Photos: 'Disgruntled' Kenyan police officer goes berserk, kills 7 colleagues | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 15 July 2016

Photos: 'Disgruntled' Kenyan police officer goes berserk, kills 7 colleagues

A Kenyan police officer went on a shooting spree, killing seven of his colleagues, including a member of hostage response team on Thursday, July 14 at Kapenguria Police Station. One of the officers includes Officer Dennis Momany from Coy Ruiru, who got married few weeks ago.

The siege began when the attacker, identified as Abdilhakim Maslah, opened fire on his fellow officers, leading to a hostage situation. Police at first suspected the attacker had ties to the al-Shabab jihadist group.

According to the police, Maslah, a station guard, got off work Wednesday night but returned to the Kapenguria station shortly after 5am on Thursday and started shooting.

A separate police statement to the media said the officer, "for yet unknown reasons, went berserk and grabbed a firearm" and started shooting. The statement said the officer wore a "turban that covered his whole face, leading to the previous suspicions" that he was a terrorist.

Earlier, Police Inspector General Joseph Boinnet had said in a statement that commandos had surrounded the police station in an attempt to bring the standoff to an end.
"His attempts to escape were thwarted by quick arrival by other officers," Boinnet said.

Five police officers, including a senior officer, were among the dead, reports The Nation Kenya, quoting West Pokot County Commissioner Wilson Wanyanga.

KTN Kenya said as many as six officers had died in Kapenguria. Police commandos were deployed to rescue prisoners held at the station and end the standoff, Kenya's police chief, Joseph Boinnet, said before the crisis ended.

All but one of the officers killed worked at the station. The station commander was among them, West Pokot County Commissioner Wilson Wanyanga said.

President Uhuru Kenyatta condoles with the families and colleagues of the victims,
"Today, I mourn with the families of the young men who died in Kapenguria defending their nation against a depraved killer, he said in a statement.
"We do not know what led the killer to his foul and evil deeds, but Kenyans can be certain that my government's security and investigative agencies will do all within their power to discover what motivated this attack. I celebrate the lives of the young patriots who died defending the law and order we so often take for granted.
In days to come, my government will give their families every support as they come to terms with these tragic events. My family and I pray that God will grant them the grace to bear these losses. Kenya remains strong. This is a country of laws and order, not violence and hatred. We will not allow ourselves to be shaken, or to be divided by the foul deeds of a single man."
 One of the victims, Officer Dennis Momany from Coy Ruiru pictured on his wedding day few weeks ago.

Source: Kenyan news agencies

22 comments:

And finally, the craze has gotten to Kenya. After all Obama is from there.

What a troubled man! RIP dear ones...

Hmmmmm... A muslim again??? Fighting for his deaf-mute allah

KC said...

Na WA oooo God have mercy... RIP to d dead

(Linda d Kim K's fan)

NAWA O

OMG! DIS IS TRAGIC

Nawa ooo what's wrong with him nah,abi dey charm him ni

Haba,evil deeds

Wat d heck is dis. U never can tell wat exactly is gonna happen next to u. Terror attack evrywher

This will soon happen in Nigeria because the rate of alcohol and hard drugs consumption by our forcemen is too much. People will say he's Al-shabab agent but if we look at it closely this can be caused by influence of alcohol and hard drugs. Consumption of alcohol while on duty should be really condemned.

Meanwhile checkout:

Reasons Why Nigerian Youths Are Rushing Into (Confraternities) Cultism: http://brainnewsng.com/reasons-why-nigerian-youths-are-rushing-into-confraternities-cultism/

Oh oh!!

EVERBRIGHT said...

Another one again! why are people behaving like beast these days?

May the souls of the dead RIP though...

K-REX said...

Oh my God what is this world turning into?

Wahala everywhere! Linda take note!

Stfu

Maka why?

People, ensure u grab d garment of JESUS as dz,z d only security

Nawa o... Jesus is the only way

Nanese said...

Nigga in the first pic looks like Floyd Mayweather..

starshine said...

Sick people everywhere i swear

And he did not kill himself? Then he is not mad