Photos: Ghanaian bride wears sneakers on her wedding day, explains her decision | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 29 July 2016

Photos: Ghanaian bride wears sneakers on her wedding day, explains her decision

A Ghanaian bride, Vera Ewura Obeng opted for custom-made desert boots for her wedding on July 13. According to the professional photographer, she took the decision after seeing the pain most women go through in a bid to look glam on their Big Day. In a Facebook posted on July 20th, the bride explained her choice of footwear and of course, clapped back at those making fun of her.

"After being a wedding photographer(‪#‎VeraObengphotography‬) for 6 years its only fair that I learn not to repeat what Brides go through over and over again.
For me, What is the point in wearing heels to church and remove it during reception? I just don't get it. If you want heels wear it through out the event. I wore mine for 9 hours. I see Brides complaining about the heels all the time. It even doesn't make my photos nice. My "comboo" as some are calling it is actually custom made "‪#‎HORESEMAN‬ HOOVES ".

We all copy and paste including me. Our problem is we do it without reading through what we have copied"
For those saying I am ‪#‎manifest‬ sister, "eeeiiii ghanafo) kasa" I've only seen him once. It was from a distance in a hotel I went to work in. It would be nice to have him as a big brother though. Never heard any of his songs except the recent one to ‪#‎sarkodie‬. And I can say I don't understand a thing. Call me "kolo". " I like it like that.

Again for those suggesting my husband should have been in something similar, thanks a lot for your suggestion. The idea was not to "combine powers like captain planet ". He is an academician and I am an artist. We can only adjust but not to change who we are. He loves me and I do love him also. No need to change. "love you hFestus Attah Isoah Iso

And for my dress , I just don't get the bit where I spend thousands of mahama cedis on a dress I can't wear again.. "I just can't think far" 😂😂😂😂. Invite me to your baby christening and I will gladly come in it.

For me this was my dream wedding, if you choose to wear a heel as tall as me, at the end of the day, its all about our choices.

Note that I don't have anything against wearing of heels and gowns. (you look like disney princesses  )

To all those who made Wednesday 13th July a Special day for my husband and I, thank you. You have no Idea what it means to us. For those who "run" away to come..."

More photos below...

94 comments:

JOYOUS BABE,Linda Ikeji first Cousin said...

hiaa, what was she thinking?

Abbey said...

And she look elegant and beautiful in it. Does she hold anyone explanation? No. How Banky W Heartfelt Feeling Towards A Female Artiste Was Friend Zoned

She's just foolish.. Her explanation just proved it further

Nice concept tho

Be ur self...linda BIKO....

YES I LOVE THIS. I dont know the rule that says you must wear wedding gown to marry. Can anybody show me a proof of that in any book or even bible? Ma guy carry go with your wife abeg. If she like make she wear Pam slippers even marry..Infact ir will make you stand out and unique. I love courageous people..people wey no send anybody feelings just like me.
THANKS FOR BEING COURAGEOUS. I owe the both of you a wedding gift.

NaijaStore said...

Haha

She doesn't have to explain herself cus she's not the first,Nigeria actress Ivy wore snickers on her wedding day and we did hear making buzz about it,besides the trend is almost fading away,so aunty abeg rest and face your marriage!

YES I LOVE THIS. I dont know the rule that says you must wear wedding gown to marry. Can anybody show me a proof of that in any book or even bible? Ma guy carry go with your wife abeg. If she like make she wear Pam slippers even marry..Infact ir will make you stand out and unique. I love courageous people..people wey no send anybody feelings just like me.
THANKS FOR BEING COURAGEOUS. I owe the both of you a wedding gift.

Nawa o

She copied our actress (forgotten her name)

Comfort of life

She try

*******************************oh my God ******@ last I have a twin Sister ***********with a like mind **************how I hate oll dos over flowing plenty wedding gowns na eju igwe na eju uwa************ e don too reign abeg*************pipo need to figure out somthin more fashionable for dia weddings oda dan dat kinda Tool's gown I xo much dislike *********************I jux love dix aside d sneakers !!!!!!!!!!!!!! Bur u rock bae*************

A break from the norm

Not so cool, looks too casual. But then again, her choice

So cool!!!

