Flight attendant shares warm story of his encounter with a Nigerian man traveling for the first time | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 10 August 2015

Flight attendant shares warm story of his encounter with a Nigerian man traveling for the first time

Micheal Ray Huerata, who is a flight attendant/air host, with one of the international airlines shared this warm story on his Facebook page of his encounter with an elderly Nigerian man pictured above with him who was traveling out of Nigeria for the first time. Read what he wrote below...
"I'd like to share with you the most meaningful experience I've had in my 2+ years of flying. While boarding our flight from Nigeria last night, the man you see in this picture was seated in an aisle seat. As I walked by him, he waived me down and after I approached, he said "I must go to the toilet to relieve myself." I said "Ok, sir, the toilet is right behind you," pointing towards the bathrooms near the back galley. He repeated his request, but this time he was motioning both hands towards his lap and politely said "but I need to go to the toilet, please."
I assumed he was just reiterating his need to pee, so I again pointed towards the aft bathroom. He continued to motion towards his lap, but this time he grabbed his seat belt. It hit me; he had placed his seat belt on, but had no idea how to lift the buckle to release the belt! I apologized for not having understood, smiled, and showed him how to release his seatbelt. I shared this story with the crew shortly after and we were all humbled by the experience. But the story doesn't end here. Throughout the 12 hour flight, the man was as nice and generous as could be. He was smiling, enjoying the meals and entertainment, while always offering a genuine "thank you." 
In the last hour of the flight, he came to the back galley and was just looking around in awe, fascinated by the plane. He and I began to talk... In his decades of living, today was this man's first time in an airplane, his first time seeing a seatbelt, and his first time leaving his small village. As a mathematics and geography teacher, he'd always dreamed of visiting the United States. So he saved money his entire life so that one day he could purchase a flight, a new suit, and a camera. Today was that day, and today I had the distinct honor of being able to serve him on the first leg of that journey. I'm moved to tears that I could be so lucky to meet this man. Of the thousands of passengers I've ever served, of the rich and famous, successful and powerful, frequent travelers and million milers, serving this one man - in coach - was the greatest honor I've had as a flight attendant.

181 comments:

Joblesshousewife said...

wow!

Joblesshousewife said...

wow!

Awwwwww! Touching story. Awwww

Dude is so gracious!

Touching

Ok, so????

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

Hmmmmmm
This Life Enh

Hmmmmmm
This Life Enh

PARENTAL ADVISORY

Mtweeee

What's the essence of your story? Abeg shift! Did he approve your putting his pic on the net? Ina awa anya okerekwu!

Awwww, now that's the real meaning of following ur dreams to the end, Grandpa i dey feel u joor
Henry Eze

Hmm, nice one

For window blinds, wallpaper and curtains please call 08160856785.

Awwww, now that's the real meaning of following ur dreams to the end, Grandpa i dey feel u joor
Henry Eze

For window blinds, wallpaper and curtains please call 08160856785.

INTERESTIN....TOMJERRYSWIT

Awww dats wonderful

Awwww! How touching. Nigerians are good people, it's the environment we live in That's just too harsh and hostile pushing so many Nigerians into uncivil things.

This is a fantastic story. We should not take for grant the privileges and opportunities we have been exposed to.
Kudos to the young flight attendant for sharing this story.

Awww! I'm more pleased with the way the flight attendant told his story, and his disposition towards the man. I'm impressed he didn't try to make fun of the man.
Unlike the story one man told here of a man that slept on his shoulder on his way to work in Lagos.

Whites r wonderful people...I almost cried reading this...

Eiyaaaa, a good person will always remain that way no matter what...d man in question is kind from Adam, that's why he showed so much humility ......revealing tws his first flight... A proud man will never do that, instead he will still be claiming ryt on top his ignorant

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

Heart warming story

Alapomerin said...

So touching though... Lovely story

Wao a Geography teacher! Just like my dad I have been begging to travel but never agreed. Bless you both and mine too

You ur experience too.. share it again let the world benefit from it. Isah 60:1

Eiyaaaa, a good person will always remain that way no matter what...d man in question is kind from Adam, that's why he showed so much humility ......revealing tws his first flight... A proud man will never do that, instead he will still be claiming ryt on top his ignorant

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

thank God for him

ella-b said...

Eeeyah! And he had a dream...

Nice one and he got a place on Linda.

