Police raid mainland clubs, Basketmouth's Embarssy lounge affected | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 29 November 2012

Police raid mainland clubs, Basketmouth's Embarssy lounge affected

On Friday November 23rd, the Nigerian police, without warning or any particular reason, raided four clubs located on University Road, Akoka, Yaba Lagos. The raid, led by the DPO from Yabo-Sabo police station, affected Basketmouth's EmBARssy lounge located at 12 University Rd, where at least 10 individuals were arrested without any reason. They were released the next day.

The police officers were said to have harassed and arrested people at will in the midnight raid which saw them roving all around the clubs and lounges in three Black-Maria and two Hilux vehicles.

However, one club (Road Runners) which was relaunching that same night was not raided like the others in the neighbourhood, prompting other patrons to ask questions. Please continue...

People are alleging that the owners of Road Runners (Diran and Sobowale) may have deliberately used the police to frustrate EmBARssy Lounge, which has since become the most patronized fun spot in in the area.

Basketmouth and owners of the other fun spots affected by the raid are planning to petition the Lagos State Commissioner of Police against the action of the Sabo-Yaba police station officers, as the raid reportedly scared away many patrons which has led to loss of millions of naira in revenue.

Meanwhile, the Lagos State Police Command has described the allegation of being biased as unfounded and an act of wickedness. Reacting on the police raid, the PPRO, Ngozi Braide told reporters that the affected club owners were only being sentimental.
"It is not possible for any club or lounge to control the Lagos State Police Command and the commissioner of Lagos. That is wickedness on the part of anybody insinuating this. It was a joint operation by Rapid Response Squad (RRS) and Area C. It happened in the early hours of saturday. They targeted black spots" Braide explained.

44 comments:

BLOGLORD said...

Yes Road Runners was left out. they were launching PUSSY Energy Drink. I guess they must have bribed the police so that people will feel safe clubbing there than any other.
Na today?

Nig police retardly useless,where n what they are meant to act on the wouldn't. Useless pipo.

queen bee said...

Police!!....dey will do anytin for money na!!
Basket mouth hire dem to redo d raiding with the Exception of ur club!!.........u are taking the matter to court,is dia justice in naija?......

An eye for an eye will not make d world go blind!! I can't shout!!

Everything for 9ja always dey get Story A and B, and what NPF are labelling as sentimental could be very true for what we know them for

lala said...

Sum1 will soon beat dis Ngozi woman!!! I rili don't kw wat she's doin, wen it cums 2 serz mataz she will say she didn't kw anytin abt it but yeye mata nah she go carry 1st

Basketmouth sorry o.

The police should carry out proper investigation before all this arrest.
www.naijaopenmouth.com

I heard most of our naija celebs r swallowing chicken bile to loose weight. Pls who knws if it works cos I really want to take it to loose this my plenty fat. Thanks

Case Closed!

Pele oo

Lindiway u didn't tell us howmuch d people dat were arrested paid before being released. Coz atleast I NO FOLLOW has a price.

My question is, why should they arrest innocent citizens that are having their fun? Its true that a lot of stuffs go down in clubs but its not professional or nice when u arrest without proof or evidence.

rednaxela said...

so RR are free from black spot? Basket, not to worry its called Occupational hazards.

Na nigerian police dem ways o..dey r soooo daft! Sum1 ought to sue their ass..dey r such obonjos..lazy set of idiots

simple baby said...

"Blackspots and wickedness" WTF? sounds to me like Ngozi Braide was hanging out at road runners that night: if not how else?

linda dere names - niran and shobowale nt diran and sobowale. dey are both cool guyz nd dont look for any1's trouble..the police just wanted to eat dat was y dey went on patrol...

Linda, ABEG 4 get about police so many things has gone wrong with those guys.I FEAR POLICE PASS ARM RUBBERS 4 DAT OUR COUNTRY NIGERIA. shame see how they move down with confidence lol ring them that arm rubbers are operating around you will not see them(policemen) around till after two three days after asking useless questions. how many of then, women dey among them, which car they carry, which kind weapon, how many gun they carry.. na wah.

No more road blocks for them, u knw Man must wak. So they hav to device a means of getting money na under d pretence of so called "Black Spot”. May God help us.

why does it always have to be this sabo/yaba police station pple ehn?
they must have been drinking too much garri that's why dem no fit see and they're freaking deaf and stubborn...

Must we all assume that police gets bribed for every action taken...most if not all of you here including Linda gives bribe. let those who never gave bribes being a Nigerian or living in Nigeria please reply. You all are just as quilty as you speak

Listen...always remember before you criticize these lovely and underpaid and under paid security officers. Common sense tells you that if you not trained for a job you cant function as expected. Besides, most of you low lives have to realize it takes two to tangle. You must give before it can be accepted.

