Statement by President Jonathan on presidential election 2015 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 31 March 2015

Statement by President Jonathan on presidential election 2015

Official statement by president Jonathan after the announcement of the results of presidential election
Fellow Nigerians,
I thank you all for turning out en-masse for the March 28 General Elections. I promised the country free and fair elections. I have kept my word. I have also expanded the space for Nigerians to participate in the democratic process. That is one legacy I will like to see endure.

Although some people have expressed mixed feelings about the results announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), I urge those who may feel aggrieved to follow due process based on our constitution and our electoral laws, in seeking redress.

As I have always affirmed, nobody’s ambition is worth the blood of any Nigerian. The unity, stability and progress of our dear country is more important than anything else.

I congratulate all Nigerians for successfully going through the process of the March 28th General Elections with the commendable enthusiasm and commitment that was demonstrated nationwide.

I also commend the Security Services for their role in ensuring that the elections were mostly peaceful and violence-free.

To my colleagues in the PDP, I thank you for your support. Today, the PDP should be celebrating rather than mourning. We have established a legacy of democratic freedom, transparency, economic growth and free and fair elections.

For the past 16 years, we have steered the country away from ethnic and regional politics. We created a Pan-Nigerian political party and brought home to our people the realities of economic development and social transformation.

Through patriotism and diligence, we have built the biggest and most patriotic party in Nigerian history. We must stand together as a party and look to the future with renewed optimism.

I thank all Nigerians once again for the great opportunity I was given to lead this country and assure you that I will continue to do my best at the helm of national affairs until the end of my tenure.

I have conveyed my personal best wishes to General Muhammadu Buhari.

May God Almighty continue to bless the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

I thank you all. 

Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, GCFR

President,

Federal Republic of Nigeria

March 31, 2015

583 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 400 of 583   Newer›   Newest»
Tee said...

Good of him.

Innocentia Annie said...

Awww!!!! So touching, tears dropping from my eyes already.Thank you if not for anything but for the violence free then the free, fair $ credible election. God bless you Mr President.

Lady C said...

Seriously Jonathan his a gud man bt have bad followers and his wife waz also a major problem in d country.

Still weeping:-(

Pls Mr. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan I will advice you to kindly withdraw Ebele from you're name today. U are just like a common street poor man who found himself in the miss of rich people but have that poor brian.

Wey that Fani Kayode man? I no hear am again na.

VERULE Says-nice speech sir,God kna d best,God bless u n Nigerians .

Thank you somuch sir for maturity you played and the transperancy in your government. You allowed nigerians to make their choice. God bless you sir! May you live long sir!

The guy tried.
He's welcome to the group of former presidents / Head of Stae

Angela said...

Thank you Mr President for a peaceful transition.

Uw. Shikena

Thank u Mr President...

U r d man! Okobia!!!

A true leader indeed, An unsung hero. We celebrate your legacy President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan.

Uw. Shikena

Ben A said...

Hi Linda,
I think its time we all celebrate GEJ. I mean we all need to truly congratulate and Thank Him.

Mrs Mildred said...

A good and kind president,,,,l luv u sir

crouchingTigress said...

What is all this paparazi Jega is doin?abeg let him announce d winner leme gan sleep.btw am waiting 4 mama peace to send in her own statement too.

Goziem Oh LORD said...

That is a man of peace. u will always be my hero. Thank you sir.

usuji89 said...

wow ,i respect jonathan so much more after today ,although i did not support him during the election.i now see that he is a man integrity, he kept his word .conceding immediately without hassle.that is true victory!! to me.im proud to have had him as a president.his name will go down in history because of this and Nigeria has gained so much respect because of this.Goes to prove "its not how well you start but how you finish"Thank you goodluck jonathan ,our hero"

Uw. Shikena

Noted Mr Former president

you are a wonderful leader.too soft hearted and gentle. long live GEJ and mama peace.

