FEC approves N2.2bn 150-seater banquet hall for Aso Rock Villa | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 29 November 2012

FEC approves N2.2bn 150-seater banquet hall for Aso Rock Villa

The federal government of Nigeria wants to spend over two billion Naira for a 150-seater banquet hall. Not a 5, 000-seater hall o, just 150 seats! Does that make sense to you guys?

Meanwhile, there's an existing banquet hall in the Villa o. This one is just to waste money and share the remaining.

Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, Senator Bala Muhammed, said the proposed hall, which will be constructed by Julius Berger, will have walk ways, security post, hall conveniences, technical room and press briefing room. For N2.2bn?

Isn't there a way civil societies in Nigeria can stop all these unnecessarily spending by taking the federal government to court? Isn't there a way, we as citizens, can check our government?

106 comments:

BLOGLORD said...

its not their fault. It is well sha...

helen said...

we can't close our mouth, our biggest problem in Naija is our LEADERS...they are clueless and corrupt
www.naijaopenmouth.com

o ma ga jona jona u sha won kill us

Oge Nsimah said...

them go kill us one day.... with all this insecurity in this country see where their interst is ..selfish govrnment ,,

And mr Jonah will sit like an embecile that doesn't knw anythin. Which way Nigeria?

Moi Moi said...

This is unnecessary spending...
The citizens need this money elsewhere...

AND SANUSI WANTS THE SAME FEDERAL GOVERNMENT TO SACK 50PERCENT OF ITS STAFF ,HOW MUCH CAN THEIR SALARY POSSIBLY BE....I HAVE LOST HOPE FOR THIS COUNTRY.....

Wake up Linda, we are stuck in the middle of it, there is almost no way we can stop them.

We wanted the military out, they are out now but the "unbelievable non-scenes" continues to happen. it just shows that good governance does not depend on what you wear (Khaki or Agbada) its actually in the head and the heart.

Good governance via democracy cannot thrive where the majority in government is corrupt, the majority of our elected/selected officials are corrupt as such WE ARE IN DEEP SMELLING SHIT.....

Lekan said...

GEJ is approving a lot of projects now so he can steal enough money to fight OBJ n BUHARI in the next election. He has tested and proven that the power of money and incubency (when combined)is unbeatable in Nigeria... but I sincerely pray that 2015 will prove to be different! We need leaders not rulers!!!

Hw much will it cost to build a stadium

Sis., Lol! I dnt think we need something like that nah... We're over 150m. as population & can't give account to our government plans in the nxt 10yrs... Sis., The same peeps that we put there to track the govt. Those are the ones stabbing us @ d back. #God_bless_9ja *If i hear*

Kindly, visit>> http://www.chiboychuks.blogspot.com

Kunle said...

The amount of proposed is too small. They should do something that can last for even decades. Why can't they learn from developed nations. Linda, truly it doesn't make sense and the amount is too much. JB things are always extraordinary..............Visit my blog to know how to get a flat belly, burn fat from some part or entire body, maintain fitness and body shape fastweightlosstipsnigeria.blogspot.com

Unnecessary spending biko

Critical observer said...

And they would definitely get the funds for the ridiculous project!

Na God go punish all of them

The more news you hear from Naija, the more sick I become ..... Greed and corruption everywhere yet the masses are hungry. Same goes for Alakija story … I agree , Alakija is not the cause it is IBB that is too blame . IBB should not be a free man.

She got it legally although for free but morally is it right for IBB to allocate oil bloc to his friends. She bought one of the biggest mansion in hyde park for over 100 million dollars and a private jet for 46 million as reported in the media . This is money that should go to the people (Morally)... It is not fair that her family enjoys the national treasure given by God. Corruption so eaten deep . Is A BANQUET HALL NIGERIANS Priority at the moment .
When are we going to say enough is enough

Fela don talk am Already

Online Reductionist said...

even the Devil is a learner when it comes to Nigerian leaders. In soviet russia they would already be dead. Se y'all in hell.

