University of Lagos ranked 9th best Univeristy in Africa | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 29 November 2012

University of Lagos ranked 9th best Univeristy in Africa

According to a new ranking released by Africa.com, University of Lagos is the 9th best University in Africa. Cairo University is the still the best University in Africa.

See the top 10 best Universities in Africa below...
1. Cairo University – Egypt
2. American University in Cairo – Egypt
3. Mansoura University – Egypt
4. Makerere University – Uganda
5. University of Nairobi – Kenya
6. University of Dar es Salaam – Tanzania
7. University of Botswana – Botswana
8. University of Ghana – Ghana
9. University of Lagos – Nigeria
10. Ashesi University – Ghana

170 comments:

anniebelle said...

wow! 9c 1...we can do beta...bt i thought GEJ sha changed d name sm tym ago abi em don change am bk? Nt aware

Lmao! What kind of dead ranking is this without any SA uni in the top 10? Dead list. The 3 main world University polls have ranked University of Cape Town as number 1 in Africa. Abeg, delete this useless post. Just to massage Nigerians egos. Mscheeeeuw

Money talks. Smh

Tess said...

We d F***kin Best. Greatest to the greatest, to the Greatest Akokiets #dancing Azonto#

L.A.S.T.M.A KIlla said...

best at what?

simple baby said...

that list is bullshit,are u guys kidding me University of Lagos can never come before Kenyatta University in kenya or Kwame Nkrumah University Ghana amongst others facilities, tutoring, welfare, overall. #Deception

Ekundayo said...

That's the way we do it! Greatest akokites!

cool story, we dnt G.A.F

Egypt dey vex o top 3 uni in africa in egypt wow .. At least naija enta top 9 dats wonderful

For a country of our magnitude, Nigeria can still do better, we can't call ourselves the giant of Africa and not be topping statistics in africa, is not just about having the highest population

I knew it. University of kenya had to be on the top 5. Surely one of the best.

Greatest Akokites!!!!

June said...

Wow! That's so cool....Thumbs up

Up de Great Akokaites!!!
Henry

Am glad I attended UNILAG. Greatest Akokites! Great!

Why not 1st in Africa. we stil have a long way to go

Where's uniben?

my tanzanian girlfriend better not see this...after all d naija is the greatest country in africa statements that i hv made*smh*

egypt has 3 freakin universities in d first 3 positions...naija is doomed

Why can't we be number one in Africa?

Erm soooo? When OAU was the first school from nigeria on the list for years we didn't hear u, unilag manage top am this year u dey shout, abeg sun jo...oya ask ur self dis question una worth am? N perhaps the rankings differ....what exactly did they use to rank this one

Thank GOD we still have position.

Chinedu said...

just one nigeria uni??? And we clame to be the giant of africa... SMH 4 our great country...

We can be the best in bombing, embezzlement, political drama, etc

shegaz said...

What is the position of University of ibadan?

Jay O said...

Nice and Congrats!! Still we can do better.

Ashesi that is just below us at #10, was started the other day (2002)by a private Ghanaian-American, who moved back home. Now thats a great feat, not for UNILAG that started in 1962!! Look at the 50 year difference, yet they are only a rank behind us, at this rate, whats stopping them from passing us in the next rankings.

This is Africa, we (Nigeria) claim to have it all, yet we cant be in top 5. Plus look at who is behind Africa.com, and notice some Nigerian names, who are credible of cause being from stellar educational backgrounds. I'd be more partial to this ranking if it were done by a completely foreign entity. Its not just about being ranked anyway, what happens to graduates afterwards?
Lets not get too caught up with stuff like this, least settling for mediocrity as always.

Abegi. Am a graduate of unilag. I tink dey r leaving on dia past glory.

ejoec said...

