LASG explains boat collision incident in Ibeshie | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 24 January 2016

LASG explains boat collision incident in Ibeshie

The Lagos State Government at the weekend confirmed the boat collision incident reported at Ibeshe in Ikorodu axis of the state on Thursday January 21, 2016, just as it restated its commitment to continue to improve on safety on the State waterways.

In a statement signed by the Managing Director of the Lagos State Waterways Authority (LASWA), Mrs. Abisola Kamson said the incident which occurred at about 8:05am was as a result of the early morning fog which led to poor visibility for the captains of the two boats.

She said the Authority was able to ascertain what led to the incident from its information gathering machinery and onsite water guards.

According to her, one of the boats (MV Cherio) which had 20 passengers on board was operating at high speed and by the time it noticed the second boat (Olaoluwa) which had no passengers on board, it was too late to avoid a collision.

She said the impact of the collision claimed the life of a passenger on board and left three other persons injured.

According to her, the three injured persons were immediately rushed to Ikorodu General Hospital and have since been transferred to LUTH for further treatment.

The LASWA boss said the enforcement of lifejackets on waterways reduced the number of casualties as all passengers on board were wearing their life jackets.

She said immediately the incident was reported, LASWA deployed its water guards to monitor and oversight the situation adding that the Marine Police have also been notified and are currently carrying out an investigation.

She also restated the commitment of the State Government to enforce speed limits on the waterways by operators as well as aggressive campaign and enforcement of guidelines for commercial boat operators to stem boat accidents in the future.
SIGNED
ABISOLA KAMSON
MANAGING DIRECTOR
LAGOS STATE WATERWAYS AUTHORITY
JANUARY 23, 2016

48 comments:

Rip to d dead

Phew! May the soul of the dead passenger rest in peace.

don snipes said...

LIB Readers today is ma Birthday

Well explained! Next please

Again!!! Cossy Releases Tempting Photos, Flaunts Her Big Stuffs (Photos)

YOUNGBUHARI said...

Ok. R.I.P to the dead

Too bad

Ok o

PEPSI ADDICT

Oh such a tragedy!
I have a strong phobia for anything water as a form of transport or recreation

Mufliat said...

So sorry to know

#Hajia Mufliat

May the soul of the departed rest in peace. Linda take note!

*DEW*

RIP AND QUICK RECOVERY. GOVERNMENT HAS ALOT TO DO WHEN IT COMES TO SAFETY OF WATER TRANSPORTER.

RIP 2d dead and speedy recovery to those injured.

waffymercyjohnson said...

Happy Sunday linda

Okay na

Noted..

Pesin Pikin said...

Observed, make them shine there eyes too nah, with all humility and honesty I have feelings for Linda Ikeji and would sincerely wish to meet her in person this year as part of my resolution.

mudi X said...

Wow what?

Donjazzycrush said...

thank God for their lives. RIP the dead

Don~ jazzycrush

Pls employ more safety officers

Y should the pilot of the boat be in high speep when he knew the condition off the weather (fog). That's carelessness.

SORRY. OMALICHA LI

Okay..we don hear

na una sabi
-D great anonymous now as Vivian Reginald

Hmmmmmmmmmm

More than one life was lost pls..........Get your facts right

GHOSTFACE said...

medicine after death

Willy said...

Lol @ pilot of the boat. Pilot of the boat ko, driver of the train ni

The name of the deceased is Babatunde Adejumo(An Etisalat Staff). He got married last year and left behind, a heavily pregnant wife. This is far beyond Loss for his family being the bread winner and this great nation as Babatunde is known for his young,sharp and brilliant mind. He is dedicated to putting a smile on people's faces. I still can't believe he's gone. I owe to him my excellent knowledge in Microsoft Office Tools. I can't stop crying.

I wonder when we are gonna get things right in this country?, such a painful death it was as the only casualty was my colleauge and close pal. The whole family has been thrown in sudden shock and sadness, especially the poor wife with their first year wedding anniversary a few months away. Dashed dreams, such a humble guy with an infectious smile always looking out for the welfare of others. God knows best, but this was an accident that could have been avoided, reckless pilot driving a ferry even when the weather condition was bad. No one is perfect, but measures needed to have been put in place, slow driving or total suspension of all boat cruise for a few hours could have helped. I just pray his soul continues to find rest in his saviour. God should please comfort his parents, wife and siblings. Its well! Sleep well bro and may you find eternal peace. ~Memento mori...

My dear na captain no b pilot

Leonard Omotayo (Hormortaryo #Frosh) said...

Negligence...

Hmm

They are rushing,that is the reason, well rip to dead,

Golda Awosika said...

E pele

BEAUTIFUL9JADELTA said...

BEAUTIFUL9JADELTABABE.. so sad hmm anyway me am Justsayingmaownohh via ma LATEST TECNO F7.
@lindaikeji d lindus am still waiting ohh

True talk @peter
#remitekosoko

Carelessness

AJ MAIN BOY...

olusanya mafe said...

I dont need commitment i need action.
Kamson Act Right!
Should we wait on your commitment till more life will be wasted?
Think about my plight.

Rip to d dead nd quick recovery to d injured ones

Busayo said...

I was a victim of the accident, The so called Olaoluwa has to be jailed bcos he ran away immediately e hitted my own boat, and my boat broke into pieces immediately, if e had stopped to rescue us dat moment he collided with the second boat, am sure no life will be lost and even d ones that sustained bloody injuries would have been attended to on time bcos we were on the sea for over 15minutes shouting for help before this boat dat was just passing by came to rescue us..

Its crazy if we cant help each other, LASWA has to deal with the OLAOLUWA guy, e must not go unpunished. I thank Almighty Allah for sparing my life cos I was the only person with no bloody injury, I had dislocation on my right wrist, but its just a minor thing compare to what others faced

Busayo said...

I was a victim of the accident, The so called Olaoluwa has to be jailed bcos he ran away immediately e hitted my own boat, and my boat broke into pieces immediately, if e had stopped to rescue us dat moment he collided with the second boat, am sure no life will be lost and even d ones that sustained bloody injuries would have been attended to on time bcos we were on the sea for over 15minutes shouting for help before this boat dat was just passing by came to rescue us..

Its crazy if we cant help each other, LASWA has to deal with the OLAOLUWA guy, e must not go unpunished. I thank Almighty Allah for sparing my life cos I was the only person with no bloody injury, I had dislocation on my right wrist, but its just a minor thing compare to what others faced

Busayo, let s thank God for our lives.. Like you, I was also on board this boat... I am particularly unhappy that the story has been tweaked to favour the boat that hit us; I gathered "Olaoluwa" is owned by a senior official of the waterways authority.. our captain (MV cherio) wasn't on top speed cos it was just taking off after rescuing another boat which was stuck on the water when the collision happened...
I pray justice will be done but am not particularly hopeful on this case..

After the mishap on the 21st Jan 2016, two other mishap has occured on the Lagos lagoon. It shows that the waterways authority LASWA ,NIMA etc have a lot of work to do. One of the major challenges is uncertified individual calling themselves captains. Secondly, there needs to be a way to remove or control logs of wood on the water as most of the mishap 85% is caused by collision with these logs or dredging pipes.

I hope our waterways will be kept safe and there will be no more loss of lives.

ennybabyyyyyy said...

It is well
My husband will continue to rest in His arms... our daughter is fine; thanks mch

ennybabyyyyyy said...

Tunde Adejumo has a child naw...
We really missing him..
May he continue to rest in peace. Cdnt stop thinking abt him. It is well in all