Nigerian football player slumps and dies during match | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 21 June 2012

Nigerian football player slumps and dies during match

Niyi Lawal (pictured above) died yesterday June 20th during a tournament in Odogbolu LGA of Ogun State. The late footballer, who was a player with Wonder Star Football Club, slumped during a match yesterday without having contact with anybody. He was rushed to the hospital where he was confirmed dead.

Lawal was 26. He had a wife and two children. May his soul rest in peace...amen.

27 comments:

Chinedu said...

so sad...

R I P lawal

MAXIMUS™ said...

#RIP
But 26?

*holding laff seriously*

Football age all the way to the grave

Lilspicer said...

Rip our govtment wont even honour him wat dey know is dem and der family is a pity wat a tragedy(omo-iwo)says so..via blackberrybold.5

Lewis Ikeji said...

OMG! R.I.P, broda.

Cardiac arrest. RIP

Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy.

This is sad!!!young man!RIP bro.
Princessifo

Ritamaly said...

This's had 2 be true. God have mercy

may his soul rest in perfect peace

Linda o, he didnt have to have contact with anybody before slumping na... that's funny, lol. May his soul rest in place, I wish his family the fortitude to bear the loss. Hmmmm..... I wonder how much of medical examinations our local athletes get before being allowed to play

May his soul rest in peace.I pray God will continue to provide for the family he left behind.

www.naijabreakingnews.blogspot.com

IAmhairs said...

may his soul rest in peace.....buh i believe something could have been done....if a well equiped ambulance with a qualified doctor and attendance were readily available.....i think hdmd would had a fat chance of survival.....the virus z just in every system of our nation....i just pray we dont give finally give up on dis politicians....GOD BLESS NIGERIA.GOD BLESS LINDA N GOD BLESS ME

Wot a pity! May his soul rest in peace.

may his soul rest in peace,amen.

MAXIMUS shey u knw ur nt well!

not jst 26 oh. 26 married with 2 children. RIP though

This Omo iwo s comment, no comma, no full stop... Olodo Lilspencer

IAmhairs said...

pls its twitter.com/iAmhairs ....kindly follow cuz we follow back

hmmmmmmm

An he calls himself a blogger. Mumu

My dear, 26 with 2 kids and ontop of dat him no b woman o. Hmmm
Rest in peace bro

Na so, dr itk

Allegra said...

Heart problems which apparently is more wide-spread than we previously thought. RIP and we pray for his young family.

ALLYBERRY said...

@ Maximus,must U̶̲̥̅̊ laff over everything?jeeeez a human being died Α̲̅πϑ its not funny ok .May his soul rest in peace.

9jadeltapikin... If na better country wia evry health facilities Ȋ̊§ in place the guy would v nt die check dat guy in chealsea was Bcos of quick medical attention n facilities that guy survive »W̶̲̥̅̊н̣̣̣̝̇̇̇@̤̥̣̈̊̇†̥̣̣̣̇̇̇ can Wƺ do than Τ̅☺ pray 4 d best 4 ds country. May lawal soul rest in perfect peace.

Niyi, is a brother to me, we grew up in the same neighbourhood. May his soul rest in perfect peace.
Tunde & Toye may Almighty Allah console u guys, this is a shocking new and I also find it difficult to believe untill i spoke to Tunde, hmmmmmmmm?

@maximus......ure a big fool and an uncouth idiot,aw can u find some1's death funny.....nd 4 ur info,he is 26,i no cuz bro niyi is 'was' my brother.......