University of Lagos ke? 9th position? oh, ranked by African.com okay, no wahala. abeg na which one be africa.com? I did my Masters in Unilag, and truth be told i wasnt impressed. the good lecturers were the ones on sabbatical from schools like OAU and UI. As far as I'm concerned Unilag should not even make top 50 schools in Africa. By the way, what was the yardstick for measurement?

ejoec said...

unilag

Congratulation, buh plz o iz it d 9th best 4 learnin or 4 RUNz...hehehehehe

Dwane danielz.

obinna bina said...

Best in terms of what? They should have told us the parameters used in this ranking. Wow....rushing to Egypt for my Masters degree program then.
Pls Linda, I need to c the full list so I can know what schools like UNN, OAU and my alma matar, FUTO rank

Its MAU not UNILAG..linda wotz strong wit U̶̲̥̅̊ ??..abi U̶̲̥̅̊ still b student wey D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ take dis ting personal...A̶̲̥̅̊₪d̶̲̥̅̊ whrz ♍γ̲̣̣̥ school..."Leads University"

Moshood Abiola Uni... Lol

Why no S.A university? It's bogus.

My goodness! My Alma mater UNN is not on †Ñ’ξ list? *Nokia shocked face smiley*!

Non from South Africa?The ranking is suspect.

DITLO said...

i don't understand o...dis thing was supposed to be taken serious, so how come unilag is there?

Imoblog said...

where did now rank national open university? for me, is number one

Where is my darling university? #sad iRep University of Ilorin. We are Better By Far

I cnt belive dis,watever happends 2 AAU,.in edostate.nar d best skol be datoo.lol.linda pls post my comment.

I dont know how these guys came about with their own rankings but I think its rubbish. Where are the South African Universities which are most recognised around the world. They are not even in the top ten?

muah muah.....i am an alumnus

happyhausabunny said...

Trust my alma mater to make the list! 8th though...we'll get to #1 on day!

unilagdiva said...

University of first choice. Nations pride. Am proud 2 be an akokite. Not only an akokite but a good counsellor trainee of faculty of education in unilag. I love my school

lo!lo! said...

Big lie! Unilag of all places hmm! I comment my reserve*

scorpion said...

lol.*in Ray-J's voice*

Whooooooooow! Yeah! That's my school right there...

That's it babeeeee! Unigidi..

Whooooooooow! Yeah! That's my school right there...

im sooo proud!!! MAULAG! hehehheeh....and nothing from S.A?! NICE :D

Woow dats kul oo,buh wats d criteria coz me can't imagine unilag being d best in naija sef

Chidinma said...

Goodnews

iRep Unilag mehn!... We are badt like Tнa†!

Thumbs up UNILAG!Ʋ'll get dere someday.

Africa or West Africa

Thumbs up unilag...buh wer ui nd eksu cun dey nah....lolz...i rep eksu...sanmibidex#

Its Moshood Abiola Uni na...Linda u don forget?

Nigeria- giant of africa. We can all see that. No. 9

Yeah! I'm proud to be an Akokaite. Greatest Akokaite!!!

great Akokites!!Great

Seyi said...

Where are the unilag alumniiiiiiii..... Greatest gbo gbo!!! Greatest gba gba! The only problem is that we have no problem. We are getting there!

The only thing i see in this list is Egypt. Giant of Africa, we can do better than that.
....@seglon

mccoy said...

As unpatriotic as i may sound, dis list is total BS...WTF? no SA uni listed on top 10?
#Wash

Hello Kitty said...

Wooohoooo! No South African (the country not the region) topped us! we getting better with age! Greatest Akokites!! UNILAG forever (best believe that if they do change the name to that dead MAULAG thats the end of our ratings!)

chinedu akenzua said...

ALWAYS PROUD OF MY ALMA MATER...WE LEAD, WHILE OTHERS, LIKE IFE, UI, UNN, ABU AND OTHERS FOLLOWS...***DON'T BEEF***

Maulag? Nawa o,convenant is taking over soonest,1st in west Africa sef..linda post my crime o *winks*

augustivity said...

Yipee...All hail UNILAG! So proud to b a product of UNILAG!

Mama somtee said...

Now dats my school .