VIBEbrown consulting said...

I love your concept, all u said were basic truth.

Funny bride

R u in for latest sport updates

Visit efritinsport

I'm in what her on this, everybody dont have to be the same, you really don't have to follow the trend. Her choice of foot wear Is all cool with me.

She looks beautiful though, but it's a no for me. I don't mind going through the pain for my big day.

Nice one.

Choice!! Nice a good look.

JOHN MILES said...

Wonder shall never end

JOHN MILES said...

TIV man will say "Wonder"

kinkybabe said...

I love this ma dear, don't mind haters. Some people love to show up whereas they don't have anything

Originality, that's awesome. I like it

junia said...

looks good on her, she's beautiful

Eeyore said...

God, I love her mentality. First time I saw her wedding pix, I loved the originality. Showed it to le boo and she turned up her nose. Wish I could find me a Nigerian girl just like this Ghanaian damsel. You go, girl!! !

Eeyore said...

God, I love her mentality. First time I saw her wedding pix, I loved the originality. Showed it to le boo and she turned up her nose. Wish I could find me a Nigerian girl just like this Ghanaian damsel. You go, girl!! !

Her choice
Not our choice joor

Linda don't take note!

Exactly what i saw on Doronize.com this afternoon... lol!

It's her choice mehn,it shouldn't boda anybody

JOELLY MENSTRUAL CUPS said...

She is so me! I don't follow the crowd one bit, I do natural me. Once wore three quarter jeans and jeans jacket to a wedding and my colleagues dressed up like masquerades in their ashebi were looking at me funny without me caring a hoot about their comments and what they expect me to put on.
You look lovely, girl. I am loving your down to earth, free minded self. Don't mind the follow follow ones and the insecurities they tag along with trying to conform.

Kojevspin D Realist said...

OMG, so we still ve intelligent females like this in Africa? I soooooo love her reasons and response. Why spend one million naira to buy a dress u will only wear once? If u must wear a Princess dress why not rent it? I love this Ghanaian lady.

My dear my wedding gown looks very much like yours. I can wear it now any day, any time @maunne

Memphis freeman said...

Her choice... she doesn't need to explain

Ivie Okujaye did same biko! Linda take note!

This man will enjoy his wife, she is sensible, conservative and future oriented, she's more concerned witht he marriage, not wedding like some shallow Nigerian women that if they can't afford the fairy tale wedding, would sleep around just to get it.

U are the fool, and u will certainly marry a fool like u that will use ur life savings for looking glam on the wedding day, then when u get married and start having babies like rabbits as typical igbo man, na poverty next

She's beautiful! Lovely skin!

Aboki wetin u sabi? No be to wear rag do mass wedding una people sabi? Abeg go drink kunu

It's a wedding, not rapture, you're not going to meet ur maker, concern yourself more with the marriage than the wedding

I you're born again, ur big day should be when u meet with God, but I'm not so sure u will.

sexiest thing have heard and seen all day...

Good for her

Am not really feeling the look.. why would I want to look razz on my wedding day cos I don't want to repeat what brides do time after time... her cup of tea sha

Ina said...

So this her singular choice makes her intelligent? Please define intelligence...

Esther Dangana said...

Different body, different temperature. After all There are no laid down rules on what one should wear on wedding day. Carry go as long as you are comfortable.

mercy the benue queen said...

What eva rocks her boat, she looks Gud in it Thou

Wow! That is soooo cute. Just like me. No unnecessary torture

Eeyore said...

Ghanians...ever wise that's why I always claim I'm from Ghana... Dem even get electricity and fuel stability despite our empty boasts... GHANA MY GHANA

Her choice! if she like make she no wear any footwear on her wedding... na her choice!

