Statement by President Jonathan on presidential election 2015 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 31 March 2015

Statement by President Jonathan on presidential election 2015

Official statement by president Jonathan after the announcement of the results of presidential election
Fellow Nigerians,
I thank you all for turning out en-masse for the March 28 General Elections. I promised the country free and fair elections. I have kept my word. I have also expanded the space for Nigerians to participate in the democratic process. That is one legacy I will like to see endure.

Although some people have expressed mixed feelings about the results announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), I urge those who may feel aggrieved to follow due process based on our constitution and our electoral laws, in seeking redress.

As I have always affirmed, nobody’s ambition is worth the blood of any Nigerian. The unity, stability and progress of our dear country is more important than anything else.

I congratulate all Nigerians for successfully going through the process of the March 28th General Elections with the commendable enthusiasm and commitment that was demonstrated nationwide.

I also commend the Security Services for their role in ensuring that the elections were mostly peaceful and violence-free.

To my colleagues in the PDP, I thank you for your support. Today, the PDP should be celebrating rather than mourning. We have established a legacy of democratic freedom, transparency, economic growth and free and fair elections.

For the past 16 years, we have steered the country away from ethnic and regional politics. We created a Pan-Nigerian political party and brought home to our people the realities of economic development and social transformation.

Through patriotism and diligence, we have built the biggest and most patriotic party in Nigerian history. We must stand together as a party and look to the future with renewed optimism.

I thank all Nigerians once again for the great opportunity I was given to lead this country and assure you that I will continue to do my best at the helm of national affairs until the end of my tenure.

I have conveyed my personal best wishes to General Muhammadu Buhari.

May God Almighty continue to bless the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

I thank you all. 

Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, GCFR

President,

Federal Republic of Nigeria

March 31, 2015

583 comments:

1 – 200 of 583   Newer›   Newest»

What a loss

What a loss.lindaobserve

We have heard :)

Good one sir. Free and fair election as promised! God bless your future endeavours

④thمواطن said...

Ok. Weldone.

Bless him he's a good man surrounded by wolves in sheep's clothing

destinysweet said...

GEJ a living legend!..i appreciate d fairness of d election

Auntylindagoddaughter

Nice one gej

Best Democrat Ever.
My hero

EazyPlatform said...

Bravo

PaidHomboi said...

#GODBLESSNIGERIA..

Humility is the best virtue

After all d shading u $ ur gang gave to Buhari, during ur presidential campaign??? Smh, left to me. I feel he doesn't mean all dis words he is saying, it is still political, simply, jona just pull over shekenan!

God bless u sir. This man is not suppose to be a politician. So humble n gentle.

tunde m said...

i respect you sir

tunde m said...

i respect you sir

After all d shading u $ ur gang gave to Buhari, during ur presidential campaign??? Smh, left to me. I feel he doesn't mean all dis words he is saying, it is still political, simply, jona just pull over shekenan!

Buhari I love!buh u stil remain a good man

I love this man. An absolute statesman. He has indeed rewritten history in Nigeria and allowed democracy thrive. God bless Good luck ebele Jonathan for keeping this nation together at a time like this. History will never forget you

Nice one sir, you have done a great work for this great nation...let see what the new government have for us...farewell

Pastor videod Touching a Ladies body during a Prayer section in his Office

See What this Man is Busy Doing with a Lady in an Uncompleted Building

Thanks Mr president.........linda I have spoken

His best words yet

Jenny said...

U're d best president Nigeria has ever had.....

Heart of a Leader

That's the spirit man........thanks alot my able president, I have something great to be remembered for......Hope buhari gives us the change he promised....bcos am yet to collect my change...... All the same he is not my choice

There is God o

That's the spirit man........thanks alot my able president, I have something great to be remembered for......Hope buhari gives us the change he promised....bcos am yet to collect my change...... All the same he is not my choice

LOoola said...

Thank you too!

ademola said...

So emotional..... you are welcome still our president until May 29, 2015.

True Hero

Oddy said...