Uw. Shikena

GOOD man when next u have the intention of coming back to presidency I will always vote for u God bless and ur family for ruling Nigeria we the south east thank u for a well deserved statesmanship

Well said Mr presido. Niger Delta is proud of you.Tim28

Your No. 1 DATA Vendor Call/WhatsApp 09028450336 (Get Your Cheap & Affordable DATA on All Networks) said...

So touching,I feel like crying right nw

Oza said...

Thank you sir for being what my mind has always told me you could be, but for your wrong (perhaps political) choices of advisers.
However, you, AND NOT PDP, made Nigerians to be proud to be Nigerians today! And to you alone we owe the gratitude. Thank you sir.

you are a wonderful leader.too soft hearted and gentle. long live GEJ and mama peace.

Pope said...

...besides, Linda you see why i advised you against accepting adverts from Political parties right?

Wow! Very touching statement. Wish u all my best my ex-presido👍.. Buhari welcome on board. Bring in d change👍

Uw. Shikena

Well done.

God bless you sir. You are the real agent of change. I love you loads

BONARIOS BABY said...

Thank You and bye...

Alake said...

You see this man ehn, i'll love you forever.
A true example of a Nation Builder. Agent of #Change#

God bless u Oga Jona.

Uw. Shikena

PRETTY GIRL said...

Gotta respect this man mehn,you don't need to love him, just RESPECT #GEJ you're not a Looser, you're indeed a man of honour #Nigerian history will remember you

emerald192 said...

Nice talk. Will always love ur government. May God grant u ur heart desire

Well said Mr Noble jona

He's a good man, he's a good president. But He had vampires around him... Good bless you too

You are a good man GEJ.. Thank you for keeping your word, thank you for your sincerity, thank you for ensuring there's peace in our land thank you for making history for Nigerians.. You have proven to Nigerians that there is beauty in democracy , and it has surely come to stay.
May almighty God bless you for these things you have done.
I cannot speak for all Nigerians but I know majority of us appreciate your efforts so far..
We pray for more wisdom, understanding even as you round off activities as the President of federal republic of Nigeria, and thereafter.
Thank you Sir.
God bless Nigeria.

Mela said...

Awwwwwwwww! Now i'm liking him more than ever.......... God bless u sir.

I'm now your fan, sir. International representations, you should get.

Wonderful speech, god bless u Gej and history will continue to remember him

Reina said...

God bless you sir.

I feel like crying. What a humbleand honourable man. I think u are a goodman but surronded urself with the wrong pple

Lessons learnt about the whole GEJ saga losing as an incumbent.....Never be disloyal to those that put you in position(obasanjo), never underestimate the power of the social media,never abandon a section of a country (south west and north west),always guide over your utterance(stealing is not corruption),always caution your wife when she is going wrong (Mama Patience).

GEJ my man....I so much respect u.God knws d best for NIGERIA buh I knw u did ur best and av uv once sed dt "nigerians will appreciate u wen u leave power" wev startd..I wish 2 meet u one on one. GMB pls avoid god fatherism pls.cus our pvc is stil with us. Linda pls post ds comment.

crowny said...

eya goodheart,u took a bold step for d sake of peace.can so call buhari do dis?rather der will b crisis everywhere now. e better sweep dat place well wit him stupid broom.shey na change una want?una go see change run.

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Bye Bye Jonathan. God bless you.

J3nnif3r said...

President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, is the Hero.. God bless you Mr President for placing Nigeria above all.

Although he was useless during his tenure I must commend him for this....hats off!!!

Etsako Pearl said...

Thank u 4 ur tym.Hasta La Vista!

Ah love you Mr President..God chose u and I accepted u

Livy said...

GEJ's greatest achievement is this election. He allowed the people's vote count. History should be kind to him. ‪#‎Statesman‬

U r a good man. U would have comprised but u chose not to. God bless u sir. May ur days be long.

You r the unsung hero

May God Bless and continue to increase you sir. You are truly a leader and your legacy will live on. Thank you for Peace...

