Update on #SaveMayowa saga! Family members detained...as they release statement insisting its no scam | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday, 28 July 2016

Update on #SaveMayowa saga! Family members detained...as they release statement insisting its no scam

So a few hours ago, LIB reported that people involved in raising money for cancer patient, Mayowa Ahmed, reached out to us to say that they discovered that the whole fundraising for the sick lady was a scam. I've been in touch with quite a few people, and they insist the family knew Mayowa was beyond help but still went ahead to raise money for her. Mayowa's family have released a statement insisting it's no scam and that they are truly taking her abroad for medical treatment. (Now, it's supposedly tomorrow).

In their new statement this afternoon, they said they are taking her to a hospital in Abu Dhabi but when they started raising money for her, they said they wanted to take her to Emory hospital, Atlanta, who had given them a quote of $100k. You will find the letter from Emory Hospital after the cut. (Above are photos of Toyin Aimakhu crying at the station)

Mayowa's family did indeed contact Emory Hospital, Atlanta to make inquiries and they were told that they would make an initial deposit of $100k after which it would cost them between $3,000-$30,000 per session, and a patient requires between 10-50 treatments.

Below is what they put out initially said, treatment at Emory Hospital in New York.

But as of today, there's no letter from Emory Hospital inviting her over. Mayowa does not have a US Visa and the cancer has even spread to her liver.

Some of Mayowa's family members are being detained at Area D in Mushin while they investigate the allegations. The person I feel most sorry for in all this is Mayowa herself. She doesn't deserve all this on top of fighting for her life. Sad!

This is a statement from the family...

Videos at the station

A video posted by Lifestakers🇳🇬🇳🇬 (@lifestakefoundation) on

183 comments:

So who do we belive now. Am just confused.

Really... we are watching sha

**********************************ayam officially tired of dix whole gist abeg **********ayam off !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

NAWA O! SO WHICH ONE ARE WE TO BELIEVE NOW EEH?

They should pls investigate carefully,it cld be that they really want to try their lucks with another hospital. It's hard to let go of a loved one,even when you know there may not be chances of the survival,you'll still want to be hopeful. I pray the authority to be empathetic in this case...

Dont these people people who say the girl life is already gone believe in God?

same cousin that told a friend she travelled yesterday is saying today, she's going tomorrow and the US and DUBIA thing. scam!!!!

They should pls investigate carefully,it cld be that they really want to try their lucks with another hospital. It's hard to let go of a loved one,even when you know there may not be chances of survival,you still want to be hopeful. I pray the authority to be empathetic in this case...

baba said...

Godtakeover

Linda, I do not understand you anymore. DO YOU JUST POST ANYTHING THAT COMES INTO YOUR INBOX WITHOUT VERIFYING FIRST?
You are bigger than this, so don't pull yourself down

Abeysolar said...

How can it be scam ppl don start again ooo

But I don't understand what the scam here is? It clearly says on her go find me page that she has stage 4 cancer. And let's be honest which one of you would sit down and watch ur loved one die because the hospital has said this is the end. Particularly after she went through so many wrong diagnosis before she was eventually diagnosed with cancer. If it were you and you had the shot of taking her abroad for better medical care wouldn't you? Would you just sit and fold your arms and say oh the hospital says it's too late let us wait for her to die. Haba. And Ms. Ikeji we all know you've been to America before as you have clearly documented ur trips on ur blog so I want to believe that you know that the cheapest tickets to America are usually for flights that pass through the UAE. So the fact that they are going to Abu Dhabi tomorrow does not mean that's their final destination. Yes. Maybe medically Mayowa is too far gone to be saved. But the fact that her family made one last attempt to save her life should seen as a testament of their love for her and not a scam.

I don't care about the fucking story AGAIN.WHY WON'T THEY INSIST when THEY HAVE SUCCEEDED IN deFRAUDING NIGERIAns BY USING TOYIN AND THEIR MACHINERY.
I NEED MY MONEY BACK OOOOO THAT'S ALL AFTERALL THEY ARE MUSLIMS,TOYIN BRING MY MONEY OOOOOOOO WHAT IS DIFFERENT BETWEEN THEM AND TERRORIST BUHARI GOVERNMENT?

I still don't really understand this.. apparently,she is beyond help,but they still went ahead to asl for cash without telling the public this info,so technically, they lied and "scammed" Nigerians..on the other hand,they were simply hopeful and wanted to try even if she might not make it..so,its a two way thing. Depends on how u look at it

I don't care about the their fucking SCAM story AGAIN.WHY WON'T THEY INSIST when THEY HAVE SUCCEEDED IN deFRAUDING NIGERIAns BY USING TOYIN AND THEIR MACHINERY.
I NEED MY MONEY BACK OOOOO THAT'S ALL AFTERALL THEY ARE MUSLIMS,TOYIN BRING MY MONEY OOOOOOOO WHAT IS DIFFERENT BETWEEN THEM AND TERRORIST BUHARI GOVERNMENT?