Hahahahahahah!! Linda is in America n shez sending u people to go 2 d streets 2 collect Koboko, tear gas n if u r 'lucky' Stray bullets! LMAO! If u are serious come home n be d 1st 2 carry Placard.......

BLOGLORD said...

..yet people are dying of hunger, ailment n diseases, poverty,people are jumping on dead trains,no power supply, no good roads, people struggling to survive while FG approves 2.2 BILLION Naira 150 seater hall.
God you need to stop calming down, pour down your fury!If world wan end, make e end. wetin!

Dee said...

NIGERIA GOVERNMENT IS FILLED WITH GREEDY BASTARDS THAT WILL ROT IN HELL FOR THEIR WICKEDNESS, IF THEY SPEND SUCH MONEY AND TAKE CARE OF THEIR CITIZENS I'M NOT SURE WE WUD COMPLAIN BUH, THEY WANT TO EAT ALL. IMAGINE SUM1 EMBEZZLING 1BILLION NAIRA BIKO WHAT 4??????????? GOD PLS SAVE US 4RM DIA WICKED,SELFISH HANDS. WHEN WOULD ALL THIS STOP?????#WORRIED.

Eba mi ki gbe Ole!!!

Stupid people with stupid unnecessary projects, when millions of Nigerians are living in total poor conditions.....that is why they would not allow the man BUHARI to rule this country.I know by the grace of GOD one day he would surely come back to cleanse and wipe away all this thieves!!!

the international airport in lagos is still terrible and the police quarters was bombed,yet they are doing banquet, whether na Jesus and the last supper dem wan do.Bring back Buhari.My opinion.

Excuse me, who is complaining? what do you really expect from someone who never had shoes? SMH

Duchess Jacob Abayomi said...

It's soo obvious dis Jona boy is a wicked man. Soon there will be no food for the poor to eat, then d poor will eat d flesh of d rich. NA wa ooh. God help us

2.2b naira 4 what? Y wasting so much money on tins dat wnt benefit d masses?
Hurray! PTV PHONES in partnership with Etisalat is offfering 2 months free BIS subscription for any BlackBerry phone purchased at any PTV PhONES store closet 2 u.Its real ooo.
http://store.ptvphones.com/freebis

Hall dat Boko Haram will still bomnb if dey r not careful nd really tackle Naija's prob

B said...

WELCOME TO NIGERIA

B said...

WELCOME TO NIGERIA

queen bee said...

Na today!!.......mtcheew.let dem continue,...
Civil Societies ke?.dose ones 'Don finish to wear pant for demselves' and dey are even more eager to be part of d corruption!!.......
Abeg!!I am tired of discussing state matters jor,cos our talking changes nothing,just makes one more irritated........make I hear word!!
....logs out and tunes TV to cartoon network'

Gov wan 2 build anoda hall neva fink of problem of unemploymt facin our country, epileptic power supply, n Inadequate facilities in our hospitals n University. But my questn is- is it compulsory to build dat hall, if yes ao is it goin to be beneficial to Nigerians? Plis linda help me ask mr President

Very sad

Our country is moving in a vicious circle. I pray someday we'll b back on course. Our leaders don't fear God or respect their fellow men neither do their god fathers want progress. All we need is a few good men in very important offices to stir d course of our nation

Some Nigerian youths still think that there is a future for Nigeria without a revolution......I dare say to you Nigerian youths that you are all idiots

Boko haram please stop bombing inocent people, go to aso rock and bomb everyone in there including the president and the people that want to build the banquet all with 2.2bn. Awon wereee oloriburuku, na to dey increase fuel price. This 2.2bn go build one oil refinery or fix the ones on ground instead of dem to find a solution and way forward for the country na hall dem dey build. Idiots

madness! we need road, we need jobs....instead they want us to continue suffering and smiling, well very soon we will stop smiling oh....

