Former chairman of the NMA Dr, Ibitorukuemi Kurubo explained the purpose of the protest:
“When people are sick or when we want to take deliveries of babies we don’t call security agencies to do it for us. For instance, Lassa Fever issue is on. We are confronting it. Two doctors have died in the process, that is our job. We are trained to do it and we must treat patients no matter how deadly the diseases are because that is our job. Security agencies in the state must rise up and do their job.
“The peaceful protest today is to send a clear warning that if there is anymore kidnap of doctors in the state, NMA will take a far reaching decision,”The doctors marched to the police headquarters to complain about the fact that twenty one practicing medical doctors in the state have been kidnapped lately, eleven of them were kidnapped within the last few days, one died in the hands of the kidnappers while others were severely injured.
They met with the commissioner of police, Musa Kimo who sympathized with them, and promised them that more efforts would be made to protect them.

62 comments:
Doctors should start carrying excortstoo niyen
Deres problem o
You'd pause and wonder why the heck these riff raffs would chose to kidnapp hardworking nigerians delivering medical services, while they hail the thieving politians. Kidnapping is a crime regardless of the victim-was just saying....
Kidnapping is too muck in Rivers State
Click HERE to Read MORE
Please I also want to lend my voice to this struggle. This madness must ASAP. Doctors are modest people with a modest income. Kidnappers please for the sakes of humanity leave our doctors alone. Thank you for your understanding.
When will the kidnapping end
Click HERE to Read MORE
Una sorry oo
Linda will you marry me
It's hightime the government do something about kidnapping
They should not just protest but provide useful information to help d Police. Those that were kidnapped av information about d kidnappers.
freshpresh says , I like how united they are. when one eye cries, the other joins
Okay naaaaah!
Lolz, why them dey kidnap doctors na? Senseless ppl
#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE
Reason I redeployed to the United states of America. Linda take note from Odessa Texas (USA).
dat one concern dem...my own is dat dey shld call of d strike lemme continue my field work in d hospital....abi dem no want mek I graduate?.....hia
Na port Harcourt turn, this boys have no chill. They was a time they were dealing with benin doctors and same tin was done
Supported, is gettin too much joor
Ward coats not lab coats @Linda
Na wa oooo.....who come dey kidnap them.
Wildflower wuz ere
I pray so
Hmmmmmm evil every were oh God why.
They should blame mallam amechi an co this is there hand works to frustrate wike the same terrorist buhari did to frustrate Jonathan by raising boko haram.
The Government should do something about it
Laurabills88@yahoo.com
~make I go drink one bottle of beer~
Your voices must be heard.
Bera do something about it oga commissioner or else.....i rest my case for now
MZ EUEU
Hmmm it is well
My view not urs!!!!
Gov Woke shd plz act
will this protest stop the kidnappers?
They really said it that if Wike wins cultists and kidnappers will return to port-Harcourt unchecked. The reason is simple, wike being one of them has given them guns for the elections. Now elections are over he has abandoned them and they have guns, figure the rest
It is well with Nigeria o
Eyahhh...may the Lord help us all
Morning Aunty linda
Maybe be una no dey treat patients,so d relative just dey kidnap una anyhow lolz,no mind me abeg nah joke...pls fg do smtin abt it.
Wu dey kidnap doctor na.??..watin u get 4rm em na
For window blinds, wallpaper and curtain please call 08160856785.
Just Negodu... Linda inukwa
next
Eyah
What has doctors got to offer eh? Innocent doctors that don't get paid well.
I didn't type this fa' it just popped out...
Bokohari Na only God go Punish U.
this is terrible, nd something should be done about it,
Its a way out so de wont wrk 4 d day,, d kidnaping na everywia ooo
God protect una
Rapuluchukwuifenineadigommakings@yahoo.com
Direct from Delsu
Bad business
Nawa..#LindaCinfirm
God help dem, I feel their pain and fear. Linda take note!
Naija go better soon, linda post o
A nation besieged by her own people may it never be well with the wicked
Nigeria will surely be better.....Lindododo, I beg post my comment
Bad market! Una sorry
-LIB PIKIN-
Kidnappers no get sense walai.. doctors kwa? Una no see ppl to kidnap again.... Awon Odeoshi
My uncle's who's a doctor was kidnapped last week and we're still praying for his release. This madness needs to stop. It's getting out of hand.
NAIJA.....angelmakiz@yahoo.com
Huh?
You are insensitive.
Obviously because they can't kidnap their benefactors and the people who armed them.
There is nothing the govt can do when they celebrate and appoint militants into the cabinets.
They have stopped giving the police info cos the info leaks back to the kidnappers. Plus the police can obtain up to 400k from the family in the guise of "investigations".
They don't earn enough to afford escorts. That's the privilege of politicians and expatriates. Mschew
How naive this comment is. Blame game is now the substitute for good governance.
Spot on!!
They are.... They are collecting their own "ransoms" from the victims. Lol. Sad!
We pray for his speedy release unhurt. He is one of the reasons we are protesting.
Please leave doctors alone,they ain't millionaires.
#Linda'spal