Fashola arrests policeman riding ‘okada’ on express road | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 30 November 2012

Fashola arrests policeman riding ‘okada’ on express road

Governor Fashola yesterday Thursday November 29th ordered the arrest of a policeman riding a motorcycle on Lagos/Abeokuta expressway.

The governor spotted the policeman when his convoy was passing on the Ikeja section of the expressway. Policemen in the governor’s convoy effected the arrest and immediately whisked him away in their van.

Fashola later told newsmen that the arrest was to serve as a deterrent to those who felt that they were above the law and so could break the state’s laws.

“There is no one above the law in the state. People who are not prepared to obey our laws should leave the state.

“There is no society where laws are not broken, but the state government would continue to increase its enforcement so that there will be high level of compliance”, he said. (PM News)

147 comments:

well done sir!

Uncle Babs said...

Hmmmm.Ok

Gbam!, he has spoken well.

Good for the policeman.their own too much.maybe na okade wey he seize from one okada rider.

Exactly!! No one is above the law. Enough of law enforcement agents feeling like they are untouchables or something. Eko oni Baje o!

So riding "okada" is now a crime. I thought the intent of the law was to guard against the use of motorcycles in a commercial capacity. Fashola has got it wrong. No wonder police is busy apprehending bike messengers and delivery guys. Na wa o!!!!

mrolajyde@gmail.com said...

Now thats really unfair.How on earth is this poor puff puff policeman going to get to his ambush spot and extort his daily bread?

Good 4 him!al dese policemen,wen dey seize bikes dey turn it in2 their personal use!Fashola is workin!!!

is a leason to orders, kudus fashola....

I hope he is safe after his tenure....

Walter said...

Lolz. Them police just love to hijack okada men. Let's see how that shoe fits on them.

so...what exactly are they fighting for or against? Is it against commercial bikes and riders or all bikes? cos this is a personal mode of transportation for the policeman and other citizens. Not everyone can afford a car or Power bike. They have stopped the source of lively of okada riders already why harrass others police and all.

Issorait

Issorait

well well well. Let's review this for a minute. Was he arrested for not wearing a crash helmet or for owning a motorbike that he uses as his private mode of transportation? If he was arrested for the latter, then all those power bike riders should be arrested as well.

ZOELANDA!!! said...

Story of my life! Does anyone know the name of the man arrested? As if he won't be released immediately.. Lubbish!

(Imagine; a fan screaming on top her voice to Michael Jackson......)

Okay listen now;

Fashola! i love you! Oh my God!

God i love this man.

thats serious!

June said...

LWKMD.......imagine wetin τ̣̣ђё olorkpa go dey talk for him mind.......when they grabbed him and threw him into τ̣̣ђё Van........Serves him Right!

John said...

I thought it was commercial motorcycling (OKADA) that was legislated against and not just the use of motorcycle by officers or other official use like dispatch riders and other private owners? Pls more explanation. Thx.

Sue me said...

Tie ti ba

He means business. Shame The thieving pdp politicians are above the law though.

Good4 him....
http://meenahz.blogspot.com

Abeg Fashola should shut the hell up,what if he dsnt have any other means of transportation?and is this police guy not better than those that would board a bus and not pay and be claimin staff,abeg he should return his bike juh

check this out...http://referraltask.com/ref.php?page=act/ref&invcod=111494

Tanx Fash,I wish dis theory of no one is against d law can bw extended to our Nation's fight against corruption.

~BONARIO~says via NOKIA3310

this Fashola guy is going gaga..

Their should be an alternative to ds,stopping okada is not bad but keke is even worst. If Gov Fashol hv withness keke accident he WiLl agree with me dt is those okada boy's dt moved to keke. Lagos stress is too much for one to add endurance tracking to it & keke is not enough to take care of pple, and we should know dt ds okada riders are bread winners & it will not be easy for them to switch to another business were is d money some of them are on higher purchasem.Hw will they reconcill with d owners, I just pity them.Also, Lagos is too big such dt if were u want to go is by ur left u need to do mary go round b\4 u get to d place.Their should be better alternativ to ds pls, is not every body dt can afford car afterall d pple dt made ds law hv their own car with driver it is a pity dt they know what masses are going through but still they fill ignorant of it.May God bless us, so dt we can own our own cars.

