Why Damiete is representing Nigeria at the Miss World Pageant | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 19 June 2012

Why Damiete is representing Nigeria at the Miss World Pageant

Isabella Ayuk (MBGN 2012)                                Damiete Charles Granville (1st runner up)

Isabella Ayuk, the Most Beautiful Girl in Nigeria 2012 is not available to go for the Miss World pageant in August for personal reasons, according to sources at Silverbird. She will be representing Nigeria at the Miss Universe pageant later in the year. And contrary to reports making the rounds, Isabella Ayuk has not been dethroned as Most Beautiful Girl in Nigeria 2012. Guy Murray Bruce himself told me this.

Official statement from Silverbird Group when you continue...

Silverbird prepares MBGN 1st runner up Diamette Charles for Miss World as MBGN winner Isabella Ayuk goes to Miss Universe.

The management of Silverbird, organisers of the annual Most Beautiful Girl in Nigeria and Africa's longest running beauty pageant will be sending MBGN First Runner up, Miss DIAMETTE CHARLES GRANVILLE, to represent the country at the Miss World pageant holding in Mongolia, China in August.
MBGN winner, Miss ISABELLA AGBO AYUK will represent Nigeria at the Miss Universe.
MBGN Second Runner up, Miss IFEOMA UMEOKEKE will be at the Miss Tourism International holding later in the year in China

In a signed statement, the management said the decision was in the best interest of the beauty ambassadors, the company and the country at large.

'As we celebrate our 25th anniversary in the world of beauty pageantry, Its our wish not to only raise the bar but replicate the groundbreaking records achieved by Agbani Darego as the first Black Africa's Miss World 2001 as well as some past queens who have achieved remarkable results at some renowned international pageants in the recent past.

While we seek your understanding, we also urge you to pray for their victory at the various global beauty pageants where they will be flying the country's flag"

Signed
GUY MURRAY BRUCE
Group Vice President, Silverbird.

125 comments:

Damiete's looks are more exotic/ international though... i hope she is well spoken and confident sha.

Yeah Isabell is too fat to win :p

WASH!!
Tizi says so

Amarachukwu said...

Hahahaha. This is like your boss trying to explain why he said he is not on seat when he was standing with you in the office. Its all about interpretation. whether it is miss world or miss universe, they are all miss something!!! Moving on.

Give your life to Christ, Listen to www.klove.com

Lilspicer said...

Linda i think dis a lie dey discovered she is above 25 not dat beautiful talkless of to win...i said it miss river was d winner...thankgod the truth is out-damiete is young slim tall and black beautiful-chie see wetin i dey miss(omo-iwo)says so..via blackberrybold:5
www.twitter.com/lilspicer

YINOTINTO said...

#issokai

Me tink dis Amiete is even beta than d Ayuk sef.my opinion!!

Story story. Sighs schweeeeeeeeeeeee. Is it I jumped a few lines or they didn't really say why they decided to switch?

Blaaaaah! They can lie ehn! They shuld come out wif d truth jor!
Michelle

HEPHZIBAH said...

Whatever their reasons. *yimu*. Damiete you have my vote!! Isabella, you are beautiful, but there's something about Damiete even Agbani, that you lack....can't give name to it, it's just something!

Kemmy said...

Still appaled by ayuks picture where she pulls her weave backwards.

Your article has told us nothing, so she's not taking part for personal reasons????
We are none the wiser.

ETHAN said...

Who is fooling who?

They still have not explained their reasons though..cus me i dont gerrit.

I said it. Isabella may not available. Itz pure favour for damiete. Anyway,they are both big pageants.

jescci said...

All na wash.

u no c the difference?

Damage control!

LALICIOUS said...

