldn't adhere to because its just not conducive

Other church members adhered to it for years but now that its time for a taste of their own medicine it's too bitter for them

my prince you are right. My thought exactly !!!!

bb said...

I think we ar all leaving d fact dat d wedding will nt take place at d grooms church, especially since d bride's father is d GO of another church, once d bride's church does nt forbid that type of dressing, I don't see any reason 4 suspension expect d wedding actually takes place in deeper life nd even at dat, Christianity its all abt love nd 4giveness, afterall they've formally apologise to d church.

OMG!WOMAN said...

Well said preacher, the law was made to bring people to christ, he who knew no sin was mad sin, so we are the rightousness of God, and there is no codemnation for those who are in christ Jesus, don't. They read all this scriptures? Lord hv mercy on the church open the eyes of our understanding let us know what salvation truly is.

pls,don't let us fool ourselves,i think something hidden was behind that suspension. lt is only GOD can judge.

Is there anything wrong wearing Wedding gown on your wedding day?

Sharrrraaaap there. What do you mean by Wetin concern una?? If it was you, would you be happy?? Onye iberibe.

Nah so I don't lyk putting mouth on church mata. They are all members if dey didn't wear dis gown now al dis talk 4no brk. One memba of dis church is disturbing me 2marry him, I showed him dia wedding dress dt instead of such I reda stop @TM. He told mE he love †̥ђε̲̣̣̣ir regular wedding dress. My question is dey ve so many old women who are not married but he's still afta me knowing I put on trousers, make-up etc. Ƒû₪₪¥ people.

If the church did not counsel them about deeper life wedding dress style and general dress mode, then they have no right whatsoever to punish them.
Uzo

PATALEX said...

ALL FOR A WEDDING GOWN.

Sınce ıts theır welknown doctrıne, the church shouldnt have wedded them ın the fırst place. Why wed them and then suspend them. Makes no sense

Resıgn ke! Isnt ıt hıs personal busıness. Abeg he should go ahead, we don sıdon dey look

They have succeeded in ruining the honeymoon of this couple and what was supposed to be a celebration for them has now turned into mockery and condemnation. What a shame in the name of doctrine! How on earth is this dress indecent?

@Glam me pro.... Cant u just comment witout making other ppl offended, wat do u mean by covering up as an item used 4 water sacrifice lik the white garment church, u had beta watch ur mouth if u dont knw d reason 4 a particular action. And yes am a C&S movement church Ayo ni o memba. So crucify urself

D church is suppose to bring pple nearer,not keep people out. Doctrine or not,I don't tink any 1 should be locked out of a church. African's carry religion on their head,confused nd ignorant people,being pushed to d left nd to d right,al cos 1 man made a rule. Church goers should focus more on God and not their pastors. African's need to wake up,we are too far behind. To be honest,I think religion is african's curse. Some people carry it on their head like a job. The most important thing is living right. Loving ur neighbour as u love urself. Some people wuld go to church nd immediately they r out,dey becomes wolves. D world wuld be a better place if the Church was 1 body! But churches have become quick business now,we have over 1,000 denominations in Nigeria. God help us! At d end,its d heart God sees,nd not d body!

XOXO

Only God will decide d true christians....who are you to judge?

Floberr your English teacher should be beaten

I A̶̲̥̅♏ not taking sides buh Y⌣̊┈ was d service conducted IϞ d 1st place when they knew the bride was not well-dressed.de$ put glue 4 eye

Pastor tunde pls mind ur church business! U just sinned against God by judging Pastor WF kumuyi, and u better ask for forgiveness.deeper life has been lk dat and there members av been complying so y shuldnt d pastor's son do d same

I A̶̲̥̅♏ not taking sides buh Y⌣̊┈ was d service conducted IϞ d 1st place when they knew the bride was not well-dressed.de$ put glue 4 eye

Haryorbambam said...

Tnk jare. Dis oda so called GOs has some doctrines instillede in their members. (wat is) thier biz wit wat happen in anoda church. Suspension is a part of disciplinary measure used in churches soooo dey keep shut and lets catch some breath on dis isse. I dont tire for dis mata make john and love finish d suspension and apologise to d church. But tank God at least members has been liberated frm mental slavery #cough#dats all.

U are on point...oda pastor shud not interfere its none of their business.

Pweetiephatghel.... said...

Mennh...is there a like button i wish to do just dat now....cos just my tot is boldly written here.

Exactly my tot.

Anon 11:04 i tink u d greatest fool eva liveth.Must u reply anoda person's comment. Dont u kno d english phrase MYB:Mind Your Biz...ewu##

Anon... Ode chairman! U mumu no be small. Must u reply his comment.#getalife

Anon 11:04 i tink u d greatest fool eva liveth.Must u reply anoda person's comment. Dont u kno d english phrase MYB:Mind Your Biz...ewu##

... The Roman Laws are ultimate when you're in Rome...