The only time I ever hear about billions of naira being spent, is when they want to do something for aso rock or something that will benefit the president and his ministers! Meanwhile, Nigeria gets aid money from the western world and still have debts that they need to pay back! The day Obama & co catch Nigeria, I go begin claim Black American!

Daniel Akobi said...

Amazing! The way Nigerian "rulers" think.
This guys are a confused lot.
Well not their fault, the citizens are much more confused. In a nation of the blind; even a man with defective vision ll be king

Warri Girl said...

Lol @taking the government to court. Such a wasteful government we have, mstweee.

fidelis osamwuyi said...

dont worry revolution is coming. where is gadaffi today? can goodluck say uneuivocally he is not a thief? can he beat his chest that he is not corrupt? unless the lord builds no matter the size of the building ,they labour in vain!many are out of school hopelessly cant find a job and here they are building new houses for senate president etc and new banquet hall.

Hmmmmm.... Smh... Just like a pidgin saying: "everybody dey draw robe come closer for im side" Our politicians only do things that favour them, another Banquet hall so they party more and host more events where they can seat and discuss how to steal more money. When there are more pressing development issues on ground that can be done for the masses they are doing this, mtcheeew!

WASTE OF MONEY APPLYFORJOBS.BLOGSPOT.CO.UK

Ikman said...

Linda, please learn to write like a graduate and a well informed blogger. Yes we agree that the cost of the building is excessive but please present your matter professionally. How can you be making this kind of infantile statement? "This one is just to waste money and share the remaining." it sounds so childish.

#verylonghiss# linda, u that said 500, isn't it still small for that amount of money... These guys in government are now BMF (Blowing Money Fast)... This stuff aint funny.

i thought you embarked on this U.S trip of yours with important people/big names in the country?
connect the dots.

ETHAN said...

It is well.

And Sanusi Lamido Sanusi is calling for job cuts? Na wa

Boko guys will blow it up. Executhieves and legislathieves! When shall our Arab spring commnec!

Who builds a mere 150 seat hall wit 2.2Billion!!??? Smh multiple times. Only here in Nigeria. God is watching them and will definitely pay them back with their own coin. No matter how rich u are, all graves are the same size. I'll sit and watch as they bear whatever is placed upon them, one by one. Make una continue u hear?

Ko de ni da fun won, e no go better for them se.. Do you know what 100million can do in my life?

this is so sad...no be dia fault sha...dat occupy ojota we had d last time shld av bn the best way to kick start the total rejection of all dis corrupt act...over TWO BILLION NAIRA????? Kilodeeeee...we dey madttt??

Allah ya isa ( God will surely judge them)

LusciousBerry said...

Speechless, ds is evn too small, dr r more projects cumin, until al dz useless "rulers" r eliminated, trust me, we r goin nowr

misplaced priority.

New BoY said...

That Money wld be enough to actually build a functional university from scratch!
And they want to use it on a tiny hall?
Maybe the walls will be gold plated with diamond studs

All we need is weapon to fight dem...n nt by commot on blog to fight..if you want d good of dis nation show it n nt by commont.no 4gt say ne since den born us we don dey shout..UP NEPA

Absolute nonsense!our leaders are unfocus!Revolution is d only solution 2 Nigeria Problems!

happyhausabunny said...

"Bala Muhammed, told State House correspondents that the council did so because smaller countries had befitting banquet halls in their seats of power" so it's now competition? Which conutry has the most befitting banquet hall? Who voted for these stupid people? These are the people boko haram should go after! Not innocent citizens. Rme

Austin Uche said...

in dis country of ours, the Voice of the People is d Voice of clueless ants..... Buh wah these useless leaders fail to understand is dat wen ants congregate wiv one voice and goal, they can crush any fucking giant..... Nuff said

After spendn dis plenty moni wat next? Do dey expect d maSses 2 clap deir hands nd say well done gud governmnt its a pity sha d govt I s so corrupt I feel 4 Nigeria my country her leaders re so brainless

