ASUU plans to resist UNILAG's change of name | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 29 May 2012

ASUU plans to resist UNILAG's change of name

The chairman of the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU), University of Lagos branch, Dr Karo Ogbinaka, has said that the union will resist the recent change of the university's name.

Dr Ogbinaka said:
We are resisting it, all the unions and the students will resist it, the Alunmus will resist it. The truth about the whole thing is that it shows the level of intelligence of those people in government. Nobody will change Harvard's name, nobody will change Cambridge's name to Winston Churchill University. University of Lagos is a brand, for 50 years. The first university established by Act of Parliament and one man trying to score cheap political point. When people go outside and you ask them what university are you from? What name will you pronounce? They'll ask is it a new university? Is it the name of a toothpaste? It's a senseless thing and are going to resist it. Karo said

156 comments:

He has a point.

lol. Imagine an alumni trying ti get a Job on a prestigious company in New your
k. So you attend ... waiting for you to pronounce all the names

Lol @ toothpaste

Mtcheewww...resist how? They wanna strike? They shd go on na... Whu wl suffer it? OAU was changed frm uni of ife, is unilag more of a brand dan OAU??? Oh pls!!! Enuf of ds brouhaha...he likens unilag 2 havard, havard is already named afta a certain John Harvard so, dt argument dsnt hold water.

Yesss! Greatest Akokites!!!! GEJ is nothing but a pathetic failure. Revolution he want,revolution he'll get.

If he says it will stand, Asuu can't do anything, and besides lots of universities are answering names of Past Heroes. MAU of Lag. =))º°˚˚˚°ºнaĦaнaº°˚˚˚°º‎​=)). Looll my friends in Unilag sowi MAU are in for it.

Oh please, he should get over himself and get use to the new name. UNILAG IS NOW MAU. Stop encouraging students to continue in a pointless protest, there are other universities in Nigeria named after people. Go back to the classroom and teach your students Mr ASUU chairman.

Femi Ajayi said...

Every student and alumni of Unilag must resist cheap political game shrouded in the guise of honouring MKO.There are enough monuments named after MKO in the south west already and if you are saying you want to honour his memory as a national hero who fought for our democracy, while not name a monument after in in the FCT.

Olakunle said...

lmao,name of a toothpaste? UNILAG is a brand,it can not be derogated just like that,between abiola was also a thief like his former best friend IBB,who betrayed him because he refused to give IBB back the money IBB kept with his wife simbiat when she died.Abiola was a philanthropist but also a thief who messed with the wrong guy.

i trust you sir, i know what you can do.

Formerly an Akokite, now a Mauite said...

It is very necessary jare, i'm with ASUU on this one. Uncle jona wants to use our school to score cheap political points. May thunder faya his left yansh

Dr Necta said...

hmmm,he doesn't had a point,what does he mean?MKO Abiola is d architect behind democracy,and he is being celebrated.there re top schools that re named after individuals,will mention few of them;BERRY COLLEGE GOERGIA,NAMED AFTERMARTHA MCCHESNEY BERRY,BOB JONES UNI SOUTH CAROLINA,NAMED AFTERBOB JONES (SNR),CAMPBELL UNI NAMED AFTERJAMES CAMPBELL,CORNELL COLLEGE,NAMED AFTRWILLIAM WESLEY CORNEL,BUTLER UNI INDIANA,AFTEROVID BURTLER,this is jug few out oif thousands,my advice to unilag students is dat they shod go face the books cos the name of d uni doesn't matter,u bid nt make mountains out a mole hill

I support u Dr Ogbinaka. Am an Akokite and proud of it oooo. Linda post my comment ooo

Harvard and Cambridge are private universities. But the reasoning still applies. What next? Some president will decide to change the name of the country?
There should be due process in any democracy. University of Texas is a public university but neither the governor nor the president can wake up and change the name without input from the students, board, even alumni.

lol..tankGod it doesnt concern my skul....@all moshoodites,take heart.hehehehehe

LMAO heheheh.....is it a name of a toothpaste?? this dude funny die.

Mena UkodoisReady said...

Its been the broadcast on BB

Know thine friends! http://efemenaoreoluwa.blogspot.com/2012/05/lifes-choice-2.html

Yes ASSU should resist d change. MKO is worth more than dat. Gej should rada name d uni.in Otueke afta MKO. If na naming ceremony dey hungry am.Gej should concent8t on solving d problems of nija instead of changin a brand kwn as unilag.only God knws d fate of orda schs like uniben which he might change 2 anthony enahoro university or delta state uni.to james ibori university.jst tinking anyways.SlimIzzy say's so.

Linda, where did you 'copy' this news from? If na ya tori then I go salute you ooo. If na your own, I beg make you interview the man for more gbedu. Na roforofo fight for names... Hot battle don start!!!

please what is the big deal in changing unilags name.abiola deserves even more honour.lets stop being ignorant oh,havard,cambridge are all privately owned universities.unilag belongs to the federal government and so mr president has every right to change its name.if you dont like it go and .......

Anabel said...

plssss resist it. I'm not a unilag alumni. But i don't like d change. Plssss UNILAG is their brand name world wide

DdeeXclusv said...