THIS DEEPER LIFE PEOPLE ARE TOO FUCKING HYPOCRITICAL ABEG!

Daniel said...

The dressing was against the church doctrine and laws as an institution.However the parents of the children should be suspended as they breached the church doctrines. Children don't wed themselves, it's the parents responsibility and if the Pastors believed that God frowned at what happened, as His representatives they shouldn't have allowed the wedding the hold show their displeasure by not attending or ensured she changed or something. (I've seen this happen before). So Pastor Kumuyi consented by attending and taking pictures with the couple and clearly shown from the pictures. At least they should have removed the flower or the limo. Both Pastors should be suspended or the law should be changed, because God doesn't frown at what happened. The children were decent. The whole letter was just a cover up and kudos to the person who leaked the photos.

Exactly!!! R dey telling us now that the parents of the bride didn't see th e gown before d wedding, or pst.kumuyi hadn't seen d girl b4 now that her hair was permed or she has not been wearing make-up before she got married. At least all this shld have been seen b4 now or the lady just decided to do all this because she was getting married dat day. Plsssss let's stop giving the christian body a name that wld speak bad of us. Why did they agree to wed them. I have been to most wedding where they send the bride and brides maid out due to improper dressing. Except that is how the church in jamaica dress for wedding. If not the pastor shld have refused to wed them!!! Enough of all this drama...

You are sooo right..I'm a deeper life member!

Loooool I jst tire oooooo if dey r nt ok wit d doctrine of d church, dey sud move.... 1 tin dat pleases me is d founder's son wch a lot of churches wudn't hv d guts to punish

Thank you o!!! And from what I heard they've been in the states for a very long time...so they wld have wanted this beautiful love to look otherwise

The couple knew abt d doctrines of dier church n dat sud b upheld in high esteem. I bliv d two pastors condemning Deeper Life hv diers n ntn hypocritical abt dat. If anyone is nt ok wit any church's doctrines pls take a walk dey are a lot of churches arnd. For dem to apologize I tink they'v acpted they r wrong n if any member had bin punished they also sud serve their punishment.

sQo said...

Ode

a no 4 me!!! no judging ooo but ds is hypocrisy noni!!! enslaving their kids 4 noting, as far as am concern dos young deeper lifers r in d bondage of doctrine.... u c dem camouflaging 2 dress d way they want, God hav mercy on ds children ooo.

orela said...

these pastors shouldn't go to the news to react to stuffs like this.they should rather discuss such with the head pastor.
no body is a judge here.
i dont support thd suspension neither do i support these pastors for reacting in this manner.
this is wat makes me respect muslims there is one mosque with one doctrine not like many churches with many doctrines
im a christian i get tired telling ppl im a catholic it shows division.

deeper life people would be claiming doctrine oshi... and is their girls you find all around getting pregnant all of a sudden, are they also not obeying the dresscode dey should just leave this girl alone almost every girl as always dreamt of their wedding gown and how to look beautiful on that day, so its her choice and it should be respected...shikena

Oby said...

So let me get this straight, you must be dressed in rags on ur wedding day to pass as a devoted Deeper Lifer? I dunget...like seriously? Are they for real??? Flowers are still natural environmental endowments created by God if i recall properly, so why is a church against God's creations? Wat am I missing...?

Aymii said...

Bloody hypocrites.......truly TV' s were condemned back in the day......in the 80' s and 90' s.....If a deeper life member had a TV...u be sinner....and dey go hell be that...............................now GO sabi Dstv??????...................................... These Archaic leaders should adapt to changing times abeg!.......... the annoying part is that some of this deeper lifers can be so Wicked and Mean!....... very Unforgiving set of people.......Abegi! ... On 2 d Next!

The bible says forgive.

Abiodun said...

Every man of God that is called by God is given the vision for His Church which has to be followed by all members. If you cannot follow it then you have to opt out of the Church. If the Pastors criticizing the great man of God and his Church are given the vision for their members to be wearing pants or be naked to their Churches, so be it for their members and their families. Pursue your vision, mind your own families and leave the great man of God to what The Lord committed to his hand. Have you ever seen a Muslim lady or woman leaving her head uncovered to the Mosque? All of you that call yourselves Christians and Pastors that have been criticizing Daddy Kumuyi and his Church should be ashamed of yourself of the disrepute you have brought to Christianity and the Church. Instead of you to busy yourself winning souls into the Kingdom of God, you are criticizing the Biblical doctrine because of your mis-interpretation of the word of God. Study 2Timothy 3:1-14; 1Peter 3:1 -6. The Scripture says, "Woe unto the Pastors misleading my sheep". The coming of The Lord is at hand and if you don't believe, what about death, this will surely come whether you like it or not at a time you do not expect. Therefore, according to Colossians Chapter 3 set your affections on the things of Heaven and not of this earth that will perish. When your soul departs from your body when you die, where will you spend your eternity? Heaven or Hell? Don't be caught unaware, a word is enough for the wise.

pixiedust said...