BUT ITS HIS PESONAL RIDE NAAAW , FASHOLA UR OLD DON TOO MUCH . U DEY UR CONVOY NAA

Is the ban on okada riding (commercial), or motocycle riding (private)???

qarrym said...

Beta

He should gettaway abeg.

Warri Girl said...

Fashola is putting it out to these security agents that they are still under the law

Good job but what about Tinubu?

Gud 4 some policemen

Abegi! All na format

Thank you Fashola. Nigerians are so not law abiding. Especially the uniform men and the political class. Please force them to be law abiding citizens.

Very very good. More of these so called uniform men should be arrested for flaunting the law. Mseeew

IAmhairs said...

dnt even knw what to say on this....fashiola come down 2 lagos-badagry express n i bet you'll catch a trailer load of millitary men riding on bikes.....eko on baje

Lala said...

Fashola for president.

OK now... we have 'heared..

happyhausabunny said...

Iya! Why is the okada in quote? Fashola should go to Oshodi/Apapa express, I see loads of them using 1 way sef, it's simple! Don't ply these routes! If people can't obey laws, they should be punished!

My Friend Introduce me to a site 2 days ago, I registered
and today 30th.November,2012 I’ve 42usd in my account.
No payment made No investment No stress No affiliate
what are you waiting for , all you need to do is REGISTER for FREE and start earning 3$ from this moment
http://earnite.com/ref.php?page=act/ref&invcod=19665

Yeah right

Bravo mr governor

Welldone indeed! My gorvernor. Kudos!!

Kunle said...

That's good. No one is above the law even obj. It's all for our own good..........want to have a flat belly, burn fat, maintain your shape with fitness. Visit my web blog www.fastweightlosstipsnigeria.blogspot.com

Hehehe gud gud

I thought this ban was for commercial operators. If so what's up with this? I bet say na wash

galore said...

am not greetin u weldone @ all...You ds FAKE govnor......always lookin for News.....I kno u arrangd It,,to make HeadLines.......U want everyone to think dt Lagos is working...MUMU Govnor....Na u go arange policeMan and Army to go pass one area,,,den u go block dem....so dem go say U dey do Good Job....mthcewww.....Yoruba Pple(Govnor) wt Mumu character

ada said...

Dats a bold step u hv takn sir.

Gidi Girl said...

Gov Fashola for President!!!

oyo also deserved it.

Chichi Taichi Okere said...

Shouldn't mr governor busy himself with trying to retrieve d 10 BRT buses seized by Obasanjo at his Ota farms instead of buying 10 new buses with tax payers' money.

I love dis man.I wish he was d president of Nigeria not goodluck Nwa mummy.

Dat serves him right

Ok nah..... #Unto d next one!!!

Hash. but its hightime we begin doing thing according to the LAW.
Kudos

Hello Kitty said...

im confused, are regular ppel not allowed to ride motorcycles? are all motorcycles in lagos used for commercial activities? what if thats the mode of transport the man can afford? what exactly did he do wrong here? or was he breaking any traffic laws whilst riding his bike? cuz honestly if he wasnt this was a very stupid thing for Fashola to do.

Action governor..

i don't understand this english quotation o from Fashola "prepared to obey ((our)) laws" because my own consent was not seek as a citizen of this state on this Okada issue. So, i advice him to revert that statement. **ola*

asuku said...

lol...

i noticed the policeman was not carrying a passenger please what is fashola trying to imply? is he saying that even private bike owners cant use their bikes anymore? so what if a bike is what one can afford or is he saying we must all now have cars by force? i dont get it o!!!!!

Becky naka (Beautiful home concept....your sure plug for industrial cleaning) said...

hu cares

Chop Chop said...

What goes around comes around....

cCrystal said...

But its for his private use nau uncle Fash! Not for commercial use. He's using coercive method and its besetting. I fill for u guys in lagos sha.

Ň☺ώ he's talkin.truly no 1 Ȋ̝̊̅§ above d law nd d way he goes 2 prove it Ȋ̝̊̅§ admirable.more grease 2 U̶̲̥̅̊я elbow sir.nicely played!Lily babe

Angel Ricardo said...

I don't get it, is riding your personal motorcycle an offense too? I thought the ban was restricted to commercial cyclists?

eb said...

correct :D

Dr. Pinch said...