At list this election was peaceful, I hope the new president doesn't make us regret voting him 2 years later

Good good..... nice speech

Funso Samuel said...

Wow! I love Jona. Bye bye sha. Nice one from my president

Great man!!!!
God bless U!!!!

Gej !!!!!!!! You are a good man is all I can say!

Till den

"I don't have a president yet"

Ngwa my fans" kwulu nu na line , kpaliba nne na nna unu!

I truly respect you Sir! You are indeed a good man! You have just taught the hausa fulanis civility! This singular act is what GMB would have done in 2011 but he simply wouldn't and that caused a lot of families grief till today by losing their young children! When it doesn't go their way Nigeria boils but when it does they chant one Nigeria! I do hope that come next dispensation they will be willing to concede defeat it they lose jus as you have honourably done! You remain my best president so far! God bless you sir.

Good one but its it really frm his heart

PAVOUR said...

hmm good man. I feel so sorry and sad over the outcome of this election. you have tried Sir. take care of you and be blessed. its not easy to rule a crazy country like Nigeria.

I don't understand why GEJ is being commended for accepting defeat. He has no choice.

biijay said...

God bless you Sir

Awwwww! Quite noble of GEJ. Bye tho...

Akara said...

Thank you Mr President. You are a good man but those around you made things difficult for you. I wish you well.

The Heart of a True Nigerian

Awwwwwwwww ......now u wanna make cry

Emi Nelson said...

Bless u

Awww... U'r indeed a true democrat!!

Nice 1

God bless you mr president...

Awwww😭 GEJ . Everything happens for a reason though. Thank you . The Lord is our strength. Gid bless you n bless Nigeria

obietrezy said...

Chai..... Sorry bro but you just have to go home and that fat pig wife of yours, just get a wipe to clean her mouth because she has said a lot of nonsense. Jor oh

*tears*

GOD BLESS YOU MR PRESIDENT...........

Don't I just love this man??? Seriously u are my man of the year

mel20 said...

Naso,how much dey Nigeria account?? How won't you congratulate him when uve wiped the whole account you can gwen make ur speech in jail !

opeoluwa said...

Jonah shld stop mkn it luk like he didn't da ogbon si at all.he da ogbon si plnty.all in all he has proven to be jegaistical

MY VERY OWN PRESIDENT. THANK YOU SO MUCH YOU HAVE MADE A FELLOW NIGERIAN AND SOUTH SOUTH MAN VERY VERY PROUD.

Perfect gentle man.
I really love this man.
Not like that frozen peacock Buhari

Wat else can he say

GOD BLESS U SIR FOR STEPPING DOWN AND ALLOWING PEACE REIGN

Well said... Mr president

Well said....Sai Buhari

Ucee said...

God bless u sir for truly demonstrating what u said dat ur ambition does not worth d blood of any Nigeria citizen,u are indeed a hero,unlike dis man buhari who has never been a gallant loser and would have allowed so many blood to be shared if APC has lost.

#Respect to Jonathan. God bless you Mr.President. ----C21

Good man. History would not forget you.

ebony said...

Mischievous said...

Sir, I wish you well in all your future endeavor.

So much love this man.....

Is orait

Proud man walking

APPLELIPX said...

Bless you more GEJ
You are the true hero

You tried your best but it's not enough. Try again next time.

God Bless you Mr President

Thank you for allowing democracy to work

I just thank this man for this, you have saved lives for this.

Taofeeq Abdul-Azeez said...

Kudos to GEJ.

I have many grounds to commend him.

First, for all the constant abuse and mockery of him and his lovely wife by Nigerians which he never gave a reply to.

Then for conducting an understandable free and fair election.

And finally for accepting defeat in good faith.

He is also an hero to reckon with.

Well done sir

What a humble president, you have set a legacy. May it be well with you

Thank you sir.. u'll always be respected for this

This is why I will always love and respect Ya sir,ya a true democrat.may God bless and keep Ya.