RT @NigeriaNewsdesk: President Goodluck Jonathan has commended the University of Benin (UNIBEN) for being the best university in the country & sub-Sahara Africa.

Take note dear

Great akokite ..proudly unilag

TLC said...

Unilag? Of cause not. With those half baked graduates that slept their way through Uni? You must be kidding. Oya LIB voltrons start your engines.........

ogudu christabel said...

Very wrong rating,

Ose Ugbebor said...

That's a nice one. Keep it up linda I like what you doing and peeps pls don't forget to check out my blog
(www.iamose.wordpress.com) for daily motivational and inspiring words. Thanks

cewaya said...

sorry to say but this ranking is FALSE!!!! I don't see ant South-African school. And I know South-Africa has most of the best Schools in Africa!

Is this some kinda joke? Where are the Southie Universities? Or are we talking here of exclusively of sub-saharan Africa?

HORDHUNHARYHOR said...

Hmmmnnnn. I'm sure fashion was a major criteria for the ranking.
#JST SAYING OOOO.

Whrs UNIBEN??????? Dis shit is baseless.....

Kunle said...

How objective is their statistics........Want a flat belly, burn fat, loss weight, eat right for healthy sake and maintaining your body shape with fitness.Visit my blog to learn more
http://fastweightlosstipsnigeria.blogspot.com/

Ojoro....where is University of Ibadan?

Yetty said...

In your dreams Linda, in your dreams. Maulites don spoil, e don tay. That one nah university? abi Totology University. If they offered Aristology in that university, people go pass with first class.

Thank GOD we still have position.

omotola said...

Heeyaa what about my OAU? Is ojooro joor..

sexylove said...

Lol@ totology and aristology university, lwkmfh

Well, those schools mantain a good standard and i don't know d criteria for their rankind and the mode but my school still remain the 1st n d best in nigeria.greatest UITE

where is d university of ibadan ont hat list?

YSC said...

Unilag???? Where there are skools like OAU and UI, dis ranking is so false
...YSC...

Yes, where is UNIBEN.. Dis people are mad ni

owk gud for them, wha'ever.

That ranking is so untrue. UNILAG? Puhlizzzz... I had to write their entrance exam on a wooden board placed on my laps! There were no proper tables and chairs. I guess africa.com did'nt see that.

I never take these rankings seriously because we see schools that do not produce any exceptional students or students that are willing to change Africa and let go of their selfish needs.

The only advantage Unilag has is its location - Lagos. To me, it is just another glorified secondary school. Did you just say 'UI'? Now, that's a University

All hail UNILAG, but believe me Unilag is worth more than the rating i sense a measure of disparity in this cos most country already have the believe that nothing good can come out of Nigeria.

Greatest Akokaites...GREAT..the one and only in Nigeria...I salute

biz avenue said...

Wow!

U peeps shld b glad unilag is representing Nigeria.....nd stop d beef!!!

You can like to lick ur elbow if u don't like the ratings... Greatest akokites!!!

Yaaaaaay proudly akokaites

Greatest Akokites, Great!
We 2 much jo,infact we cant shout.
Yippee! PTV PHONES is offering 2 months free BIS subscriptions for any BlackBerry phones purchased at any of its offices nationwide. Its real ooo.
http://store.ptvphones.com/freebis

Happy Yoruba Bunny said...

D 1st 3 Unis r in trouble wt admission letters this morning from Nigerians that wants to run away

Egypt/Cairo una don enter 2nd chance

Billie Jean said...

best at what?

Where is Great Ife
www.naijaopenmouth.com

@10:20am, U̶̲̥̅̊ wrote Unilag entrance exam but surely didn't make it in *tongue out* cos U̶̲̥̅̊ arε nt gud enof. If I were nt a product of Unilag, I ll tink d way U̶̲̥̅̊ guys think bt trust me Akokites α̲̅rε̲̣ the best. With al the social activities, we stil com out great, av com across products of some Nig. Uni who can't communicate in simple English lang SMH.... Abeg quit beefin and face reality

What credetials does Africa.com have to rank universities...wrong list...Where's is Olabisis Onabanjo University?

