Army reacts to photo of soldiers torturing a man in Nassarawa, vows to punish them | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 10 August 2015

Army reacts to photo of soldiers torturing a man in Nassarawa, vows to punish them

The Nigerian military has reacted to a photo published on the front page of Daily Trust newspaper today which showed a soldier torturing a man in Mararaba, Nassarawa state over the weekend. According to a statement by the army, the soldiers have been identified and will face disciplinary actions. The army press statement below...
The attention of Nigerian Army has been drawn to a front page photograph of some soldiers maltreating a suspected robber at Mararraba, Nasarawa State, on the front page of today’s edition of Daily Trust newspaper. Sadly, it is also trending on the Social Media. There is no doubt the photograph has done incalculable damage to the image of the service. The act was unfortunate and at variance with military ethics and professionalism.
The Nigerian Army wishes to inform the public that the perpetrators of the offence have been identified, summoned and would face disciplinary action.he Army has also reached out to the management of the newspaper over this poor and worrisome editorial judgement by giving this misdemeanour prominence in their paper. Alerting appropriate Nigerian Army authorities would have been a better option that will be met with prompt response. We wish to assure the public that the Nigerian Army would continue to protect and respect human rights and that this regrettable incidence should not be used as a yardstick to judge the entire Army.
Thank you. Colonel Sani Kukasheka Usman Acting Director Army Public Relations

64 comments:

Good. They should be thought some discipline.

Hope d issue will be properly treated??????

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

this is too brutal

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

Gud move though.....

Better!
He should be dealt with severely.

We dey watch

AKUKO

AKUKO

Chiaaaa ds pple are wicked oooo see torture whoaĆ a

Nigerian armies are animals.

Always react without doing jack! May BH finish up d remaining bad ones. Buhari ngwa instruct your BH boys, De know what to do wit d idiots!

this is absolutely pathethethic.am sure no action will be taking against
those armies

Let the statement be followed by immediate action. Then we know justice has been served.

hrm paul ojeih said...

This is one reason y the united states say dey won't sell us arms. Nigeria army is a disgrace they fail to understand that military era is over useless people banza

Trendyify said...

Good news, they better be made to swim the gutters too

it is well

*sighs*... Why won't people burn robbers alive? When the people who call themselves "soldiers" are promoting this barbaric acts.

And after u pple will say amnesty intl are giving false information.. Imagine the rubbish they are saying, report to appropriate authorities so u can jst brush it aside without doing anything.. This shouldn't even be the last of it, this matter must be followed up to the last!! All dis impunity must stop!!

talk2frankky said...

Okponu so Nigerian Army fit write professional statement like this. No denial, straight up acceptance and action.

Na dem sabi

Change is here, it will no longer be business as usual.
Couldn't get myself to look at the picture, it was so disgusting, a mockery of humanity.
I'm happy with the military reaction to the incident.

Acts like this can't be condoned so its a relief they'll look into it.

Diary of a Naija mom said...

Haba! This is inhumane.

Common mistakes made by women in marriages and relationships

Hot air!!!!

Those thieves in mararraba are very heartless, they deserve more than torture. Thumbs up for that Army man.

Boma ExAngel said...

this is just too bad!

liz swt 16 said...

Beta! Gone are dose days...

''The Army has also reached out to the management of the newspaper over this poor and worrisome editorial judgement by giving this misdemeanour prominence in their paper.''
This does not sound right at all

BETTER...SOME OF DIA TREATMNT ARE VRY ILL...NO B DIA SAMBISA FOREST B ROAD...TOMJERRYSWIT

Can u imagine dis shameless press statement even had d guts to talk down on d newspaper dat published d story. Let them make sure they let d public know how they were penalised. Rubbish!

nw they wanna blame d newspaper abi,tnx God 4 social media which help to viral issues like ds n bring same to public n official notice.our military are jst shameful,al of em,police mopol army all!

Ladun Liadi said...

Alert the appropriate authorities so they can cover their smelly backsides? NO WAY! Na so we go dey do am until all dis rubbish stop.

Lol.
Everybody don dey take dressing.

Ok noted

We have come a long way. May God continue to help us promote accountability in our culture.

Y should they blame the news outlet for publishing the news..... Remember Freedom of Information bill o.

joyous babe said...

Good.at list it would serve as deterant to other military men outside there yeye pple

Oh! E don become suspected robber! They will always defend themselves in one way or the other
**vianson**

Good dey beta punish dem

All these uniform men are USELESS! And very annoying. Gosh!

Please do, they deserved to be punished to serve as a deterrent to others....( Oh my God, I just sounded like Royalpriesthood).

Jide Cole said...

Lin....u are blessed dear carry go Omoluabi...

Dey should discipline him wella

Yeye people. They responded because the issue made healine.

Exactly o...stupid people

Soldiers... U hear not armies

And this is why America has refused to sell arms to Nigeria

America refused to sale weapons to Nigeria becos of dis shit

We dont have soldiers, we hav thugs in uniform. Soldiers are disciplined, officers and gentlemen.

Story dey didnot identify anybody,all na camouflage.who go talk?d same maltreatment happen 2day @Abj airport.a soldier after hiting two boys ask dem 2 lie down inside the gulter.d soldier is situated @ccecc gate.

Armed Gorillas on the dark continent.

Abeg! It's gud hear. They should be exposing them here.

And if they see Boko Haram boys, they'll run away

Typical of African soldiers, but what do you expect when illiterates are clothed in uniform and given a gun to play with all in d name of being a soldier. This photo is just one out of thousands similar acts that happens every day in this country. It's only God that will help us

DENNIS said...

It Seems you re mad.

I saw them first hand on sat. Twas a disturbing sight. I really hope those behind this are punished. This is too much.

Armies??????
Hah!!!

Knon said...

Complete and utter rubbish! If this had not been captured they would have sworn that it never happened. If not for the fact that we have some gallant boys fighting the insurgency.......

Dats wa dey said

End of story. Nothing will ever happen to the soldiers. It's their way. There is nothing we won't see. If the army will hide a retired General and former president's certificate, the society should expect much more.

IWP said...

Nigerian military men take laws into their hand.....many of them r sadists www.iwonpopular.com