Breaking news: Charles Taylor sentenced to 50 years in prison | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 30 May 2012

Breaking news: Charles Taylor sentenced to 50 years in prison

Liberia's former president Charles Taylor was this morning sentenced to 50 years in prison for war crimes at an international war crimes court, in The Hague.

Taylor was found guilty last month of 11 counts of aiding and abetting was crimes and crimes against humanity by supporting rebels between 1996 and 2002 in return for conflict diamonds. He was convicted of offenses including murder, rape, sexual slavery, recruiting child soldiers, enforced amputations and pillage.

40 comments:

Good news!

Serves him rite!

JUSTICE LEAGUE...

Atobatele said...

Justice and Nemesis

50 years imprisonment? Will he live that long?

When is Tony Blair and George Bush going to be jailed for 50 years, too, or is it only black people the ones only punished for war crimes. Blair and Bush still have not been prosecuted for their crimes against humanity. Equality means the law that applies to white people should apply to white people, too. I don't support what Taylor did but white racism against the black race was a factor in the harsh jail sentence.

wicked man hope the key is locked and thrown away for all the wickedness he did

BLOGBABY said...

Charles ur own done be o....it is finished no ni!!!

At last he is going to pay fr hs many sins.If only Nigerian leaders wld be tried fr corruption n sentenced accordingly bt I guess dat is just wishful thinking.

OBVIOUSLY, D PLAN IS FOR HIM TO DIE IN PRISON. SERVES HIM RIGHT

Opeyemie said...

"Bestest" news.....can't wait to read such headline on Bashar al-Assad. Murderers!!!

When is Tony Blair and George Bush going to be jailed for 50 years, too, or is it only black people the ones only punished for war crimes. Blair and Bush still have not been prosecuted for their crimes against humanity. Equality means the law that applies to white people should apply to white people, too. I don't support what Taylor did but white racism against the black race was a factor in the harsh jail sentence,and I did follow the case they had no prove aganist him,its just the west trying to prove a point to us afriacans,there more to this stoy then we the common people know...my heart goes out to his family.

Ogbu nma ga ala na nma! A word is enough for the wise!

I'm LIBERIAN, & I say this to the the Judge, only 50 years?! That idiot deserves worse than that...like his son Chuckie, he should have been sentenced to 90 years too!

Priscy said...

just as being sentenced to death, dont think he's gonna come out alive though.

50yrs... Can they even appeal in that kind of case? I mean world court hague o!
They love the dude in that liberia o!

That serves him rite!
There wuld be riot in Liberia

Aydot said...

Dear Linda, don't really understand if naijapal is your mirror site or vice versa. Maybe you have not checked it out yourself. Plagiarism is not acceptable besides it's a crime. plz do something.

Anon 11:54 u took d words ryt outta my mouth! Best comment so far!

You seriously think anyone can touch the Bush and Blair families? You have to be joking. They are too far up the ladder. They are the handlers and people like OBJ, Mubarak, Taylor etc are their puppets. When the puppets have outlived your usefulness, they just dump them. This is the same Taylor who was in a US jail, he escaped and he ended as President of Liberia? How did that happen? He was enabled by these Zionists (not Jewish) and OBJ their good puppet did him in.

He will serve his term at her majesty's service. He's lucky the jails in the UK are not bad.

Thanks Aydot, who is plagiarism it Linda or Naijapal, Linda speak....omolomo

Only 50 years???Smh! All the atrocities he committed and all the lives lost, just 50 years?

50yrs plus his real age = life imprisonment.May God have mercy upon him.
ME

pls we have some people in Nigeria who need to face such charges too, go get them!

when will the politicians who support boko haram be tried on international court

Amadi Cynthia said...

this is a slap in the wrist compared to the magnitude of pain he put people through.
He should have been sentenced to die by hanging.

sexiest said...

make dem kuku kill am(God forgive me o!)...can he last for 50years??

Oya this man will die in there. Well wat goes around comes around. God is good

peter said...

Good judgement. he may not even live to that 50 yrs. for all the evils he did, now is judgement time.

DEEFLAMEZ said...

ISSORAI...NOW OVER TO OUR NIGERIAN JYSTIC SYSTEMS. EMPTY BUNCH OF ARCHAIC WIG-WEARING DUMB-SKULLS...

I SUGGEST THEY DROP THAT WIG-WEARING AND BLACK ROBE ATTIRE THEY ALWAYS ADORN THEMSELVES WITH. I STILL DONT GET WHY A BLACK WILL BE SEEN WITH BLONDE WIG. EVEN THE BRITISH JUSTICE SYSTEM HAS DROPPED IT AND THE KENYAN COURTS HAVE BANNED IT TOO. THEY SHOULD STOP LOOKING LIKE FOOLS JOR...

BTW...I HOPE TAYLOR ROTS IN JAIL

*bites kolanut*

@willadebo

Throw the key away!!

When are they going to persecute IBB n Buhari for sponsoring boko haram?...make dem do fast abeg

Olumide said...

Now I can say justice is served. Congratulation to Liberians and Africa as a whole.

Hehehe) i leak my mouth from one end to tho other end, as i smile in 'Swahili' sukukuhahuyepiyapiya!#rot murasucker!

I wish he gets fucked in jail and he kills himself and all his kids deserve death,stupid wicked idiot,inshort Ya Fada's father stupid Nigga

Some. People are ignorant.. Chai

I pray IBB, and the corrupt leaders in Nigeria will be next. Nigeria is next.....

Justice MUST be served.

Not jst naijapals sef!dere's a popular grp on facebk dats guilty as hell of same!

Thats what happens when God is monitoring you hiss

Linda where's my comment? Stop slacking please!