Parents stage protest in front of UNILAG over school's admission cut-off mark | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 22 July 2015

Parents stage protest in front of UNILAG over school's admission cut-off mark

Some aggrieved parents are currently staging a peaceful protest in front the University of Lagos. Their grievance is that the school has refused to accept JAMB's approved cut-off mark of 180 and has imposed its own cut-off mark of 250. This, the parents say is unacceptable, as it will disqualify their children from gaining admission into the university.

118 comments:

Odiegwu

Unilag sef their wahala too plenty

Accept students this year and raise the standard next year. it is too late to let this children stay home this year. moreover unilag hmmm

Lol School is a joke in Nigeria!

Wasting their time....unilag don't joke, too many candidates

Wonders shall never end.What is special about the university sef.Just yearning for recognition.

Its crazy seeing how one can escape from jamb and d sch of ur choice have to put u on hold....its killing....don't blame them at all

Even after the protest and they allow them write the exam, will they still be admitted? We know how things goes in this country.. I admire their effort though.. Brave

Good one...

ELENA (HER MAJESTY) said...

I'm neither for nor against.

Btw...jamb has no right to dictate cut off marks a school chooses to uphold. If unilag wants 250,den 250 it is. The parent can either choose to deal with it thereby prompting their kids to work harder or tell their wards to choose another school.

Everybody mustn't go 2unilag

Parents pls go and supervise your children to study harder and get higher scores. That 180 is for nationwide considering those schools that are naturally not high performers. Unilag is not an anyhow school and should not be infiltrated by low performers, you can't force havard to accept you when your gmat score is 550 and some people can make 760 out of 800. So pls go and use the next 1 year to prepare and transform your kids performance the right way and not disgracing yourselves in front of my prestigious university.

UNILAG should help reduce the level of illiteracy in this country...The high cut-off mark would result in inability to gain admission into the school obviously. What happens to those that cant afford private universities? They would have to wait till next year and start the process all over. Unfair

Hnmmmmmm

i taya for unilag o.....infact nigeria after person sit for waec e go still sit for then post jamb... han han wathappun

I swear. Wich one is 250 again

Abi ooooo olodo full dere only to speak incorrect English yeye school!dere wahala nah extra ordinary as if d school nah d best in Nigeria

iru oshi wo ni unilag se yi ke?

Unilag dey craze, why not 200 at least. Not like dey produce Einsteins. Mcheeeeeeew! Linda take note!

mimz said...

Unilag sofri sofri na.

250 is damn too much now,make dem reduce am abeg#abi dem no need students again ni
*iyawo Obama

Tf!
250?????????

Na waaooo

Where them write am say their children must attend Unilag, asin who and who seat down write am abeg......

Certainly its for some courses not all

beautyvile@gmail.com said...

more money for settlement UNILAG nah there way

Must you choose Unilag? there are other schools which you can send you child.

That's not fair....

Though they have a point, but they are wrong to think that UNILAG itself will go with the cut-off mark provided by JAMB. I don't school there but i have the feeling they will be egoistic about the matter. If i was the VC of UNILAG, i would rather reduce it to 220. Imagine a student who wants to study Engineering, Law, Medicine etc going to UNILAG with a score of 190 in his JAMB. Even i won't attend to the student talkless of admitting him/her. So parents, go and talk to your children, encourage them to either read hard or buy a change of institution form.

Thanks linda, its so unfair to we students

Linda it's not that they are protesting for o! Jamb sent a list to federal schools of students that are qualified to.. wait for it....GET POST JAMB FORM!! Check this site and read the instructions in RED applications.unilag.edu.ng/postutme . Their reason is that too many people apply to universities in the south west

kemikane said...

There are other schools na, they should go and besides I trust OAU to follow this trend. Their children should go and read well.