Abeg make una go siddon.....
Damiete shld b MBGN,,u all kno dat'
Dnt wanna spoil Чυя brand name by saying d truth hence dis stupid excuse.....
Well all d best Beauty''' but Чυя face Ȋ̝̊̅§ soooooooooo young compare 2 odas....prayin 4 U shaa

who cares

LIES!!! She is 30 n was disqualified which kin unable 2 go? Wat reason? Ben Bruce must think our brains are made of brick n egg...yimu 4 dayzzz

DEEFLAMEZ said...

I SEE...OK THANKS FOR THE WASH. BEN BRUCE YOU AND YA PEOPLE TRY, BUT WE AINT WEARING DIAPERS

*Amadioha is watching you through a broken mirror*

@willadebo

Niger... Wen will we eva stop corruption.. Y wasn't da crown given to damiete in da 1st place due to da same rsns y Isabella cnt go nd represent us? Anyways i fink Damiete z evn preferable.. O'l da best

xxxxx said...

SO STUPID. MBGN IS NOTHING BUT A PLAY GROUND.

HRHTega1 said...

Story dey smell...hmmmm......

sexymoi said...

Hiss, this guy is a fool

isis said...

These silverbird ppl are just bloody liars! Chei!! Wen we all know its because isabella lied about her age. Its really a shame that they have refused to come clean with the truth instead they treat the nigerian public as a bunch of mindless swines that can be lied to and toyed with @will. Na ogun go strike their lying tongues.

When u enter by wuruwuru, something must comot u by wuruwuru. Lol

homely said...

Either Isabella is pregnant or silverbird group is having a 2nd tot about her and just realising dey preferred Damiette to Isabella. Woteva. Good luck, oh well just 'Luck' to all of them.

I smell a dead rat somewhere...heard d disqualification has got to do with age falsification.. Anyways let d best girl cheer us to victory

ella said...

E b lyk say they want to tell anoda story again singing in 2face voice.

Lie!! she is past the age requirement to appear in the miss world pageant, this lady is way above 25!!

weldone linda for listening to your readers. I said yesterday that you should try and fetch out the reason behind it..AND YOU DID....KUDOS

www.naijabreakingnews.blogspot.com

Wuru wuru to the answer na hin silverbird group dey do!They really have lost all credibility!Such a shame!SMH

There is more too it am sure they r nt telling us.They r hiding. Sth.

LIES!!! All those Silverbird people are just a bunch of SCAM! personal interest ko! They should let us know what the "personal interest" is na... Abi the girl is pregnant for one of them... Come to think of it, no one has seen her since she "won". They should stop dreaming the crown is not coming to us...

Aida said...

ALL HAIL QUEEN DAMIETE...and Linda take note her name is Damiete not amiete...
finally Mbgn will have a really african queen not these speech impaired grand ma's they have been producing in the last years.
ben bruce plz dont 4get to collect bak the chris aire watch ooh

QF
point noted NXT!!!

EESHA said...

Heard she has been dethroned, cos she lied about her age from bella naija.

In as much as i dn't want Isabella to rep Nigerian, I still want Mr Dickhead Guy Bruce, to tell us the reason, why the girl was dumpd for miss univers???.Cause this shit is no reason.Punk ass murafuckas', we ain't no morons in this doomd country... via GALAXY S316G!

mami chula says ooo they didn't know miss damiete could represent their company n 'their'country @ large when they crowned isabella abi na isa bello.i should pray for their success abi?i am in kaduna n i am not yet done praying for my nation n those getting killed over here as a result of the on going crises.okay o am on my way to mountain of fire now let me start kabashing for them.awon amu ni se olohun

After their wurur is clear that they have failed once again to fool us. I pray that someone will take away this franchise from them they are making a mockery out of beauty pageant using it for politics and prostitution

shaddie said...

Hummmm... story! who be fool? who no go like go China represent us as miss world? rubbish... Anyway Congrats Amiete

Ofilispeaks.com said...

"In a signed statement, the management said the decision was in the best interest of the beauty ambassadors, the company and the country at large."

Sounds like a "we made a mistake with the winner bail out..."

