Girl's allergy to water is so extreme even a tear rolling down her cheek leaves her in agony | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 8 November 2015

Girl's allergy to water is so extreme even a tear rolling down her cheek leaves her in agony

17 year old Niah Selway is in pain every day, yet she dare not cry. She is so allergic to water that even her own tears make her skin erupt in excruciating hives.
She is one of only 35 people in the world to suffer from aquagenic urticarial.
Niah said:
“Living with it is a nightmare. When water comes into contact with my skin it feels like it’s burning. I’m in a lot of pain and there’s nothing anyone can do.”
The distressing symptoms began when she was five but no one could work out the cause.
So, just like her pals, she went swimming, would get caught in rain and splashed in puddles, never suspecting it was the water that triggered her painful rash.

But as she got older Niah decided to investigate online. She said:
“I found a few stories. One was a girl in America who suffers from the same thing and I was like, ‘Wow, finally I’ve found a name for it’.”
A dermatologist diagnosed aquagenic urticaria but there is no cure.
Niah, who can drink water pain-free, explained: “I’m trying different strengths of antihistamine to see if they can help the level of my reaction but they won’t ever stop it.”
So the plucky business student from Hastings, East Sussex, accepts she must live with her discomfort.
When she showers, Niah has to time her soak just right to make it as pain-free as possible. “I can be in there for five minutes before it starts happening,” she said.
“But if I were to get out straight away it would get worse so I have to stay in the shower until it stops.
"Even though water makes me have the reaction it’s the water that soothes it as well. I can never tell how long I’ll be in the shower because it depends on the level of my reaction.
“When I take off make-up with baby wipes and use toner and moisturiser it really stings. My face burns for up to half-an-hour but I have to do it.”
Boyfriend Hussain hates to see Niah suffer. She said: “It’s really horrible for him because I just need to be left alone.”
And the cruel allergy means that if it all gets too much, just one tear makes the pain even worse.
Niah sighed: “It will start to sting and feel really sore and difficult to touch.”

UK Mirror

82 comments:

Daintelectual said...

Jesus christ!

Notin one won't hear in dis life
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Ehhhyyyaaa sorry dear,only God can deliver u 4rm it.

Never heard of this shit! She needs a miracle cux this is a nightmare

Dats rily sad... we'll never value wat we have till we see things lyk dis.

Ehen! Wettin person no go hear

Hmm

mi o gborueh rii...fine girl like this...nkan beh..

Sweat nko???

Sorry*

Na wa ooooo oyinbo and der palava and dey say water is life...to yhu its death...sorry o

Haba

Oh so sorry for her....mine is serious itching after I take my bath, may God prefer d right solutions to our problems, it is well wit our souls

seeker! said...

Quite a rear condition.

I have similar allergies too,mine is aquagenic pruritis....most scorpio have this disease, but mixing sodium bicarbonate with water before bath helps a lot...seba med soap helps too.
Those that have this disease should share their experience too..

Eeeeeeeyah! People are really suffering. Linda take note

Eeeeeeeyah! People are really suffering. Linda take note!

Eeeeeeeyah! People are really suffering. Linda take note

God can take care of it, sometimes you people don't believe God is alive. But I believe God will make possible for you. Just visit SCOAN EMMANUEL TV even online. You will see a case that is bigger than your own has been cure. God bless you

Finestboi said...

OMG! Kinda girl

DOWNLOAD: Davido ft. Olamide – The Money

Ndo Nne

Hian! Oriegwu!

This rear health conditions is very strange. My dear sister Niah Selwayur, your condition is not beyond remedy. No condition is beyond Jesus Christ. Please visit the SCOAN TB Joshua ministries and get yourself free from this pathetic situation which does not embarrass Christ. Remember there is no sickness Jesus Christ cannot heal. God bless you as you take a step in Faith.

God has cure... Him alone can cure u.... seek him & he will cure u...

DeeD25 said...

Wow... This is a first. nothing wey pesin no go see or hear.. Strange things.. Pray she continues to stay strong.

Some scary kind of allergies really do exist. Had a friend who would scratch for minutes after every bath, she had tried all sorts of treatments but finally Bio Disc worked for her. Wish they will find a cure for this poor girl.