Thumbs up Dr Karo, ur head dey deir.
Dr ogbinaka tooooooo badt. lol
No mind mr GEJ

Name of a toothpaste...for real?

Hot girl said...

its a must!
unilag must hold..wat is moshood abiola uni.

GEJ U DON KOLO BUT U NO KNOW.THERE IS A THIN LINE BETWEEN GENIUS AND INSANITY!!!!!!!!!!

DdeeXclusv said...

When ife was renamed after about 25 years, and people ask what school did they come from, wats their response? These is Unilag saying abiola does not deserve to be a name 2 be associated with the school! That's the implication! No wonder we say we don't have leaders who is ready to die for their country. How would they when we dishonor the memory of the ones that are gone.

Wow! D man dey vex oo! Bt seriously, dat name sucks. It sounds lyk it sud b the name of some 'okele' lyk dat.

azin...instead of our dear jonathan to go unto graver and more serious issues....the guy just continues to amaze niegrians...which one again is moshood abiola university...is that the name of a toothpaste?

'Is it d name of a toothpaste?' hehehehe! Naija o!

Lmao @ is it the name of a toothpaste!

Boston Berry said...

God bless the people of Nigeria. Fight collectively. GEJ shame on you. You illiterate! May you never smell a 2nd term Amen. Get out of office you fool. You want to take us back 50years. Nigeria is bigger than you.

Amadi Cynthia said...

Oh yes sir! We will definitely resist it. GEJ just gets it wrong all the time. Shame!

LPS said...

lol @ name of a toothpaste!hehehe...Just simply add...formerly known as UNILAG!!!

Linda, biko u must put mouth join for this thing o. That ugly name must not stand for our school o.

LOL @ toothpaste

"Is it the name of a toothpaste?" Hilarious sh*t!

asuu is not serious at all.its unilag name change that is worrying them abi.general fasahola is killing innocent tax payers in lagos hospitals because rather than pay the doctors decent wages he sacks them.its been over a month now we didnt hear asuu say anything about that.its now inconsequential rubbish like unilag name change that they are making noise about.we have no priorities in this country and we as a people do not value life.unilag rubbish.i graduated from unilag over 10years ago

Ghen! ghen! Dis sounds interestin. D fight begins.

Godwin said...

When hundreds of ibos were being killed in the north,Dr Ogbinaka or wareva, did not talk, thousands of Nigerians are being enslaved all over d world, ds man didn't say anything, Lagos doctors are on strike, ASUU unilag didn't protest, it is now d change of name of a school, d man is yelling.

Mr Doctor, Nobody outside d shores of ds country cares what we call our schools, it is our business, if we like call it Arabanko university, who cares?. The most important thing is the standard. Unilag is not among 1-1000 best universities in d world, so why d rant. what is ur definition of a brand?internationally, UNILAG is not a brand so let us hear word. MKO Abiola is a brand and even more popular than UNILAG worldwide, wherever reparation is mentioned all over the world, d name Abiola will not be forgotten coz he championed d cause. Mr Lecturer, go Sleep abeg....mtchew

The deed has already been done, reversing it will spell doom for this country coz some section of ds country will not be happy..so Mr Dr, d standard is wat u shuld worry urself about not d name change.

Is it a name they are going to read there or book? Ibere oshi

Dr. Okechukwu said...

Goodluck Jonathan must realize that we are no longer in a military dispensation where everything is decreed. This is a democracy and the people have the power. The surge in social awareness brought about by the social media makes it impossible to foist unpopular policies on the people. His priorities are warped. If he wants to immortalize MKO, he can put his image on the new N5,000 note. Stop playing politics of divide and rule. I am glad that even yoruba's see the idiocy of this action. They want to start naming everything after themselves. Maybe because nobody challenged him when he named an area after himself in Abuja. Soon you will hear David Mark University of Agriculture Makurdi.

More grease to their elbow. Valid points!

All of u should just shussssh, was university of Ife not a "brand" before it was changed to OAU and we are all used to it, same as University of Nigeria that is now Nnamdi Azikwe Uni..,.lf it was one classy name, u guys wouldn't have protested, they should protest for reasonable stuffs rather than a mere change of name, at least the runs and sugar daddy issues often associated with Unilag will be rubbed off. And pls don't ever compare yourselves to Havard or Cambridge as you are definitely not a top 20 in Africa

I knelt down to pray for Nigeria after fasting today. I said, God please save Nigeria, and I heard a loud NO WAY!!! I was shocked because I thought God was answering me in the negative. I opened my eyes and saw my little daughter giggling. I asked her what was funny, and she said" How can God save Nigeria when you people have changed your name?" I saw the wisdom in what she said, why wont Jonathan change names arbitrarily when we say we are "100% 9ja"!!! Oh Lord save your people I prayed!!!!

Did Uncle Jona consult anyone before making this name change? Na wa oo

Anyway, xxxo

For those of us that serve in kwara I think d name of our camp is even better dan dis moshood name......

