National Hospital live-tweeted an Open Heart Surgery | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 12 August 2015

National Hospital live-tweeted an Open Heart Surgery

National Hospital Abuja live-tweeted the surgery earlier yesterday on its official account. The operation was an open heart surgery (Ventricular Septal Defect Repair) on an eight-year-old patient. Dr. Tayo Haastrup told BBC that it was done to show Nigeria's expertise to the world. Source: Nat. Hospital...More tweets after the cut...

36 comments:

Hope It was a successful one...

Nice 1

Hmmmm.. Nigerian expertise to d world ke???
Ok that's nice, we sure have them

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

I'm actually wowed to hear of a Nigerian hospital performing a heart surgery.

For window blinds, wallpaper and curtains please call 08160856785.

woow, dis is the kind of news I really luv commenting on. ya #NAIJAISGETTINGTHERE

Kudos

Okay.

Still on still many will go outside to go do surgery and thats a fact.....

Diary of a Naija mom said...

We are getting better, good one.

Common mistakes made by women in marriages and relationships

Karlsson said...

Interesting
Ubanagum

Applause!!!
If only..... Nigeria should be one of the top countries.

Wow! Nice one and great development. Thumbs up and more power to their elbows. Its well wit their souls.

Guineacar said...

Damn!!!!! I love that hospital. Applied for my med lab internship there nd they r yet to get back to me. I pray they do. I can't wait to get experience from them.

OKAY....TOMJERRYSWIT

Welldone....hope its successful

Dear Linda,
I would suggest that your monthly giveaway should be redirected to people that really need it especially those that need money for an operation. You would be saving a life.

That's so fresh

A welfare development. Kudos

shemexd1 said...

Am impressed....lets move on Guys.....One Africa....Great Nigerians.

Truth said...

Half the people there are white say na nigerian expertise hisssss ......Next

Tradeevo said...

Just like was suggested on Grey's anatomy. Nice.

Dats a good one. Gradually we shall get there. Linda take note!

National Hospital? The house of HORROR!

That's good

This is cool

And in my opinion th govt should move for the law stopping Political office holder from going abroad for medical treatment except been paid from their pocket because the thousands spend abroad could contribute immensely to the development of central hospitals, India is a very good example, the country is a developing nation just like Nigeria but has one the best hospital.

Nice one, proud of you guys.

This is actually a thing in d medical world now. Doctors live tweet difficult procedures, so other doctors can tune in and learn along as d surgery progresses. Im so proud a nigerian actually did it.
When i first heard abt d whole live tweeting thing, was like, can never happen in naija, Nepa will probably take light in between. Respct to naija doctors.

occupy Nijja said...

Good Job Docs !!! am so happy about this news . Nigeria can be great if only we put aside so many bad traits especially tribalism, stealing, and dogmatism

UNN have been doing heart surgery for more than 8 years now

Yes it was very successful. I'm So proud of Nigerian Medical doctors....(wey Sabi their work) lol.

I believe strongly in Nigeria and I know we can do anything with God by us. This is just to show the bit we can do. This is not the first and they all survived. Trust me, Oyibo no better pass us.

Hope the operation was successful?