What ever happened to the better by far university-UNILORIN? We r d 2nd best in naija, wats d position of unilag in d ranking of top unis in naija?

Sandra Ijeme Dickson said...

Where is uniosun nw! Ojoro

HAHAHAHA...dis is funky but nt funny! I tink d started this ranking frm d botom to d top!

See ppl beefin unilag, omg u guys should get a life! Get over it and grow up! School is school! Ya'll should wake up mofos!

rubish why isnt the university of cape town on this yeye list or WITS abeg who wrote this?were they drunk?

Do proper research please UCT is the best in Africa and in the top 100 internationally!

filigee said...

Now that's what I'm talking about.
The University of 1st choice and the nations pride.

Visit:
http://mythotsonpaper.blogspot.co.uk/?m=1

For ur mind! I wrote an entrance exam in unilag, am quite sure, in short very sure I didn't meet d cut off yet I was taken cos I runs'ed' it. That's unilag for u. Even those who passed won't be taken, rather, they will substitute d name for another one who bribed his/her true. U won't find that in skuls like OAU n UI. A skul which admits u strictly by ur grades

Did I hear u say Unilorin! Huh? That local skul. For ur mind!

Akokites, u ppl sef knw deep inside ur mind sey dat ur skul no be skul. Everyone knws dat.

Ady ..... says Yes oo Akokites we rock

bambilurv said...

ok...now i understand their criteria.......click on the africa.com link linda posted n you will understand. the ranking excludes south African universities...n we all know why...they will dominate d list....lol

Whr great Ife now? This rating na rubbish .

www.speedyonlinemedia.com said...

Congratulation to all Unilag students you haters should find something to do.http://www.speedyonlinemedia.com

Pulezzz....dis list is far 4rm being real! Wit what entails in unilag @ d moment, it's not even meant 2 make top 20! No hostel accomodation, 70% of d students struggle 4 space every session (4 a 6 man room we myt end up being 15 in a room ask any current unilag student), very old facilities, no state of art modern educational facility 2 be proud of, poor & uncondusive class room environment 4 learning, very archaic laboratories with ancient equipment, outdated library facilities, overpopulation ......d list is endless! Yet dey claim we're d 9th uni in africa, pls can someone tell me what qualifies us 2 earn dat position???? No hard feelings o cos I'm currently a final year student of unilag & dis has been my xperince in d last 4yrs dere, I'm just being honest, let's nt decieve ourselves!

It's now very clear dat it's only razz students that passed comments here.... It's only those that attended unilag that went to uni...

Its university of Lagos nd others......

big Rubbish, dia r2 universities r i see here, university of Lagos and the rest. Mtscheww!!!!!!!!!!!! who even gave dem d order to rank any university in Africa wat is University of Uganda nd Botswana to unilag? abeg!

Lol! This must be a rhetorical question!!

Clearly. Again, it's I'm not Am

@10.50 A.M

For your info, I made the merit list. I just passed an honest comment. I expected more, but was highly disappointed. I am a sound graduate of UI, and while I am not writing this with the intent to beef, I just feel sorry for the educational mess we are in.

Dwane or whateva u fuckin call urself Y r u hatin? Or is it cos u wrote jamb 10 times n unilag still didn't offer u admission or u fink I don't know u? Well......haters gonna hate tho #TEAMUNILAG#

K

U bitter cos u still didn't get in LOOL \___ relax here n study hard 4 ur jamb next year

Nne u talk tru. That nkruma university knost. That is a good school for engineering.all my 3boys went through it. Chemical; civil; elect. They all made 2:1 and when dey came to nigeria their 2:1 was converted to a 1st class on their companys charts. That is a good school. But its far o from the main happening town acra

K

Dwane or whateva u fuckin call urself Y r u hatin? Or is it cos u wrote jamb 10 times n unilag still didn't offer u admission or u fink I don't know u? Well......haters gonna hate tho #TEAMUNILAG#

who is africa.com?this shouldnt be top 10 universities in Africa but something else coz as far as I know some of the best universities are found in South Africa.and for none of their universities to be feautured on this list is just absurd!Linda u sef should know the kind of news to post na...this is baseless

I'm sure 80% of people beefing Unilag wrote the post-ume and didn't pass. Study hard next time ok? Lol

Priscy said...