So Linda apparently TMZ is reporting on tv tha Beyonce got her former band mate Michelle to baysit Blue Ivy while she was performing @ Revel. People are laughing @ Michelle that she was used as a househelp once again after no recognition when the band split up.

LMAO!!!!! Dr Ogbinaka has said it all, is it the name of a toothpaste!!! hahahahaha. Rename a building, rename a monument but common changing a brand just like that...

Prettyass said...

Thumbs up.....very annoying,I ave graduated but d name sucks...sorry,but d national stadium can be named after him.......university of LAgos is a BRAND......jonathan set ur priorities right......boko haram is there,electricity,bad roads...etc.........greatest akokites!!!!!!!... great..........

Prettyass said...

All u fools saying d change is good,I am very sure u didn't finish from unilag.....unilag is a brand,if u like say aristos or wateva are associated...duh,,,,,unilag is d creamiest school in Nigeria and its a brand......5o years isn't a joke......d stupid ones will say d change is ok........stupid bastards

Those saying the name is well deserved are fools. In the US, they have had tons of presidents and I have not heard of any that was renamed Abraham Lincoln University, George Washington University after all the good works and sacrifice by them. So please, start making sense and stop sounding like illiterates. If he wants to honor him, it is simple: Name a new state after him or something. This is total nonsense. GEJ, is such a fool like a complete ILLITERATE.

Eno said...

Can you imagine their Asuu chairman Karo Gjagajaga saying Abiolas name sounds like toothpaste. Useless fellow that looks like he has Aids. That why Unilag shurns out uncooked graduates. Goodness, we have serious issues. Your precious Unilag is more known for runz, yahooyahoo and exam malpratices. The institution is DEAD. Karo, go and work on getting Unilag to the top 1-1000 best universities in the world, other wise keep quite please.

Mr. President, carry on, nothing happen when University of Ife was change to Obafemi Awolowo University, why now people are making noise and disturbing my President

He is on point with that jor! lol @ is it a name of a tooth paste. This was soooo senseless...az in for what?! Y not build a new Uni and name it MKOU or something?

Hopey09 said...

Ur mindless comment has forced me to post a comment on dis blog for d very first tym,think before choosing to slander a national hero,u totless apologist masquerading as shadie!

LMAO@ is that the name of a toothpaste? lmao

@ anonymous 9.04pm, and they have left it as Harvard ever since because it is a brand.Unilag is a brand, MKO is not a brand, Coca Cola is brand, MKO is not a brand, Dangote sef na brand, MKO is not. Don't be a fool, when UBA was bought over why do you think they left the name as UBA, because there is something about a brand that is recognized the world over. I hope nobody ever entrusts you with running a biz or institution if you don't know the importance of a name. Incase I forgot to mention you are a fool, you are a fool!!!

Jonathan appears to be basking in d euphoria of "God put me there..., I had no shoes..." Maybe God should try to give Nigeria intellectuals like Lagarde, Milliband,.. instead of a Phd holder who cant complete a sentence. GEJ is a retarded clueless fellow who has no idea what to do about d real issues bothering the polity.

This is a serious lie abeg! U and ur fake stupid daugther should shut up.. Idoits

He shld hv turn MAPOLY 2 MAUSITY nw...instd of dis nonsense....mschwww

Str8FrmDaHips said...

PART 2..Saga continues..sure they planning to Rename UI..after OBJ..watch this space!!

MAULAG! Hmmmmm.....

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Akokites..now Moshoodites..see now all that forming..lol!!

Anon 10:24 PM, UNN and UNIZIK are two different institutions with one being in nsukka and the other being in awka. the name UNIZIk was given immediately enugu state was created as anambra state university became esut and there was need to create a new federal university in anambra. as for Ife being changed to OAU, that was in the military era not a democratic era. GEJ or is it JEG should go figure out his priorities as a leader. no light nor water and he is dabling into name change... shior... shows he went through scholl but school never went through him.

The problem with this whole name change is not about the name but the way this govt acts without considering the people.

I even thought Asuu knew about this. The president should know and learn how to consult the bodies which has been put in place first.

E.g Fashola has been wanting to barn okada but had to consult and after the results from the research which was publicly stated, he withdrew his plan. So you see what I mean! There was no need for a protest, he just did his homework

See another Unilag product!u can't even make a single line without usin dose abusive words.u nid 2 go back 2 go bak 2 sch biko..

There r stupid pipl wiv stupid comments here.pls its nt by force to mke a comment,if u dnt hve any thing reasonable 2 say pls shut the hell up.u pipl r shoutin bout university of ife.is dat a friggin skul?we r talkn of skuls ur sayn OAU.
N to d idiot dat said UNILAG produces "Uncooked Graduates",I rili dnt hve anyfn to say 2 u cos m vry sure u went to a polytechnic dats y u cnt speak proper english.pls wen nxt pipl wiv brains r talkin,kindly kip ur mouth shut.
N pls wats asuu's biz wiv boko haram n electricity problem.if u dnt knw d meaning of asuu go n find out b4 u open ur mouth to talk.
If u wanna vent go vent 4 ur foolish n brainless "mr no-shoe"president n leave d asuu chairman alone.