Touching story! Kai the flight attendant is cute o.

Nigerian and their wahala. ...lol....

Ezigbo nwa..

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Lol... Nice write up and a wonderful experience for the man.

ckjacob.blogspot.com

ASHANKA said...

WOW...

mrs Victoria nwankwo chinaka said...

So touching

Maqulate said...

It's really an encounter. You know why he shared the story? He was moved by the excitement, fulfilment, genuine aspiration and a dream come true. #dreamscometrue

awwwwww,this is pretty touching.it actually moved me to tears

Touching....almost cried

Mind Treasures said...

Eyah

Congrats geography teacher

I like the story.

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

When a white man becomes friendly to a black man....nice of him..

That was awesome. Im moved

That is so sweet....Very professional guy

Awwwww
Dts so sweet

How nice of him to share

You see, an average Nigerian would simply tag such a person, 'old school, village man, bush man ' and stuffs! Buh now, look at the heart of the attendant!... Dear old man, enjoy life while it lasts.
On another note, always use your "thank you", "am sorry", "am grateful ".. etc. They may seem like nothing, but they mean a lot.

wow!!! thanks for not making jest of him

Intrestin

what a pure heart

U made no sense

Zini said...

Wow...! one day it will be my turn.

Wow! What an edifying post! Mr Micheal Ray Huerata may our good Lord continue to bless and grant you His grace in your position, and may i, someday, have the pleasure of being served by you in any of my flights to/from 9ja.

You know... what could be more touching?? it is well with him. Rom 8:32

Wow..the flight attendant is a good guy..trust naija flight attendants..they will make fun of the man and laugh over his doings after tagging it stupidity

annie__vams said...

do you have sense? av u ever seen d wings of a plane b4?

Awww, this is sooooo nice! I appreciate d fact that d man saved up to see his dream fulfilled.

Touching story, almost cried... Oyibo pple r just different. Some funny unexposed myopic minded Nigerians will come here and begin to yarn dust.

annie__vams said...

do u av sense? av u even ever seen d wings of a plane b4? like wtf Is ok so???

Wow!my day is blessed wit reading dis post ad it reminds me abt my first experience on flight... Kind lik scary and awesome dat God is gracious!

Nice. Dreams do come true....

http://freeactionstory.blogspot.com

Awesome..
Good and memorable. Feels good to b part of a positive history

so touching

Stupid idiot ,and you guys saying touching story i assume you dont know how cunning are this white trash ...His mission was to downgrade the man, make him feel less human and prove that africa is a jungle ...Stupid story , what is the population of white trash that have ever seen a plane , alot of them dont even have a passport let alone think of travelling ...After living with this idiots for more than 2 decade , i can genuinely say the heart of a white man is evil and desperately wicked .

Nice one,am moved to tears.

Da Epic Pen said...

Thanks Michael for sharing that "worm" story that subtly depicts Nigeria as a backward, improverished nation. If he and his other flight attendants hadn't put in a shoddy shift, my compatriot who not only had succeeded in securing his seat belt but also had known how to unbuckle it. Of all the more fascinating memories Nigeria and indeed Nigerians had gifted Michael, I wonder why this story made the cut. In 'plane' English, his gesture is ill.

Very touching indeed

Awww! I'm more pleased with the way the flight attendant told his story, and his disposition towards the man. I'm impressed he didn't try to make fun of the man.
Unlike the story one man told here of a man that slept on his shoulder on his way to work in Lagos.

CLICK....WHat Have You Been Looking And It Seems That There Is No Hope...

Who Are The Ten Virgins? Part 5

Put Off The Old Man

You are daft for this Comment! Learn to save ur comments if you can't make sense. No wonder. You are an Igbo person sef

This is very touching and inspiring...

That's so sweet...

ASILAREX said...

Hahahahaha. Funny you. :)

The story reminds me of a young man who was seated next to me on a flight from Lagos to Dubai a few years ago. He was dressed in very nice clothes, he told me he was going to university in India, and I felt excitement and hope from him. I hope he's doing well and fine...!

good of you dude.....

The tears cldnt help but drop, it reminds me of my late father, but am happy for him. It s a dream come true !and it goes to show that if we truly hold on to that dream it will come to pass no matter how late. Thank you flight attendant for ur thoughtfullness.

This is a very memorable experience indeed. I am touched too. That is life!