People should Leave Everything in the Hands of God, but What I Really Find irksome is why that Yoruba bitch is crying... does Everything Looks like a Movie to her? Family members that were suppose to be crying are not, why always her???? Nawaoh

OMIDAN ABBY said...

Until Thomas saw and touched the nail mark on Jesus palm till he truly believed it was him..
We still got a lot of doubting Thomas in d world today..
Smh!
Are those evidence not enough? Y would everything be scam?
Think! People think! And stop compounding the family's problem..

Just a mess. So sad.

fofo said...

Hi Linda, my advice to you is that you should always do your own facts finding before publishing, it does your blog no good carrying news that is untrue, Toyin is the drama queen here who because she was denied access to mayowa today made a scene at the hospital.
This sort of incident can affect Mayowa negatively and make her health worsen... please let's be careful what we say, so even if the doctors say her case is useless should they fold their hands and watch he continue to rot away?
Let's be compassionate in our utterances before we spill them out.
I do hope u post my comment, stay blessed.

Goldstar said...

I don't just get it
Are people so low in faith these days?
Spending all these money to heal her.. Like when someone called God can just heal with one decree

Nigerians really need to thread with caution in this matter. The family was just looking for a way to help her. Before we all point fingers, we definitely will go an extra mile to help a loved one.and Linda stop with the she doesn't have a visa and shit, they could still get a visa for her. But if it was truly a scam then I don't know what this world has turned into

Na wao
Signed
LibBadBoy

Why are we like this in this Country for Christs sake ?

Nosy Gist Admin said...

na wah oh

Nosy Gist Admin said...

na wah oh.

And what have you gained by bringing pain to this family. They are already grieving over their sick child. Linda please grow up! Stupid girl. Mtchew!

heya they shd just pity them

#everylifematters :
Guess it is a crime now not giving up on ones family. For as long as there is breath then every life matters.

chenygirl said...

na so so u tek cry ur guy brush u com run.abeg save ur tears till we find out the current truth abeg.

OMIDAN ABBY said...

LIB tho...dont know what to say again sef

I can't stand you Linda. you are so unprofessional. The family just wanted to be optimistic against all odds.

Nawao! But even if this is a scam, it shouldn't have come here at least for other people that will genuily needs help like this. #myopinion#

The other woman in marriage said...

Communion is the blood of Jesus and His flesh. Let her take Communion at any Living Faith Church. This sounds so simple and ridiculous but that is the solution. No sickness can stand the blood of Jesus transfused into your system. Moreso, let her feet be washed. Feet washing is a practice Jesus thought us and we are doing it in Living Faith Church. They have nothing to loose. Give it a try

The cancer has metastasized, and she's possibly terminal (deep sigh!!). The family wants to save her by all means (who wouldn't). They believe going to a country with better facilities will improve the chances of her living, but hey I don't see a good prognosis no matter the best hospital they take her to. Only Jesus can heal her. I've lost a good friend to cancer too and it's just so sad.

The Gofund me says Atlanta,Linda where did you get Newyork from,u all are the reason for all this

Oh LINDA PLEASE SHUT UP! NOW YOU FEEL SORRY FOR HER BUT YOU DID NOT FEEL SORRY WHEN YOU HAPPILY BROKE THE NEWS.. YOU HAVE KILLED HER ALREADY.. YOU AND TOYIN.. IDIOTS

Now this is confusing. But may God help the sick girl.

Hmmmmmmmm na wa ooo

Lady P said...

I just want to say, I am a foreign trained doctor and I am truly disappointed at the ignorance thats being shown in this case. Lets give the family the benefit of the doubt here: Please, when you contact a hospital, they tell you you need atleast 100,000$ for treatment before they will admit you, and you dont have half of that. Will you go and apply for visa or start campaigning first?
Next, do you know that cancer palliative care is so advanced abroad, that terminally ill cancer patients live up to 5 years with proper care. If this was your sister, wife, or daughter would you stop?
I am so ashamed at the Nigerians that are so quick to turn this situation into something ugly. I do not know if the family really used this as a scam... But from the letter sent by the hospital...it clearly verifies the money raised. 100,000$ as stated and the extra alleged 30 million naira is for the subsequent treatments.

Honestly, you claim to feel bad for Mayowa, yet your so quick to share a wholly ignorant view on the family reason for raising funds. Complete disappointment.