I neva knew so many universities were beefn our honourable UNILAG o! If u r still hating, u can gladly join MKO whr he is :p

saheed abeeola said...

naija full of drama, notin wrong in immortalisin our past heroes but must evrytin named afta past heroes, i no GEJ is just tryin 2 get sumtins 2 his name but all is goin wrong way nd nt rly bn appreciated by d publics. I tink we used 2 av Mashood Abiola Poly Abeokuta (MAPA). Wat else? Ok. Wat of other new federal universities recently aproved? Cant he name 1 of it afta him? Dis GEJ is loosin so many points by his actions. I dnt rly go wit dis 1. He jst demoralises d pride of d name UNILAG.

My thought!de should go back 2 class n study book not d name of sch.

Most of u dat said asuu chairman should face unilag problem, also tell GEJ to face other problem nigerians are facing. After a year in office he does not have anytin to show up so he decided create a new annoying topic so dat it will now b a cover up. Is it evrytin dey will name after MKO? I beg the name didn't sound well nd Y is it Unilag and not other FG sch, sumtin is behind this...

Alumnus said...

Sign and share the petition against the name change...
http://www.channelstv.com/home/2012/05/29/changing-of-unilags-name-is-illegal-prof-akinfeleye/

There is nothing wrong in changing the name to honor MKO, what u guys in unilag don't even know, is that GEJ has honored unilag by changing it to MAU.Abiola is a more respectable name than unilag. All that is left of unilag is prostitution,armed robbery, cultism, exam malpractices and all forms of vices. I'm sure MKO will be turning in annoyance in the grave why GEJ chose to dishonor him by associating his name with unilag. I expect u all to say thank u Mr president for this honour, instead u are comparing unilag to harvard, oxford and cambridge, ''A butterfly that thinks she is a bird''
Nkem

Jane said...

What stupid brand are you going on about please? That institution is finished. Are you guys not ashamed that your university is not among the first 1000 in the world? Went to the place the other day, and boy i was so dissappionted. All you guys engage is in cult, prostitution, cheating and internet fraud. Gej should make you guys wear uniform. Stupid children. You and your pin head Asuu chairman who is probably bedding some of you. Go and read please and make something of your life

Ermmm, all you haters beefing unilag coz you scored low marks in Jamb #tongue out. We gat class, swaggs, structures, lecturers etc. If you aint happy wif us, come kiss my ass. Lwkmd. I heard Moshood Abiola Polytechnic can now get direct entry form to MAU. Aint funny @all #weeps profusely........am occupying my office coz of Unilag 2mao. Let's all do same 2mao. Chao.....olumayo

Anonymous 11:43
See how you're representing your unilag with vile,insultive and crude comments saying OAU is not a school.Unilag is a brand.people are foolish.bla bla.u sound like an untrained jambite who is still worshipping school image cos if you have faced the world and been places,you will realise that 'name of university or even university attended' has nothing to do with success especially not a Nigerian university.its who you know?what skill you have acquired which I don't seem to see in you as you can't even spell properly and you're a student.its the sad reality.many of you are wasting your parents' money in the guise of being students.better to put people like you in the farm and improve our agricultural sector cos you insult like a tractor driver.......

Now on the issue,I think asuu's protest is irrelevant.Nigerians are always the first to resist change,yet they claim to be liberal.throw a referendum and nothing gets done.
Lazy students with thier lazy lecturers.if you want to protest about something,protest about the decadence in your system and not crap like this.UME was changed to UTME,but people still call it JAMB.what of NEPA and PHCN.so call it whatever you like,it's the class that matters and I don't know where you all are getting the idea that unilag is a classy school or even recognized outside Nigeria.hahahahhhahhhaaaaaaah.had to laugh

Anonymous 12:09.....why other schools,why not unilag?....
Cos the name doesn't sound right,it's wrong.How shallow can unilag students be #smh#

pls which planet did u fall from? Since when did they change UNN to UNIZIK? Abeg, no dey show ur stupidity for blogs.

@Mr Brand,take it easy.ua not heard by GEJ.dat is his decision nd it remains final,u beta go face ur studies nd stop fighting over names.nd if u can't,u can lyk 2 die!

Woman Of Virtue said...

As in! Nd dat has been a big deal 4 dem.

Woman Of Virtue said...

Mr ASUU president hen,....if I hear say u dey compare Unilag wif Havard.winsh yeye brand?(Well,dia is notin wrong in re-branding)mscheeeeeeeew

Pls u can fite 4 d undergraduates concerning future unemployment,dats wah we are concerned abt(our future is important) nd stop fighting on yeye tins...or mayb d unilag name will get dem work sha ooo.lmao.

truthstings :p said...

Hen if I hear?? OAU nd UI is d best interms of academics.MAU is jux a fashion school.wake up or u can lyk 2 die from dere.

what is all the fuss about the name change? would it have been a lot better if he had named it after Rashidi Yekini? lwkmd!

MKO is not a hero....stop this blaspheymy. he stole public funds the same way them IBB did...only thing is he used democracy to checkmate them so he can look like the good guy. are you guys that retarded?