All dis is waste of time. only God knows who will make heaven

It's hilarious how some people here comment, is it possible that you did not notice pastor Kumuyi (father) and his wife took pictures with the couple with those clothes? So, when you are saying they should be punished for blah blah blah, why didn't the fathers (who are both pastors) walk out on the wedding ceremony?

This is a case of after thought. Because their members most of whom decided to wear rags were complaining. Yes they have their doctrines which as a member you should follow or go to another church to we'd if you would rather wear normal clothes, but was this lady naked? Did her father not see the wedding dress? Did they not do dress rehearsal b4 the wedding or show the church what they were going to wear?

It appears some in the body of Christ are losing focus. If she was showing cleavage, laps, etc, this would have made sense

Hypocrites!!, this same people that suspended them were present in wedding!

those of u commentin n callin Deeper Life names pls be careful most of u think u r serving God u beta go back n ask God 2 teach u His way n what holines is i dnt kn3w hw u feel insultin a man of God name may God 4give n open our eyes God bless u all

ORA said...

She wore a wedding gown and showed us her fingers big whoop. Obviously the church members have a different hell than the rest of humanity or they would have had the sense to know that the punishment of the couple was unjust and plain stupidity. Hypocrisy is a sin oh!!!!!

I dont just knw what to say, because i expected their outfit to be checked ever before the weddin, we do this in RCCG.

and the guy fall my hand, he suppose to kne what his wife shld wear because they represent their Daddy "Kumuyi" they wld hav dressed as it supposed. its absolutely nonsense, i knw Deeper life so well, they wld never take this shit from a member not to talk of Kumuyi's son.
The guy really disgrace his dad and church, in RCCG this out fit is nice, very okay, just because we dont have Deeper life sense of dressin.

if I am to be "Kumuyi's son or Daughter, honestly and in all sincerity I will dress like Deeper life because of my Dad's reputation.

i will say, the guy misbehave, he disrespect his dad because of love, and the ministers that joined them 2geda made a big mistake, even the marriage committees failed Kumuyi. they all have questions to answer, even if the guy behav like a kid they are their to put them right.

Hypocrites! this same people attended the wedding. now they just realized it was a sin.

Akuta May said...

My dear good people of Deeper Life Church I thank you all for your observations about your son and his wife wedding. Thanks be to God its happens in that way may the name of be praise forever Amen.
My dear ones in Christ Jesus I did not see anything wrong with the wedding dress, please you all and the elder of church should leave everything to God. We should not jugged anybody. Akuta Mary

Na so

thank you pastor bakare... bloody ass hypocrites.

jada baby said...

Lmao! at item for sacrifice. Someone got offended but the picture of the supposed wedding clothe relates to that, sorry but it's the truth.

No mind dem only God knows who go make heaven

Can u peep pls leave deeperlife and face ur life challenges. the church members have decided on wat they seems right. John shld go on his knees lest his act affects his dad ministry cos he wont go unpunish mark my words. it will take David kind of grace to deliver him.

Abimbola Adebayo's Blog said...

They deserved their punishment all the way. John and love knew abt the church doctrine and I bet they ave bin to a couple of weddings held in deeper life. My point is love had no right to dress that way to wed in a deeper life church except in another church. Let dem go and serve out their punishment and apologise to pastor kumuyi who they ave brought unimaginable pains to.

Bakare who make you judge over the church mind yr speech.Tope

Practice what you preach...Deeper Life is totally drifting away from its old ways... Only God knows best!

Chop Chop said...

What God has joined togeda let no man put sansan, Amen, Amen.

Nna I don't see anything wrong in the gown o, cos is she's practically covered from beck to toe abi they want make she add nijab and ninja mask join the dressing ni?. I never regretted leaving them.

Dee said...

In my own opinion, seeing that the way the bride was dressed is against the doctrines of the church,the wedding shouldn't have been conducted in the first place. There is nothing indecent about the bride's dress to me. I agree with Pastor B. Linda I think you should make room for liking comments. All that needs to be said are just being repeated in different forms.

Deres absolutely nuffin rong wit dat dress...dats y I wuld neva like dt church...*Rubbish*

Theres nothing wrong with d dress oo but deres more to d suspension

The life you live shall tell.

How about you?

I pity all of u with these busybody GOs speakinng against God's church and against GOD'S ANOINTED. Remember Matt. 12:36 "Every idle word that men speak, they shall give account thereof in the day of judgement" how many of u GOs, men that unworthy of that title can do what pastor kumuyi did-carrying out discplinay measures on your son if he goes against a set standard huh? Have you listened to THE SAME revelations God has been giving to DIFFERENT people(non-deeper lifers) lately? Their dressing(deeper lifers) is the only one recomended by God. So u see, u are just on your way to hell. REPENT before it's too late.