Super Eagles' Alex Iwobi is a loss to England - Arsene Wenger | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 4 April 2016

Super Eagles' Alex Iwobi is a loss to England - Arsene Wenger

Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger says Alex Iwobi's decision to play for Nigeria and not England is a loss to the Three Lions of England. 19 year old Iwobi has scored in his last two games for Arsenal and in their last match against Watford scored a goals and assisted another, leaving bigger players like Theo Walcott and Joel Campbell on the bench.

England persuaded Iwobi and his family to play for them after evaluating his talent and enormous potential but the attacker, who is also nephew to Austin Jay Jay Okocha opted to play for the country of his birth- Nigeria.

“Is he a loss for England? Yes,” Wenger said. 
“We have values in our club that are maybe not rated always, but one of them is to give a chance to young people and educate them. “Every year we bring players out and not many can say that. I’m happy Alex is one of them.”

Wenger concedes that Iwobi's rapid development has been surprising to witness, but says the forward who made his competitive debut for Nigeria during the lastinternational break has been working on his skills all season long.

"The fans have seen many good players over the years and they know straight away when a player has something special, so they acknowledge that," Wenger told Arsenal Player.

"You cannot cheat people. They've seen how quickly Alex's improved and how well he's played. 
"It's surprising how quickly he's integrated into our game. He's worked with us since the start of the season and he has grown, gained confidence and when he came in he had an impact straight away. 

"That's benefited from the fact that he knows everybody and they trust him as well. I didn't expect that level of efficiency or impact on the scoresheet."

49 comments:

That's igbo boys for you. Talent is our first and last name

PrettyChi said...

Proudly igbo

Yeah, rightly so... This Nigeria is his motherly, where his uncle once shined...

This is Where to Make Money Under 3mins to 2hrs frm Online Sports, anytime anyday. .......And this is How to go about It!

Talent and wahala!!!!

Sowi for the 3Lions then! Hope the Eagles would improve him and not mar him.

Samuel said...

Good one from a real Nigerian

I kuku dnt know anything abt football

Please who can bless me with a laptop?? needs it for school work. Beckyfyuiyts@yahoo.com

linda a goals keeee, hehehehehehehe

My bae iwobi

skellebobsy said...

Don't be tribalistic bro we re proud of him

Shut up. Igbo witin? For ur mind. Alex make sense but igbo boys Hmmm. Holy... I love d girls

@Stern, this your ethnocentric attitude is on the highest level. I hope you get healed.

Mayberry said...

That's d word"talent" when u r good in what u do people will look for u for d right reasons.

Edobabe#replinda#

He's decision to play for his country should not be counted as loss Wenger

Fraud talent indeed

@ STERN...Oponu ni e. Oole gbon mo

Make them loss ooo

Linda you wish the current FA did not want him. They did not even ask him he is black. The only blacks they want are mixed race carribeans not Nigerians. To them its good riddance.

Go Alex!!! One wonders why you only made cameo appearances for Nigeria during the crucial games against Egypt when infact you should have started the games..... Abeg follow me enjoy sports news here

Lost for England and a plus for Nigeria. He made d right decision by playing for his country of birth.

Can we use him? Dats the main question. He should be among the starting eleven. No be to dey play big big head say na players.

Their loss and our gain! Linda take note!

Yea Alex's gon be major for 9ja

Really? But like seriously, what do I know about football. I leave this to the football fans

Congrats bro,x

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

Thank God you know and if you like, lose him to anoda club who might bid higher for him in the future due to ur stinginess and alaroro attitude.

So Stern is Igbo kwa...Igbo land Don suffer...

Stern, are u related to Kenny Badmus? The gay HIV guy..

I concur, Igbos are special.

I hope other Nigerian Player that has dual nationality can learn from this

d-legend said...

What is ur talent? i doubt ur igbo

Igbo boys movement

Siasia benched him for one Mallam Mungu

Shows you how inept out coachi crew is

Yetty k said...

Lol, now he is Igbo? Not a Nigerian? Lol! Most of the retards out here needs devine slap to correct their brain functions.

Rubbish. Nothing like Igbo talent. Many ethnic parts of Nigeria have talents. Did you ever watch Segun Odegbami, Tarila d Thrilla, Eric Esin, Mambo etc. Iwobi has only scored two goals. Let's watch and hope he blooms.

Thank God ...this one is focussed and talented. Not like the jobless nuisance and rabid e-rats like STERN,FREEBORN &WILHEMINA..

Pearlie said...

He is patriotic

That's good

fuck Linda said...

Old woman stinky pussy

Chimaeze500 said...

That's his mind... And for me, its gain to Nigeria...

True

This tribe agenda is what has divided and brought war, jungle justice and ill development to nigeria. So iwobi isn't a Nigerian now, buy an ibo man. But his club and nation where he plays regards him a NIGERIAN lol

Okay.

I pray 4 him too. am igbo bt ds @stern guy attitude is so annoying.

CHECKER! said...

Wetin be your own talent Stern?? Diarrhea of the mouth??? Go sit down little boy!