Nawa o u are a jewman president u 4 rig am like baba obj...@ oga jona u are so messed up NB: the bird that refused 2 fly

So much respect Sir.You're a true leader.I'm pained by the outcome of this result but if it'll bring peace, so be it.

Perfect,that's tge way a gentleman should talk and behave.Your Wife didn't try for you at all,she was a major part of your downfall.We will always remember you as a gentleman,well done.

This statement is very matured. GEJ is a humble man. I would always respect him. God bless Nigeria.

Best president Eva

Buhari I love!buh u stil remain a good man

Cant hlp but to admire de character of dis great man. God bless u GEJ, ur de father of democracy in my own contest. Long live Nigeria

DeVita said...

Epic!

Mr jao

Kingsley said...

I'm grieved that a good and patriotic man is about to go, the true son of Niger Delta soil, a son indeed, a man of peace and tranquility, you made me proud as a son of a Niger Delta, your legacy will never be forgotten by our generation and the next, thank you Ebele, thank you my humble and loyal president, may God continue to bless you in wisdom and truth.

It's alright.

So lovely!

Really? Okay.. u do well .. lets chill and see,wat happens next

THE PATHWAY TO EARNING EXTRA BUCKS FROM THE COMFORT OF YOUR HOME IS HERE. CLICK HERE AND SEE IT NOW!

PorLO said...

Aww, dis is touching and lovely.

For my money, this is the Real Hero of our democracy - by promising us free and fair and living up to it.

Goodbye GEJ
Welcome GMB

khemorah said...

Nwoke oma. Lol

usuji89 said...

wow ,i respect jonathan so much more after today ,although i did not support him during the election.i now see that he is a man integrity, he kept his word .conceding immediately without hassle.that is true victory!! to me.im proud to have had him as a president.his name will go down in history because of this and Nigeria has gained so much respect because of this.Goes to prove "its not how well you start but how you finish"Thank you goodluck jonathan ,our hero"

Kingsley said...

I'm grieved that a good and patriotic man is about to go, the true son of Niger Delta soil, a son indeed, a man of peace and tranquility, you made me proud as a son of a Niger Delta, your legacy will never be forgotten by our generation and the next, thank you Ebele, thank you my humble and loyal president, may God continue to bless you in wisdom and truth.

Luvly4luv said...

Everything will be fine! U have done ur best my Oga!

Linda who did u vote for.. hehehehe.. neva mind just kidding.. good of him

THE PATHWAY TO EARNING EXTRA BUCKS FROM THE COMFORT OF YOUR HOME IS HERE. CLICK HERE AND SEE IT NOW!

Touching nice 1!

shenelle said...

av got tears in my eyes. Miss u daddy! Ur a strong man indeed

Wooow GEJ is a man of integrity, we need more of sincere people like u in dis our great nation nigeria...God bless u Mr president(GEJ) God bless nigeria

I am truly touched by this man. I would have never believed he could be so gracious even in defeat. Despite everything, his humble concession without dissent all in the name of democracy will be his legacy.

Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, the real MVP. He's won my heart

obiora said...

GEJ you are best...such a good man.

Okay o.

ADD THIS BBM PIN AND GET FREE CALL RECHARGE CARDS FOR ANY NETWORK EVERYDAY. IT'S FREE. DOUBT IF U LIKE. ADD UP 7fe2d61b

Eiyah.......tears rolling down......

Such a good man, surrounded by bad advisers. Well done Mr. President.

Am happy he's Man enough to accept
His defeat and move on.
I blame Patience Jonathan and all
Those psychopaths that painted him bad.
Oga Jonathan you're a brave man indeed.

Kingsley said...

This is absolutely amazing... It takes a real man to accept defeat.

I salute the courage and humility of President Jonathan for accepeting defeatin this manner. This is epical and would not be forgotten in a jiffy. Congrats Gen. Buhari and Osinbajo

Lewis said...

This man is humble

I JUST LOVE SIR....WILL MISS YOU

Otueke…here he comes!LOL….now he wants us to see him as a legend…for where! Which legacy is he talking about?He is lucky we didn't march to villa to throw him and the many shoes he has bought out...

sky said...