Tendency oby said...

So proud of u my GEJ

U re a HERO. U ve written Ur name,not just on a tablet of stone but also in our hearts. U remain the best president we as a Nation ve ever been blessed with. We'll miss you sir.

Mesky Da ImoFirstSon said...

Ooooh,dats y i love him..Tnk u my president.God be wit u

Linda bear that in mind

I love u GEJ, u a real leader... I love Nigeria n will always do

Thank you sir for what you just started in Nigeria. I love you my best president, your breath of fresh air got to me and my family.

well said, a man of his words! I know deep down, he never wanted to contest, but all those stomach infrastructurers in his cabinet won't allow it. Nigerian by this will Love this man!

Damn!
I will really miss GEJ.
I am proud to be a Southerner.
Look at the beautiful statement he made.

When Buhari lost the 2011 election, did he even call the President to congratulate him? He was busy telling his followers to kill Jonathan's voters, inciting violence and asking for blood shed. Most of his comments aggravated Boko Haram killings. Do you know how many Youth Corp Members were killed because of his foolish statement.

Nigerians seem to have a bad memory.
May we not be the source of our problem because of this man that we just voted in the name of CHANGE.

Jonathan history will remember you for the hero that you are in terms of how you allowed democracy to take its course.

The same people shouting victory chants will tomorrow be shouting 'crucify him' chants by the time Buhari starts to show his true colour that we all seem to have forgotten.

I won't be surprised if he sidelines Osinbajo, the main reason why the South and the South-West voted for Buhari in the first place.

May God continue to bless Nigeria.
#OneNigeria

GEJ my man....I so much respect u.God knws d best for NIGERIA buh I knw u did ur best and av uv once sed dt "nigerians will appreciate u wen u leave power" wev startd..I wish 2 meet u one on one. GMB pls avoid god fatherism pls.cus our pvc is stil with us. Linda pls post ds comment.

It's the last legacy you could manage to leave behind! Glad you made the right choice, I tot you'll be pressured by PDP to put up a fight after a failed govt tenure. Thank God you took the right path, at least Nigerians have one good thing to remember you for. All hail our General jare! Against all odds, you finally conquered, while APC were strategising, PDP was busy looking for ur WAEC certificate,now the result is glaring!

But why are they fast forwarding na,, make them allow jega announce first na... Oh! They've accepted change too

God bless you sir '' u are a hero ''' thanks '''.....

FFK is Quiet, Doyin Has shut up, Reuben is AWOL, they will not come out like Fayose tails in between their legs n show solidarity.

Oga Jonah u don try jare, chalie boy is waiting to take u to Otueke pls tell mama piece to sofly spoke grammar wen u return home #I wish u good luck...1st to comment

Heiya I cn dey pity you :(

Yinmu*

Well said. I love this man die. What a pity, he really didn't get to show his true potential. Smh

Yinmu*

Jonathan has shown humility n we should learn from it

Awww, that's so honourable of our President. God bless u too.

Moronfolu Kayode said...

God Bless Nigeria Mr President And God Bless You Too.
Better Days Ahead Good People.

segunsd said...

Well said. Much respect baba Jona. #GodBlessNigeria above all.

Congrats GMB. #NigeriaHasDecided

Ingrid said...

Nigeria has decided, to God be the glory. I do not see President Jonathan as a looser.I truly commend President Jonathan for his show of sportmanship. That is how it should be and is indeed a great legacy. I remember when he won the last election, there was a lot of unrest and blood shed. So many innocent corp members died. May God be with President Jonathan and also with our newly elected president. May the General correct the ills & rot in Nigeria and do the electorate and good people of this country proud.

Very sportsmanlike and presidential. I wish you well, please separate yourself from detractors like Okupe and Muazu. They were not intelligent enough to read the signs more so they weren't honest to you.

I love you sir, thanks for restoring hope in our country's democratic process , history will forever be kind to you. God bless

Moronfolu Kayode said...