So u can't own a bike I lag again? In Abj here people still ride their bikes as long as u don't use it for commercial purposes. I think this Fasola guy is becoming too obsessed with this his okada shit

wel don i hope our kaduna governor visit fashola 2 lean d way forward 2 d growth and how he wil creat ways of making revenue of kaduna state

Who are they fooling?

Dapsyn said...

I dey always gbadun this guy. I don't take nonsense like Fashola's government #EkoOniBaje

obinna bina said...

he will be immediately released. that one no be talk

Very good.
Fashola should extend this to our Ports, Alausa, the Police stations and the other Government agencies in and around the state.

Fuck u Fashola,egbe wole wole,mcheeeeew

dt's Y I Luv ds Man

Buks said...

Is he gone raving mad ???????? . A policeman in uniform going about his duty , Fashola don kolo ooooh , he must have started taking that thing with Ojuyobo.

Sometimes I think he's more interested in the cosmetic look of Lagos than the well being of Lagosians but I have to love this one lol

rolemodel said...

This shola sef...na yu for be presido..
Yu to no dey tek nonesense...is all rait.
Well done ,and mek sure yu arrest the leftovers..

That's very commendable for our able guvnor, well don sir!

Like seriously, should I jump up and down? #justasking#

Ekuse oh sir!! I just pray dat other governors wuld emulate u. Says OBBY.

Daniel Akobi said...

That's their stock in trade in Abuja, military men, police men, civil defence etc all have the guts to ply the roads on their okadas while the so called bloody civilians can't dare it.
Unlike Lagos, nobody is responding to this impunity. Maybe this is a reflection of the type of Federal government we have.

Stanley Onduru said...

Hahahahaha.......u don't need no comedian to make u laugh in nigeria cos d situations we see evry day is so funny.......check out yelnatsfashion.blogspot.com

True....I mean is the ban for all two wheel transport, even private ones or is it only for commercial okada?

My thoughts exactly,its his personal ride not for comercial purpose I don't get it too

Fashola is an idiot!

I love Fashola!! Fashola 4 preseident

Thought soo too ooo. So no private okada, even power bike niyen coz those fall under motorcycles too.Need enlightenment too abeg.

This is not fair at all Fashola is going 2 far is he arresting d policeman 4 riding on d express or becos it is an okada which offence did he actually commit and also fashola should note dat is a private okada not commercial.

kunlejuba said...

Motocycles with engines from 200cc and below are not allowed on the expressway, however "okada" are still allowed to ride on the inner roads, a statement was made supporting this. I'm not a lasg staff, just need to let y'all know.his ultimate plan is to try to reduce the population of Lagos State so the state can serve the nation better, I pray things work out fine soonest, corruption,extra judicial killings, terrorism, militancy et al. God Bless us all

Tell Fashola to run for Presidency. Hopefully he'll continue the good work and turn Nigeria around in bigger ways

Fashola for presidency. Nigeria needs more rulers like you

Somebody's Pikin said...

Just to clarify, i think the ban is to not ride motorcycle machines on express motorways, be it commercial or personal. I think...or may im wrong?

mrolajyde@gmail.com said...

Why not post my question to my people now?
How is this puff puff policeman going to reach his ambush spot to extort us without OKADA?
Simple question.Dnt exclude,lets play fair.

Lagos is changing,fashola is working. Good 4 dat police officer

Riding Okada is not the crime. Riding on the expressway is the crime! And of course Police has just used perpetrate their wickedness-to harrass innocent Nigerians.

I'm sure the okada man was igbo! Yeye people!!

omababy said...

Dis policemen tink d law does not apply 2 dem. Fashola shld deal with dem.

O' please!! As long as he is in his uniform he can enta any bus in lag without paying so that is not an excuse! They are allowed to use their bikes but not on d highways/express!! If he can seize an okada man riding on d express's bike what gives him d authority to do it when he knows its wrong! Serves him right

Like too stupid,the man(fashola) is just an attention whore,so you can't move around on your private bike you can afford smh!

Must u people always look for trouble? What do u mean yoruba people? And uve not even made any sense at all. That a whole governor would plan this? Did u go to school at all?

Yearner said...

