Nigerian lawmakers need psychological evaluation- Etcetera | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 14 November 2015

Nigerian lawmakers need psychological evaluation- Etcetera

As written by Etcetera:
One of the identified problems of investigative hearings and oversight of the executive arm is the multiplicity of committees with overlapping jurisdiction on the same subject matter. This has led to a situation where more than one committee is handling the same subject matter. Invitations are sent to the same officials of government by different committees on the same subject,” says Yakubu Dogara, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, while presenting the 8th House legislative agenda.

Dogara has reversed this statement and has gone ahead to increase the committees in the House of Rep from 84 to 95.
In other words, the Dogara- led House has told Nigerians that their clamour for the government to curb corruption and slash the cost of governance will continue to be a pipe dream. And they are also letting us know in very clear terms that as far as the overpaid national assembly members are concerned, it is all about sharing the booty.

This is coming as several ranking lawmakers of the 360-strong member chamber intensify lobbying for the headship of “Grade A” committees or what are otherwise considered “plum” committees.

Increasing the number of committees from 84 to 95, the House now has a rise in total allocation to the various committees.
Does it really make any sense splitting the committee on education into three – primary, secondary and tertiary education- and that on agriculture divided into two – mechanised and rudimentary agriculture?

I think this is simply the speaker compensating his supporters at the expense of the nation.

One question we should ask Mr Dogara is if it is not the same House of Representatives that had 20 committees under former Speaker, Umar Ghali Na’abba in 1999.

The United States is bigger than Nigeria in size and population and has a larger House of Representatives with 435 members, and it currently has 21 congressional committees, 20 of which are standing committees and one select committee.

Increasing the number of House Committees from 84 to 95 in the face of a dwindling revenue and their talks about ‘the need to cut cost of governance’ is hypocrisy of the highest order. The sad thing is that these guys are not doing anything for us. How it is that no member of the National Assembly has been recalled by his constituency beats me. What can 95 committees do that 20 can’t? How many members constitute a committee? Are we going to have one person in several committees?
Well, I guess yes, and no wonder they have been scrambling for “plum committees”. Plum? Isn’t that a word for milking the treasury? Are we supposed to have anything ‘plum’ in the House? With the amount of committees, then every member will definitely be a chairman of one committee or the other.
The entire business of legislation should be made a part-time thing and members paid only for the times they actually sit and engage in legislative business. This will save cost of running the National Assembly and make sense in the noise about reducing the cost of governance.

Meanwhile, another troubling story in the news is that of the Taraba State governor approving the appointment of 50 special advisers and 62 senior special assistants, totalling 112 aides, who shall be advising him in the Government House. How difficult is governing a state like Taraba that the governors need 112 advisers?
We must stop our so-called politicians from this madness. If a governor needs 112 advisers to run his government, why electing him at all? We need to be conducting psychological tests on our political office seekers.

They have fashioned another way to milk the nation. This is corruption at another level, if they cannot cut down the cost of running the government in a dire time like this, then they should stop singing about fighting corruption because they are even more corrupt than the people they accuse of corruption.

135 comments:

Talk talk,I no fit read dis abeg #toolong make I go do my saturday #cleanup...

Hmmmmm.....ok

Kayode Odusanya said...

ETC has come again. He made some sense in this one sha. But most of his articles are 80% hate, and 20% sense.

Checkout Latest Naija Celebrity Pics Here

Etcetera my man... U gun be fela of our time just that no one is gun lock u up. Speak ma broda I De hear u

After u go and give it to dem.......

AQO said...

I b wan talk say e don tay wey we hear from u Oga. Lol, welcome.

I prefer he faces entertaiment than politics i swear....

Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com) said...

Oh!

Not again!
Of course everyone needs it even d writer of dis article including me bcos of all dis economy conditions wil go thru.

It wil surely go a long way...

Quite interesting.

I miss u oooo...where av u been nah?....

Chiisunshine(carolips) said...

You talk too much this guy

emiika said...

Check out this hotel nevadahotelsandsuites
... experience true comfort

Ngozin said...

