French journalist in China 'must apologise or leave' | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 26 December 2015

French journalist in China 'must apologise or leave'

China has refused to renew the press credentials of a French journalist, effectively expelling her, unless she recants one of her stories, the reporter told AFP Friday, the first such case since 2012.

Ursula Gauthier, a Beijing-based correspondent for French news magazine L'Obs, must issue a public apology for an article she wrote last month or China's foreign ministry will not renew her press credentials, set to expire on December 31, officials told Gauthier on Christmas Day.

"They confirmed that if I did not make a public apology on all the points that had 'hurt the Chinese people' ... my press card would not be renewed and I would have to leave on December 31," she told AFP.
Gauthier would be the first foreign correspondent in China to be expelled since the 2012 expulsion of Melissa Chan, correspondent for the English-language service of Al Jazeera.

While the domestic media is subject to strict control and many topics are taboo, the foreign media is free to publish on any topic. However, foreign journalists frequently complain of harassment by the authorities while conducting routine reporting.

Her article in L'Obs triggered condemnation from Beijing and a virulent campaign in the state-run Global Times and China Daily, as well as thousands of often violent and abusive comments from Chinese Internet users. Her photo was published online.

Entitled "After the attacks (on Paris), Chinese solidarity is not without ulterior motives", her essay spoke of China's anti-terrorism policies in the country's western region of Xinjiang, homeland of the Muslim Uighur ethnic minority -- many of whom complain of discrimination and controls on their culture and religion.

Chinese authorities said they believed Gauthier's article offered justification for violence in the region that the government labels as "terrorism".
"The article criticised China's counter-terrorism efforts, and denigrated and slandered Chinese policies. It provoked the strong indignation of the Chinese public," Hua Chunying, a foreign ministry spokesperson, said at a regular press briefing in early December.
Beijing considers condemnation of attacks in Xinjiang by foreign governments and the international press as weak, and has slammed Western countries for applying "double standards" on terrorism in the wake of the attacks in Paris.

Source: AFP

46 comments:

Chris J said...

either

Entertain naija recently posted... What Tuface Idibia Was Spotted Doing During Calabar Carnival

Join our BBM channel on C004A9BB7 for breaking entertainment gists

I just love this country called China. No sentiments.

I AM SELFMADE said...

ok oo

She should apologize if she wants to stay #LIBBOO

Hmmmmmmm

#iT wiLL oNLy geT beTTer
#iT mUsT eNd iN prAise

Boring abeg.

Sugarvie said...

I thought there is freedom of speech.... Oh!, owkay its freedom after speech that is not guaranteed. I almost forgot lol..

#sucre

wiz kamal said...

Make her apologise shikenam

Make she apologise nah,abi she 1td 2 go against d law of d land ni

It's their country, do what they want, especially cos world powers can't afford to turn against china!

Hmmmm. That is serious o. Make she apologise, the world now knows she wants heard.

~FromOutOfThisWorld~

On No, bit why???

JayMan OJV said...

all right...happy boxing day to everyone on LIB

Ngwa Nne apologize to chinese Government ka udo chia

Na dem sabi
Can LIBers see me at all? Am I invisible?

Gbege... then go ahead n do so

tosisochukwu said...

Yes!

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

Visit www.punchloaded.blogspot.com

If she desires to continue working in that country, she needs to tender an apology. Its not such a difficult thing to do.

Better do as they say....
#sips Orijin#

Na only her waka go na

OKORO UPGRADED

Profiteer said...

Eayaa.its there no democracy?(Obama's eye)

Journalism can never be truly free from oppression & most of these journalist ideas are shaped by their prejudices and policies of their media houses

Next

#lina give me 1bottle#

have no ideal

high~on~zero~coke

His eminence said...

Freedom of speech should be universally accepted,na me talk am.

It's her choice tho
#needanalibitojoinmetastethenewgeishasardine

Lol.
The Chinks though.

the Chinese pipo and their way of doing things is weird... they r quite different

Lee said...

Seen... #Am Don jazzy's wife!!

What are u now waiting for....mtchew!

~make I go take one bottle of star beer~

lilly sammie said...

issokey

fresh presh said...

Their palaver

Okogba said...

Oya do the needful or you take the next flight..choose one

debutante aka who anonymous don help said...

aunty thanks for keeping us informed

Enter your comment...their matter

AliBaba DeKingMaker said...

1. If what she said or wrote was offensive or wrong, she should go on to apologize 2. Otherwise, let her fight it out with China 3. #MYOPINION#

Science Student said...

Ladies can form sha, A girl at a bus top spotted a handsome Man, See what happened

China with their strict policies....Let her not apologies...Linda Much Love/Linda take care

Things they face bcux of their profession...
"NeVeR SaY NeVeR"

Make. Em apologise nah.....munachiphilips@gmail.com

Enter your comment...politricks

LANRECHUKS@YAHOO.com said...

I love Linda LANRECHUKS@YAHOO.com

Justhealth said...

China and their strict laws.

China! China!! China!!! When ll you stop dis arrant madness....this is share inhumane treatment.....21st century is wat this period is called....you cant keep controlling ppl lives likes...haba mana.....

I hope she knows where she is, she better apologize before they will bundle her up ship tp France. Dont joke with the Chinese