We can't say tho...... am not ready to judge anybody all I care about is mayowa getting better and I hope she isn't beyond treatment....

Oluseyi said...

You need help Linda!

How is it a scam?

where is the Doctor's report stating she will soon die?

Is it a crime to seek better medical help outside the country?

You need Jesus!

Please don't be quick to post news for traffic. Abu Dhabi or America, the fact is she is going to be receiving treatment after all. Stop cashing in on people's misfortune.

Hun ............... easy does it.3D

Hmmmmmmm what will I say again...I wish them well

I suggest that the account be sealed off until investigation is completed, if they believe she will survive and fly her out her family should not be in charge of that account. Let an agency or the bank be in charge of disbursing the funds direct to the hospital Abroad. I don't trust that family at all. If she doesn't survive her family must not be allowed to touch a kobo from the money. How dare they fool Nigerians!!

People! Please remember that Toyin is a professional actress.We leave the rest to God n Police

chyyy said...

We need an effective investigation about this matter

Bloggers are 1 of d reasons nigeria is not moving forward...

Musingsofjudgejudyjudy..... said...

Whether it is a scam or not, leave them to seek treatment for this girl! All this probing is unnecessary, kind Nigerians already did their bit for charity! It's a shame that some evil hearted people couldn't stomach the fact that the family succeeded in raising such a huge sum of money hence this rubbish! Putting her family in detention whilst the girl is fighting for her life, Kai. Nigerians will not cease to amaze me. Mayowa, your life is in God's hands, look to him for healing because at this rate, he's your only hope.

Very sad.

Lady P said...

Truly disappointed at the level of ignorance being shown in this case.
Firstly, just because she is a stage 4 and terminally ill patient doesn't mean there is nothing to be done. Do you know that stage 4 patients live for up to 5 years, when they are properly treated and afforded the necessary palliative care options. These options are lacking in Nigeria. Any doctor will admit that. I am admitting that.
If she was your sis, daughter or faily, and a hospital told you that you need 100,000$ for treatments, would you first go apply for her visa? (When you don't have the money) Or would you bein campaigning for funds... Lets think people. Dont you need money before visa> They will not even release the visa until you prove you have the funds.
According to what is written above the money requested fits the bill. The extra alleged 30 million would probably be used for subsequent treatments.

I can go on and on. But ill stop and say this. Stop hiding behind the guise of i feel for Mayowa but im trying to expose a scam. The only scam is pretending you care. We Nigerians came together in solidarity to give a terminally ill, severely misdiagnosed Nigerian, a chance for better health, and a chance to fight for her life. Do not allow hawks and nay sayers take that away from you.
\\\\\

empress ojukwu said...

God help us Thanks Auntie Linda we love you

Bimbo said...

This Toyin sef, her own too much. Make she calm down

ASHANKA said...

DEM DON GIVE HER MESSAGE BEFORE OOO, SEE WAHALA WEY YOU PUT YOURSELF

gaga said...

I said it was not a scam. A mother will never give up on her child. Give her her healthy daughter and see if she will touch the money.

What is she crying for? Madam attend to this issue properly.

the letter is a scam. white people dont construct english that way. thats nigerian english

Oh my goodness why all this now pls leave d poor family alone she's sick and dosnt need all dis drama now Nigerians have given for a cause let it be verification shld have been d first thing to do before asking people to help, why d arrest upon d state of mind in d family pls let dem be Toyin and aramide kisumu of lifestakefoundation shld stop dis stupid drama. SMH

lovina said...

Why is Mayowa,s family telling lies they never mentioned dubia it was atlanta they talked about and if is dubia it won't be that expensive why is it now that they are busted they are talking about dubia why I feel for Toyin, Toyin God almighty knows your heart he will uplift u no matter what

Of course they will always denie! They can never fool everybody at the same time God is watching!

Long Live Lib!!!!

So who are we to believe now?

This is why I haven't read this blog in ages. Cuz you are a bitch!!! So they changed the hospital, so? Why would u give up on your child? You wouldn't know cuz u don't have one!

Well said. Any person who thrives off bad news is an evil person. Such a person should take care...enuff said.

God bless u

Genny's Blog said...

Hehehehe! I reserve my comments for now.

Linda u ar simply the best..thanks for dis update but her family is a disgrace

As human beings, you would try till the very end to save a loved one. The truth is that unless a miracle happens, the doctors at Emory or any other hospital anywhere in the world are only giving them false hope and will take their money. Cancer to a large extent remains incurable,while some beat it, others don't. They still don't know the cause or what triggers the destructive cells and until they do, it's only by divine mercy that patients pull through. I wish her the best.