Entered comment... This wan nai dm dy call "avokwo dm dy tell person"

no mind them ooo

Lol. Ppl ve got plenty of time in deir hands dese days tho

University of first choice

i think what Unilag is doing is unfair to the children, heard the whole saga started with Dibu Ojerinde through a friend, that his friend told him to get students for them for their private universities and he has promised them, so all students not up to 250 get listed with this so called university. if you didnt get 250 in jamb you cant write post jamb it is for all courses. if they make it 200 and above is still better and subsequent years could be raised and let the students know on time,just 2 months to resumption and you are bringing this up. this is not fair please.

mel20 said...

Unilag are that crazy, atleast 200 will do as cut off.

Wow... nice... this is new Nigeria's parents thinking... nice

Nicole said...

What is Nigeria turning into? Cut off mark of 250 and they're crying ? Do they have the slightest idea what the cut off mark for highly demanded courses were some 10 years ago? If students can pay as much attention to their studies as they do to social media, they'll excel.

PIE said...

y will unilag do such nau..its nat cool atall

My dear u can say that again

250 ke!na wa o.

PETER DAMIAN OROGBU said...

THE TRUTH IS THAT IN AN EXAMINATION THAT THE HIGHEST SCORE IS 400, STUDENTS DON'T MAKE THE HALF MARK OF 200, THIS PARENTS SHOULD BE ASHAMDED OF THEIR KIDS NOT HARRASING UNILAG,,,180 AS CUT OFF MARK IN AN EXAM THAT 400I IS THE HIGHEST SCORE IS A SHAME, INDEED OUR EDUCATIONAL SYSTEM IS COLLAPSING..

Unilag nd deir normal gra gra buh wait oo why dat skul always feelin fly sef
mitchwww

Instead on protesting, maybe these parents should focus on having their kids score above 180! Imagine scoring 180 out of 400 and gaining an admisssion into the university?! What rubbish?!! Yes country no good no mean say we go destory ourselves kpata-kpata!!! UNILAG carry go, I wish other universities would follow suit! How would the world take us seriously if our standards are so low?! School is not for everyone!!

Missblaze said...

Lol funi

Bt its the kids that's suppose to be doing this, nt the parents nw.... Bt hw will d skull even put cut off mark @ 250, na them knw book pass

OK...

I think you got it wrong lindaa.... the protest is about jamb's new policy of transplanting students to schools other than their choice

This is unacceptable,u are under JAMB without JAMB no Unilag.You always want to prove to be better and above JAMB.Let it be known to you that some candidates with 150 mark may be better than those with 250.

Shameless parents. Olodo industry

What is so special in unilag, standardization are poor,

Infact na God go deliver us

Papa Na Mama ndi iti..

250?????
For what?

I support UNILAG completely. Scoring 180 out of 400 is failure in any examination. But in Nigeria it is pass. Is it not a shame? Glorifying failure! Shame on parents who will not tell their children to study hard and excel in simple examinatinations where all the correct answers appear on the question papers! If your child cannot make 250 (which is just 50 marks above the average) in JAMB both you and that child are not serious. Period! University education is the highest level of education and should be taken seriously. It is supposed to produce the best and highest level of experts. So when you admit a student who failed (because 180 is failure), you are just saying that performing below average is okay,mediocrity should be accepted. So you produce "graduates" who cannot write one sentence correctly. They are in the majority in our country today because of this mess...and they are our future. JAMB should also be blamed for lowering the standard of education in this country because lowering the pass mark means lowering the standard.

Ehn find another school na...is it by force

I guess they are doing that because of the population that is interested in schooling in Lagos , everybody wanna go to unilag , but they need to curtail this , they can't increase school fees , this is the best alternative method . They should send their kids to other schools that accept 180 Biko ,

Lewis said...

Unilag's management's are very crazy what nonsense, they don't take 2 sittings all of the rubbish is done in their place,useless girls are plenty their yet they form being strict and dey are not even in top 5 best in Nigeria.

marvelous said...

Na waoooo...250?..dem no de like 500?...rubbish

I quite agree with UNILAG, 180 is way to poor for admission, rather than protest,help your wards to study more and make good cut offs in order to be admitted to their choice of university or they make do with whatever they're given. UNIBEN as well won't accept that 180,enough of managing average, read more or stay at home with your mummy.

