Star Wars actor, John Boyega was one of the last people to see Damilola Taylor alive, says Richard Taylor | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday, 23 December 2015

Star Wars actor, John Boyega was one of the last people to see Damilola Taylor alive, says Richard Taylor

Star Wars: The Force Awakens star, John Boyega was close friends with Damilola Taylor and according to Taylor's father, Boyega was one of the last people to see his son alive. Damilola was killed just a few days to his 11th birthday by two brothers, Danny and Ricky Preddie, aged 12 and 13 at the time, in south London.

Richard Taylor disclosed this in an interview with the mirror, adding that the 23-year-old actor and his sister Grace were both close to young Damilola.

Damilola (pictured left) with John and Grace, 13 at the time (blurred, on the right) in CCTV footage taken shortly before he died

"John and Grace were looking after Damilola when he arrived in the UK, because they went to school together. The three of them were captured in the CCTV recording that the police used when they asked people to come forward to assist with the investigation.

"Grace became so close to Damilola – it was almost like boyfriend and girlfriend."

He added: "They were the last to see him. They wanted to escort him home, but he said he was going to be OK. They left him by the junction then he went around the corner and the gang were waiting for him."

Mr Taylor recently found out that John Boyega had nominated the Damilola Taylor Trust to receive a donation from the film’s launch.

"I was overwhelmed. It filled me with joy."

He said Boyega’s success makes him wonder about how his own son’s future could have unfolded.

"I thought: 'Oh wow, Damilola could have been working with him as an actor. Damilola was acting in primary school – in Christmas plays, school plays, reciting poems and all that kind of thing."

Damilola had moved to Britain from Nigeria a few months before he was stabbed in the thigh with a broken beer bottle by a gang of youths as he walked home from the local library after school.

The youngster was found bleeding to death in a stairwell near his home in Peckham, south London, where local workmen tried to save his life.

The Preddie brothers were convicted of Damilola's murder six years after it happened.

75 comments:

Good to known.

I don't know about this whole incident so I'm gone pretend like I didn't read it.

thanks linda I just got a bank alert....this is the 4th time I'm winning from ur giveaways....God bless u...long live this blog....if u have never won don't worry come 2016 u will win :)

Ehyaaa..sad sad,he was good in half of a yellow sun too.

#iT wiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT mUsT eNd iN prAise

wickedness.

aproko manager said...

Eyahhhhh

Rest in peace again.

Its well

Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com) said...

Beloved Linda Ikeji,

I got d 100k u sent via my gtb a/c dis afternoon. Thank u so much for I am really and truly grateful and my appreciation knows no bound.

May d Lord abundantly bless u/everytin dat concerns u, enlarge ur coast and see u thru frm glory2glory for positively impacting my life and those of Liber's.

Merry Xmas and happy new year in advance 2u and ur household.

Sweet kisses and hug 2u!

Eeyah....It is well

Apotieri says so via Infinix Zero 3

Enter your comment... Ok seeneth

Ambassadorial success

LANRECHUKS@YAHOO.com said...

Ok r. I. P

I love Linda @LANRECHUKS@YAHOO.com

Eeeeeeeyah! So sad! Linda take note! julie3er@gmail.com

EDWIN edDREAMZ CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...

May his soul rip....

Although, fish no dey smell, but there's something fishy.

BENJAMIN FRANKLIN said...

R.I.P TO THE DEAD

choqlatelymart said...

Wat a wasted life.....*sighs*** it is well ooo

Golda Awosika said...

Gone too soon

Ok taylor

Where is PRINCE CHARMING...linda take note

Ok taylor

Where is PRINCE CHARMING...linda take note

RIP, and that's a nice thing to do John

This boy really looked ugly as a kid

RIP dear

Such a promising kid.
May his soul rest in peace.

sad

meenah_wakil on instagram

meenah83 on snapchat

sad

meenah_wakil on instagram

meenah83 on snapchat

yaga

Anonymous Personified said...

Chai!
RIP to him.

Six years,that is a long time.. Slow justice. Seen!!

anaekwe.ucheslimj@gmail.com

Eyahh

Awww that was touching

What a loss

Hmmmmmm

It's well sir take heart

May his soul continue to rest in peace

lilly sammie said...

May his soul rest in peace

Chai disgusting

Her pussy av really warnout

R.I.P to d dead #@iam_slicky. #Tslicky

Mufliat said...