Well said !! This Dogara seems to like courting controversy I see his speakership set on a destructive path #legacies # integrity # vision the Fashola school of thought!!

Atel said...

No truer words were ever spoken..d madness of our so called leaders is heartbreaking

No light,No jobs,poverty,education is shameful,roads pathetic, no healthcare,no security, corruption...and they are talking about porn on social media!! Oghene bikor oo!!

truth.... but myopic APC supporter will disagree...

On point 👉

lami said...

For I agree with him , our so called leaders are all self serving people with no feelings for the people they govern.

I'm in the same ship with ETC today.What these law makers are doing goes contrary to the slogan of the president of change through cutting down of cost, reduction of duplicated offices & unnecessary extravagance.
The head cannot function well if its body members are doing things that negates what the head believes in.Buhari need to stamp his authority as the C in C & call these boys to order .Of course I know its a herculean judging from the kinda politics we practice in Africa.But he can at least try.Else all his lofty ideas,dreams & a beautiful Nigeria will go down river Niger & Nigerians will adjudge him a liar.Its difficult especially with critics,opposition & stubborn state executive s and lawmakers but he can really show the way by having the public on his side.

How will u read..Iti mpataka

Young man,u don't need to insult our leaders to contribute to issues. U feel things can be done better,fine . It's 4 our tomorrow n we'll all benefit from good ideas but all same,we need no Trump (who is abusing Americans to get to d white house,lets see hw far he goes) here in Nigeria. Let's respect d office dey occupy if not dem. Remember,by his grace, we shall equally occupy da office some day n I feel we can all contribute. Guy, abeg o, Nigeria is all I have o, no green card. SB FADA

It's a very big problem we've found ourselves, first I am against the bicameral legislature we practice, I am for unicameral legislature.
that aside, the 8th assembly continue to prove that it will end up the worst in the history of Nieria.
seems the CHANGE mantra has failed to find a home among them, they have done little but earned so much.
The solution to this mess, is for citizens to activate the power of recalling erring legislators, that way they will be forced to do better.

He needs a soiled diaper deep inside his mouth! Ecetera ko excreta!

Intresting

***odikwa risky nd tyt***

Dis guy again

Most times, Etc had given me reasons to wonder what ever made him delve into music in the first place. I think he just discovered who he really should be because all he said here is nothing but the whole truth. They keep trying to fool Nigerians when actually they are fooling themselves. Nigerians are no longer asleep as majority are now abreast of the political situation of this nation. You just can't keep on pretending you want to slash the cost of governance when you are actually planing to increase it to the detriment of the suffering masses who are the majority in this country thereby aiding the widening of the gap between the extremely rich and the staggeringly poor. Imagine average Taraba State that is currently among the most poor States in Nigeria employing 112 advisers. To what end? And Dog ara, I thought he was a profound Christian? Why showing all these signs of favoritism by creating as many committees to fill in his sponsors? Everyone is fighting for his belly and not for that of the future of this great Nation which is evidently on the brink of collapse. I tire oh. things like this are the factors encouraging and fanning the embers of discord across the land. This and numerous other mistakes we've made in the past and continue to repeat currently are not unconnected to the wave of protests by IPOB members.

Too long, I've got no time for this shit.

Linda na u dey publish dis article for free if say d guy dey pay for advert I'm soooooo sure we no go hear pim from him mouth, but is it by force 2 talk rubbish?HHiaaa w concern me sef

Himself wey dey talk wetin he nred??? Linda take note!

Mak dis guy go sit down4 1 syd joooo

Dis etc guy is cute o fine boy sometimes talking rubbish

See his cute face sweet boy

That vuvuzela P guy

This guy always makes lots of sense. Ride on bro!

Mak sense...it is a gud idea, all of dem should consult a psychologist 4 help.

I might hold little regards for the writer of this article. bt this is tge undiluted. truth and we can do nothing against the truth. the house of assambly is a den of hungry power thirsty men . the taraba state gov is prolly very dumb. Even obama does not use 112 advisers???? we run a gov void of common sense.