*Grachi Dynasty*

U are right, she copied from that actress that looks like Genevieve

If she like make she wear Dunlop slippers... dee

She is truly a beautiful, smart and courageous woman. Happy wedded bliss.KYEO

How e take concern you? Olofofo na you wear am abi na you dey marry? People way no get joy for their life like you just want to hate and insult other people are are enjoyment themselves in this imperfect world. Yeye dey smell follow u

Babe Na because u get small height oh....u for try am I u be shorty now,so pls dnt judge cos u donot know the reasons why brides wear hills despite d uncomfortablility.

Mo said...

I can do it. But not when I live in naija. Na the parents of the bride them go pity most. Say pikin don mad finish. Oh well, my wedding was normal naija wedding. 6yrs ago sef. God bless my hubby, and kids. Love them so much.

Eclectic said...

Copy cat. What do u even understand from her explanation?

Mr. Stretch said...

Awesome concept! Fabulous lady!! Nigerians are fond ofcopying without thinking!!

Lol Stern Stern!!!

A Lot of ladies Ave worn sneakers on deir days,my frnd wore it on her reception so it's not new here In Naija.

A beautiful, intelligent and practical lady

Whatsapp me 08107095662

chyyy said...

There are no rule of footwear in a wedding. Sneakers mks her comfortable and easy movement, after all we are in d world of breaking record, keep ranting u hv never be creative in ur life. Bravoooooo

Her wedding, her choice

Femimexican said...

Lovely concept, courageous bride. Kudos. Her Haters shd go 2 hell abeg.

And she is looking cool

Mumu.
Dumb Fuck!

She a conscious Human.
Luv me a RARE Bae anytime.

This is a very reasonable lady. I support you totally.

Cool as far as I can tell

She looks dope. Oyibo when get white wedding does same. No need for ur explanations dear

OMIDAN ABBY said...

Ike dumb dumb!
Receive brain u thwart!
Razz fool!

I like!!! Her wedding her choice! As far as her husband is cool with it. #DiaryOfAJoyfulGirl #SuperLady

Now that's what I'm talking about... this bride is definitely a keeper. Simplicity @ it's peak!

No be she start am bikonu

Kojevspin D Realist said...

It is obvious u r d type dat will borrow and also make ur hubby incur debt bc want a fairytale wedding dat u can't afford. Dumbass

I so love your courage! I don't like weddings and what not cos of the dress expectations. For me, the last pic in the article is what matters. The couple are happy, in love and understand each other. That's what matters!

I guses your idea of intelligence is working with 'crowd mentality'. Her wedding day is hers alone

I dont care what anybody tinz I lovee her idea even if I can't rock that on my wedding day.its her wedding and it's her choice to decide what to look like.to me d important part of a wedding is signing the wedding certificate and then marriage begins and she did that all so what next.she doesn't need to explain Nada to nobody

U can start living there permanet to complete ur claim of their nationality.we don too much for naija mayb is some of u leave it will make a difference

Jade said...

It's HER wedding! She did as she pleased, do as I please at urs

Mr GOLD said...

##barren,,, HIV/AIDS CURE ###100% assurance...
pay after you confirmed it........
adewalegold13@gmail.com...

@Anonymous 5:52PM so na the money wey your bride go spend on your wedding day be your problem? Naija men and their poverty mentality sha. Lmao

Where is it in the bible that men must wear suit on their wedding day too?

Well it's ok. She just wanted to be different and she wanted to make a statement. But she should have wore ordinary flat normal shoes instead of sneakers or canvas sha. Sneakers reminds me of jym or exercise. Again, she should have tone it down by wearing cream flat shoes to go with her simple cream dress. The red colour was a bit too loud for a bride. My opinion...

Ivie changed her high heel shoe during reception to sneakers because she said she wanted to dance and split while dancing

Lovely one. The morals here is that, where what u feel confortable in and be urself. Shikena. Im chidikay

Chuks Bruno said...

She's so original