Passionate flight attender

That's soo sweet

Exactly Eze

Exactly M

Ayaaaa. American police should not go and shoot him oh this one they are so trigger happy these days.

Wow really touching

Oh wow I'm so touched ... Really touching

bummyla said...

Touchy! God Bless You! http://www.bummyla.com

Damilola said...

Lovely story. I actually wish I sat next to the man on his first flight. Am so glad for him and to the wonderful.flight attendant, God.bless you....there's nothing like getting fulfillment from your job

likisB said...

Awesome such a humble air host.

Some are too dumb to learn a lesson from a heartfelt piece like this....

BREATHE TAKING ACTUALLY HAD Goose bumps AND A SMILE ALL OVER MY BODY WHEN I SAW THIS POST.

Eagle Eyes Media said...

It's this insolent rudeness that characterised us Africans. We're rude and angry even over a white man's humility to turn an embarrassing situation at the airport into subtle awesome story. Why are Africans angry?

Eagle Eyes Media said...

It's amazing how this guy turned embarrassing story into a refined narrative of honour and dignity.

first lady said...

ohhh!!!
how i love this

Awwww!

Foolish geh. So ur head dere

Guineacar said...

I'm seriously crying right now. I can't stop crying. Why am I crying???. I am crying oooooo.

Galorenews said...

Nigerians are great People, you should also inform your Embassies to always give us Visa.

Mgbeke... bush girl. U don't knw an inspirational story when u see one. I just checked out ur profile n I understand why. Accountant @ self employed. Olodo

Thanks captain obvious

Are u alright?

So touching

Mihearty said...

Very touching and nice of the attendant.

Most people will make fun of him or look down on him. The flight attendant shared his story in the most humble way and its quite touching.

Mary Avoswahi Adegbile said...

Eyaaaaaaaaa, nice experience for both....

Moi said...

Twelve hour flight, U.S., from the flight attendant's uniform it's definitely a Delta Airlines flight.

Never give up your dream, not for anything, and great job the flight attendant did.

oyinbo can be so emotional...good for them both though hopes he enjoys his trip

This story move me to comment for the first time on Linda's blog & it gave me assurance that am going to travel out of the country one day too. Singing: 'one day one day ego better...'

Wow .. Nice write up and a wonderful experience for the man.

Lewis said...

Wat a touching and encouraging story...if I wea him I'll use the money to start up a good business that can giv me enough to travel the world.

Did u read the story bitch.....idoit like u don't value experience. Stupid blind day time bat

awwwwwww! so sweet of the flight attendant to share this. we should really learn to luv one another. kudos to the big guy 4 fulfilling his dreams.

Eyyaahh

He is so move indeed! I bet they have gossiped the man so much with his colleagues. But if he truly meant dt he is honoured serving the man, then that is good.

Aww! It pays to be humble.

No samples and site to checkout pictures??

Awwwww!!........#Etiquette!

humility in service, so happy for the old man. really inspiring

Awwww

OBA OWOLABI D APPRECIATIVE said...

Wow.... Am moved.. good and interesting story...

wolex said...

Happy for him

Do you need a suger mummy? If yes, call mr. Joseph via +2348163018610 for urgent hookup, 18+ please. Thanks.

God I'm touched

Tears drop

The real hero here is the flight attendant who humbled himself to serve this man. And have the presence of mind to tell us the story. we can see the smile on his face is real genuine smile.

Go and look at your own probably meaningless life. Geez

sexy chizzy said...

But, seeing seat belt for the first time, what's that supposed to mean?

And what's the essence of your comment? Silly child

Bad belle, why wont u hate, when you cant even afford an intl passport not to talk of jetting out. Local champs!

wao......Life is good (LG)

ONYI P.K. said...

I have said it here severally that story-telling, though old, is a powerful tool of advertising. You can even see from some of the responses that commenters are already appreciating the flight attendant and that is value addition to his airline because sooner than later, people and indeed prospective passengers will get to know the airline....the rest will be as good as your guess. Simply put, there will be increased patronage that will bring increased profitability. Subtle but effective marketing!

Great! Awesome...a lesson in deed...

I hope all dis proud, dirty, rude and manner less DANA and FIRST NATION crew can read dis.

I actually cried reading this story...the heart of an average white man is actually "white", "pure" and "UN-adulterated"!