I support Etc on this one.
But that taraba state governor you're talking about is not the governor anymore

LRH

For all your quality and affordable female wears, accessories, handbags and footwear,kindly add us on bbm pin: 2bb40d42, we deliver at ur doorstep thank you.

Ectera maybe if you put this much thought and words into your music you would make it

iphy said...

Na long story be Dis I can't read stuff lyk dis....

na true say the guy dey talk to much, but this time him make plenty sense.

Why do we have these nit~wits commenting here on serious national issues? This guy has raised very important governance issues & I think those who lack the mental capacity to engage should back off. Please wait until the kind of articles that you can understand are written. Don't clog the space here.

Books said...

Idiot! So d attachment on your head has deluded u to d extent dat u fail to realize dat ur future is at stake due to d madness of these men in government?

Great article. We the citizens are too docile, the politicians know this so things will always remain the same

Books said...

D youths in this country are completely hopeless indeed! Reading through the comments on dis article mks me weep in my heart. Are d Nigerian youths under some sort of spell or wat? Hate d messenger all u want. Bt he raised sum good points dat shouldn't be ignored in dis article. Instead all I see here are sarcastic comments.... Smh

It is well with Nigeria

Read ke???! What's really wrong with this guy called Etcetera sef?
Haba, e don turn to Ben Bruce, FFK and Ayo Fayose. Na so e dey take start.
Irrelevant talk, wannabe.
EWU
Mtcheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeew

moonshine carolips,..odibe blessing,..ed dreams,..and mr kayode,..did u guys read this article at all,..next time before u respond to anything read it plss,..i believe u guys are Nigerians,..and the article he wrote concerns u and i,..if there is no cause for alarm in our national assembly he would not be taking his precious time writing to educate us,..

Kip telling dem
Am sure dey read it here
Bunch of lunatics leading sane people
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

I concur with you etc for the first time, he made a reasonable point where he highlighted the fact that a govrnr having over 100 aides #gosh, truth be told why elect him in the first place. Good one

And the fools here wouldn't know how serious this is, cuz all they wanna hear are gossip stories .. Nice one bro, but thats if only our politicians are creatures with human feelings.

Grateful heart said...

I feel that this article made a lot of sense, I don't see it as "talking too much."

Grateful heart said...

Good write up.

Blessing Odigbe ignorance must be bliss for you. Silly, silly goat.

aproko manager said...

Attention seeker

You are another silly goat like Blessing, Chiidsunshine.

The amount of very silly goats in our country is amazing. The HOR members are just elected silly goats. Any body who knows one and does not tell them to be responsible. May you partake of the abundance of misery that will befall them. Remember money will not stop death.

True talk etcetera. You nailed it as always

Check profile for more info.

Order for your beautiful bedspreads @ 5671CDBE. Delivery available nationwide.

BECKYS WORLD EVENTS /NAIJA BAKERS BLOG said...

He talks too much? Wow, I feel sad about my generation. Its a pity. How do we move from this state when we d young ones can't read an article this short and show solidarity to an issue that is affecting us collectively in a negative way.
I hope my gen sees the lite b4 it's to late.

@ODIBE BLESSING You must be a fool to say that...Your likes are why politicians call the masses MUMU and use MUMU button to control many....A minute reading is what you cant read ???...And the ones you were able to read but yet cant comprehend....I THINK YOU TOO NEED PHYCHOLOGICAL EVALUATION.....

SAY THE TRUTH said...

@KAYODE, Your thinking and belief is why the youths are yet to be leaders of tomorrow...Cant you read the message and not the sender...Besides the poster has been saying the truth...Whats hateful about telling people the truth...This country sucks with the type of mentality our young ones portends...

Very good food for thought... and action if you are in the position

Prepare This Pepper Soup and Never Fear Cancer or any Tumors!

SAY THE TRUTH said...

@ed DREAMZ...So he shouldnt say the truth and leave the politicians to suck the country dry ???....I wonder how some of reason atimes....is it bcoz of poor home training or that our sense of reasoning is gone ?? Is he not a Nigerian to expose wrong ??? may God have mercy on us

If u dnt c any sense In wat he wrote den u must b d dullest bitch of all time. Just stay der n b bleaching.