Oh my God dis country is d most clueless country to have ever existed am so sorry 4 my children

My darling Linda, I tire o. But I have come to the realization that all our complaints on the extravagance of government fall on deaf ears. So me sef wan go Julius Berger now go collect sub-contract, at leaset I fit supply carpet, chair, table, plate, fork and knife. By de time I go finish, na PJ I go buy

Thank you Linda for posting this news. Thank you once more for taking the stance you took. You have done your best to speak out. The international communities read your blog; they take note of the level of corruption in Nigeria and the stances of the citizens. Unfortunately, the leaders of Nigeria have no empowerment or entrepreneurship plan for its citizens above the working age of 18 (its intentional), therefore their looting would always go unchecked. If the willing and able citizens don't have proper jobs, rallying them to speak out is a big problem. The reason is so simple you won't believe it: they are hungry! For edible food! For themselves and family. Their will are very easily bent with a few crumbs. Form a 10,000-man petition rally (which is never an easy fit) against any issues in Nigeria and the organisers views can be changed with a few millions of dollars rather reject the money and die for the course if that is what it would take (also known as revolution or activism). You see, Linda, the people you are looking for are hungry...for food.

Hmn...na wah oh. My people, please what's Linda's enail address?

i still think the only thing that can solve naijas problem is revoluntion

I seriously think that Minister of State for Power,was right when she said "Evil Spirit are Behind Nigeria’s Darkness" (If you didn't hear about it,read it here ...http://leadership.ng/nga/articles/41204/2012/11/28/evil_spirit_behind_nigerias_darkness_power_minister_tells_sa_investors.html). I was mad at the statement yesterday but now i truly believe its not just the power sector, its the entire leadership of the country!! Do these people know what PRIORITIES are?? How,in the name of the Most High God, is this a priority?? What happened to the other one there?? How many times does the president enter that banquet hall?? Do these people think at all?? How selfish can they be?? Do they know how many roads can be fixed or houses provided for Nigerians with N2.2bn?? I strongly believe there is a hand/force, an evil one at that, behind these people and we need serious deliverance!! They are making us loose faith in this country but if we refuse to, we can overcome!!! I'm just so sad walahi!!

Nuff Said!!!

James said...

Completely waste of Nigeria money

Good governance initiative said...

Insensitive government, my friend bought a five star event center in highbrow area of Lagos state for N180m, equippedwith lodging facilities. I tire for Naija

And i totally agree with Lekan 1.12pm, on GEJ approving so many projects. Why now, when the year is ending?? Yesterday's FEC meeting was all about dishing out billions for projects here, there and everywhere. Its just sickening. But i REFUSE to loose faith in my country cos our Deliverer is nigh!!

Nuff Said!!!

ML said...

This is definitely stupendous!,ridiculous and a concubility on the part of FEC.
So this is the new strategy abi? If we don't raise hell about this they will go away with it as usual. Then someone will tell me to vote PDP,next election.mcheeeeeew!

I'm not surprised...... Buh all I know is that God isnt sleeping!!! He will surely judge!!!

NIGERIANS ARE GOOD AT TALKING LINDA EVEN IF UR FANS TALK FROM NOW TO ETERNITY NOTHING WILL HAPPEN UNTIL NIGERIANS LEARN HOW TO DEAL WITH DICTATORS LIKE OTHER COUNTRIES FULL STOP!!!!

Linda careful on your critic as regards to this proposed 2 billion naira hall o..... Or else they won't take you for another foreign trip..lol. Meanwhile this is just gross wickedness and stupidly by the Nigerian government ....

Every generation is rated by future generation, just like we commented on previous ones, our generation will be aptly tagged "the fools".

Well said
I agree with u
We are in deep shit

God help us

Tinuke said...

Why does Julius Berger have momopoly over land & sea & other constructions in Nigeria?

BRIGHTINO said...