After 2 years you're still working coach? You should change jobs. Magicblackxxl@gmail.com

Pple like u would never understand d true meaning of humanity even if it hits u 100 times! I'm sure if d story ws about d man being awarded $100m, then u would find essence to dis story! Pls be reminded that it's d little things in life that adds so much to our being knowingly or unknowingly that really matter ok? So sit down pls! That ws a truly touching story, n thanks 4 sharing Linda

Awesome! This just goes to show that in the wilderness of doomsday, trashy and insignificant stories we get fed everyday, there is an oasis of genuinely affectionate issues that should take pride of place. Kudos to this chap. Most other people would have mocked this man and made his trip hell. However rather than mock him this young and wonderful flight attendant rose to the occasion and celebrated humanity. Mr Michael Ray Huerata thanks you for sharing this wonderful and memorable event.

That's soo sweet

In life, there is always a first time. When was yours?

Thats a touching story,love it,Bless you sir,and more grace,as you enjoy your trip to the US of A!

How sweeeet. Bless him.

LBee said...

Linda, thanks for sharing this story. So humbling! We should never take our blessed situations for granted.

Also, its"give away" Monday! Hope I get picked :-)

trabluv@yahoo.com

Wilheminna moses, u re garbage and big moron, tribalistick fool.

The journey was a wonderful journey to both of the two men.

Gkay said...

thinking the same as Wilheminna moses 'what is the point of this story??.. and the moral off the story is (drumroll)... dude patting himself in the back for doing his job and advertising it in the process; this story would be more appropriate for their staff/attendant training. Being polite is part of a good customer service. nah wah for story o..

awww too cute (what everyone wants to hear, lol)

Great 1

His name is Micheal Ray 'Huerta' not Huerata

eyaaa.. sound so sweet and respectful..

...teacher in a small village...see description.
...gathered all is live savings for the trip....see analysis

oyibo sef!!!

Lol @ accountant at self employed

Dr Odama I totally agree. Why are some Africans so eternally angry, bitter, and cantakerous? Always seeing the very worst in everyone and everything?? Thats why life itself treats them so badly!! My Bible says "As a Man thinketh"....

Awwwww dats nice

OH! GOOD TALK.
GOD BLESS YOU REAL GOOD!!

Am close to tears.Tears of joy anyway. That's life for many people who dream but many never get their dreams accomplished.

BRAVE!

A beautiful story.

God bless this flight attendant.

This put a huge smile on my face am so happy he was able to achieve his dream. My father was a teacher so I can identify with him.

MARRY ME

Hehehehe ndi ha anwu ga nwuo! Asilarex! What's up naa? Re invite oh jare! I lost my all ma contacts. Send me ur pin try hang out . eyena ndi ara onu, na so I De make dem rant and nag!

Thank u o jare! My point exactly . but d blinded and empty vesseled fools here thinks De insults get s to me, it only makes me laugh @ their ignorance. D white fool is only laughing @ Africans for bn timid n local! De tink De know but no Nada!

I love my wilimina moses.. She always know how to make DeM fools talk. Love yu bae

Wonderful story!

Teacher said...

Perhaps he may change his mind if you show him this, especially the fulfilment and pleasure to be derived *the look on the man's face*

Fikol said...

Funny trend.
Thumbs up jare@anonymous, you really put her where she belongs....you are not nice too sha....hahaha

Mr Gandes said...

I intended insulting you when I started reading your post. But by the time I finished, it's obvious you've had Bitter encounters with White peeps. So you have ur reasons for responding that way. But what ur accusing the whites of is what ur Doing.

The attendant's piece was a genuine and heart warming Article. Don't let ur Bitter past determine ur perception of every White Individual. There will always be Good n Evil.

Really lol @ accountant at self employed

Your mind is so simple. Almost unbelievable!

12:53 shut up u hear? U know weytin be coach sef? didnt u hear wen he said high n mighty? ODE

HOL

Arin said...

Amazing! To God be the glory!

Are we not backward and impoverished?

aww. this is touching, remembered boarding a flight and that was the first time a lady was flying it too. it was really touching thou.

Dprecious said...

wow!!!

208 Media Concepts said...

Chai. Goose pimple all over me as I read this. I'm so humbled. Some people will get irritated by the mans numerous questions

This is so touching! Was really moved to tears....

D!D! said...

#Hustler Alert!

So touching