Thank you Sir for the best election Nigeria has ever had. I must confess I was one of those who went out to buy extra fuel, gas, food and water because I didn't know what to expect. God bless you for your applied wisdom and effort and I appreciate your work Mr President.

Great man...God ll lead you

I wasn't a big GEJ fan as I voted for GMB in 2011 but I have to say, I have a new level of respect for this democratic leader. You may stand a chance to rule in 2023 if whoever messes up.
God bless GEJ
God bless Nigeria

Oya GMB we r waiting oo the manifesto, we have not forgotten

Kingsley said...

Ella said...

well done ma presido

VERY WELL FROM THE REAL MAN, MY QUESTION IS HOW MANY APC NUMBER BEHAVE LIKE THIS MAN,MAY GOD BLESS YOU SIR.

Mr.T said...

Thank you Mr President for not allowing this country to be thrown into chaos, but rather accepting defeat for peace to rain. God bless you and yours.

VERY WELL FROM THE REAL MAN, MY QUESTION IS HOW MANY APC NUMBER BEHAVE LIKE THIS MAN,MAY GOD BLESS YOU SIR.

Go and rest with your blabber mouth wife

This is highly commendable. May the change take us closer to d promise land. GEJ u may take a bow and leave.

president jonathan & yaradua,i will forever love you both.P.D.P shall rise again.

Jonathan's humility is amazing. So humble that its sometimes mistaking for Weakness. We would all appreciate him when he is gone. Nice words from a decent man

Mike said...

U've spoken well, now u can rest, U've tried. Pele

This is honourable. God bless you GEJ!!

Thank you sire! You have done your part, We will miss you and mama peace.

I sob. But Buhari was my candidate. No regrets. However, I cry.

sai buhari. thnk God patience is gone!!!!!

Exactly as written by "them".

I'm glad Mr president took the advice /prompting and didn't listen to the thieving lunatics around him.

Its well.

Innocentia Annie said...

Awwww!!!! so touching,tears dropping from my eyes already. You are blessed and thank you for your true love for Nigeria Mr President.

So much love for this man...A true leader! Congrats Buhari!

LIB chairlady said...

With dis GEJ is a Statesman... Bye Bye Obanikoro, u can now take a Bow and gerrout... Oloshi

Wow, that's good of you sir.
Am expect the same thing from ur madam too. 

Gentle and humble man, u uv set a pace, u were sleeping on bicycle though

Nice 1 Mr President..You are the true winner.

May God bless you, dear sir. You are truly a hero.

God bless you Sir! We Rivers State people will commit to you till the end and vote PDP for governor Rivers. Your peaceful nature is priceless. 3 kposa for you 💥💥💥

Eyya! Jona gas softened me o! Was really mad at him and his cohorts.

Thank you my able presido.... chop knocle. You did not allow anybody to push you to do something that isn't worth it. Mama Peace can contest if she wants. Oteoke!!! hope una don prepare welcome songs for my humble president.

You speak well...a true democrat, ur legacy will always be remembered as u kept to your words ind peace accord and created enabling environment for democracy to prevail... safe journey to otuoke,

U r indeed a hero n u ve won d heart of many nigerians.... God bless u

Thank U Mr president u r my true democrat

Thank you, now move over and let the process of change begin..
Take FFK, Dokubo, Fayose etc with you

Nice nd encouraging statement Mr President,#sai Buhari#sai Baba

Linda,dem never announce the results officially naa

Wow I just Luv dis man.

You speak well...a true democrat, ur legacy will always be remembered as u kept to your words ind peace accord and created enabling environment for democracy to prevail... safe journey to otuoke,

GEJ, may JEHOVAH GOD continuously bless you and all yours IJN.l love you and your person.you are my hero forever

Mr. Smallz said...

Well said Mr. President. You are a perfect gentle man.

Dove said...

Eeyyaaa....Jona...(sad face)

Jelly said...

We luv u forever

Jelly said...