There is nothing we can do. All we can do is to show our anger on blogs and it ends there. Who wan die? The only thing that will liberate nigeria is the birth of a nelson mandela,gandhi or martin luther king. A man who will not be scared to loose his life. A man who will not be bought over no matter the price. Till that day comes, those in government will continue with their looting.

rednaxela said...

revolution tinz agog!

I tell you...VERY DEEP SMELLING SHIT.

dailyrazor said...

Lol...corruption at it's finest.

yes oh. But it iz nt rit spending money unecsarily.

Rinny said...

Just thinking: FG aproves N2.2bn 150 seater banquet hall for aso rock villa... wow!! our govt has gone from using millions to using billions.... for a hall that Jesus will never enter!!!! (disgust on my face) its so sad that the rich are getting richer, while the poor are getting poorer... like i said b4, just thinking>>>>>

All i have to say is, "it is well with Nigeria". Is this our priority dear presido? Why do you need a banquet hall, when your people are suffering, abi was it not months ago there was a flood that destroyed many homes, or is there stable electricity, are the roads repaired? OH! Mr Presido, and co, una doh oh...

Uchlady said...

How do you know that it is unnecessary spending?...Have you been to halls where world leaders meet outside Nigeria?.....How are you sure that it isn't a good investment?....Anything wrong with us having quality or exquisite halls in the Aso Villa (Our own White house)?

Uchlady said...

When they're done building the hall, then a probe can be carried out to check how much was actually spent.....

IAmhairs said...

and here JONATHAN goes again....he just keeps breaking our hearts anytime we decide 2 trust him one more time....its just dis-heartning ...cuz we dont even know where we are heading to with whats on ground... GOD BLESS NIGERIA,GOD BLESS NIGERIANS,GOD BLESS LINDA,GOD BLESS ME

Warri Girl said...

I say it and I will continue to say it. Nigeria is ruled by educated fools. A good example will be that Airport in Asaba, how many planes flies out of it. Wasted money and yet people houses are under water in thesame delta state.

Chrisbrizzy said...

This has gone beyond corruption, it is now wickedness and one thing I know for sure is that the wicked cannot go unpunished.
Like somebody once said here, I comment my reserve.

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Floods..killing hundreds..Boko Haram killing thousands..even brought their mayhem to Abuja last week..and all they can think of is a obvious over-inflated amount 4 a banquet hall..when u have a Goldfish bowl existence..you so out of touch..remember Saddam..Gadaffi..Mobutu Sese Sekou(private airport in his village where his wives flew to Paris on a regular)...when it all unravels...they would be in shock!!

Everybody shud shut tha fuck up, yall are just gonna sit behind your laptops and phones write shit, the more u sit, the more shit u take, and its gonna affect our kids and great grand kids,until we stand up and take up arms,not caring if you gon die or live and go against the blood sucking, wicked bastards , we are going to see worse. After their so called "FEC" gathering the giggle and laff @ us. Let's put a stop to dis mess.

Lindodo, there is a way - REVOLUTION.

sarian said...

Hmmmmmmmm....the population of nigerians is not up to 200million,if our government decides on giving every individual 2million naira every year,Ä®̸̸̨Æ­'s not up to 500million!!!Ïž•̸ε̲ av a lot of pple suffering,Ä®̸̸̨Æ­'s so hard for some to eat their 3square meal buh our leaders are treating us like Ïž•̸ε̲ don't exist when Ïž•̸ε̲ actually do...what if they use the 2.2B in constructing homes for the flood victims,better hospitals,or better still spending Ä®̸̸̨Æ­ on education!!! if our so called EFCC can do nothing abt this,who are Ïž•̸ε̲ to stop them?even if Ïž•̸ε̲ shout from now till 2015,the contract has been awarded buh all I can say is God is watching all of our leaders on 3D buh the day my Heavenly daddy wι̥â„“â„“ respond to d call of the righteous,It wι̥â„“â„“ be so Disastrous for them cos Ä®̸̸̨Æ­ won't only affect them buh affect their generations!!! pls is there anyone who has d link that can hook me up with a very good contractor?I'm into cleaning services and I wι̥â„“â„“ be well pleased working with them!!!pls check dis out www.sariankleen.wordpress.com

Jamesrico said...