That useless fellow was asking whether OAU is a sch!so u want to use unilag oh sorry maulag Lmao to compare OAU ode oshi mtchweeeeeeeeee

Allinthenameofpolitricks said...

@hopey09 ur stupid reply has made me post here for the first tym...national hero mai foot...how many tinz does he want to be named afta...he was and is still a thief like the others to me...just bcos dey rigged an election and he was the victim #nonsense

They said never abuse your leaders ,but GEJ is the worst president Nigeria ever had and I hate him very much!!

Moshood Abiola sprang to national and international prominence as a result of his philanthropic activities. The Congressional Black Caucus of the United States of America issued the following tribute to Moshood Abiola:[6]

Because of this man, there is both cause for hope and certainty that the agony and protests of those who suffer injustice shall give way to peace and human dignity. The children of the world shall know the great work of this extraordinary leadeand his fervenmission to right wrong, to do justice, and to serve mankind. The enemies which imperil the future of generations to come: poverty, ignorance, disease, hunger, and racism have each seen effects of the valiant work of Chief Abiola. Through him and others like him, never again will freedom rest in the domain of the few. We, the members of the Congressional Black Caucus salute him this day as a hero in the global pursuit to preserve the history and the legacy of the African diaspora.

From 1972 until his death Moshood Abiola had been conferred with 197 traditional titles by 68 different communities in Nigeria, in response to the fact that his financial assistance resulted in the construction of 63 secondary schools, 121 mosques and churches, 41 libraries, 21 water projects in 24 states of Nigeria, and was grand patron to 149 societies or associations in Nigeria. In this way Abiola reached out and won admiration across the multifarious ethnic and religious divides in Nigeria. In addition to his work in Nigeria, Moshood Abiola was a dedicated supporter of the Southern African Liberation movements from the 1970s and he sponsored the campaign to win reparations for slavery and colonialism in Africa and the diaspora. Chief Abiola, personally rallied every African head of state, and every head of state in the black diaspora to ensure that Africans would speak with one voice on the issues.

Moshood Abiola was twice voted international businessman of the year, and received numerous honorary doctorates from universities all over the world. In 1987 he was bestowed with the golden key to the city of Washington D.C., and he was bestowed with awards from the NAACP and the King center in the USA, as well as the International Committee on Education for Teaching in Paris, amongst many others. In Nigeria, the Oloye Abiola was made the Aare Ona Kakanfo of Yorubaland. It is the highest chieftancy title available to commoners amongst the Yoruba, and has only been conferred by the tribe 14 times in its history. This in effect rendered Abiola the ceremonial War Viceroy of all of his tribespeople. According to the folklore of the tribe as recounted by the Yoruba elders, the Aare Ona Kakanfo is expected to die a warrior in the defense of his nation in order to prove himself in the eyes of both the divine and the mortal as having been worthy of his title.

Culled from Wikipedia

Ayekooto A. said...

Well. University of Ife was changed to OAU and there was no negative consequence as far as I know. The name has no effect on the structure or standard. It is still the same school. What makes Havard what it is isn't the name. The school made the name and not vice versa.
If the government has a good reason to do it which I believe is the case, ASU shd forget sentiment and personal attachment and hold its peace. Most well-to-do Nigerians today wld rather send their children aboad or to private universities which shd be ASU's concerns. We know what public secondary schools in NGR have become.
UNILAG students shd not rubbish MKO's legacy all because they like the sound of UNILAG. As a graduate of OAU about 10 years back, I av no attachment to d former name but my dad does. If I attended the school during his time, maybe I wld too but to both of us, its d same school. Worse still, we av both lost of our confidence in the standard of education there now. If I av d means, I will send not send my ward to any public university.
So pple should cool down, future graduates of d school wld av no attachment to d old name - only in d quality it is associated with.
And for a generation of Nigerians who are so at ease abusing their elders or anyone for that matter; who cannot share their opinion without pouring all d bad words, I shed tears.
Linda, its high time u sensor some words on ur blog or it will negatively affect u in no time...

I really don't get this.Did this Jonathan consult anybody before he made this announcement.We understand that Bashorun MKO Abiola paid the ultimate price for democracy in Nigeria,But what of all those people who also lost their lives protesting his death? If Nigerian government want to name anythig after MKO,they should build it from the scrath,I think he deserves it,not to comandeer a national monument like UNILAG and change its name with a militry fiat.Go do something about Kidnapping and Boko Haram,we will appericate it more.

No light, no jobs, no water, Boko haram is bombing innocent people we have not addressed all these. He is renaming unilag, for what? Se eleyi lokan? May God deliver us from all these OLODO in government. MAU ko Malu ni.

With all due respect,u r d biggest FOOL on planet earth! ASUU should fight 4 doctors? U sure say u go schl? ASUU is representing UNIS not DOCTORS...idiot!!!

If abiola is a thief den u r a fool!!!!

abeg make una help me beg Jona make him remember on boko haram's anniversary to change University of Maiduguri to BHU-Boko Haram University.students of unimaid wld be highly honoured.tnks

I support u o jare!!! Wats wid d name? Dis guys are just making noise. Instead of concentrating on improving ur academic standards kmt

Pls tell us wot uni u went to? Is it in the top 1000? Ode! @ least when u go out for masters it is well recognised. Shldnt u tell gej to focus on making it a top 1000 uni instead of changing names? Ode!