The CHANGE we are looking for started from you. This is a shock to the whole world. You are the man of the day. You have disappointed the rest of the world. Thank you for doing this and I thank God that this happened in my lifetime. You have saved so many lives that would have been lost. We appreciate you.

Moronfolu Kayode said...

I love u sir. Ur on point

Marviz said...

I love u best presido ever, chop plenty kisses nmmuahh

ejoec said...

Best president ever

Marviz said...

I love u best presido ever, chop plenty kisses nmmuahh

Princess Charming said...

God bless you!

Nice one ... U are indeed a peaceful man

A great man indeed.

jermayne said...

Nice motive

GEJ we salute you! You have indeed given us credible elections and that legacy we shall never forget. Thank you for your service to our nation as we proceed in the hope that GMB shall deal squarely with the hydra headed problems of insecurity and corruption. Long Live the federal republic of Nigeria and God bless Nigeria. Chukzee

well done GEJ.u did well.

ayomiposi said...

I feel so sorry for Mr President, there is a great lesson to be learnt. To the incoming President, you should learn to be surrounded by intelligent people whose priority be for the country's best interest

Yasssss....

I salute you sir..a man of peace you are!!

Awwwww, Nigerias best president ever!!!! Truly a democrat.

I LOVE THAT MY PRESIDENT

I so much respect u sir cos u are a true democrat. God bless u #GEJ

Marviz said...

I love u best presido ever, chop plenty kisses nmmuahh, all those bloody sucking aboki's take note

Good one Mr President

$irfemxy said...

Thank you Sir for fufilling your promise for a free and fair elections. The PDP still remains a formidable party across Nigeria and Africa as a whole, and should see this loss as wake up call rather as failure and I know you will come back strong I hope that this doesn't leads to the disintegration of the party, cause we need you in this next dispensation as a check and balance to avoid impunity and apathy on the part of the elected officials in the nation. I want to also use this medium to thank and praise the efforts of Prof Jega and all Inec officials that participated to the huge success recorded in this election, God bless them all. I will like to pray for the families and souls of people that lost their lives in this struggle. Finally I want to congratulate the President elect in person of; General Buhari, and all Nigerians that came out to made their voice and votes counts. Sir, we hope you'll fufil all the promises made during the electioneering process in due cause. God bless The Federal Republic of Nigeria...

good one Mr President

best president ever

Odigba !!!!

Zems said...

Touching! Very touching! I really feel for this man. Goodluck, you'll always be remembered for showing true democracy to Nigerians. May God bless you.

good one Mr President !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Good bless you sir!

Tnx u mr president

good boy now pack ur bags to otueke

nice one

Humble man. Love me some GEJ

The most humble president ever. The live you touch is a prove that u ruled well. God bless you GEJ. GOOD LUCK AWAIT YOU.

God bless you, President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan! You have been, and will continue to be in my prayers, and not too long from now, posterity will vindicate you! I pray God's peace and blessings upon Nigeria. May the Gracious Hand of God guide the President-Elect GMB. May Nigeria continually progress. Amen!

muna said...

Brilliant your Excellency!!!
I wish you didn't surround yourself with lunatics though...

A man...a leader...a visionary...a true patron of democracy... Thank you Sir for giving us hope this day #milestone #democracylives #proudlyNigerian

I just fell in love with Jonathan for the second time (the first being back in 2011). Thank u sir. You are a true democrat. Your integrity proceeds u. May God bless and continue to keep u and yours.

U r a great man, history will be fair to u

Wowwww..impressed,don't think I wuld have bn this gracious ohh..MAy God bless you real good GEJ and be with u as u go on with ur life..hope Nigerians especially those in the south south will live by his example and avoid violence at all cost..really no election is worth any bloodshed.

well said Mr President,you will go down in history for this.Please keep this spirit up till the end.