Abbey said...

I believe the family is just being optimistic and that is why they embark on raising fund for Mayowa irrespective of LUTH doctors pronouncement.

Fans Come After Actress For Publicly Displaying Her Bo@bs. (Pic)

God bless u

linda ikeji's driver. said...

Boss,pls I need my money asap.am not in for all dis crazy drama.

anonymous said...

This Toyin Aimakun is a foolish person and a coward!! So she didn't look into it properly before putting her head??? At the slightest sign of trouble she has left the family's side!!! If she was as convinced as she seemed on instagram and everywhere, why is she not fighting for them on this scam allegation? It is either Toyin is actually a foolish person or everything she did was a publicity stunt. mtchewww always getting herself into stupid wahala

Chineke!

I'm completely confused about dis whole issue

Don't mind the bloody blogger. Extremely disappointed in her!!!

Zaid said...

That is not Mayowa's mother.
Her mother is late.

teegirl NYC said...

na wah ooo, even toyin dissapoint me more than Linda...when you help people you dont go back to inflict more pain on them................how on earth is this scam when all they are doing is to fight for a second chance for the terminally ill lady. am sure all of you shouting is a scma including linda dont want this to happen to them all thier loved ones....

Well it seems the story were confusing to me!

True. Even if the money is used to keep her comfortable until she passes, it is still worth it.

You don't just post stuff #linda no put ur self for wahala investigate b4 u post not all abt the money reputation should be considered......

True.

So true. This Toyin woman is a drama queen and heartless.

First question I would like to ask Toyin Aimakhu herself is if she didn't confirm the story before campaigning for Mayowa. Why cry foul after the money is raised? Or does she want a percentage from the funds cos she campaigned for her?
Secondly, Linda should stop pretending like she cared. Did she even donate at all?
It is obvious Mayowa needs serious medical attention and there is no crime if the family is trying to seek for medical attention abroad irrespective of what Nigerian doctors have said bcos they believe she'll pull through. Is it not better to try every means possible to save her life than give up bcos somebody said so? Do u even have an idea of how much the family must have spent up until now? Linda should have gotten her facts right before posting such negative posts.
What Mayowa needs now is our prayers and not detaining her family members.

They think they do..but they don't even Respect the giver of life

ibeakwadalam said...

Nigerians are very sentimental people. People who have previous issues with Linda are now attacking her.

Be it the lady who died at Howard University Hospital (Debbie Idiagbonya) who kept asking for money to extend her life when doctors had already told her that there's nothing medical science can do for her. She did battle for 4 years even after being diagnosed with stage 4 cancer (breast, liver and bone cancer). Even after the best effort of the general public and medical science she finally succumbed.
Even when she was advised to go to auspices care she still held out hope and went on for another round of funding support before she succumbed to cancer.

All she had was hope. The same with this poor lady.

It is lack of empathy and not understanding that one would go to the ends of the world to help a loved one. Yes, will some people take advantage of the opportunity and use it for their own benefit instead of what it was intended for, of course yes. But it does not mean the hope for a cure was misplaced.

It only would have been a scam if they did not try to do anything to try and save Mayowa with the money they raised.

This freeborn guy, you are the biggest fool ever liveth.. What concerns religion and Buhari with this matter now.. Please maybe the whole money should be transferred to your account coz you need it for brain surgery.. IDIOT

Na so! My sister called someone that knows the family and she was told she travel last night .

The confusion seem to be moving in circle.

Dee_talk said...

Gbam!

first am sure 60% of those that made donations never did that because of toyin or any other person, Secondly toyin should have done her investigation with proves not by "They said, He said or any shit like that". thirdly if they where to even investigate it should be done with professionalism and not making a public stunt and also putting a life at risk cos fourthly if mayowa wants to try other means than that of luth she sure should, who are we to decide if its terminal or not. Are u GOD...TOYIN BEWARE YOU NEVER KNOW.....

JOELLY MENSTRUAL CUPS said...

Hey slow down, don't abuse Linda. She will make her children too. Rebuke her gently.

God bless u.

Chaii! Just here laughing at evry1s ignorance! That letter from the hospital is just a basic initial information first sent on just contacting the hospital! Dat doesnt stand as a definate quote until evaluation is done, and always after an initial evaluation, the quote changes to more than half the initial value! And den the official invitation is issued. The first evaluation is usually done through skype with patient and physician which costs a hefty sum ofcourse. I'm sure dey must av bin told all dis and den just gave up and decided to use d money 4 something else

Toyin get the tuck off ...they r taking the girl for treatment and God will safe her life ... Don't stand where you do good ...only God pay back ...my money there as well ....lies or not ...I know for sure they we fly her out and she will receive the treatment you wait and see..you have done ur part live them alone and let them safe the girl . All this can even kill her .