Spot on with your reply! Don't mind that foolish illiterate. Daft. Its like waking up to change UCL(University College London)or Princeton. Are you quite mad???

UNILAG pple 2 like shakara....U̶̲̥̅̊ guys shuld get used 2 d name n stp disturbin oda pple.....zt cos of d name U̶̲̥̅̊ r goin 2 skul or 2 get an education....

After 10years you still reason this way????? What has ASUU got to do with hospitals??? How many of you mornons writing rubbish know the meaning of ASUU and its responsibilities??? Hisss

Daniel Akobi said...

I don't envy GEJ atall, I thought he ll score some political points by immortalising MKO Abiola but I was shocked by the outburst from Nigerians. Have we forgoten MKO so soon?

Help me ask oh.unn and nnamdi azikiwe uni are two different schls.

Misplaced priority.... Mschwww

I have concluded from several of the comments here, that the bad belle harboured by other Nigerian university students for Unilag since I was there 25yrs ago, is still very much alive.

All these people comparing OAU's change of name with that of Unilag; Obafemi Awolowo was involved in the founding of the school. Please kindly tell me how Abiola has anything to do with Unilag. Jonathan just wakes up one day and decides to change a name that has been in existence for 50yrs. Of all the problems Nigeria has, he thinks this is the next thing to do. Abeg who are his advisers sef?

sakara said...

this man is so on point and we have signed petition online pls if u r an alumnus of UNILAg, present students, stakeholders pls sign this petition, this man cannot be taking us for a ride all d time, if he does not have balls to steer d country right, we shd v balls to tell him to sit down and choke on his cassava bread, i mean what d heck??? u dont just wake up one night to change a monument, who dd he consult wt, were d stakeholders, students consulted before d change? d man is high on senpe - simple

http://www.gopetition.com/petitions/referendum-against-unilag-change.html

LMAO. I def agree. Def

Nekky said...

Anom 10:14. please get ur facts right b4 u mouth off what u don't know. ASUU means Academic Staff Union of Universities and it has absolutely nothing to do wiv Fashola and doctors. @ anon 10:24, university of Nigeria is still there in Nsukka while Nnamdi Azikiwe Uni is in Awka,i wonder if u were d one that changed d name. please get ur facts right and stop exhibiting ur ignorance. now to d issue @ hand, i didn't go to Unilag buh i'm wiv them on this. how can a clueless man who calls himself a president wake up and change the name of a school like Unilag? apparently he didn't even consult the authorities b4 he announced it. i guess he had a brain seizure and he decided to be spontaneous hence the announcement. pls ppl lets resist GEJ and his confused ways.

personally I think Mr president should channel the resources he wants 2 use in rebranding into other more important things cos thinking about it, i can only imagine how much it'll cost 2 change something as little as a name.

Make we hear word, Ogun state polytechnis is already named after Abiola, so why Unilag again it doesnt make sense namin universities after ple who are gone and resting in peace. DEre are lots of problems at hand jonathan shld face and not Abiola issue which is less of priorities in Nigeria rite now. I am not a unilag student neither did i finish from dre or any close family of mine, bt d fact is no more Moshood wateva, dy shld go and name UNAB MAU, dis is Lagos and nt a village.

Dude this comment of yours is too on-point! Too bad jare! Take a thumbs up!

Nigerian president needs a job. he is not busy enough.

Ejiro said...

If y'alll don't know what to comment here its beta to just STFU. Firstly no member of e university was contacted b4 d eventual change of name and again MKO Abiola already has a polytecnic named afta him abi is he d only dead hero in Nigeia? Also Mko was knwn 4 his contribution to d sports sector not Education so y shud a brand name such as Unilag be changed overnight and in dat case y didn't he change UniAbuja to dat stupid name? Rubbish OBINAKA we Akokites are strongly behind u. Next time a president said he had no shoes, we shud buy him plenty pairs of shoes n let him move on Rubbish (Linda pls post my comment)

Cambridge is public.

I think he has been sufficiently honoured. No one can forget June 12. However, I think this one is a step too far.

Aibeekay said...

Dis is beyond d change of d name. On a day dat is suposedly the democracy day, our dear president made a decision dat is 100% autocratic. U dnt wake up nd dcide 2 change a name dat's 50yrs old just bcoz. Besides, moshood abiola alrdy has diff thnz named afta him, wat did he do 2 make him beta dan d oda people who honestly fought 4 nigeria's freedm n democracy? If unilag isn't a brand, i wonda what is, coz u cnt mentn unilag and av any1 ask 'where or what is dat'. If GEJ reali cared abt mko, he shd av turnd mapoly in2 a uni. Y wud one man av 2 institutns namd afta hm? Or is thre obafemi awo poly 2? Get real guys, nd stop hatin. Am a proud akokite, nd on behalf of al of us, i say, UNILAG suits us jst fine!