250 is too high Na, 200 is still ok

Unilag na rubbish jare..............

The must abode with the law

you got the reason wrong, jamb is reassigning candidates as they so please to other universities, thats why dere is a protest

Haba!even the profs did not make 250 during their time oo.wicked souls.

Endydecency said...

180 is for the north and not for the south. No federal university in the south you will approach with 180 JAMB cut-off marks will listen to you. That is standard pls.

Al3xander McQuin said...

dem go soon turn d school to private school......symptoms

Al3xander McQuin said...

they will soon turn d school into a Private school......next

Mihearty said...

Ok una don try. Let's pray it works.

Linda but ur comment is different from their protest o,is like they are protesting over JAMB choosing university for their children...

Swerve said...

Ok na.

Hehehehe so funny,they are shameless o,is nt unilag fault dat their kids are dummy,i entered unilag with 257,plus fasting nd prayers

Gabby said...

Is it not the same certificate, will dia graduates have better chances of getting the best Jobs after school.. The cut-off mark is too much.

SIGNS YOU'RE THE SIDE GUY

Unilag will never listen to them....

ahhhhhhh.............

I tire for uni lag

Unilag problem is too much, Jamb declared 180 as d cutoff mark for all universities in Nigeria, why is their own different? And at the end rich men children will gain admission with marks lower than 180. this is avenue for them to chase poor men children away.

oma said...

what's the school problem? 250 is too high

www.miimisdiary.com

ahhhhhhhh

unilag ahhhhhhhh

But 180 na fail na...or you want olodo to full unilag...as parents you should of taught your children better...instead of skelewu na maths and English na...

Carry go UNILAG! We need to keep a standard. Haba! In 2000, cut off mark in UNILAG was 240. Why should it be 180 in 2015? Just look at the disparity. Are we getting better academically or not? If you want your child to enter UNILAG, encourage him/her to READ HIS/HER BOOKS WELL and PASS! Shikena! Let your child work towards the demands of the school. Abroad, nobody lowers their standards and the same NIgerians are getting into Ivy League schools over there. Only in Nigeria will you see this rubbish. If you can't meet the demands, then go to LASU or something.

Tell your children to study harder for jamb next year. Hiaaan

Saheed Animashaun said...

Aunty Linda, u got it wrong oooo. Unilag did not fix cutoff @ 250 ooo. Jamb changed the choice of institution of many jamb candidates. Jamb foolishly limited the number of students that can write post utme in the top five naija uni(UNILORIN, UNILAG, UI, UNIBEN & one other). So they posted some candidates that chose unilag to other schools without their consent using frivolous cut offs for different courses. So some people scored 200 and jamb left unilag as their choice of University while scored 250 and had their choice of University changed from unilag to another school based on their intended course of study. So, this is a jamb issue, not unilag

Just laffing oo. Speechless

There r other schools nna, abi is it only Lag we hv? If u want your child in Unilag, then he or she has to work for it!

It is amazing that JAMB's cut-off mark is 180. Several years ago cut-off mark for medicine & surgery was over 280, even bio-chemistry was about 230. To now find students with JAMB score of 180 studying Medicine & Surgery; I hope one day all those agitating for lower cut-off marks will not find themselves at the mercy of a neuro-surgeon who was admitted into med-school all because we want to reduce the number of illiterates in Nigeria.

U can't put 250 after Jamb,u can't put 250 after d change of university form has ended....u should put 250 before the start of Jamb so as 2 know where you stand

Pple like you got into school Tru bribery nd ure here running yr mouth

Y dint dey tell d public b4 Jamb d@ deir cutoff would be 250

All Courses

How good are the so called teachers..... A teacher who teaches English can make a simple correct sentence

Even the greatest UNN no cut reach like that.......unilag stop forming rubbish.....unilag have highest number of applicant, not bcos its a good sch, but bcos Lagos have large population, must youth in Lagos prefer to school in lag

Lols

ty said...