SAY THE TRUTH said...

Meaning what ?? Cant you read what the guy posted and see good meaning in it...Abina only how Kimkardasan take fuck her husband or how Amber rose take dey hook up men you can assimmilate ???
This is why our country jas been backwards...Most of our so called young ones and even the elderly reason abnormal...May God help us

He made lot of sense in this article....linda I have spoken!

Lie

SAY THE TRUTH said...

.ETCETERA may God bless you for always coming out without fear to say the truth....Dont be deterred by name calling...God will bindicate the just and posterity will judge us all....HE OR SHE WHO COMES HERE TO SAY YOUR POST IS TRASH, MAY HE OR SHE CONTINUE TO SUFFER FROM THE ACTIONS OFTHE LAWMAKERS EVEN WHEN THINGS WILL BE OK...

U read too much

Uthman Saheed said...

I guess by now majority of Nigerians are tired of stories. If he like, for 360 community where every honorable chair one. We just need to be relieved. Until the changes touches the life of an ordinary Nigerian on the street, no change has occur in government.
You Must Quit Your Job Now

The most difficult thing is knowing you have just quit your job when you are not supposed to. sticking to a job you are not suppose to for a long time is also deadly. Read from here http://bit.ly/1WQpSy5 the right time to quit that stressful job of yours.

His opinion. Tbt, I dint evn read it

He talks sense.....jor

Ibrahim Bio Abubakar said...

They sell the type of weed this guy smokes in my area.

He is the real deal

Speak the truth bro. We listen...I hope they listen too.

WHICH ONE YOU DEY SEF, U WON MAKE WE VOTE U FOR PRESIDENCY? HUH?

AUNTY LINDA....

Abeg etc abi na wetin b ur name....if u no get work....go dey fetch water dey sell nah....as water no dey ma area 4 lere now...u go sell well well....mtcheeeew.#talkative

Small sense de dia

True talk.

True talk.

Shut up jhoor

nekkyville said...

He talks too much cox u avnt read wat was written madam. He's simply stating the obvious!!!

Delicious Delicacies said...

Get fantastic discounts this season on souvenirs,hampers,Events planning,catering services at Delicious Delicacies Silicon valley Estate,Lekki. Mobile no: 09051378085

Goziem Oh LORD said...

You are on point on this one bro.

A governor that has 112 advisers must surely be a block head.Which way Nigeria

Mrs telema ronaldo(CR7 wife in making) said...

Parrot

Mrs telema ronaldo(CR7 wife in making) said...

Linda pls wats happening,you are beginning to get boring.....pls buckle up

Darl said...

Just like your song, your "on a last bus to nowhere", good brains in da wrong head.

illegal said...

99% sense in this.

Lol this guy and Senator Ben need to take it easy on these politicians
Fashion Hub With Tosyne

This dude ehn

Mr Obot said...

Signup for a publisher account on illash Network and get a WEBSITE that you can update contents about you, your business/organization, your church/fellowship, events and activities around you, and so on... (e.g me.illash.net, paul.illash.net, ritasworld.illash.net)

>>>Follow this link to get started www.illash.net/user/register

great said...

Preach it

great said...

Preach it

Facts, ignorant people here will not even read it at all before raining abuse on u, some can't even read, but will be first to insult u, cows everywhere, even when the truth is staring them on the face, they still can't differentiate the wrong from the right. Ndi nzuzu

Are you a Working class busy wife, Bachelor, Student too busy to cook but love delicious Home made meals such as Okazi/Afang, Ogbono, Egusi, Bitterleaf, Jollof rice, Fried Rice, Stew etc pls call: 07053133504 (within Lagos) PS We also make your meals for you in the comfort of your home.

Wilhemina is a guy or a transgender.

G said...