Ada said...

Dis old gal cannot rep us an, she won by mistake cos she no fine sef

shaddie said...

Hummm.... Story!!! who be mumu? who be fool? Story Story! i am very sure this was the initial plan, becos Isabela was not suppose to win Nija we hail thee!... Anyway Congrats Amiete

Hahahahaha! Personal reasons indeed! They dnt wana disgrace d old lady publicly. Take a look at deir faces, see the youthfulness in damiette's. Now see d saggies dt even 12 layers of makeup cldnt cover in isabella's. Smh.

Ada said...

God just took wat was rightfuly graville's to her. U can't cheat nature

Is okay we understand....... Loll like hell we believe dis nonsense press release

frances said...

they have just proven how incompetent they are, and have also proved Damiete deserves to win MBGN in the first place. Silver Bird Group i bow for you guys!!!!

www.frances-diaries.blogspot.com

Bubblegum bullshit!! SILVERBIRD should bleep up! The show has lost its credibility. *useful_citizen*

For me, it is either that was deal between Ayuk's Govt boyfriend with siverbird that will just be MGBN but will not rep us for Miss world peagent OR her Govt bobo no drop peper complete dem shift. That means e fit continue like o unless.... Shikenan! Lol!

Damiete is obviously more beautiful... Mayb ds year is naija's turn 2 win Miss world! She's d anointed queen... Yhu no see thr statement? Thr 25 yrs and blah... So I tink naija wl win ds year's miss world!!! Yeeeeaaaa....

Its obvious Ayuk is actually older dan she claims. Heard she is 30 as miss world age limit is 24. Quite disappointing!

OYa omo iwo or watever ur name is, bring ur gbagaun king self and come and comment via ur bold5.

sexylove said...

Buheheheh ....na waooo, for "personal reasons" my foot, it mux av bin a shocker aπϑ suprise for †ђξ previous winner șђǺ, so they forgot dat they were tryna maintain a yeye standard wen they go choose a wrong person in †ђξ first place? Pity †ђξ gal șђǺ,lmao!!..oya nåђ, bring it on aπϑ lets see who wins at †ђξ miss world pageant in august

This statement is rather curt and ends abruptly, so what exactly is the MBGN organisers hiding??? Surely Isabella must have known that Miss World would be taking place in August before she decided to take part in the MBGN 2012???? Anyway, good luck to Damiete

Linda like say all of today's stor na abt beauty pageants.jooor oh!

Nne said...

Rubbish

sexylove said...

Dis isabella ayuk is looking so old sha...now i understand Wђγ they went with granville diamette, she is far better dan hε̲̣я̲̣

Fair enough; Isabella deserves to be punished, but isn't she too old even for Miss Universe?

All na scam

Pinky said...

Total rubbish.

Nekky said...

I know a lie when i see one and dis is such a huge lie. shame on Bruce and silverbird.thank God for the Miss World's transparency. they will begin to canvass for Miss Universe, i hope she gets disqualified there too.personal reasons my foot.mscheeeew

From every indication, she does look older than 26. Besides, Damiete looks younger and more beautiful except that i do not know if she is intelligent to represent Nigeria in the Miss World pageant. I believe she should anyway. Its crazy how corruption thrives even in the smallest organization. Its a shame. The fight against corruption shd start from us as individuals.

Story 4 tortoise,wat is d personal reason,do they tink we are stupid....

Y is bruce saying personal reason tell she was disqualified becos of age cheat. U see una life nemesis.

Long hissssssssss...why didnt they tell us miss or is it mrs ayuk's personal reasons...lol

ONOME says......
lolllllllll.
What personal reasons??
NONSENSE.You think you are talking to first graders right?*yimu*

LINDA TRY TALK TRUE NA SHOO YOU NO SEE SAY THE ACCLAIMED WINNER UGLY PASS DAMIETE ? SHE EVEN OVER AGE

Galore said...