I wonder o!D same actor sorry governor Fashola arrested soldiers driving against traffic now he has arrested policeman riding on d express,would he not better serve as lastma or frsc?This policeman-scenario looks to me like acting out a badly written nollywood-script

Night school

Okada riders are bread winners? You don't say, who knew riding okada was a vocation.

*in my best Shina Peters voice*
Edake rumour,elo gbenu dake

Yearner said...

I think he's taken overdose of gulder n pussy juice...very intoxicating combo.Why him no fit fight Obj or is Obj above d law?Useless governor,na to dey tax tax poor men dey sweet am.Anyway d same way Obanikoro jnr defeated ACN in ikoyi's d same way they'll be defeated across d length n breadth of lagos in 2015.Governor-cum-landscaper-cum-lastma-cum-actor

Seek abi sought? Olodo oshi

veeon said...

Good stuff!

http://naijpol.blogspot.co.uk/

Capo De Tutti said...

I see ACN vultures on lib,una don collect una rice and vegetable oil 4 xmas abi?God forbid this guy ever becomes president,nonsensical governor.Na to dey go beg for $200mill dollar loan he sabi...wetin u dey use all d multiple taxation n federal allocation do?Ole jati jati

Dinho said...

Well done Gov

Dinho said...

Well done Gov

For ur mind abi?Ruler ko,tape-rule ni

onepageafrica said...

The law banning okada from riding on the expressway in Lagos concerns all okada. Policeman or military personnel, obeying the laws that help us achieve some level of sanity, is what we need do. Simple.

Yes lagos is changing...changing 4 d worse with this now-clueless godson of a crack-addict godfather.

Nigerians gullible n dumb, no wonder the politician steals from you, all they Hv to do is tell them what they want to hear.. Who is the officer arrested, which station did they take him to. Also in which country is it illegal to ride a bike on the highway if you r not carrying a passenger? Backward ass country

Dr. Pinch said...

Scam!!!

PhBoy said...

Amaechi, I pray you get off your high horse and learn a thing ot two from the man they call Fashola; trust me, you'll be better off for it and we will love you even more.
I say again, watch Odili movie, so that yours will not play out the same way.
A word they say...

See ur mouth like pit toilet. What's your own with igbo people? Tribalistic faggot with no asshole. Dats why nigeria is still backward becos of mad trash like you. May d worst hurricane shut down d road to ur stupid village

U be real idiot,na ur ancestors be yeye people. Ewu ofe mmanu

Ebuka said...

Hahaha! I dnt knw why u ppl hate us (Igbos) dis much, it rly funny*eyes rolling*... If we ar so mch of a problm to u guys, plss! Plss! Plss! Let us go! Pls let d yeye ppl go na! Hahahaha!... Mak poverty finish u ppl. God bless everybody. Peace!

For all those asking,
the part of the new traffic law concerning motorcycles states that, motorcycles with engine capacity less than 200 cc should not ply all those mentioned routes, so whether its private, commercial or even spiritual sef, if its not up to 200cc den u can't fit to use it in Fashola's Lagos

To put it clear,
1.Bikes, whether private or commercial (from 200cc engine capacity) shold not ply d highway
2. Bike users MUST use crash helmet at all time (including the passenger) whether private or commercial,
3. Bikes must be duly licensed and all documents in place.
The offence of the officer according to Linda's report are 1, riding bike on highway (Lagos Abeokuta expressway) and 2. Riding bike without crash helmet.

Lesson. Accidents knows no uniformed man, no individual is above d law. Let's do it right. Chikena....gbam.

choc said...

Anon 10:20, If somebody takes tns personal with U now, U'd say it's only a joke. Maluuu!

Tiny said...

So, and some people just talk without first thinking about what they say. Firstly, I applaud Fash on his taking action. We may not all agree with laws, but the fact remains.. they are laws and they should be adhered too. The law prohibits bikes of certain cc's to ride on expressways.

People say, well not everyone can afford a car. Then if that's the case, the they should use public transport like public servants doing any other country.

Some say, in civilized societies they won't arrest a policeman using a bike for his mode of transportation. Welllllll, in civilized societies, those okadas will never be allowed on public roads, for much of the same reasons lagos state banned them. They are too slow to ride on the same highways as cars thus constituting grave risk to the bike rider and car drivers and passengers. Couple that with the fact that we have no road etiquette in NAIJA leaves all kinds of 'accidents waiting to happen' situations.