We can not compare Awolowo with Abiola. Awolowo did a lot for Yoruba land. A lot of solid structures, schools in the SW were built during the Awo era. Abiola fought for his mandate no doubt. They have honoured him with a Polytechnic already.
When you serve a nation, you do so because of your conviction not because you are expecting a medal for it. Our true reward is in heaven.

Oh pls! Just shut up ur mouth if u hv nothing to say. How can u compare Unilag with OAU or U.I? U need to go bk to primary n learn social studies well.

hellokitty said...

Too many IFE haters on Linda's blog. u guys should rest abeg. Like it or not UNILAG is a brand name and it will not be changed. renaming Ife OAU was the best thing that happened tyo d skool, at least they named it after a son of the soil. How did MKO enter the matter now, 13 yrs after. please make una park well, beef dogs.

We don't even want his name on 5,000 note sef. Ken Saro Wiwa is better on that note or someone more deserving. Afterall Abiola ate with the devil now? They just betrayed him at the last minute. Much as I supported Abiola then, he was not without blemish. I am Yoruba but I don't think he deserves it.

Abi oh. The name is not 'posh' period. It is a mouthful as well. If we are talking about a not too well known uni, no problem but Unilag? Haba, e no try at all.
You see this our president thinks he's smart. However his intelligence is stupid at best.

Yikpata. That terrible camp?!

Exactly, who cares if the national stadium is called Moshood Abiola, that's fine.

When he was busy campaigning about being shoe less I told ppl dt ds guy na fraud playing on ppl's emotions. Abeg next time somebody says he is shoe less, take him shoe shopping, don't make him a president.

Nigerians cn criticize wella, Unilag is a brand, besides the school just turned 50. U can't just wake up and change the name. There are schools under 20 years that don't hv a strong brand. U cnt jes wake up and make a decision without consultation and call it democracy. For all of u that say the president can change watever he likes, why were u angry when u woke up to a new fuel price? Didn't u feel cheated and irrelevant? Well that how the Unilag community feels. A president is a leader, a leader and a listener too. So he ought to start acting like one.

Nigerian Jobs said...

Sad thing is,GEJ is still going to have his way.Its a pathetic country we live in.

Mr ASUU chairman, you are very stupid. We have had name change in the past and heaven did not fall. How does this name change affect you or the standard and prestige of the institution. Idle man stop inciting students to go on protest that could take their lives.

Why the fights about the change of university names? If the federal government decides to change the name of one of its OWN universities from UNILAG to UNIVERSITY OF BROOMSTICK or whatever. It has the right to do it. Afterall there are still grduates flooding street without jobs from the old unilag and the change of name will not change that. This country has a bigger fish to fry. Someone should tell the prof to go back to the classroom. They keep lying to students that they are the leders of tommorrow and yet the same leaders rule over and over. Na who employ d prof sef! No be government? U fit fight ur oga?

@ anon 11.43 u r soooooooooooo on point. Been laffing @ ur comment hahaha

Jonathan no try at all ooo.O ti ja RANK awon omo UNILAG,sorry, MAULAG!no more swags

Ur comment mak sense die

AbujaKenneth said...

When sometimes in late 1980s, the then Minister of Education, Prof Jubril Aminu wanted to change University of Nigeria to Nnamdi Azikiwe University of Nigeria, people resisted this and even though we were under military rule, the then government retracted. If GEJ wants to honour MKO with University name, he can name any of or all the six recently created universities after him.

DEEFLAMEZ said...

THAT'S WHAT YOU GET WHEN YOU USHER A DUNCE INTO ASO ROCK. GEJ IS UNDOUBTEDLY THE DUMBEST HUMAN THAT EVER LIVED, HE SHOULDN'T BE BURIED WHEN HE DIES, HE NEEDS TO BE PRESERVED AND PLACED IN A MUSEUM FOR GENERATIONS TO SEE THE GREATEST MISTAKE EVER MADE IN CHOOSING A LEADER

@willadebo

Abayomisho said...

Linda, i think this honoring is coming at the right time. bad timing so to say. why cant GEJ face things dat are important to us,things like; Electricity supply,water supply,stop Boko Haram manance,create jobs n a bunch of other stuffs!!! these are things he promised us,why is he doing this now to us,why?!!! the students are already frustrated already. why he's he addin injury to salt!!! fire bon bad politicians...!!!

Calm down children!!!!!!

Anybody that support this so called president just ve to rethink, i support Assu jor

FortySeven said...

I think people are missing the point here. I for one am less concerned with whatever name the school bears than I am with the procedure by which the name was changed. The question is, is it within the powers of the president to UNILATERALLY effect the change of name of a federal university? I think not! I think there is a reason all schools, federal and otherwise have a governing body. I think there is a reason why each of these schools has autonomy. And I think that one man's unilateral decision to effect a change of any nature denigrates this authority. I stand to be corrected but I am unaware that the stakeholders were carried along or else there would not have been such an uproar from students AND staff alike. In my opinion this action smacks of dictatorship and should be resisted to the last!

