OAU orders students to remain on campus as Ife palace prepare to announce Ooni's death | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday, 11 August 2015

OAU orders students to remain on campus as Ife palace prepare to announce Ooni's death

The management of the Obafemi Awolowo University, OAU, in Osun state this morning sent out a circular asking all students to remain indoors tomorrow as the palace prepares its traditional rites to formally announce the death of the Ooni of Ife Oba Sijuwade. The Ife Council of Chiefs had yesterday warned all residents in Ile Ife to remain indoors tomorrow between 9am and 5pm.

86 comments:

All is well,make dem hear word oo abeg,may God protect us all

*iyawo Obama

Please for their safety they should stay inside, the river will only drown whose legs it saw.
Stay indoor, so you can return home with your head intact.

Is there any thing dats going to happen On the announcement of his death?

9am to 5pm? That's curfew!

Hmmmm. Dis modern day stil praticising wht I don't know ind name of traditional rites...

God help and save them...
I hope they aren't going to bury anybody along wit him...

In this age? Why development is light years away in Nigeria

This Dr. Durosinmi is still 'acting' dean lol

Aquarian Consult said...

I pray all ife students will comply and wont prove " i too know" for their safety.

Rent any of our Technologically advanced halls including an 88 seater in Asokoro the heart of ABUJA for just N50K,including security guards, wireless internet connection and standby generator.

For more enquiries and bookings contact us on: Tel: +2348099666612 or email info@aquarianconsult.com

BOLLOCKS!!!
Dare the Head Hunters disguised as Masquerade.

At last! After denying the death in the first place.. well God is still saying something. Psalm 118:19

HMMMMMM, ANY ESCAPE GOAT WIL BE USD PROPERLY, A WORD IS ENUF FOR D WISE.....TOMJERRYSWIT

A word is enough for the wise

hmmmmmmmmm....Tradition tinz

Moye says so via BB Passport courtesy LIB...

Why? What's d essence of staying indoors? Hmmmm, sounds somehow strange

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

The sturborn one go out to know how every thing is going.if care is not taking the scape goat for sacrifice we be ibo or hausa boys in oau.

Why? What's d essence of staying indoors? Hmmmm, sounds somehow strange

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

Ayobami xoxo said...

Onyx u dey hear so, please o LIB is not ready to lose u. Hehe

PARENTAL ADVISORY

To avoid, my daughter left home last night and till now, av not seen her....

this is a serious one o
WOW! CANT BELIEVE THIS SCANDAL, CLICK TO SEE

Is well

Click For Sex said...

Please let them go home!

Okay now, students better heed this warning and stay indoors!

WITH ALL THEIR KNOWLEDGE AND CLAIM OF CIVILIZATION, YORUBA PEOPLE ARE STILL LIVING IN THIS KIND OF BONDAGE? WITH ALL THE GENERAL OVERSEERS FROM YORUBALAND NOTHING IS CHANGING

Time for ungodly rituals to take place. Wicked people!

Well understood....

21st century and this same BSh** still happening for a man who has died months ago and well know on twitter.... What good has he contributed to the Yoruba race apart from lining his pocket?

Why, stupid and barbaric custom. To enable them sacrifice human beings

Of cos, unless they want to be sacrificed or allow themselves be flogged by masquerades. Lol, all these traditions ehn!

A word is enof for the wise!

Do dey stil sacrifice humans b4 buring a king?

"Oro."

The show wouldn't be funny oo.

Abeg carry dat ur dry yansh waka round 10am tomorrow for ife and see Hw all d sugar daddies go dey follow u. Ode oshi... dee

Onyx if u like, make u waka go show ur flat tummy and tiny waist for ife oooooo.

Child of God. said...

Better to heed the warning and plead the blood of Jesus because this is not biblical at all.

Foolish u

It's done by all d tribes
At least ours re sensible to inform the public

I hope the students would adhere to the instruction and avoid any "had I known". Linda take note!

Shut up fool......at least they still have a tradition they are proud...... Every idiot be shouting 21st century

Do we have any other choice than to comply?? God save us

Scape goat

To be forewarned is to be forearmed.

chi said...

If you want to find out, travel there and stay outside at those tines

Yes.... some heads will roll on announcement of his death

Cynhams Cakes & Pastries, Abuja said...

They better obey this simple instruction to avoid stories that touch.

Please click on my name to order for your cakes. Home delivery.

I tire for d woman n OAU o!! She's bn acting dean since I can remember and as a med student then n graduated 2yrs ago.... means I was there for a while

Tradition can sometimes be a two edged sword. We have to let go of the bad practices that taint what we stand for. If heads must roll while he's buried then this charity must begin from his home. He has so many kids that they can pick from. After all there's no love greater than the love children have for their parents.

WHAT THE FUCK IS YOUR BUSINESS WT YORUBA CULTURE. Who d fuck complains abt ur culture and d way u shave head and they collect all ur ppty when husbands die in igboland. Sorry but d slavemasters did not brainwash us from our culture like they did to u pple in d east.

CIVILIZATION HAS NOTHING TO DO WT CHRISTIANITY & ISLAM. Brainwashed useless people.

I think u shld carry camera and go and do some investigative reporting during d curfew. Oloribu.

Escape kwa?

Unfortunately,some will say 'Nothing go happen joor'

BRIGHTINO said...

Na headies award things for osun this season. Stay safe guys

El Haj said...

Greatest Ife!