Eeya
I just imagine how people have so much gut to kill human like them

#Hajia Mufliat

Chai!!!

Welson said...

Oh nooo, I still have fresh memories of the death of Damilola Taylor who was gruesomely murdered while coming back from school in Peckham, London in 2000 Nov 27. His death hit world media just seconds after he bled to death. I was still in University, it was my final year, when one morning as usual I went to the news stand at the school library to buy my gurdian newspaper when I saw the headlines, "Damilola Tylor, a Nigerian young star stabbed to death while going home after school" Since then I have always followed the media on his death due to the manner he was murdered. At the time the police couldn't ascertain the killers of Dami........However, after 6 years of lengthy trials and so many arrests, the Preddie brothers (Danny and Ricky) were sentenced to 8 years in Prison. Well, even though the sentence was a light one, at least the family of Damilola got justice............RIP Damilola

Welson said...

Oh nooo, I still have fresh memories of the death of Damilola Taylor who was gruesomely murdered while coming back from school in Peckham, London in 2000 Nov 27. His death hit world media just seconds after he bled to death. I was still in University, it was my final year, when one morning as usual I went to the news stand at the school library to buy my gurdian newspaper when I saw the headlines, "Damilola Tylor, a Nigerian young star stabbed to death while going home after school" Since then I have always followed the media on his death due to the manner he was murdered. At the time the police couldn't ascertain the killers of Dami........However, after 6 years of lengthy trials and so many arrests, the Preddie brothers (Danny and Ricky) were sentenced to 8 years in Prison. Well, even though the sentence was a light one, at least the family of Damilola got justice............RIP Damilola

He would have become a star too..The gang members deserve death too...Oh God..Linda much love

Ds soo pathetic,@folake0100@gmail.com

CHINELO!!!nellyjustnelo@gmail.com said...

Now my eyes are getting wet...RIP to him

I was stabbed in high school in the UK in the 90s, this was before Damilola's stabbing, and it was before it became endemic in the British youth culture.

Often, when I hear another kid has been stabbed, it feels as though I relive my incidence again and again.

It is a right of passage for the young impressionable children who have nothing, no family, no hopes or aspirations, to steal the life force away from those who have promise and potential, written in their.

Everyday, when I look at my scars, I thank God for life. I pray for the families of those who lost their children, and I try not to hurt when I think about my family not realising that it was by design, that I survived, when chips were set. so as to facilitate the taking of my life as a blood offering.

Damilola, and all those other victims of stabbings, my heart goes out to you and all those you left behind.

Rest in perfect peace.

sad

babybanker said...

Enter your comment...rip

Uzosafetyblog said...

RIP young Taylor. #IRepLIB

NBM and VK

It is well, keep resting in the bosom of your Creator DamilolaTaylor.

Where is Prince Charming?! This is an old connoisseur of LIB talking. No be all these JJC wannabes wey dey feel say na dem get Linda.

Hi Linda,

Just got my alert. Thanks so much, God bless You big time. As you have been putting smiles on the face of Nigerians, may you never know sorry in your life. I pray God grants you your heart desires. May evil never know your dwelling place Amen🙏🏽Thanks once again.

Are you mad? That kid was Damilola Taylor who got killed at 10 years. Read well before you comment fool

Sir benkord said...

Eeyah RIP Dammi.

Oooh! This Damilola story gave me one of my biggest goosebumps I've ever had. Especially due to the fact that around that period there were plans in the pipe to go school in the Uk even though it never worked out finally. I vividly remember the day I read the news on vanguard. Felt so sad as I had always assumed Europe was heaven and totally crime free. May his soul keep resting in the bosom of the Almighty creator.

Owkai

Enter your comment...eyaa so sad. Guinness malt all d way

Aaronwest said...

ehyahh sad story first time commenting on Linda ikeji blog pls welcome me.

Enter your comment...So sad..God bless d dead..proudly 9ja

RIP Dammi

RIP Dammi

RIP Dammi

RIP Dammi

Olatee said...

Dis World is fast approaching its end.....jst my tot

Okay seen

Enter your comment... May his Young soul Rest In Peace

Aww... Damilola was my close friend, and my classmate in primary school. He was friendly nd nice. Keep resting bro

Keep on resting in the Lord's bosom....

jessy said...

Rip Damilola.

Bros share the money na!