Na "Toto" cause am........Take heart,,,u will go to Miss Universe...........*Yimu*......when Miss univers come,,dem go say u will go to Miss continent

"The management took the decision in the best interest of the ambassadors,the company and the country"...*yimu*

Cut d long story short....who is d most beautiful girl in Nigeria,2012?...full stop.

I think this lady on the left should have charges filed against her for that hideous weave on her head!

deekay said...

I didn't even notice or cared to know but thanks for the info. I'm still not happier than I was a moment ago.

humh humh,sé sure???

Erytin abt MBGN is fake!

Damiete fine pass Isabel kponkwem!

Poor girl. She is probably on a strict diet and won't be thin enough to compete with the rest of the world by August. Such competitions aren't meant for our African well-endowed beauties. We should come up with our own realistic competitions with which every African girl can identify with.

MBGN 2012 Disqualified for Corruption!

Alarm was raised that Isabella Ayuk, the lady who won the crown of the Most Beautiful Girl in Nigeria (MBGN) is more than 26years which she claims she is and  many people felt that was an attempt at Blackmailing her! This was confirmed because the whistle blower claims “I knew this because Isabella’s younger sister who was my classmate in secondary school is now 27years old”.

Today the truth has been told which the organisers of the MBGN, the Bruce family knew even before she contested! But instead, favoured her to be the winner because Isabella is dating Hon Emeka Ihedioha, the Deputy Speaker House of Representatives Abuja and she also warms the bed of a big time businessman Henry Imasekha, a very close friend of James Ibori. Today she has been disqualified from contesting in the Miss World Pageant due to age factor which she lied about and as such the first Runner up Diamete Charles will now represent Nigeria.

“My question is What Kind of Country do we Live in? Even in the Pageant industry there’s corruptio!. The Bruce family have now disgraced themselves and Nigeria before the entire world”.

Janded said...

Na dem sabi joor.

Get us the latest. BN says she's been dethroned and i know they won't put a story which is false on their website.

Terrific said...

Why not say Mrs. Ayuk doesnt meet up with the standards that requires for an international beauty pageant. #PERIOD

Is he tryin to say dat isabella is not good enuf for miss world?? Y make her MBGN in d first place? Misplaced priorities..

Linda, is this the only photo you have of Isabella??? Haba na

Allegra said...

Both girls are pretty but the runner-up is beautiful and more in line with what would suit the pageants. The Organisers know this hence coming up with some excuse. The winner suits what Nigerians would consider beautiful but not when you are competing on such a grand scale.

In other words, Isabella Ayuk did not meet up d standards 4 Miss World. Na wah o, dis Damiete girl is beautiful sha! Any1 dat says she's ugly shuld post a pic of him or herself. As far as I'm concerned, she's up 2 d Agbani Darego standards, dat's y dey chose her 2 represent us

why do i have a feeling the MBGN are not confident Issabel can represent Nigeria well.If she was good for the crown then she is as well good enough to represent us.August is still far off so she can make her self available by then.How does it sound MBGN world goes for Miss Universe and MBGN universe goes for Miss World mweetcheeew

Ammie said...

Abeg ma Murray abi wetin pass the mic o jaree! Personal reason my foot, yes we know it, she be agadi nwanyi, that is why she can't go for miss world. **next story pls**

In another story, the Damiete gal's beauty is refreshing abeg, am tired of seeing oldies like moi contesting for MBGN

Adebola said...

Linda its either u don't know the real reason or u r covering up for her. Bella Naija reported she LIED ABOUT HER AGE!!1 Babe u fall my hand o

Useless people......agbaya!!!! Personal reasons my ass

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Beauty Queen wahala Part 2..who do we believe Linda or Bella??

So na now dem know?

Nekky Cynthia said...