There's no need taking the FG to court cos even the judiciary is corrupt. The decision to change this country lies in our hands. The Military that should have clipped the wings of these corrupt guys have been bought over. So i say, until there's a bloody revolution in this country, things will continue to go from worse to worst.

Wetin una expect??? na election money... Only Nigerians can change their destiny, not these people we call "leaders"... make una siddon dey wait for God to leave the rest of the world's problem to come and save us...

There's no explanation to make sense of this approval.

But President GEJ or his representative will be here for ANNID event in Los Angeles, CA.
http://annidiaspora.org/events.html

If you're in the los angeles area, try and attend and let our voices be heard!

See you there.

@ Brightino: The kind and sort of MAN/WOMAN/GROUP Niaja needs is someone like MALCOLM (X)... He is not shift; can neither be bought or sold; and most DEFINITELY practices what he preaches. And most of all, he doesn't speak form "both sides of his mouth" and gets his job done.

veeon said...

Wow, I can't even believe this. These leaders are taking our livelihoods and using it to make themselves richer and us poorer. It even makes me sad because people like JONATHAN who were suffering like us, he was a lecturer before all this is now using his own opportunity to take advantage of his own people. the main fact is that most of these leaders dont care. people are dying and suffering everyday.. people are living much lower than a dollar a day and these people are spending 2.2 billion naira on a banquet hall. woow im in tears. i really feel lik crying right now. this is sooo unfair... not only do they have msplaced priorities they are also wicked and heartless. this 2.2bln naira will ony roof nigerias top richest and most corrupt men. i weep for this country. only GOD ALMIGHTY can save us. we are now swiming in the devils lake. nigerian leaders need deliverance... cause what they are doing is vry evil and wicked.

VEEON said...

NIGERIANS WE NEED TO RISE UP AND DO SOMETHING FOR OURSELVE. IF IT IS A REBELIION WE NEED SO BE IT.. WE SEE THE MIDDLE EAST DOING A REBELLION AGAINT THEIR UNDEMOCRATIC LEADER US SUBSAHARAN COUNTRIES ARE ALL GOING THROUGH THE SAME THING. NIGERIA HOLDING ALOT OF AFRICA'S POPULATION NEEDS TO RISE UP..... I AM ACTUALLY SO SAD.

Please Nigeria watch this documentary and see where Nigeria came from and imagine where Nigeria is going.. http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=the+real+story+of+nigeria&oq=the+real+&gs_l=youtube-reduced.1.0.35i39l2j0l2.16710109.16714760.0.16716542.10.10.0.0.0.0.1208.2641.2j5j2j7-1.10.0...0.0...1ac.1.Y7-Ys8FG62I

Str8FrmDaHips said...

I'm ready to carry arms to liberate 9ja..if i die I die..and would get a blessing from God..as long as its in the battle against evil..with the knowledge that I was part of something that changed the landscape forever..there's only one thing they fear..starring down the barrel of the gun..that's why they were always scared shit of the military!!..
If we can't confront them directly in the open cos they got more firepower and people are scared we can start with guerilla warefare !!..it happened in Libya..Syria..Egypt

@str8
I support u.
Lets carry this arms and liberate Nigeria. We have professionals how can come up with ideas that can generate more wealth than oil for the nation.

Look at Dubia and Singapore

Organized content is the best way to display or post an article, thank you for making it easy to digest your post.

Banquet halls los angeles

Banquets in indore said...

Nice blog looking attractive.

VGP Resorts said...

Nice post ! Keep sharing more blog posts.

Resorts in Chennai | Banquet halls in chennai

What's up everyone, it's my first go to see at this web page, and
paragraph is genuinely fruitful for me, keep up posting these types of content.

My web blog banquet hall rental