So let you who is not corrupt or has never bribed an officer before cast the first insult on a set of people whose image has been battered as a result of unlawful citizen like you all.

Guy, e bi like say ur papa na police. Sorry no vex Oº°˚˚°Âº

Somebody's Pikin said...

@ anon 3:53 that wants to swallow chicken bile to lose weight. ( '_' ) This level of ignorance is borderline F*CKERY people!!

My thoughts exactly cos the guy dey para ooO....maybe na him MaMa sef*lols.

Police pikin. U lack a good grip of english language.

Linda get ur info right b4 u start posting news. Numba 1 u didn't even get d names of rr owners right. Numba 2 road runners has been there b4 all dese razz club opened on d mainland. My brothers re toO big to stoop so low to pay the police to raid d razz peeps dat go to embassy nd other clubs. So get ur info rite!GO ROAD RUNNERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Basketmouth is just an attension seeker, on a gud day his so call bar is so unsave, robbers re always robbing nd snatching car everyday, he should get lost wiv dat his cubicle dat he calls a bar!linda post my comment

Eve said...

@Anon so u have a problem? I tot u dnt hv any? What goes around definately comes around to hurt u. Ur too much hatred for people and ill-mannered attitude accumulated to ur Fat. Drink H2SO4. Idiot.

John.. Cool down! Have you heard of forced-bribe? You are pulled over all your papers are complete. Then you are asked to recite your plate number ..since you don't know it, you just committed an offence. They board your vehicle and off to the station.. On arriving you are told to settle them if not, you will be arrested for theft.. So get off your godly bullshit.. And FUCK NPF!!! Being under paid does not give any asshole the right to abuse the privilege of thier job..

Basket should go n sitdown jor mayb dats d kind of tin e can do....y will dey(shobo n Niran) pay d police to raid oda clubs so dey can make money?Trust me RR is always on point!!instead of am to jus do e comedy jeje e go open toilet call am embassy lounge e no like visa parlour*Hissssss*Neways RR is still d best u can't bring it down...

True! Kunle Bello (of trybes men) was among the pple arrest. He was tweeting about it and how police drove pass street full prostitues, no arrest made.. *Ada Nnewi*

Roadrunners Niran & Shobo would not hav done that, I'm too sure, coz embarssy & dejavu r dead zones nah, they cnt even compare to RR, even if drinks wher free @ dis oda so called 'clubs' RR would stil b full to capacity, coz their crowd is loyal & d place is awesome. N d owners knw that, so make people go rest jare. 9ja popo is just being the way they always r, incompitent n useless! Dey wher prob just bored! N cldnt raid RR coz dey have their own mobile police security

marv said...

U don't know d no. Of ur car, how many do u have I gess 2many 2 remember So finish d story did u give d bribe or not,all of u abusing & insulting should pray 4 9ja.

marv said...

Untill now, pls help & teach them english or whatever u think u know, sombody like u when somthing happen u will b d 1st 2 run 2 d police, 9ja pple

john imade is definately a police man...tnk God i wasnt in embarsy dat day o ...wetin i for tell my papa ....

marv said...

Pls finish d story, did u give. Cus if u did they should charge u

Feel free to try it.na ur body go tell u.

Maceasy said...

It's simple......basically for business reasons. Shady business strategy. hmmm.......

I laugh in chinese!!! No such thing . Vist my blog to know more about weight loss.

http://thebattleoftheweight.blogspot.com

Dejavu is rily a dark spot and embassy lounge has been robbed b4. So the shd up their security and stop pointing fingers at those who have security. Nuff said.

Lool!

Clubs in this yaba area has become a big haven for criminals, most especially the 1 in Unilag-Abule oja (DEJAVU). They rob daily. Nigerian Police, sabo should please beam their search light on this area very well. I have been robbed in this particular point 1 day coming from night vigil by these small boys with local pistols. They trail me to UNILAG gate. It was a sad experience.

In defense of RR I ve to say dis, embarssy n dejavu r rily low lifes clubs, road runnaz is a very classy club, best on d mainland, d distance in deir rep is so far off each other, dey r too low for RR to compete wit, so dey can as well get deir act ryt n stop blaming ppl for deir predicament, in btw, RR has mobile police men who r permanently stationed, just asking ve u met d road runnaz PRO, she's rily hawt, good face for d club

Really, RR is on ibikunle street to point that out.Really,sobo or niran do not hv time for things lyk d@. They can't do such.. Basket pele sa...