Linda dat is just a stupid reason they gave there. they shld come out straight nd say shes over age nd not for personal reasons. Miss world has an age limit and shes older than the miss world age requirement. dont forget dat on d mbgn crowning day they mistakenly put d crown on damiete's head(miss rivers)rather than cross river. Rivers is d right person to rep. nigeria. dats to show dem God has been watching dem. All the best Damiete make us proud.

souleymon sly said...

Quite different from what i read on Nairaland.com

Linda, dis ya gist doesnt correspond wit wot i read on bellanaija o! BN reports dt madam Forever21 lied abt her age n has therefore been dethroned. Abeg leave all dis official gist n give us the correct lowdown of wetin happen jor. Dont be falling my hand na Linda. How can BN be carrying aproko gist n u r here doing official statement

Linda!linda!linda,what can I do without coming to ur blog @ list 3times a day?back to the issue,u mean they just told u and u chop that kind lie,na wa 4 u sef,I knw u nt a mumu so why did u nt get the real story?love u all the same.muwah!!!

Fine girls don finish for Naija ni? wetin be all these ugly pepper wey dey enter beauty competitions these days.

No disrespect intended but don't see this Damiete crossing the first stage of the competition abeg must Nija go sef? Can't we dodge dat too on d grounds of personal reasons?

If the ayuk babe read this,its really depressing ,buttheymad the right choice.the one representing looks gorgeous

Hahahaha! It is well O. God aint sleeping. Even heaveans knew it was Dammy's crown. Not only personal reasons. Mtchew.

And another CALABAR GIRL

Una no dey see abi....we now hv separation of power abi division of power in Silver bird....Bt me like dat Issabella coz she knows d rule in naija...very soon she will be at d Govt house coz she plays her card well...in naija only...aku man says so near London...

Ziba! said...

*sneeze sneeze sneeze* Gosh I'm so allergic to Bullshit! This still doesn't tell us WHY. So after 25 years the Murray-Bruce clan doesn't see the need to hire a good PR expert to make believable excuses for them??? WHORE SHIT! And no beef here but we all know that the beautiful girls that got the form wld have been screened because they didn't know someone that cld influence their acceptance into the competition. Damiete is better than Ayuk but not the best. She'd have to have a very magnetic personality to catch anyone's attention at the Miss World esp after all our goofs! #justsaying

ha! thnk God my prayer finali worked......Damiete,im hapi ur goin. *PHEWWWWW* HABA! d difference is clear!

BlogEhimond said...

The good thing is, Nigeria will be represented! I believe the three winners of the pageant are good enough to represent the country, whether 1st or 2nd runner up. Wish them goodluck.

That "basket weave" on her head is a sure fire reason for disqualification from representing us or herself anywhere...haba wetin?

so dem looik this lady wey be for her 30ies and say she be in her 20ies nawa ohhh is it that the organisers did not have eyes or what. if she say she is in her 20ies then i am the black queen of england nonsense and she even looks ugly too asin....

This is from Bella Naija. . . . . i heard d gist b4 now tho'

It has been confirmed that the 2012 MBGN winner Isabella Ayuk will not be representing Nigeria at the Miss World 2012 competition because of a dispute over her declared age.

After her big win at the 25th anniversary edition of the prestigious Most Beautiful Girl in Nigeria pageant, the “serial beauty queen” had been accused of falsifying her age by many beauty pageant enthusiasts. According to reports, investigations by the Most Beautiful Girl in Nigeria organizers and the Miss World organization, revealed that she was indeed older than her declared age.

Isabella has been replaced by MBGN Universe 2012, Damiete Charles-Granville. According to Silverbird Group’s Vice President Guy Murray Bruce, Isabella will not participate in the Miss World 2012 competition due to “personal reasons”. But never mind, BN promises to update you with all the info as the story unfolds

I used to assume that Ben and Guy Bruce were intelligent men.
This press release is filled with stupidity and a lack of proper reasoning.