Only sensible people really comprehend your write ups. Keep it up

We are all affected by the political decisions of the territorry in which we live whether such decisions make or don't make sense. Hence, for all those short-sighted persons who feel Etcetera ought to focus on just entertainment and stay out of political commentaries, you need a rethink. Matter of fact, in a budding democracy such as Naija's, every citizen has the right to voice their opinion free of coersion, yet, very few exert their rights, and is, part of the reason, Naija's elected officials keep taking the electorate for granted. Now, Etcetera is adding to a healthy discourse by voicing his mind on pertinent matters that affect him, his community and even unborn children. Let all those who have ears to hear and "inner" eyes to see applaud this young man for having the balls to speak thruth to power. #goodcausetospeakup

Did u take ur time to read it?Nigerians have the laziest minds its sad...

Ophacy said...

How some people accuse this guy of talking too much makes me wonder. All he wrote here is 100% correct. The youth should start making these guys sit up and start doing what they promised during their campaign.

martin said...

Everybody is entilted to their opinion

On point

He is so correct.... all these politicians are looting Nigeria on a minutely basis........it's not as if they are doing anything concrete except watch p..n and say lie to the masses

Sugarvie said...

You really should have read it cos it makes a lot of sense, If na celebrity talk now.... Heheheh

Sugarvie said...

Honestly, this guy is spilling some real sense here..... Just tired of these leaders for real.

#sucre

Sugarvie said...

Honestly, this guy is spilling some real sense here..... Just tired of these leaders for real.

#sucre

Mcheeww

Notice me. ..u just want buhari to hear u, hope u know that baba no dey send u

D youths are the problem we have in this nation... Only if 'they' will engage their brains 4 five mins *sigh* some 1 has raised salient points for deliberation and implementation yet d ignorant lot will still refuse to read but will b so quick to cast aspersions based on a previously held notion about him. Brethren, y'all need to read, learn n grow... life is 2 short to b folly *dropsmic,walksaway*

Nice one.Well said.

Hmmn I agree with you. I only wish these law makers will read this piece and maybe just maybe they will repent....#AnonymousIgbogal

They want to cub corruption ,they just don't know how,remeber this are HAUSA.They have a twisted way of education ,the british fuck them UP.Even Buhari can't spell BUHARI.

Thank you,this article makes a lot of sense but can't read it all. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

If only you read what he is talking about and understand,you dummy

The youths r the major problem we have in this country... this guy has raised salient points for deliberation and implementation but d ignorant lot will not take time to read rather, dey 'll cast aspersions based on their previously held notion 'bout him... such a shame *sigh* Brethren, Please read, learn and grow n be saved from such folly u exhibit here *dropsmic,walksaway

Even this nitwit is talk... Robot

And you think ur opinion counts ba??? Please get busy wth ur life's issues biko

D day God will decide to bless u, may He not cause it to b encrypted inside a book bcos u wudnt even be able 2 read in btw d lines to get saved... odénson

Anderson FOX said...

Odibe blessing. Am more ashamed than the devil for this idiotic thing you just posted. Oh our education has suffered.
You are calling this too long? And you are the first to comment.
Oh no!

Anderson FOX said...

And leave telling the truth? Are u serious?

Dis write up is really insightful and...

I apr8 every msg thereof in dis write up and makes a lot of sense devoid of irrelevance.

Thumbs up and more power 2d elbows of d writer. Nice one frm him.

Lmaooooo!!!!u ppl won't kill me ooo,is it by force to read sometin ni....

Kojevspin D Realist said...

It is not by force to read but ur comment shows ur stupidity. A very thought provoking write up dat all shld align wt bc of its topical nature n u malign it. It is sad to read d comments on LIB most times bc it shows our nation is in danger. So sad

Wetin pson no go see 4 this country.....if som1 decided 2 talk pple wil stil say he/she is seeking 4 attention even dduh the pson is talking sense.....som1 just included Bruce....the man alws talk 4 the people wat attention is he seeking dt dude got a lot of money 2 get himself any attention he wants.....pple sef many of ya dint read this powerful article this young took time 2 write.....tufiakwa 4 pple sef

Aniita who ts the shutup 4? Kayode or say the truth?

Som pple need 2 be showing their birth. Certificate b4 commenting.....@dreamz ur comment is so amateur

Sunshine be shining stupid comments

This Blessing sef na AFO Nsi. Olodo