A judge in Nigeria ordered a student remanded in prison for jilting his girlfriend? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 10 August 2015

A judge in Nigeria ordered a student remanded in prison for jilting his girlfriend?

According to Imam Imam, the Special Adviser on media and publicity to Sokoto state governor, this actually happened in Nigeria. TF?

51 comments:

kim said...

nice one...
chinazor20@yahoo.co.uk

Really? That judge should be suspended.

I surpport and Vice-versa too!

What of girls that jilt their boyfriends?
This is not necessary jare.

Nawaaa and who be d gel in question? Na idol?

Lolzzzzzz. Quite hilarious and funny if dis is true but I find it difficult to believe bcos I feel there is more to dis story that we just read.

How did the case get to the hands of the police, did they jilted lady report the case or her dad is a senior office in the police force...........Or maybe the guy assaulted her leading to his arrest....am sure the boy did something wrong, there is no way they would just arrest him for that
Henry Eze

Nawoo for this northern people, what kind of judgment is dat

When u look @ it in retrospect, it'll actually encourage Nigerians to be faithful,reduce heartbreaks & also curtail crimes of passion lolz

Eyyah sad

Ppl should pls take it easy with our courts in Nigeria, if u r accused of any crime that ends up in a court, the court will grant u bail if it's a bailable offence, pending your meeting with d bail condition, d only place d court can remand u is d prison. There is obviously more to d matter, why in d first place did jilting or no jilting end up in a police station? Think before u go online to write thrash about your country pls!

Juliebabe said...

Hmm! i no do, na by force? Na wa o

What sort of rubbish is this abeg.....

Reasons may be best known to the Judge...so I won't say anything

Can you imagine, just for jilting hid girlfriend, when did it become a crime to quit a relationship.
Or maybe the girl committed suicide after the boy left her.

she could be d judge's daughter. Lol

That is absurd.......

Innocent girl said...

Why should he break her heart he should remain there. lol

EEEEEEEEHHHHHHH??????TOMJERRYSWIT

Its so sickening to see this happen to a "nobody".. Some animal are more equal than others. Sad!!

EJUMA said...

BREACH OF PROMISE TO MARRY

Two elements are necessary to constitute a breach of agreement or
promise of marriage. First, the party jilted must prove to the
satisfaction of the court that there was in fact a promise of marriage
under the Matrimonial Causes Act, 1990, or under Islamic Law or under
Customary Law, on the part of the other sex. Second, the party
reneging has really, and as a matter of fact, failed or refused to
keep to the agreement of marriage.
Marriage is regarded as a very sacred institution both in our
jurisprudence and in our sociology. Accordingly an agreement to enter
into a marriage should leave nobody in doubt as to the real intention
of the parties to enter into a marriage. A mere convivial or romantic
relationship without more is not enough for a court to found an
agreement to marry. Per Tobi, JSC IN MISS CHINYE A.M. EZEANAH V. ALHAJI MAHMOUD I. ATTA
CITATION: (2004) LPELR-SC.226/2000

Why not state the entire case rather than giving a one sentence information. The Police will not have cause to prosecute and also have backing from the court if the law wasn't broken.

Niger! Nawa oooo

Lol..good 4 him

Lol... girlfriend? No, there's more to it

Z's stark n stunned in disbelief.

A LA BANANA REPUBLICA

Precious said...

Let's keep our fingers crossed till the full facts of the case surfaces. For the police to be involved that means the case consists of an or some elements of crime.

Tell us more about this case. That is not all she wrote!

That means..I should be in jail for life

funny but politicians who embezzle billions of naira walk out free without a fine. That judge should be jailed jare.

oluwa joe said...

If the judge na woman na their way thinking they every geh's mom

seyi crown said...

Like seriously?

It depends on the facts of the case! If you remember, a judge in America; the land of the free and brave gave a guy a choice of either going to jail or marrying his girlfriend!

This shouldn't be strange, it depends on the facts of the case. In a story you shared here recently, a judge in America the supposed freest country in the world to marry his girlfriend or go to jail.

Do you need a suger mummy? If yes, call mr. Joseph via +2348163018610 for urgent hookup, 18+ please. Thanks.

Please introduce me to dt judge let me sue my stupid ex in his court. He deserve to send the rest of his life in prison.

I can see some bitches tryna move to sokoto with their boyfriends

Asampokoto

Trendyify said...

Na im be say many nigerian men go enter prison wella, lol

it is well

Pro said...

Hm dat one charm dey am o kai

That vuvuzela P guy

Dey shd cross check d judge vry well, he/she might b sick upstairs

There must be more to it. I dont think it is only because of the jilt. Maybe the boy must have beaten her or done something terrible to her. Wait until you get the full gist

Doin unnecessary stuffs

What is nice about this matter. When does boyfriend/girlfriend relationship become marital vow and legal.

Say what? " did they jilted lady?" Means what nwa nsukka? kai! Oyibo nyiri gi Nwa uchicha!

Biblical days wey pple wan escape go still catch up wit all at last.

Thanks for the enlightenment. Many ppl here are definitely ignorant of the law.

U r wise

Good, men should respect women all over the world.