Didn't acknowledge ur mistakes sir pride befall a man if it was any of my family dat was u I would say u rather serve God than man, u did ur best but not d best we expected from u sir if u can't run d country don't go for third time u fie and no one will die with u

God bless you Mr President and enlarge your coast and to the president elect,favour wil seek u and Gods wisdom wil guide u amen. God bless Nigeria

You will always have my respect sir!!! A true democrat....

You have not steered the country away from ethnic and regional politics. It is still evident from the just concluded elections

Awww so sweet

U are great man sir

Amy said...

You are a good man, just the people surrounding you that messed up your administration. I hope PDP will accept this spirit of sportsmanship in you. Eg. Reno, Doyin, Femi and co.

And I pray Nigeria moves forward from here dats all we need now no more violence it needs to stop and progress from hence forth

You have not steered the country away from ethnic and regional politics. It is still evident from the just concluded elections

GEJ u r indeed a gr8 man. God bless u.

sweetie said...

I give u honour for democracy free, but Wat of our honourable soldiers u Av corrupted wit money, wasting life's of people during d period of election in some states. The thugs compromised wit u to intimidate ur opposition. Wat I no is dat it the will of GOD. We pray alot in dis country and GOD listen to our cry. I pray change stand for ever

osaro said...

You are a hero! God bless you.

U are great man sir

John Philemon said...

Come rain come sun, u remain d best president of Nigeria,,,, God bless u sir

Thank u Mr president ur name will not be forgotten in the history of naija

What a gentleman! The best president ever.

Yeye man...go away jor....

eya sowie

God bless you. May history judge you fairly.

Well said...my God see u tru

God Bless you Goodluck! Your watch ended well

Rx Mams said...

I respect u sir. You put a nation before your political gains. Just pray that change would actually occur

You are a true hero Mr President. Nobody would thot it possible that an incumbent president with all the state machinery and power could allow a credible election where he does not interfere. This is the first in Africa as a whole. You are a hero. You are the best. Sycophants may critics ur tenure but u have left a monumental legacy for us all and future generations. This is the first in Nigeria and Africa

Obioha Nnamdi said...

BUHARI!!... You beta be a Changed man ooo. Re you seeing Goodluck's patriotic attitude, learn from GEJ

willie is working said...

Was reduced to tears reading this. God bless an honourable man.

I love you president Jonathan. History will remember you. You are a true and worthy gentleman, the real face of democracy.

betiku dotun said...

Wow nice one mr president. U really make good record. God bless u and ur family

Benjamin Aboje said...

I truly respect president Jonathan. today you have earned my final respect sir.
Thanks for giving Nigeria and Nigerians a peaceful electoral. Process . Long live the federal republic of Nigeria

You sure did leave a legacy and Nigerians can only wish you the best in your future endeavors. I believe you did your best regardless of the circumstance, wether it was good enough or too little too late, only GOD can be the judge. Good-Luck Sir.

The man Goodluck is better than his predecessors, though he failed to do much. For him not to rig the election in a corrupt nation like Nigeria where people dont stand up against injustice is outstanding. And its effect if built upon can be far more weighty than many regimes.

Lets hope the General is Who this criminals around him say he is.

God bless Nigeria

Eeeeyaaa

This wolf should stop referring to himself as president biko.

...well said my President. True democracy you brought to us. God bless you.

That's my president, I congratulate you sir! You changed history and delivered a free and dairy election. You're the real MVP.

ghost writer said...

The humility u taught we Nigerians today will change this country forever.all d best Mr President!

My dear Mr president I only wish you did not surround yourself with vultures n scoundrels who btw should start running. I wish you well in your future endeavours. To me you are no hero a clear 2million vote difference speaks volumes of what Nigeria wants. God willing we will get there. My General congrats, but be wise and learn from the mistakes of your predecessor, shake off the vultures n scoundrels you have accompanying you and by God's grace we will succeed.

Your strength of character is more than riches. Its golden. Its excellence. Truely u are the excellency of Nigeria. You are a true leader. Africa leaders should learn from you. May GOD bless and protect you Mr President

Yembal said...

