The suspect, who claimed to be a farmer and an apprentice in Onitsha, said she was on her way to hand over the baby to the buyer at Cele Bus Stop, along the Oshodi/Apapa Express-way, when she was arrested.
It was gathered that the baby was stolen from his biological mother, who ran away from home when she found out she was pregnant.
Trouble started for the suspect after the driver of the vehicle she chartered from Asaba, Delta State, became suspicious when he observed that even though the baby cried uncontrollably throughout the 6 hour journey to Lagos, the suspect never breastfed the baby. When he asked her about his observation, she gave some unsatisfactory explanation, the driver who didn't believe her explanation, was said to have stopped at Oshodi, where he alerted some policemen who proceeded to interrogate Obi. It was during that process that they discovered that the baby was not hers.
She claimed that the baby was given to her by her boss, whose identity she gave simply as Ngozi.
She said:
“I was in the shop located at 2 Ourline Street, Onitsha Main Market on Tuesday, when my madam, who I sell clothes for, came and ordered me to go and change into something better, that I was to embark on a journey to Lagos.
“Thereafter, she handed the baby to me and gave me a food flask and baby milk. She only gave me the telephone number of the woman I was to hand the baby over to. The woman in question is barren. I was to meet with her at Cele Bus Stop. The would-be buyer was arrested.”It was reported that the would-be buyer had two female children, but opted to adopt a male child due to pressure from her husband who threatened to marry another woman.
When asked if her Husband was aware of her intentions, she said:
She said: “I got married aged 16 years to Polycap Eze, who had no child from his wife. I was brought in to bear children for them. After the birth of my fourth child, he drove me out of the house, saying I have fulfilled the purpose for which he married me.
“I moved in with one of my relatives who later introduced me to my madam.”Speaking on her arrest, Lagos State Commissioner of Police, Fatai Owoseni said:
“She claimed at first that her lover abandoned her with the baby. Later, she confessed that her aunt was a co-suspect. Two other persons, who have connection with the sale of the one-week-old baby, were also arrested.
“We have kept the baby in proper custody through the Family Support Unit. Further investigation into the case has taken us to the eastern part of the country where the principal suspect lives.
“But she fled on hearing that we have arrested Nkechi Obi. We will ensure that everyone behind this case is arrested.”

57 comments:
goood Lesbianism scandal hits Kogi university, sex video goes viral (Download)
Something is wrong with all these igbo women selling babies
I hope dey catch everyone involved, what wickedness! Linda take note!
Nwa ooooo
Good for her....ThankGod for the driver
Also Check www.vabadon.com
Wickedness of the highest order, wats this country turning into
Umu idiots a ana echuyali mmadu afa..
May God bless that driver that foiled her plan.
Security is everyone's business, that baby would have gone if not for the driver.
These picture though, is she praying or asking for forgiveness... why didn't she sell one out of her four children!. The world we live in is no longer safe at all.
for football fans log onto myaccurateprediction.blogspot.com for ur predictions and sport gist
Na wa o!
Evuls...
Poverty is a sin!
Hmmmmmm... D desperation of man dese days, I'm sure, surprises even d devil. God help us all
Hmm
It is better to sell a baby to a barren woman dan abadon the baby in a nylon on d road. #justsayn#
Ori nwa kwa?Chineke bukwa ha onu!This is what buhari's administration has coursed,hunger every where.Buhari tuaaa...Akpa rice #12,000.Oriegwu!
*Linda's best friend*
Poor baby, nwa m Chi gi di ndu.
This baby sales, is becoming a trend in Nigeria
See her evil face
See her face like Nkechi Obi... Ajorrr nwa.. You're a disgrace to ndi Igbo.
Hmmmmmm
What money can lead sum1 2 do
Thank God she was apprehended
Let dis serve as a deterrent 2 her likes
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#
Hang Her.
The evil men do live with them. Upon all this things bad thing will still be happening.
#Dakinzz
What about d biological mom? Where did she keep her baby b4 he was stolen ? The kind tins dat happen dis days... 10yrz from now poeple will start sleeping with their own blood witout knowing it... Chineke mere anyi Ebere
sad
THIS IS SHAMEFUL AND MUST NOT BE ALLOWED TO CONTINUE. HUMAN BEING CANNOT BE A COMMODITY AND ANY BARREN WOMAN SHOULD USE THE LEGAL MEANS TO ADOPT - IT'S CALLED ADOPTION NOT SELLING OR BUYING BABIES. THE ANAMBRA GOVT MUST STEP IN NOW BEFORE THIS NONSENSE GETS OUT OF HAND. I AM IGBO AND THIS DOES NOT REPRESENT US AT ALL.
Indeed dis is super story...
Biko they should b punished accordingly so dat dis wil serve as deterrent to others.
Wonders shall never end
Many thanks to d driver
Thank God for rescuing this baby. Wonder what the mother has been passing thru ever since the baby's disappearance.
Evil people every where. Pray they rot in jail.
God save us from people like this.
Hmm
Atlist she is not killing anybody.....
Na wa o! Things we read everyday. Thank God their plans didn't pull through. And I like the fact that Nigerians are becoming more conscious about happennings in their surroundings. If not for the driver, she probably would have succeeded with her evil plans.
Stinking Igbo fool!! I am Igbo and would not stand for this constant degradation of my tribe in the name of quick money! WTF is wrong with my people?!
Some people have no conscience at all.Do they even think of the traumatizing experience the baby's mother would go through.Some people are just mean.
Some people are so wicked. May God continue to protect us and our kids. Amen
Ka ndia bidozie kpowa anyi baby factory again.
Let me just hide and read comments
Good for her !
But who are the foolish and wicked people buying babies,can't they adopt tru the right channel
For God sake when will they stop this babaric act. God ve mercy.
Evil people everywhere u go, u have four children, and u wants to sell someone's else , Kai, I can't deal Biko
Thanks to the driver. I can't understand the reason behind selling a baby at such a tender age. Its wicked and they should be dealt with.
Hmm! So is this what you Biafrans will be busy doing when u break off? Selling each others baby??? Well Mazel tov
Awwww,,,,al bcox of money,,,,,
***odikwa risky nd tyt***
Igbos and male child wahala. It's high time ppl should know that God gives children and accept that. All those involved in this crime should face their punishment ASAP.
God bless the taxi driver for being pro-active.
Sad.
Viciously mundane acts people put up these days just to make money that wouldn't last them fro a week or two before the go on to commit other atrocities. Indeed the days we are in are the last ones.
I'm not a ROBO.
thank God she was arrested, wicked woman. straight to jail.
Hmmmmmm... Very smart and observant driver. Can u imagine???
Wonders Shall Nave End! http://www.bummyla.com
Always ibo
Barbaric, shameless dirty tribe. Baby sellers, baby rapers, baby kidnappers. Igbo kwenu
Lmao
You're stupid, did you not read that the baby was stolen, mumu, it's your type that buys children when there are legal and far cheaper and saner methods of adoption, go to motherless babies homes they abound and adoption takes place legally there not stealing someone else's baby, mumu.
What a wicked world my God help us and forgive them.