To Awoite, this is not Aro o, it is serious.

It is often rumored in Yorubaland that "Oluwo" (human sacrifices) or "Abobaku" must accompany a departed Oba. This rumor is often trenchantly denied from those in the know.
I pray things return soon to normal. Oro is in Ile Ife, all women & non initiates must be in hiding.

El Haj said...

Greatest Ife!

To Awoite, this is not Aro o, it is serious.

It is often rumored in Yorubaland that "Oluwo" (human sacrifices) or "Abobaku" must accompany a departed Oba. This rumor is often trenchantly denied from those in the know.
I pray things return soon to normal. Oro is in Ile Ife, all women & non initiates must be in hiding.

Dilichukwu said...

Linda I hope Nobody is going to take Pix for you in IFE?
Dear Prostitutes, Market will not sell this Night if you know what i mean. Heads will roll off bodies o.. These killers in the name of tradition are not joking and the yoruba people will not say their Trad. Rulers have not seen the light..If na Igbo dem go call them ritualist...

Bless yorubas for still keeping their culture and norms. Idiots like you is why Africa is losing her heritage

Amy said...

Let those that don't have mkpochi nti. Ukpana okpoko gburu nti chiri ya. Let he who has ear hear.

GINI said...

Not everyone would be opportune to get this information as we all have...let's pray the devil sees no1 to devour.....if a guy cuts d head of a kid he's arrested and they give room for the high and mighty to do as they please.wicked world

That is eeehhh, you need to shout this from the roof top.

For wat fucking reason ..9-5 is damn too long to stay indoors..hmmm.

lipsealeed said...

Go dere n see urself nah #dumb question

lipsealeed said...

Go dere n see ur self nah #dumb question

Tomorrow will sha coman go

Only God know's how many people this fetish people will kill now. Mtcheeeew.

lipsealeed said...

Go dere n see ur self nah #dumb question

lipsealeed said...

Go dere n see urself nah #dumb question

yeye said...

Absurd and completely barbaric and all these their nonsense kids raised and brought up in civilized nations will be parading naija like say they are grounded and classy...yet, filth and evil tradition is still taking place. Nonsese

to avoid stories dat touch

Mihearty said...

Witches and wizard

Omo 9am-5pm that one na curfew. Well to avoid stories that touch, they should comply

Etsako Pearl said...

I concur,OROO tinz in da air mehhhn...I no fit shout!!!

How is it a dumb question? Not everyone comes from a fetish culture/tradition. If u no fit ansa jst read n ignore.

Etsako Pearl said...

@Shok,Yes Dearie, ever heard of d word OROO? ask google for more info.

Not scape goat
"escape goat; meaning - a goat caught while trying to escape"

Seun Ajet said...

I tire oo,she's won stay there forever

But we are still grounded and classy and value education and have an attractive culture (even wt travelling theatre companies explaining said culture). I know all these things do no coexist in dt little brain of urs which is already crowded wt illiteracy, tribalism and a low IQ but still try and keep up.

And ur talkin abt yorubas parading in foreign lands. Dts too far love, d foreigners actually come all d way to enjoy our culture and festivals. Someone like susan wenger even decided to live d rest of her days at d osun oshogbo shrine. Books and scripts have bn written abt said culture/religion by foreigners. Jealous? Eat ur heart out.

Danny Cruz said...

If dey lyk make dey cum out. U knw say wen oba die na head b d nxt tin wey dem go dey find 4 sacrifices

bossish said...

is it just me or is everybody just aggressive here, the question is why is there a curfew and that is certainly asked because the person asking doesn't know whats happening , how is that a dumb question ? and how does that translate to "go there yourself and find out .... this is just stupid , if u cant be helpful with your replies ,,....Shutup !

Y'all blasting him are crazy. Ibos have kept some of their cultures but you cnt serve Jesus and the devil at the same time. If you want to be a traditionalist, then good for you but dnt form Christianity on top. If any of them should die in the process of 'preserving' their culture, I hope the practise he was is innocent enough for him to go to heaven. Keep forming ignorant as if y'all dnt knw it's human sacrifices they want. Anyways it's still yorubas they will kill, and it's still yorubas here defending the killers. #Werrinconsignme#

That is what we absolutely call the Aesthetics of culture... We the Yorubas still keep our culture..

@gentle u are d one dt is crazy. There are xtians, muslims and traditional worshippers in yorubaland. We have all 3 religions in my family. And no, my uncles dt follow osanyi dont go to church. Neither do they believe in jesus christ or mohammed and are very unapologetic abt dt fact.

HEADS HAVE TO ROLL AND WILL DEFINITELY BE BURIED WITH HIM...PLEASE PPL EXTEND THE CURFEW EVEN LONGER FOR YOURSELVES...AND IF POSSIBLE LEAVE ILE IFE IF YOU WANT TO MAKE SURE YOU ARE ALIVE...WE WILL DEFINITELY HEAR THAT A FEW PEOPLE ARE MISSING DURING THIS PERIOD...JESUS IS LORD COVER YOURSELVES WITH THE BLOOD OF JESUS...

very impossible for some mugu to comprehend. na their head dem go use bury oba...lol...mark my words some students will still go astray...

@gentle everyone has a right to their religion. U cant force xtianity or islam down anyones throat. You can preach and whoever wants to convert, converts. Dts actually civilized behaviour. D bible doesnt teach what ur yarning. Paul certainly didnt convert d romans dt way.