Thank you o, cut off 180 for unilag,whats that!!!! Instead of the parents to supervise their kids to perform better they're there caRrying placard,nonsense, in our days our parents wouldn't think of it,permissive parents everywhere

Get rid of that big stomach and trim down in 9days with clean 9 call or whatsapp 07066681022 deliver anywher in nigeria.

Rubbish. Mediocre parents.

Sori, dey pay u for dis ni .., u be deir marketer abi for unilag?

U al should knw it's nt by workin harder or wateva itz by God's Grace. U knw dat momment U re so sure i did so well nd u see a bad grade, scripts go thru processes dat myt nt benefit some ppl , although some ppl re unseriouz

Uhmm guys pls u got to understand the issue at hand, for your information it is not that 250 is the actual cut off mark the main purpose of,this policy is to reduce the no of students applying to the southern universities so ffor example courses with plenty applicants will get a high cut off like 250 and 255 and vice vers. For example a frnd of mine who scored 252 for law was declared ineligible to write d exam,while 260 for medicine too was not given then 248 dor pharmacy and 208 for physiotherapy was given then 232 for pol science was also given. So the courses like med and law. And mass comm. Are like d highest courses in terms of cut off so dont blame any body

Haba after sleepless nights nd prayer....250?? shey 234 never try??...dats my own score...dis is unfair.. we dont want lag again seff.....mtcheeew...They should jst change it to a sensible university

The truth is that this is not what the parents are protesting about. The children from the south that scored less than 250 were posted to northern schools, while northern children with as low as 220 are eligible to write the post ume.

my stake on this is that we claim to be Nigerians wen it is votes concerned,when it is something beneficial to all then we have quota system. all schools should place their cutoff as high as they want it but this quota system is irritating. as far as we continue to divide ourselves with these means Nigeria remains an abstract name.

anaigbo said...

THE FEAR OF RADIO BIAFRA INFORMATION IS THE BEGINNING OF SCHOCK AND RUDE AWAKENING OF PARENTS, SO YOU ARE ALL LISTENING :)

the northern children and south west children that had 200-230 and are still eligble. did they read well?please let's think before we type

anaigbo said...

ALMAJIRIS WILL SCORE 120 AND END UP BECOMING PRESIDENTS AND MINISTER'S, AND WHO IS FIGHTING FOR YOU?

dats totally unfair. what they want is the yoruba illitrates to gain admission into d school b4 anyother tribe

Madam Linda, I wish you can just post this but not as a comment. I need to clarify some things about the misconception some LIB readers have about the unilag cutoff mark supposedly known to be 250. As we are all aware that Jamb approves any candidate who score a minimum of 180 in the UTME exam as eligible to write Post Utme exam in his/ her choice of institution, while some institutions(Unilag,UI,OAU etc) approve 200 as its cutoff which has remained acceptable by all over the years, this is changing all of a sudden with no prior information before last year jamb form was sold.
Jamb score cutoff which use to be 180 nd 200 for schools have been changed all of a sudden for some selected universities by jamb. Therefore, we have different cutoff for different courses and Unilag is one of the affected institutions.So for those that choose Unilag and their names don't appear on the list sent by Jamb to the school,it means they didn't meet the eligibility criteria and their names have either been sent to a private university or another school of Jamb Choice. Furthermore, the protest at Unilag gate today was engineered as a result of its sale of post utme form yesterday amidst all the chaos. Thanks
Note: Parents are not asking for the cutoff to be reduced to 180 but to remain at 200.

I concur! Shameless parents!!!

Oh shut up! They are trying to make the top of the world's league tables. How can 180 put of 400 be a pass? How education system has gone to the dogs!!!

I wrote Jamb 21 years ago scored 224 and still didnt get the school of my choice so why in Gods name would cut off be 180 in 2015.

Shuooooo! How is it paining you people na? Nawa o! Ehn the school is looking for popularity abi? Ok, people should go elsewhere to study na! Long live UNILAG. Long live CMUL! I rep UNILAG!!!

What is the evidence that those that got 250 did the exams themselves? Since they will still do post jamb in d sch, unilag should accept 200 at least.