Ashesi made the top 10 list?! wow, thats so cool!

UNILAG??!!
:O
Then African universities are really poor.

Rotimi said...

Unilag we hail thee! Make all these mumu mumu universities like UI no dey follow us drag ground. Guys freebies dey ohh!I typed this code in the checkout page on jumia.com.ng and I got a discount on wat i was ordering. i dont think the site owners know about it e fit be mistake or hack but 6 of my guys sef don use am. ENG35STP Thats the code

I entered Unilag with merit, honestly - dnt knw anybdy nd I was not evn based in lag den. I studied mass comm nd bak den out HOD will tel us nt Ï„̅☺ receive lectures if †Ñ’ξ ACs arε nt workin. Hostel accomodatn I̶̲̥̅̊s̶̲̥̅̊ definitely nt vry gud bt we enjoyd constant power supply nd studnts α̲̅rε̲̣ nt allowed in †Ñ’ξ hostel 4 nw cos dey using d hostels for †Ñ’ξ Sports festival

Who's talking about uniben here...hello,when are you?

Where's Abia state uni. Hehehehehehe

@yetty, sorry unilag rejected u! D truth is we don't like olodos in our school. Just keep hating, I pity u.

You are very foolish.

Atleast they brought externals to lecture you ryt?....oya goan sitdown abeg.

Sato said...

Linda, dis is not true naa. Yan us better stuff

Latest Nigeria University News said...

I think it's very important to always state the criterion used to arrive at the ranking cos some of these rankings can be misleading.

Top 100 Best Universities in Nigeria 2012

exactly! best at what cos we all know what you guys are best at o! LWKMD

I laugh at your stupidity

Well.. not bad but not to sound like oliver, we ought to be at the first spot.. All these giants of Africa gists i usually hear, are they just for decorations?? We can do better
www.gistland.com

greatest MOshood Abiola University, great

Actually guys Africa.com is a blogger like Linda and this isn't a recognised ranking though. The blog ranked the school as it deemed fit

METHODOLOGY
First, as with any similar list that determines which universities are "best," Africa.com collected both quantitative and qualitative data to determine which universities in Africa would make our Top 10 List.

Second, we made a determination to create two distinct lists: a) Africa, excluding South Africa, and b) South Africa. If we were not to have made this distinction, our Top 10 List would be dominated by South African universities, and would not be useful to those seeking a pan-African perspective. At the same time, we wish to acknowledge the strength of South Africa's many world-class universities, so we decided to dedicate a list that features just South African institutions.

Warri Girl said...

Unilag na school.. I laugh in Urhobo

Warri Girl said...

Look at the schools you are being ranked with and you are forming proud.

You see,u obviously dnt hav wat tu say,but u jst cnt help peeps not seeing ur oily face.sorry

Yetty said...

@anon 2;41pm, me, rejected by Unilag? Are you kidding? I schooled in the US. In a very prestigious Ivy League University not Unilag *eyes rolling* I never applied there. Never crossed my mind, not even once darling Maulag product. I work with a lot of your graduates and i am certainly not impressed one tiny bit. Hey maybe you might get the chance someday to change things there. Finger crossed

Wat criteria dd dy use?,unilag is not d best in Nija,hw Coms it's 9th in Africa?.

Stanley Onduru said...

These days every tom, dick and harry ranks institutions. What is the basis or parameters used to rank these universities? Check out yelnatsfashion.blogspot.com

Morlard said...