#Media#LIB# Always verify and be well informed before the posting of any news ,especially the one that has to do with life,to avoid misleading and misrepresentation.

Linda dropping it like it's hawt

LUFI said...

please y is toyin cryin already...be calm and get your facts right woman...we want to see that girl's life saved not ur "No make up, no filter" ugly face cryin...put urself together woman. she even used swear words,sounded so razz...what is "fuckin ELL"...dats right, she left the 'H' out of the "hell". yoruba village girl formin rubbish...*sigh*

-LuFi Frm TRINIDAD-

If this is truly a scam,then it will not be well for those involved

Linda & Toyin act like my 10 yr old. When is patience in all this? Toyin you were quick to run to the hospital to help her. Be patience to get your fact right. No body want their love on dead. Pple will do anything to save their love once. All this your tears and English is disgusting sometime. Age is not wisdom. Nigeria medical system is crap. My sis was in Nigeria 2yrs ago and she went to see her doctor friend in one of the govt hospital. She saw a new baby on the wrap in Ankara on the chair and she asked what is going on her friend said it's water baby and the baby will die soon. No medical emergency to save the baby life. Baby no die till she left the hospital after 5hrs and the baby was just there alone. So our system sometimes is craze.

Na waoh!

GOD bless u, Chinelo. toyin is just full of foolish drama

Toyin is called Aseburuku severe. Linda you sef take it easy.

And u had to go anon, stupid goat

Sad! Linda take note!

CHAI!! na wa oo

Lord dugbe said...

Chinelo,i agree wit u.Toyin always strike me as someone who have started hearing d knocking of madness on her door.she never open d door but she don dey look thru d peephole

Ele Blessing said...

I concur

Am jux tayad of this news....can I just rest biko?

Ele Blessing said...

U are very stupid, i don't just know why people type without thinking,and am very sure u didn't even send anthing,idiot

Lord dugbe said...

stella dimokokorkus na number one culprit wit her zombie blog readers
Linda's number 2 with all her LGBT movement n homo readers

You have always been a fool, so am not surprised about your comment, if ur mum or any of your loved one is about dying won't you atleast try all ur possible best,to make sure nothing happens.fool

I respect your comment, God bless you

Funmi Aiyenuro said...

Toyin is an Edo lady not a Yoruba. She acts in Yoruba movies. Get your facts right.

Exactly. Linda's pupils has turned to dollar signs. In her quest for money, she has lost her humanity. So disappointed and disgusted. As if she would have let her family member to die like that without trying everything. Stupid basic blogger bitch.

You are stupid chinelo....she's edo ok? You idiots can't help but discriminate.

L@L@s f@shion house said...

I feel bad for Tony and Mayowa. She has been placed in a bad place right now, people should put themselves in her shoes, coming on social Media and pushing this cause. Mehn it's embarrassing that the family are not straight with her and Nigerians are feeling cheated in this economy. It could ruined her Career seriously. It looks pretty bad. The reason she crying is because this situation that we may think is small can end career because she advocated for this girl and her family but her family are not being straight her. It's a big mess. God help Mayowa and Tony

Ina said...

If it's not a scam they should transfer all the money to Linda's acc. When they need it for the treatment Linda will send whatever amount upon seeing proof from the hospital. On the other hand, if they can't present anything, Linda will work with access bank to refund us that contributed our money.

Read the reddington report that mayowa posted
It is stated there that they do not advice surgery

Exactly. Let's not be too fast to crucify them. Well only God knows their true intent...

Maybe they were even preparing to get the visa but didn't know the whole fund raising thing would happen so quick for them

True...Toyin should exercise more patience with her emotions too...enough with the tears abeg.

I have known this family since 1985 Mayowa, formerly Shukura is like a sister to me. we lived in the same house in Nigeria. so when I was asked by the sister if I could help contact Emory Hospital, of course i agreed. I linked them up with a Senior Nurse in oncology at Emory, who in turned linked them with a physician there. What is the scam? The fact that Mayowa is not truly sick, or the fact that the Family refused to believe the report of the doctor's in Nigeria? Who among us would ever give up on a loved one? Toyin and Aramide should look within their souls and think about what the family must have gone through. What Toyin and Aramide have succeeded in doing is cast a big cloud of doubt on others that might need the help of Nigerians in the future. The Hammed family lost their mom to cancer, should they sit down and watch while this poor girl dies too? We should not forget that they have spent before they asked for help. She was at a Hospital before they asked them to take her home. not everyone is out to scam people. Please let us help them in anyway we can and not victimize them.

