LIB reader encounters unique creation of job via agriculture (photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 22 July 2015

LIB reader encounters unique creation of job via agriculture (photos)

A LIB reader writes in...
I was just going about my daily work activities when I came across this scene that caught my attention. Yoruba will say "Oba l'agbe" meaning a farmer is a king. I counted up to 36 young boys that are engaged in offloading yam tubers from canoes on the river and transferring it into 2trucks parked on the land. It's not about how much this guys will get at the end of the day but doing this will at least put food on their table.
If our government can look majorly into agriculture, it will reduce rate of unemployment to a certain extent, moreso when it's on a large scale production. If agriculture becomes funded, that is, access to fund from financial institutions at a lower or no interest rate and possibly availability of land by the government, it will become lucrative and youths will be interested in it rather than engaging in illegal activities.
The campaign about increasing rate of employment can also be achieved in this direction. Attached is the pictures of the guys transferring tubers to the truck.

47 comments:

Aww very inspiring....

Nice one!

Gud for u mr.

obietrezy said...

Oya join them na olodo...... Jor oh

The best prayers?? May the Lord bless all our endeavours.. crown our efforts with success. Psalm 1:3

Woooooooow! Dis is truly amazing! I wish dis aspect would be explored by the government. Linda take note!

Echoes my sentiment tht Agriculture is the future..
They keep killing themselves over oil. Soon they'll start drinking it when their buyers discover their own.
Hardwork pays; may not be immediately, but it does in the end.

Yeahhh!!!!dat's true
,jst wish govrnmet wil do smtin abt agriculture.it wil help in d development of dis country

...Love@linda

With the price of oil depreciating in international market, the only way out is for Nigeria to return to agriculture.
We have fertile lands suitable for agriculture, more reason peace should be restored to the northeast which was the agricultural hub of the country prior to the advent of boko haram.

It's not a bad idea for our unemployed young lads sha. Buhari over to you lol #onelovefromsnow#

cathy said...

Dat place is Niger bridge

Wow! An liber writes in something different.. Nice idea, but won't that canoe drown or something? The yams are too much o

Wise sayings

Lib reader come and chop knuckle!

Yeaah I agree!

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Wonderful.
ckjacob.blogspot.com

True true true.....Gov shud invest more in Agriculture

Moye says so via BB Passport courtesy LIB....

Hello Linda, please, you were talking about job employment for our great Nigeria Youth, please if your brother, or sister bf or your BF too is doing this off loading of yams, can you be happy? Pls be sincere. Thanks

Mihearty said...

U mean I should go into agriculture after all my hustle in school and certificate...mbanu! I don't agree wit u on this one my brother. This is not the kind of life I wish for myself mbok.

I so much agree with you. Our leaders know this, only that they are too selfish to help the youths out. They just want to be politicians with billions!

Indeed, agbe l'oba....

What's this location plz

I so much believe in the future of Agriculture...i'm a proud crop scientist...n i'm female...

Not only on their table is the result of money but food on our table as well...

You didn't tell us where this is? Michael

Our govt r busy chasing oil money while other areas are negleted.

Good question anonymous 10.01. LOL

It takes b hardworking to carry out dis type of job bcos it requires strength and energy to pull through frm one spot to d other. God bless them and thumbs up to them.

Indeed is

Dreezy the quidnunc said...

Priest the lazy mofo.. Hard work is the only way.. Agric is bae.. Do agric and u won't regret it.

This is good

Supply chain mgmt right here

Hajj said...

Life doesn't hand everybody equal cards. If her brother played his cards away, and this was the only option he was left with, yes Linda will be happy. And she will happily support him. Remember she had nothing at some point too.
You ppl here can talk rubbish sha, as if Linda was born with a silver spoon. She struggled so she can understand another's struggle, whether her brother, Laura bf or her bf.
Next pls!!!

You don't know the goldmine that lies in agriculture.....
Let me encourage you, pls try it. Even if it's as a hobby. I have a 9-5 job. I also farm...I hire tractor n labor....I won't tell you the rest but honey, I'm balling. If I want to buy new car every year, I can afford it without flinching. Hehehe
My mom has a poultry too, small one. N she takes care of house bills from the proceeds.

Jay Ter said...

@ least it takes idleness off dere minds n gives dem genuine source of income. Come down to gboko in Benue state n see wat young men do to survive n most of dem r married wit kids. She no force person.

Jay Ter said...

If everybody sit down for office,abeg who go dey till soil,bring out food from ground? Just asking. I pray robots don't come n take ova all d job opportunities o.

"an Liber"?? Hmmm na wa for English

You self off shirt,help them dey lift tuber nah...Oh ha!!!

U r so stupid

Exactly,so I hope he/she is in onitsha and not just a forwarded picture som1 sent to him/her.From d writers use of a Yoruba phrase,I can guess he/she is from that ethnicity.that paved area u c d trucks parked is meant to b a sea port Which may interest d writer to know that his/her brothers in lagos killed because they know Igbo people import a lot to onitsha.if allowed to kick start it would amount to a loss in revenue to d west.so those young men,instead of offloading just yam would have been dock workers earning much more.

We all need to know that lots of millionaires will be out soon because Agriculture is going to the next level. to know more check on Mibell's Agroconsult on twitter or email mibellagroconsult@gmail.com .. Mibell is doing 15 minutes free consultation and that will help us all. God be with us...

Indeed farmer is king