Thank you Mr. President. You have tried.

IT said...

Greatest Nigerian PResident. hIstory will remember you for good. I salute you sir, you are a great man. Thank you

You fucked man. This people have shown us who Nigeria really belong to. Hausa and Yoruba's. You had the opportunity to sprit this country but you couldn't.

QUEEN AMANDA said...

Gentlemen God bless you and your family

Thank you my President. You are truly humble. You were my winner. I hope with time,the people will see you're not a monster some have created you to be. You have good intentions for nigeria but sometimes good intentions are never enough. Thank you my president.

Eiya
Now this is fucking touching...
Where's †ђξ old sick man?
Oya continue shinning teeth as u pack ur bags small small

Godbless u sir.
Posterity will vindicate you.
Best president ever.
I love you

Godbless u sir.
Best president ever.
I love you

Wow. Sir I respect you for life. This is historic and Iconic. I salute your dignity and quest for a peaceful Nigeria. God bless you GEJ.

Godbless u sir.
Best president ever.
I love you

Godbless u sir.
Best president ever.
I love you

Okay.

Godbless u sir.
Best president ever.
I love you

isaac said...

Nigeria celebrate you GEJ

Wateva..... bet wait... him don compose dis msg b4 abi he jst did?

God bless you sir!

Ok well done Mr GEJ, we also thank u for accepting the results, and the aspect of ethnicity u talk about, u are the one that cost it. Because it was so alarming the way u and ur follower like them FFK, Fayose, Okupe, Obanikoro, Ruben and omokri, where singing it was too much. Last election I personally vote for u, because I believe if our person is there as a president thing will get better, but since u have been in power I didn't see any change, all what I saw true out was corruption, which is very bad. No electricity, no security no job, no good life, so it was just crazes.

God bless you president jonathan
Loosing election is not the end of life
.you havee tried for nigeria

That's the spirit GEJ 1 #NIja

Chai I feel like crying. I swear I love this man's simplicity he's just to kind hearted. But unfortunately he's surrounded by too many bad and wrong people. He's a Hero and posterity will judge him faily. I love you my president and your gentility will be grately missed. You do well my one and only GOODLUCK!

Hillz said...

Nigerians and sentiments!!!!nawaa oooo what's der to pity him for?really what did u expect? He shouldn't have accepted his failure or what?dis country sha

Buhari over to you... we are watching and monitoring...

GEJ congrats too. I am a hausa man and i neva blv u r bad. I only blv u hv alot of bad pple around u. Bt regardless, this is a remarkable achievement. U kept ur word and we will remember u as a hero not a looser sir. May Gob bless u n d new lyf u r headin in. Ameen

U making no sense at all. Dumb bitch
#NWord

NMaa said...

# much respect

Chi said...

My President! I am humbled by your humility and good sportsmanship Sir.

At least you won't go to jail or Icc

You won't go to jail or icc

Why wouldn't u say dat none of ur family lost their lives by boko haram

you're a great man. Such a great precedence you have set. God bless you.

Now his showing his humbleness when he will soon take koboko for stealing and resolving issues that has turn d greatest sadness for Nigeria in history

jslimz said...

I think before....he couldn't hav been expectin to win....Dumb ass man

The way thus election was run will make me say to Mr. President ' best I ever had'
I would want GMB to do exceedingly better cos now they know that this is Democracy and our votes counts

U r a big fool

jslimz said...

Free and fair election my ass....dis we vote you into power in 2011 to com nd conduct free and fair election for us in 2015....Bro you hav no achievements...Go and rest in peace wit ur wife like she said

Ehyaaaa!Nice one

Moron Mercy
Pointless comment
Mumu mercy what are you trying to say?

Wasted money on those selfish celebrities all of u will go down with GEJ when no infrastructure or job or social welfare why can't we remember u for making something Nigeria never thought of happening Satan failed u as uade history with boko haram

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 400 of 583   Newer› Newest»