OGE said...

if GEJ wants to remember MKO there are other ways to do dat, he can start building projects dat can save lives of Nigerians, dat can improve the country's economy and name those projects after MKO not renaming a prestigious well-known institution. was he dat jobless to do such a thing on democratic day? why does GEJ ve this 'thing' of spoiling public holidays.....first it was jan 1st..subsidy... who knows wat he will say on oct 1st?

OGE said...

if GEJ wants to remember MKO there are other ways to do dat, he can start building projects dat can save lives of Nigerians, dat can improve the country's economy and name those projects after MKO not renaming a prestigious well-known institution. was he dat jobless to do such a thing on democratic day? why does GEJ ve this 'thing' of spoiling public holidays.....first it was jan 1st..subsidy... who knows wat he will say on oct 1st?

OGE said...

GEJ.... i hope u drink poison today so dat on OCT 1st we rename UNIABUJA to GOODLUCK EBELECHUKU JONATHAN UNIVERSITY......... IDIOT

Tony Atambi said...

“Lagos University was established by the Act of National Assembly known as University of Lagos Act. Section one of that Act clearly spelt out that there shall be a University known as University of Lagos. “If you want to change the name of that University, you have to come by way of amendment to the Act. So there is no President that can change the name except it is changed by the National Assembly. The President’s declaration is illegal and I will instruct my lawyers to file a suit on that today... Minority Leader, House of Reps..

Truly Nigeria deserves her type of leaders!
See students of school wey no even dey first 100 for Africa dey protest say govt change the school name...to that of MKO Abiola!!!
Who sabi d school outside Nigeria...see all these loki o...UNILAG Nigeria Ltd!
If u guys are not grateful for what MKO lived & died for...then we should be ready for more OBJs, IBBs & Abachas!

You don't change the name of a university after 50 years. At that age, the name is already an asset.

Mama Jumi said...

Lost generation who strive in rumour mongering. What a shame. And for you lazy ass students who do not know about Abiola's contribution to education, please google. Personally i pray Jonathan gives you back your name Owon omo aba ni loruko je. You are all ungrateful idiots. I am waiting for my nephew to come home. His leaving that hopeless school as soon as possible.

Wasted generation

Mama Jumi said...

Lost generation who strive in rumour mongering. What a shame. And for you lazy ass students who do not know about Abiola's contribution to education, please google. Personally i pray Jonathan gives you back your name Owon omo aba ni loruko je. You are all ungrateful idiots. I am waiting for my nephew to come home. His leaving that hopeless school as soon as possible.

ugomma said...

GEJ is d biggest fool,ever to have stepped into Aso rock.Can u imagine...........moshood abiola sheit uni?God punish u GEJ.May patience never bear any child 4 u.idiot...........and while we are at this,dont even try to change UNN o,cos dat name alone is the only good thing i have to show here in the US after 4 years with a certificate that is not accepted and recognized outside naija.Instead of thinking out ways to better the educational system,u dey change name.STUPID BAYELSIAN.mtcheeeeeeeeeeeeew

Lmfaoooooooo fucktards..acpt ur name ooo

Darling there is a George Washington University (GWU) in DC. Lol

ayeekot is an ODE said...

Ayekoto u r so so daft! That's why u r not a UNILAG graduate. Linda shld censor ur comments! How many schools shld be named after Abiola?
The last time I checked there is a University Act. Jona shld read it and do the right thing.
Ode.

Hahahahahahahah, that's soo true. You can say that again

I still can't understand why †ђξ president thinks its okay to name 2 higher institutions(MAPOLY and MAUSITY lagos) in †ђξ same country after one person.isn't that too much recognition Ƒσя one person? Even if he most rename something, he should have looked else where and not another higher institution as one already bears †ђξ name.

So changing Unilag to Moshood Abiola university is now a sin abi ? Bunch of idiots protesting. Where were you all when we were protesting? If you don't like da name why don't you guys transfer to Bayero university in Kano and see if Boko Haram will nt deal with you all. Why nna papa or mama self no work hard make dem name Esa oke polytechnic or Ijebutedo primary school or a town like Postiskum after dem. Hypocrites

Unilag is the university of first choice and it burns all you haters. Every year, 90% of jambites prove that fact. Unfortunately, many are called but few are chosen. The few that weren't chosen are the ones that have crap to say about unilag. But I understand; I wanted Mass communications but was given English, and there isn't a thing I wouldn't have to say about Mass Communications to water them. Its a human thing. But unilag is unilag and there aint a thing u can do about that prestige.

Ayotunde kenneth said...

The only university in Nigerian constitution that can never be changed from her name is University of Nigeria Nsukka(UNN).........But for the fact that GEJ renamed a school with such a brand was too harsh, dere were 7 new federal university created early last year like a university in Oye-Ekiti,he shuld av named the university after dis so called National hero dά̲̣̥†̥ d☺̣̣̥̇ŋ't even know what he contributed to the development of this country... GEJ has lost focus honestly. Make e no sha come do am for premier university o bcos w PGD students go break Nigeria

Ayotunde kenneth said...

Its in constitution dat University of Nigeria Nsukka(UNN) must not be changed. So what u said was wrong. Nobody opposed him, d constitution does