How bill to restrict employment of foreign nationals in Nigeria will be of benefit - Femi Gbajabiamila | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 16 July 2016

How bill to restrict employment of foreign nationals in Nigeria will be of benefit - Femi Gbajabiamila

Majority Leader of Nigeria's 8th House of Representatives, Mr. Femi Gbajabiamila is proposing a law that will restrict foreigners from securing employment in fields where a Nigerian is qualified. 

This proposed law which will address the growing unemployment in the country and be of big benefit to Nigerians, has already scaled second reading some days ago.. However some controversy came with it, as people who don't understand it's benefit criticized him for proposing such a bill. He took to his official Twitter handle to clarify things and shed some light on the law - for better understanding. 

47 comments:

LIB REP (中华人民共和国) said...

I reserve my comment

Dey should please implement it

That's great, but I sure know we have lapses as well,do we really have what it takes... Anyways, making law isn't much of a difficult thang, but execution.

This makes all the sense in the world.This obtains in almost all countries. Canada for example. We need to startvbelieving in ourselves as a people and this is a step in the right direction. If after searching for a Nigerian to do the job, no one obtains...then you can hand it out to a foreigner. In standard chartered bank...transaction banking..there were so many competent heads...they brought someone from India. Same with a lot of positions in other banks and offices while the qualified Nigerian is out there looking for jobs.

I concur

It's a good idea but i don't see it benefiting the poor masses...

This is the norm in most countries, but Nigerians adore anyone with white skin and curly hair,they automatically think the person is better.. Smh..emancipate yourself from mental slavery people!

Okk

Thanks for the clarification. Linda take note!

CEO Thoughts said...

Hope it works.

Empower and Employ Yourself

Stacy said...

Empower yourself

La Frosh said...

Employment Opportunity. Visit Amazon

Be Empowered! said...

Be Empowered

Please let these ignorant goats know. All civilized countries take their own citizens before foreigners. If there is a certain skill we do not have in Nigeria, then we could get a foreigner (on contract). We need to put African interest above any other thing. Also someone applying from Ghana/Mali or any other African country should have advantage over any European. Buy Africa to grow Africa.

With the current situation of Nigeria and as much as this would be great for us, I don't think it's right if we have immigrants in that country. Nigerians are allover the world. Imagine how they would feel if other countries start reasoning like this. I think they should think of empowering us.

Shogun said...

I think this law must be implemented. It is been done in developed countries. Kudos to you sir

Shogun said...

We must support this. I believe we can push this bill on social media and make sure they implement it.

Shogun said...

I think this law must be implemented. It is been done in developed countries. Kudos to you sir

Kiki Africana said...

Day don break for una

Still a foolish law.. Instead pass a law for u fools in d House and other foolish govt officials to buy Nigeria made products to grow d economy , instead of passing a law that is related to job when there is no job in d first place.

Pass a law to remove age restriction in job applications, Nigeria police was recruiting and placed age limit , dats area u shld be looking at not dis ur useless law dat won't help anybody. Olodo

Definitely this is a welcome development. If people are in doubt, they should search some foreign governmental websites such as Canadian website (www.cic.gc.ca) to see things for themselves and understand better.

This is the best bill that the house can passed for the benefits of all Nigerian. This type of bill is in united kingdom and the all enjoy the benefit. Thank you so much hon Femi Gbajabiamila

I support the motion.. Mr gbaja carry go

Mr Nice guy said...

My brother who was schooling in Malaysia almost came back to Nigeria to do ordinary Industrial Attachment (IT) because everywhere he went to there were Malaysians who also wanted to do IT. Great move.

Shut up! Who cares about your name? You be politician? Always going on and on about your silly name. Please go back to being anonymous

I respect your view gbajabiamila omo akin almighty God is with you on this!!!!!

Go to salamander and tell the MD that.

Nigerians wake up and get some sense, stop giving your jobs to foreigners .

Let's be cautious..
Many Nigerians in the diaspora are doing jobs nationals of their host countries can do.
Many Nigerians are guards, waiters, street cleaners, construction site labourers and so on in the UK whereas a lot of Brits can do those jobs.
They are doing so because of the attitude of those Brits towards such jobs.
Many Nigerian artisans have poor work ethics so, for example, many builders would prefer to use artisans from Cotonou to lay their tiles for the diligence and dexterity those ones bring whereas the Nigerian will cheat you, lay your tiles anyhow and just rush to the next job once they have collected your money.
Just saying

Nigerians let themselves down , a lot of you travel abroad and become law abiding citizens whilst you are there ,the minute you come back to Nigeria you leave everything you have learned abroad right at the departure lounge , you don't respect traffic laws u jump ques ,you sound your car horn like its u were born with it , you basically disregard all things normal the minute u land in Naija

Sincerely Many Nigerian workers are short sighted and wants to have their cake immediately where they have not done their own side of the job. I do not think it is out of place of an employer decide to get a foreigner to control his organization. Foreigners have proven over time to be more committed then many and some of our Nigeria workers who always wants to get rich from his employer immediately. I think these should be looked into with care and it should start from the law makers ensuring the minimum wage is looked into from a realistic position. Thank you. this is only my own view.