Er mm !! :D :D Lili , I Can't Find Federal University Of Technology Owerri... *scratches head* ... We Produce chicks with Muscles na .. All na rank na

I'm a student at Unilag, and i fuckin' hate d school. Nd wit eryday dat passes, it feels more like I'm doing time. D uni. Culd be better tho, if they could make its hostels more conducive nd habitable. Build more hostels, more faculty buildings, like lecture theaters nd interactive classrooms with projectors, nd internet facilities (wifi). And I think d uni nids a school of the Arts, apparel design, Graphic design, dance, music, crafts, interior architecture, nd so on... And please unilag i think ts time Elkanemi hall, nd New hall got knocked down 4real! D place's an eyesore. And while you're at it, pls do something'bou d chemistry laboratory @ the faculty of science. Chemistry students deserve better d courses' difficult enough. They need interactive classrooms, make wots abstract come 2 life!! And lest I 4get, the uni needs more student counselors even at departmental level, some students are in for the wrong major. They nid som1 to guide'em. And ts'bou time the uni lifts the ban on d student union body. Since 2004 c'mon! Give the students back their voice! For now I'd say just unilag's okay. And let's not kid ourselves, no uni in Nigeria deserves to be on dat list right now. Nigeria nids a lot'a work. - kayode.

At least those of us that went to good universities can talk, I never see any covenant,Babcock,Bowen,Adeleke University students talk oooo.. I'm proud I went to University of Ibadan....greatest UITES! I can hear resounding grrrrrreeeeeeaaaaaaatttttttttttttt!!!!!!!'!!!!!!

THIS IS A DEAD LIST! Where is University of Cape Town, where is the University of Witswatersrand? The list is very laughable. go and see facilities in that Uni and the amount of research they are doing. All global list assert to this. This list is garbage!

Really *suprised face*

Mayb u don writ post jamb tare n still yt they nooooooooooo pick u so u won die.no b only Azonto me go dance,I go even dance makosa join.haters rot in hell.greatest of the greatest Akokite..... C dem don reply GREAT.

Greast of the greatest.haha c heaters oooooooo.we lead y u all follow.I pity sum pple way giv comment here cos I no dat most of dem r still @ home writin jamb to enter Unilag bt so sori dat d school is nt for OLODO lik u pple.

You CAN LIKE TO? What sort of expression is that? I see a lot of going people make this mistake and I wonder what happened to taking English lessons seriously

If that is the case, then Africa is in trouble. And I am a UNILAG alumnus.

Blocking ears with ear muffs... Humming burnaboy ft.Davido... If I took 9th in my class back in d day, I'd be sad and embarassed to show off my result... D p'ple ranking 1st to 8, them get 10 heads ba?? I'm ashamed! Thank God!my skool made d first 4.

My prof friend said n I quote "The best 2 universities in Nigeria presently are Covenant University and University of Ibadan". Ironically he is a prof in Unilag.

@anonymous 8.48pm,ur prof friend is entitled to his own opinion.besides,u could be lying for all i care.beefpackager!

@kayode 1.45am,u are one sorry disgrace to Unilag.How dare u??

The Truth!!!! said...

Bullshit!!!! For those who are proud of the fake ranking above please wake up from your dreams. No Nigerian University is among the top 15 in Africa. Secondly, if a Website evaluates Universities in Africa with out the South-African Schools then i am afriad that ranking is messed up. Just for your info, the top 5 ranked schools in Africa are all South-African and Unilag is only the sixteenth in Africa.
We need to wake up to the brutal reality that our education is in shambles.
Finally, for all you Akokites or whatever school it is you went to in this-mess-of-a-country: kindly pay a visit to the University of Capetown or the University of Stellenbosch in South-Africa and you will realise that our years in Naija schools were a waste of money, time and brain-power.
Wake up to the truth!!!!!

Laughable indeed. Unilag is not even number 10 in Africa. The credibility of the site that released the ranking is a farce. South African universities are ranked some of the best globally. I did not expect such mediocre journalism here.

The credibility of the site that released this ranking is questionable. Unilag is not among the first 10 on the continent. South African universities are ranked some of the best globally. Check more credible websites. This is indeed laughable.

precio cailis precio cialis