Those u saying where all the fine girls in nigeria why didn't u go and compete? nonsense, many of you here will still to fb to become her friend and you come here to critiize her, as for me the damiete girl is very beautiful and i pray for her to go far in the contest she kind of look like agbani, that isabella fine too but too matured compared to other girls she will meet at the pageant. those saying she lied about her age, who doesn't tell lies to cover up one or two things or to upgrade themselves or status? you come here to criticize her, am not supporting the fact that she lied about her age, but who are you to judge someone? some of you here get Ph.D in telling lies you do worst things who are you to judge somebody? its not fair just imagine if was your sister,cousin that was her and people come here criticizing her. i blame silver bird for all this damiete was the right winner but due to fact that corruption has eaten deeply into that organization they gave isabella knowing she was older than the age she claimed. look at leila lopes of angola a perfect beauty cos the judges in their country judged well crowned her miss angola, b4 she went for miss universe pageant and won. but in naija everything na ojoro,until they start doing things the right by judging well and giving the crown to be person deserves it, only then will they begin to get positive results, lastly as for you isabella serves you right honesty is the best policy me i don't judge people cos am not perfect and am not a saint.

SO U PEEPS DO NOT KN THAT AYUK IS PREGNANT, CHAI AND U ARE BUSY WRITING RUBBISH - KC

wind don blow asin we don see fow yansh i knew it there must have been sometin going on and here we are and go...

Have you seen those girls at Miss World competitions? No offence, but neither of this girls make the cut.

via blackberrybold 10 said...

Damitete tall kwa, u sure u watch mbgn so. Hhmm

@Anon 4.19pm,yes she I well spoken n very confident. I watched her at the pagent and I was really hoping she would win. Alas,it has happened!!
I clearly remember when Isabella was to be crowned by Sylvia Nduka. Sylvia almost crowned Damiete but when she realized her error she went to Isabella.
All I can say is,what is yours is yours. Your destiny is yours-no one can take it away from u....no matter how they try!!
Congrats Damiete!! Make us proud!!!!!

By the way,can someone help and tell me why people must falsify their age??? Why can't we be real???

Nkem said...

The Ayuk Lady resemble person mama, how she 4 represent us 4 'Miss World'? Mtcheeeewwwww!! She looked too old, I said it the very moment I saw her competing 4 d MBGN, so am not surprised @ d switch.... Good one Bruce, but we aint fooled..... Damiete please represent us wella... U have our vote jare.

Well since it has been Isabel's dream to walk on the Miss World stage even tho she sed she was sure she won't win(I'm very sure of this), I'm wondering wat the personal reasons are. Damiete even started getting calls from people before silverbird called to tell her dat she was to represent them in the Miss World pageant and dat her name was already online. Damiete wasn't and isn't even ready for July cos she planned for december(she's supposed to finish school dis year), dis is going to interfere wiv her education. When Nigerian pple wnt to cheat, the white pple wld catch us. Dis just shows the level of corruption in d country, Miss Isabel is 29 years old and trust me, d rumors of her relationship wiv d "top" pple r thru, she sed it herself. So Dami was the real winner. Thanks

deekay said...

Haha. That's so creepy!! Lol

deekay said...

She better be good in bed cos that face is something else.

deekay said...

Dem no see her age for her face when dem crown am?!

deekay said...

No matter how pretty or ugly u need connection. So pls spare us the sermon.

deekay said...

Wouldn't that be a better reason than the stuff they're saying??! Naija sha!! Me, wetin concern me? I wasn't even paying attention to d competitions.

samdora said...

Well,based on physical attributes for a miss world pageant, i think Damiete is far better. I wonder why she did not come top!!!

i regret going 4 dat paegent...............i felt like a fool after d paegnt....bt god will judge ben bruce nd his so called paegent organisers......let me tell u guys d truth if u wish to hear....i was one of the contestants....isabella was disqualified by d miss world organisation after d medical test nd check up carried out....dey found out she was above 30.....4get all dese crap silverbd is saying.....nothing is hidden under d sun