TEEDEE said...

Oh No Oh No Oh No why are human beings so wicked why why why

BEAUTIFUL9JADELTA said...

BEAUTIFUL9JADELTABABE... I just feel so sorry for this girl cos if really she is sick then she needs help, only God know who is saying the truth. @lindaikeji d. Lindus I wl advise u go and learn more on what we call professionalism in journalism, always their n verify issue very well before u come online n blog forget u wanting to b first to post cos since blogging is d only thing u do u should b more professional abt t don't just carry info n post, there are some info that can trigger serious problems and fight in the country. So u v to b careful, if possible try n go to a school of journalism to learn more abt the ethics and principles of journalism in blogging thank u. Hmmm anyway sha as LIBERSFEMALESENATEPRESIDENT me am Justsayingmaownohh via ma LATEST TECNO F7.
@lindaikeji d lindus am still waiting ohh

Please how can people who donated get their money back? I just learned that my husband out of the goodness of his heart contributed 20k even as we are really struggling right now.

Pele o,americana

Abeg this is no scam. Linda and toyin should be patient jor.

LliveTV said...

Linda you rushed to call it scam, but your update reveals that you are not sure again.

On cancer patients, you perform MRIs smh at Nigerian Drs.. What are they going to find out with X-Ray...😬

I think there was a mix up somewhere. Her family could not have been that callous.

Toyin Aihmakun has an ugly figure. See her feet like toothpick.😄😄😃😃😃😃

4 de sake of de sick person police shld just spare dis family
Who wil b taking kia of her in de hospital now?
Besides dey need money 2 see her tru de little period she wil remain on earth
I hate dis whole drama

Linda don't take note!

Thank you for this piece, that guy is really an idiot,charity is charity.And he said they are Muslims.How must be mad

Linda y didn't u post my message .lol. sorry for u

This isn't a fair post. @Cashing in on people's misfortune. You all were the same people praising Linda for using her blog as an Avenue to try to save Mayowas life.

If she was all about cashing in on their misfortune she wouldn't do that. If you guys hate Linda for some other reason that's your problem...but don't let it cloud your judgment and make you seem stupid.

Anonymous noone cares if you don't read the blog LOL. You sound like a bitter soul. Now fuck off.

A concerned citizen.

Beautiful heart said...

The only sensible comment so far,if a member of your family is diagnosed with hiv/aids for instance which we know for certain there's no permanent cure, and someone tells you of a babalawo in Bermuda triangle that cures people if Aids, trust me you will want to try your luck. We should try to put all the cards on the table before taking sides. I wish Mayowa God's favour, it could have been anybody.

Beautiful heart said...

It was said in the viral videos and written on the gofundme page "stage 4 cancer, maybe you just didn't look closely.

@freeborn please just calm down and pray for this young woman. Money is not everything, but think about her present condition and wish her well..

I personally did a little transfer, not for anybody but for God and humanity sake. Why are they taking panadol for another man's headache. Its our money we donated, go and mind your business and let God be the judge.

Jenny says so said...

My exact thots! God bless let us just pray for this young lady bikonu

Jenny says so said...

They mentioned she was a stage iv cancer patient n had her liver involved ... What other mention do u need?

Cancer knows no class! Remember oo health today gone tomorrow oo. Did she make up the illness? Is she fighting for her life? Is her family keeping hope alive? Even people diognosed with stage 4 in UK seek trail drugs in US. All this fake public figures, women bringing women down. Shame!!!- I will continue to help the helpless! I continue to have faith in humanity. Stupid social media generation😤

Jenny says so said...

If I may ask why? How did we humans degrade to this point? So we should fold our hands n watch some 1 die bcus a blogger claimed it was a scam amidst newyork/atlanta/use story.... Biko leave that matter n pray Mayowa makes it n let's stop compounding problems for the lady. Investigation fa?

But she is not Yoruba!

Jenny says so said...

Thank you

God bless you lady p. There was a family friend that was told in LUTH that he can not live for more than 1 month after being diagnosed of colon cancer. This same LUTH aidded the cancer by their negligence. He was at the hospital 8 years earlier to remove a growth. After the surgery, they took it for a biopsy and they discovered that it was cancerous. They did not bother to call him back for a follow up treatment of chemotherapy. As at the time he went back to the hospital, the cancer has ravaged his system. Yet without any empathy they just told him to go home to die. He took the matter into God's hand and proceeded to India. He lived for additional 8 years before he finally succumbed to it and only because it reappeared and spread so rapidly before his next scheduled visit to India. LUTH is crap. All Naija medical system is crap. No hope for common man. It's really sad....