We luv u forever

kem kem said...

I almost feel sorry for him :(

Eyya! Jona has softened me o! Was really mad at him and his cohorts before.

BOSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ede.ozed@yahoo.com

Jelly said...

We luv u forever

Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

God bless you mightily for humbly congratulate and accept the result. you are true hero.

My able presido,u r still d best

didnt have regards for him BUT if all he said went thru as it was written, then i postrate in respect for it takes a man with a humble heart to do what was wriiten here. its a pity u were encircled by corruptians. u remain a statesman....if all you wrote in this statement is true.

I love u PGEJ........ am so in tears rite nw...God bless u plenty

Congratulations my president you are indeed a hero

Long Live GEJ

May God bless You sir,u re indeed a hero of our time.GEJ

Well said the hero of our time. Ur just one in a century.

chichi Bankz said...

You are a HERO..Godbless YOU

Congratulations my president you are indeed a hero

Pearls said...

Thank you GEJ for giving us a free and fair election, ur calm nature is one that should be emulated,wish u d very best sir

Uw. Shikena

Nice nd Encouraging statement from Mr President.#sai Baba#sai Buhari

ayomiposi said...

I feel so sorry for Mr President, there is a great lesson to be learnt. To the incoming President, you should learn to be surrounded by intelligent people whose priority be for the country's best interest

IBK said...

Nice one...no one will remain in power for life however your legacy wil outlive generations to come....President Jonathan you have done that

Kudos to u GEJ. U r a good man. U've done well. Now it's time to rest. Bravo. God's goodness will continually follow u and ur children will do great in Jesus name. Amen. I'm proud of u. Thank u for serving ur term in Nigeria.

Pope said...

You will be remembered as a Hero. Reason being that you had every machinery within your reach to rig and get yourself back to office but you chose to keep your promise of "one man, one vote" even when it did not favor you. You've got morals than your estranges God father who wouldn't have towed the part you took.

Awwwww... Swt man

AYOBAMI said...

CONGRATULATIONS TO THE PEOPLE'S GENERAL.Meanwhile the same way Nigerians voted for you because you promised us that you will perform, see if you don't perform, we wont wait for 4years oooo, we go impeach you ni oooo I WISH BUHARI Goodluck.

I am all tears. If wishes were horses! God will continue to bless you forever

GOODBYE JOHNNY #SAI BUHARI

CallyOnTheBeat said...

God bless you sir!! The greatest President Nigeria has ever had!!! You are indeed a true statesman!!!!

Aww,I voted for you but I guess nigeria wanted buhari

Aww, nice!

Lolz he has already conceded defeat

Great man!!! It is well. Please send our love to Mama peace.

Bravo Mr president! I salute you!

Wow...That's a good one. I wish you the best in your endeavour sir.

uju Mbelu said...

Correct guy. we love you still

#saibuhari

Still weeping:-(

You are blessed Goodluck I just love u d more. Your name will forever be remembered. Let d talkatives run their mouth

I guess the burden of ruling this country and its attendant problems, which increased of late, was just too much for this good-at-heart man. PDP, take heart, he didn't throw your cash cow away; you will have it again when you put more effort or when APC puts in less effort.

Uw. Shikena

Awwwwwwwwwwwww GEJ so matured thank u Mr president we wish the president elect best of luck and a warning if u mess up we will throw u out power belongs to the people

Sad much

I love this man. I do not regret my vote on u. God bless u Sir. Posterity will not forget your legacy. Now u can rest from all the unwarranted hatred and stay peacefully.

s@min@ir@ said...

A true statesman congratulations for being the first president in Africa to do a thing like this. Rather than scream foul and chant vows to make Nigeria ungovernable to d next government. You decided to bow out honourably. God bless u. You are best. We hope dat Nigeria will b governance now. Peace

True democract

I reached a whole new level of respect for GEJ today. And this speech just drove it home! But I really wonder why we didnt see all these before now... maybe he would have been the one returning to the seat

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 583   Newer› Newest»