Those that have worked with foreigners can bear testimony that we are worlds part when it comes to professionalism which is still a myth to most Nigerians , a lot of our people need this kind of exposure , I have had an opportunity to seat on interview panels abroad and here in my own country , we are seriously legging behind when it comes to professionalism. We need these exparts to instill that in us , if our schools and universities are failing to produce professional people who know why they are at work be it in service industry or private sector or government

Nice decision.

Oga, no need to explain to those wailing wailers. Other countries have thesame law. They protect their citizens first before others. They are ignorant. Instead of them to ask questions, they will come here and comment senselessly. Stmcheew

@Anonymous 11:27PM you sound very dull and stupid. Did u read the post properly before commenting senselessly and ignorantly here? Other countries have already reasoned like this a long time ago. They have such laws in those countries. Nigeria is just implementing theirs now and you are compaining. All countries favour their citizens first before others. It is the standard practice in all countries. Dull brain. Collect sense!

@Anonymous 9:41AM this is the most foolish and senseless comment i have read in recent times. The law that is about to be passed states that except they cannot get a qualified Nigerian to do a particular job before they can employ a foreigner. All those jobs you mentioned above are all menial jobs. The whites dont like doing low-life jobs not because they cannot do it but because they feel its for the low class. So they leave it for the blacks. If their white citizens refuse to apply for the jobs, they cant force them to apply. Instead, they give the jobs to the black that are available because whites refused to apply. Thesame applies to the law Nigeria is about to pass. If blacks refused to apply for a particular job and they get a foreigner, they will employ the foreigner. Its as simple as that. If you dont trust Nigerians and you feel they are cheats, keep sacking them and keep employing news ones until you get a good person with integrity. All Nigerians cannot just be totally bad. Also, you can put measures and restrictions in place to catch them when they cheat. For example, if they dont lay the tiles properly, dont pay them until they do it properly to your satisfaction. Give them your rules and regulations before you employ them and make them sign.

Sam said...

@Anonymous 9:41AM How come many Nigerians in diaspora are guards, cleaners, waiters and labourers? Does that not tell you that the whites consider their citizens first when it comes to proper office jobs? The blacks are now left with the low class jobs like cleaners, guards etc. That shows that they have the law in place already. We cannot give them our white colar jobs while they give us their dirty jobs in diaspora. The Nigerian government is also trying to protect its citizens just as other countries are doing. It is only abroad that you will see a Nigerian graduate washing plates or cleaning for a living. But Nigeria will never offer such jobs to foreigners. Shine your eyes. We have been cheated for too long. Enough is enough

@Anonymous 10;07AM i agree with you that most Nigerians are cheats and lack integrity but not all Nigerians are completely useless and we cannot keep treating foreigners like kings in our country while they treat us like trash in their country. If you dont trust a Nigerian to manage your company for you, all you need to do is put restrictions in place that will check any form of fraud. For example, employ outsourced auditors to always audit your accounts for you, create an inspection department that will always inspect the staff jobs to ensure work is done properly etc. There are strategies and measures that you can put in place to stop fraud or stealing

junior said...

thats a lawmaker representing the good people of his constituency and the entire Nigeria as a whole but some other lawmakers are busy representing themselves and taking pictures or visiting court rooms in solidarity escort thereby leaving the masses in his/her constituency to standstill.

Any body that criticize or opposes this bill is a lazy bum or enjoy being a slave.This bill if succeed will be the best thing that will ever happen to our unemployed Nigerian youths.

Femi Gbaja must stop deceiving himself, he seems to have forgotten one major component in Nigeria - CORRUPTION. Without a genuine agenda to deal with this evil disease nothing else matters. How many top Nigerian CEOs have robbed their companies blind and literally got away with it? They steal from companies, shareholders, investors and employees and nothing is done to alleviate the problems created for others. Femi Gbaja and his cohorts must first create laws to stamp out corporate greed and wicked corruption by ensuring all those found wanting return their spoils and go to jail for a long time. As things stand, Nigerian laws do not protect companies, shareholders, investors, employees and pensioners. FEMI GBAJA, DEAL WITH CORRUPTION FIRST and then come with this plan of yours. After all companies are in business to make a profit, it is only right that Nigerians should benefit from business in their own land.

Good idea but please do something about corruption first. You can not put the cart before the horse. The problem is Nigerian employees think its OK to steal money, ideas, trade secrets from their employer-organisations while the Nigerian senior executives think is OK to steal from the company she/he is supposed to help lead, protect and make profitable. Is it any wonder Nigerian companies do not endure? Femi Gbaja must create laws to address these issues first and foremost.

Possessing the qualifications to do a job is one thing, having the right attitude to do the job is another. SMH.

@Anonymous 4:05PM Buhari is already handling the corruption angle. All the senators and house of rep memebrs cannot all be handling corruption. They need to face other projects. So let Femi Gbaja be.

Hon. Gbajabiamila, is in the right direction. This same law is available in almost all countries of the world. This is a very intelligent proposal and i bet you it will go a long way to reserve employment for our people.