We should all pray that we do not find ourselves in a situation where u are told a loved one will pass away. I understand how it feels to loose a loved one and the thought that you never tried to save the person is a terrible trauma one will live with forever and I pray for no one will go through that.@aimakhutoyin I do not think will rub the name she has built over the years in the gutters for how much. The hospital cannot say they didn't know help is being asked for on social media and that @aimakhutoyin came to visit and campaign for help on Mayowa's behalf. Why wait until the fund was raised to say it's a scam. There are different angle to this story. Has anyone ever thought that they could have tried different options of hospitals. Do one know what it means to be running up and down to save a loved one. You won't even be able to think straight, you will be a mess. Hmmmmm,i know how this feels cos I have been in that shoes of losing a life partner who was sick and I pray for no one to go through it. I am not taking any side but let's have our fact right cos Mayowa doesn't need this alongside what she is going through. This could actually take the life that people are trying to save.May God in his mercy keep us and our loved ones.

Madam.. what the hack are you saying.. how do you expect a stage 4 cancer patient to travel all the way to the US for treatment without breaking the journey... e maa l'aya o. Toyin Toyin i reserve my comments for you..

I think toyin went too far,she should have just calmed down,no one and i repeat no one would watch and wait for death to take a loved one away,even if the young lady's cancer was at level 1million u cant expect her family members to just lay her at home and watch her,its called hope,so i dont beleive this whole thing is a scam,aunty toyin you should have waited for like a week to see whats going to happen before u mess this whole thing hope,i just pray the young mayowa have the strength to stand all this drama you caused jus because u were not allowed to see her. Yoruba people will say "ashe ore losho ti" doing good thing and still messing it up.

Dis toyin is so dramatic

If you listen to the Beautiful Nubia below, you will get my message

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jYlUfh-6dxw

If you listen to the Beautiful Nubia below, you will get my message

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jYlUfh-6dxw

Pls this is a life at stake. The family are desperate to safe the life of a loved one.my wife died from cancer last year through misdiagnosis of this same LUTH.I wish I had known better then.

Rex007 said...

I hav bin following dis blog 4 a while now...1st of all i must say dat i am very pained and disappointed in u @linda 4 d way u carried dis news! Just days afta dey announced dat d moni required 4 her treatment has been generated u didnt even give d family in quote some time 2 make a shot at saving her...u brought up d scam alert! hmmmm...always investigate properly before letting the public know anytin...
As 4 Toyin i dont know her buh its obvious she doesnt really care if mayowa is actually treated or not..all she is interested in is d moni...or was she d chair of d donation committee???..#thinkin out loud...obviously d girl is sick just let her family hav a chance 2 save dare loved one...

You all are too quick to judge.
Linda you are always too quick to type before you think
Only you had posted scam,alleged scam and not a scam
What do you want
God help you if after all the actual investigation(not this rubbish speculation your doing) it's not a scam.
theres no offense in writing a story but check your facts rightly young lady

I can see that you never think before you say anything .You big head , if she's your sister you will leave her without helping her abi.We re all human being .And for Linda u are mother and you needs to think and do your investigations well before posting anything .

anonymous said...

When ur pastors takes ur tithes and offerings to dubai for his birthday party in a yacht even when it obvious that they are scams. U say let God be de judge. GOD have mercy on ur souls Toyin and co.and linda

The girl is sick quite alright but her family lied abt some things..how did Atlanta hospital now turn to Abu Dhabi ??? Why didn't they lay all d facts on the table for people to know and help if they wish. Why lie about an invite from Emory hospital whereas,d girl no even get Visa talk more of invite. Frm d facts,I read,I heard stage 4 is not curable except by divine grace,why put d girl through such ordeal of flying? Again,no airline has agreed to fly her in her frail condition. This family is not telling d entire truth. Ho ha! I still pray for divine healing on her. Linda didn't do any wrong here. She only reported as she was mailed and even referenced all.she carried d appeal fund campaign on her blog and also has right to publish what toyin(the chief campaigner) sent to her.

Amaka baby said...

Shattap dia!!

Amaka baby said...

Shattap dia!!

The scam is they lied. The girl's family said she was going to ATL for treatment, so how did Atlanta hospital now turn to Abu Dhabi ??? Why didn't they lay all d facts on the table for people to know and help if they wish. Why lie about an invite from Emory hospital whereas,d girl no even get Visa talk more of invite. Frm d facts,I read,I heard stage 4 is not curable except by divine grace,why put d girl through such ordeal of flying? Again,no airline has agreed to fly her in her frail condition. This family is not telling d entire truth. Ho ha! I still pray for divine healing on her.