Take a bath with zam zam water an drink it u wl be cure

Fine a zam zam water from mecca to take bath with an drink it u wl be cure

This is rear. O ma ga ooo

Sugarvie said...

I never knew anyone could be allergic to water...aquagenic urticaria? Dats new to me.

#sucre

Sugarvie said...

I never knew anyone could be allergic to water...aquagenic urticaria? Dats new to me.

#sucre

Wow, never heard this b4

SMURF said...

I know what she is going through, I suffer from aquagenic pruritus..... so I know how no one can help... it indeed painful

aproko manager said...

Eyahhh poor girl

lami said...

Oyibos nd their weird sickness.

Chai.....people dey suffer sha. Despite the challenge, she is still beautiful.

On Linda ikeji's blog I have seen all manner of ailments and allergy, even this one is hard to believe. I thank God oh for my life.

I'm a nigeria and I live in England. I suffer from similar ailment but mine happens when I'm exposed to cold so I suffer a lot during the winter. The doctor call it winter hives. It's similar in with the picture on display here. Back in nigeria because I lived in the north I used to itch during the harmattan but never knew what it was. The only solution is when I expose myself to heat and being a nigerian, agboniki works a lot for me as well. Once I notice it coming up, I get my agboniki but I hv to bear the privates one cos I dare not take agboniki close there.

Didn't read d article cos I'll obviously find it boring, but I'll ask, she no dey bathe, or eat or drink?. Fela said "Water no get enemy". This Oyinbos self!, Mtcheewww!

Kardija said...

Awwwww....I feel for her! God take Control

nori_K said...

Of all things to be allergic to..tough.

How does she bathe?
Hmm must be really really painful

Hello dear,its sad to hear abt all ure going tru ryt now buh I can help by giving u an aid to d problem not dat its d confirmd solution buh it could help in easing ure pain. Do PUVA Therapy and Capsaicin.its well dear.

but your skin looks really hydrated for someone with that kind of condition.

Wow...this is one serious gobe

Video: “I’m a daddy and I know it” – a dad’s parody of “I’m sexy and I know it” is so funny

loonivarsity said...

I thought water no suppose get enemy?

Poor girl. Is just so pitiful knowing there's no medical health

Poor girl. Is just so pitiful knowing there's no medical help

kacee said...

Omg, I really feel for her.

Wonders! I pity her.

scoan

Awwww, I know the pain too. I'm allergic to water too

QUEEN SHEEBAH said...

Allergy to water kwa? And she's beautiful sha

Arsenal said...

Only God can save you perfectly fine.

◇◇◇◇◇◇ If ignorance is bliss, wipe the smile off my face ◇ ◇ ◇ ◇ ◇ ◇

Jesus! Wahala dey for dis word o! Lord am grateful

now that's some weird shit...

All she needs is Jesus!

Hian! I thought Fela said water no get enemy???

This is real punishment. She should come and see daddy G.O for prayers.

Hian! Water kwa??? I thought Fela said water no get enemy???

lilyporsche said...

So bad to hear

Who said 'water no get enemy'

leo said...

so she doesn't sweat or pee or bathe... interesting.

May God help you dear

They say water is life but I tink in her own case it is the other way round.God help us

Seun-Bidemi said...

God will heal you dear

prettymojies said...

Omg. I really feel for her. May God help her.

FlyChick said...

Nothing person no go hear/read!

Choi! Na wa o. Things are happening o.

Hmmm na waoh!

Tuesday's Child said...

Hmmm...the 'common' blessings we take for granted #thankyouLord

This is serious..

So sad,may almighty God lay is hand upon you. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

Water no get enemy *in fela 's voice *..what na happened, dz one is difficult o

Wow, didn't knw dat kind of allergy exist..feel sorry for her

*cute bree*

Scary

When I things like dis, I thank God for my life

God didn't create her that way, because He has given us everything that pertains to life n godliness, also everything was created by Him n created good! She needs to speak the word of God into her life and send that demon packing.

wow,never heard of such.

Temi OmoAde... said...

Wonders