We argue about these rules because we can't send our maigaurds, drivers and errand people on quick runs anymore, and we have self interest as our only motive to speak out and not the greater good.

Never mind that the police officer probably fueled his okada with money he collected as bribe from an okadas rider who was flaunting the same law he is breaking.

Abeg...make una go siddon..

D law states dt no okada shd be on d express way,dey can use it only within streets,hence d policeman's arrest.So it wasn't cos he wasn't wearing a helmet(which is also a crime) or cos it is his personal okada,dispatch riders wear helmets n I'm sure there's a law guiding dem.Officers have a different type of motorcycle maybe if he was riding on dt,he wudnt av bin arrested!

sarian said...

To me,some pple commenting on dis blog doesn't understand the governor,he never barned okada riders,he only barned them on some certain roads...come to think of Į̸̸̨ƭ,how can someone be riding okada on d express?Į̸̸̨ƭ has caused death to so many while some are in d hospital.go to IGBOBI orthopaedic hospital,they av okada ward there,u wι̥ℓℓ see how they hang and amputate pples legs!!!okada is still functioning buh not on every roads!!!!Good work my Governor,I so wish there's 3rd term only for fashola and actually I'm not feeling pity for the police man cos Į̸̸̨ƭ's now their new means extracing money from those okada riders who are still breaking d rule and mostly this police pass one-way.Leadership by example they said,so let him be punished!God bless Fashola!!

Well said.But have u also thought of d disadvantages of okada?they use Okada as a means to steal not saying oda means of transportation isn't used as well,but Okada has d highest record.And do u live around igbobi??go to d okada accident section n see how it turned so many people into handicaps denting the future of lots of promising pple.Yes they are bread winners n will continue to be cos they have jus being limited to certain areas not totally banned.Again,most youths in Lagos who r dropouts n other ones frm their villages(especially hausas)venture into okada business almost immediately,even when dey r not well skilled in driving it.Nobody wants to learn a skill anymore(Mechanic,barber,Fashiondesigning,n so on)cos d "Get rich quick syndrome"is the order of d day.So let's all think well n realise dt d use of okadas on expressways causes more harm than good.I do not have a car,so I use public transport n it hasn't bin easy with d restrictions of okada in som areas,but if u av bin a victim of its harm or close to a victim I'm sure u'd applaud d law.Let's not wait until then.

Nice jon Mr Governor
Please visit and register http://bit.ly/TvgXfT

@Anon 10:20 you r an idiot for saying u r sure he was ibo.

This one thinks he can ride Okada when its been banned just cos he's a police man. Mtcheeewww

Damilola Adesanya said...

This is a good job Governor Fashola has done. It shows that no one is above the law and as such everyone is equal before the law even from the law enforcement agents to the average citizen. I also want to add that there should not be the excuse of ignorance as everyone is expected to know what the law permits and what the law does not permit. I believe the media has in several ways been able to inform citizens about what we should do and to some extent, interpretations as part of the duty of the media.

Damilola Adesanya
Caleb University, Imota Lagos.

Sahid Olaonipekun said...

That's why u'r anonymous,i saw atleast 8 of the buses with my naked eyes not bespetacled...8 brt-buses with deflated tyres on baba's farm.

Na ibo dey always claim right for another man land! U think ure above d law? U can do that in ur erosion infested states not in the south-west! Hehehehhehehehehe! Am just looking for trouble! Sorry.

My dear that is the same way police men arrest innocent okada riders.which offence did they commit.they arrest and seize their motorbikes even inside estates which is not suppose to be.

elo said...

dude am not sure there are many igbo policemen in a tribalistic state like lagos...what are the odds?... Its more likely he's an indigen

elo said...

his name is ebahan johnson, doesn't sound ibo to me

Cecilia said...

You're hilarious. S

this is his personal mode of transportation. How easy is it for him to get a new back. Is Fashola going to buy a new bike for him. I think things are getting too extreme

Ani this man should run for president, if he continues the good work in Aso Rock and brings the changes we see in Lagos all over Nigeria, Nigeria too will become a force to reckon with. If all this yeye rulers want to chop the people's money while they are in office they must also show results and do something positive. I for one am tired of this Nigerian leaders. Only God can bring change

I like dis action, pls advice Rivers stste Gov. to do the same

Tinubu na okada rider?