I don't think you're a real doctor and if you are, I hope you're not treating any patients cos your brain cells don't seem to be working right. 1. The girl's family lied about the reason they were raising the money. 2. They denied knowing Toyin even though she was the one money seeking campaign go viral.
3. They said they were taking her to a hospital in Abu Dhabi after lying that they were taking her to Atlanta.
4. The family never got an invite from any hospital in the US.
5. LUTH denied giving them any letter.
6. Linda posted what they sent to her.
Oponu doctor.

If you are jealous, get cancer let's contribute for you. This is the wrong way time to be arresting her family members. At this stage they mist have spent like 20m on this lady. May God be their help

The had a quotation or statement from Emory hospital in Atlanta, and that was the info published with an estimate hoping it won't be more however they never mentioned they had invite from Emory hospital they just wrote the estimated quotations from the hospital. And who told you no airline will want to carry her, I work with an airline and I have seen worse cases with doctors and equipments in the plane going as far as a 16 hrs journey so trust me, no matter the condition no airline is allowed to deny passengers seeking for medical assistance ticket point of correction. And if they get a better deal in Abu Dhabi or India or wherever it's their choice as getting a medical visa from America can be a little complicated. Nigerians are find of monitoring every gift as money the give others and that is very wrong. No one was forced to raise funds.

When I saw the ad/gofundme page, I thought to myself..."if Mayowa's picture is real and isn't photoshopped, it will take God himself to come down and heal her", because looking at her pic, it was obvious the cancer had metastasized. Take it from a health practitioner who works in a developed country and have had cancer patients....I was shocked that any hospital would give this girl and family genuine hope. They will tell you the prognosis isn't good and advise you on ways to deal with what's coming. I did not donate physical cash because I saw her as a stage 4 ovarian cancer patient with very little time to live except by divine intervention. All she needed/and still needs is prayers to move on to the next stage. This might sound harsh but it is the truth. In developed countries, this is when doctors ask loved ones to spend as much time as reasonably possible with the patient as time is of the essence. It's sad that Mayowa has to go through this and still battle cancer. May God's will be done

My dearvits still the US but the trip will be too steessfull for her so thwy will break it down. She will branch to Dubai take medication before proceeding to Atlanta. Thanks

Toyin aimakhu is just a stupid person why the hell is she crying i heard from a reliable source that she wanted a cut out of the money and because they didnt agree to give her thats why she sold them out.

Like seriously ure for real...you know how fund raising could take time, the family didn't projected it will be this fast hence all this rupture...on the other hand those that contributed to the fund raising and now cursing the act where is your faith did you contributed for it to be known to the whole world.

Your act is like doing a good deed and at the same time not wanting it to go. A sore loso ti

Kay said...

The money should be collected from the family and use it for funding various cancer patients who can still be saved. There is no need for drama. Toyin herself should champion this initiative.

And may you be visited with an illness as bad as this! So that people who are mere mortals can give up on you just because some doctor said you are beyond help. Idiotic church bench warmer!

From the look of things it's not a scam but Toyin should be patient. Linda should be careful in her story cos presently she adding to mayowa's problem. By the way Linda,WHO YOU HELP. No foundation nothing.

WHY DIDN'T THE FAMILY FIGHT FOR MAYOWA's LIFE FIRST
MAYOWA'S FAMILY ARE UNGRATEFUL ELEMENTS xxx

Lady P. God bless you, I know the family personally and no family member was arrested, I just pray God forgive people who no nothing but concluded it was a scam.. the only scam here is Aunty Linda and am sure she will pay for this.. the family just choose to focus on their beloved mayowa's health before coming for her...

No family member was arrested.. the scam here is Linda and am sure the family are coming for her... she will pay for this...

yemi said...

One thing is sure the curse of the Lord is in house of the wicked/Thief. Zechariah 5:4, Proverbs 3:33.. I never believed and will not believe this is a scam.. We just have to be careful of what we read and hear..I pray this young lady survives and lives..

I am a doctor too but u didnt need to state that you are foreign trained.I trained in Nigeria and I am doing well everywhere I go. Saying you are foreign trained was not necessary. This is important to me because of the way Nigerians see their own doctors. Most of us are good, the system is bad but we try our best

amakaelochukwu said...

People are always so thrilled about other people's stories... People asking who do we believe? I wonder why people are saying scam? If you had a family member you loved with all your heart and the doctors had given a death sentence, wouldn't you do all in your power to save the person? Have we forgotten in this World that there is a God?! So what if the family didn't declare human doctors have given her a death sentence period? Has human kindness lost so much faith in God that people think helping someone financially who is about to die is futility?! Shame on us all