Read heartbreaking last letter Iranian woman wrote before she was hanged | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 27 October 2014

Read heartbreaking last letter Iranian woman wrote before she was hanged

27 year old Reyhaney Jabbari was executed on Saturday October 25th by hanging in Iran seven years after she killed a man that she claimed had attempted to rape her. (read here). Before she was killed, Reyhaney wrote a very emotional letter to her mother, asking that her organs be donated to those who need them. See the full text of the letter after the cut...

The full text of the letter was translated by the National Council of Resistance of Iran:
Dear Sholeh, today I learned that it is now my turn to face Qisas (the Iranian regime's law of retribution). I am hurt as to why you did not let me know yourself that I have reached the last page of the book of my life. Don’t you think that I should know? You know how ashamed I am that you are sad. Why did you not take the chance for me to kiss your hand and that of dad?
The world allowed me to live for 19 years. That ominous night it was I that should have been killed. My body would have been thrown in some corner of the city, and after a few days, the police would have taken you to the coroner’s office to identify my body and there you would also learn that I had been raped as well. The murderer would have never been found since we don’t have their wealth and their power. Then you would have continued your life suffering and ashamed, and a few years later you would have died of this suffering and that would have been that.
However, with that cursed blow the story changed. My body was not thrown aside, but into the grave of Evin Prison and its solitary wards, and now the grave-like prison of Shahr-e Ray. But give in to the fate and don’t complain. You know better that death is not the end of life.
You taught me that one comes to this world to gain an experience and learn a lesson and with each birth a responsibility is put on one’s shoulder. I learned that sometimes one has to fight. I do remember when you told me that the carriage man protested the man who was flogging me, but the flogger hit the lash on his head and face that ultimately led to his death. You told me that for creating a value one should persevere even if one dies.
You taught us that as we go to school one should be a lady in face of the quarrels and complaints. Do you remember how much you underlined the way we behave? Your experience was incorrect. When this incident happened, my teachings did not help me. Being presented in court made me appear as a cold-blooded murderer and a ruthless criminal. I shed no tears. I did not beg. I did not cry my head off since I trusted the law.
But I was charged with being indifferent in face of a crime. You see, I didn’t even kill the mosquitoes and I threw away the cockroaches by taking them by their antennas. Now I have become a premeditated murderer. My treatment of the animals was interpreted as being inclined to be a boy and the judge didn’t even trouble himself to look at the fact that at the time of the incident I had long and polished nails.
How optimistic was he who expected justice from the judges! He never questioned the fact that my hands are not coarse like those of a sportswoman, especially a boxer. And this country that you planted its love in me never wanted me and no one supported me when under the blows of the interrogator I was crying out and I was hearing the most vulgar terms. When I shed the last sign of beauty from myself by shaving my hair I was rewarded: 11 days in solitary.
Dear Sholeh, don’t cry for what you are hearing. On the first day that in the police office an old unmarried agent hurt me for my nails I understood that beauty is not looked for in this era. The beauty of looks, beauty of thoughts and wishes, a beautiful handwriting, beauty of the eyes and vision, and even beauty of a nice voice.
My dear mother, my ideology has changed and you are not responsible for it. My words are unending and I gave it all to someone so that when I am executed without your presence and knowledge, it would be given to you. I left you much handwritten material as my heritage.
However, before my death I want something from you, that you have to provide for me with all your might and in any way that you can. In fact this is the only thing I want from this world, this country and you. I know you need time for this. Therefore, I am telling you part of my will sooner. Please don’t cry and listen. I want you to go to the court and tell them my request. I cannot write such a letter from inside the prison that would be approved by the head of prison; so once again you have to suffer because of me. It is the only thing that if even you beg for it I would not become upset although I have told you many times not to beg to save me from being executed.
My kind mother, dear Sholeh, the one more dear to me than my life, I don’t want to rot under the soil. I don’t want my eye or my young heart to turn into dust. Beg so that it is arranged that as soon as I am hanged my heart, kidney, eye, bones and anything that can be transplanted be taken away from my body and given to someone who needs them as a gift. I don’t want the recipient know my name, buy me a bouquet, or even pray for me. I am telling you from the bottom of my heart that I don’t want to have a grave for you to come and mourn there and suffer. I don’t want you to wear black clothing for me. Do your best to forget my difficult days. Give me to the wind to take away.
The world did not love us. It did not want my fate. And now I am giving in to it and embrace the death. Because in the court of God I will charge the inspectors, I will charge inspector Shamlou, I will charge judge, and the judges of country’s Supreme Court that beat me up when I was awake and did not refrain from harassing me. In the court of the creator I will charge Dr. Farvandi, I will charge Qassem Shabani and all those that out of ignorance or with their lies wronged me and trampled on my rights and didn’t pay heed to the fact that sometimes what appears as reality is different from it.
Dear soft-hearted Sholeh, in the other world it is you and me who are the accusers and others who are the accused. Let’s see what God wants. I wanted to embrace you until I die. I love you.

237 comments:

1 – 200 of 237   Newer›   Newest»
Uche Emma said...

So unforunate

mimi said...

so touching

Ewooooo! Rest in peace...

mimi said...

very sad

Is so painful from freebornzina

kai this letter breaked my heart wetin women really do Muhammed o. the laws in the quran for women are horrible. God will judge sha

Omg what a wicked world. Ginika2nwa@yahoo.com

Uche Emma said...

God, this is so touching.

I hope they granted this her last request?

Rest in peace sister

Peejay said...

This is really sad. May her soul rest in peace.

Is well..r.I.p

mohammedaudu35@yahoo.com

Blessed Child said...

Feel really sad for her. Wish all these could bring her back, sometimes I'm grateful to God that I met myself in this part of the world. Rip dear

Ijjoy said...

May her soul rest in Peace.What a touching letter. Ijjoy2000@gmail.com

Talk2Henry said...

Every emotional letter. I think she's not guilty of that crime.....

Whao. This moved me to tears. RIP

What a pitz

miss Sparxz said...

Jeez...TEARS!

OMG...SAD. RIP DEAR

miss Sparxz said...

Jeez...TEARS! Soo sad. RIP!

lynne said...

so sad. ogooakpa@yahoo.com

how turching...read dis wit tear in my eyez....may her soul rest in peace....amen....injustice has bcome d orda of day

Oh God. This brought tears to my eyes. A cursed nation. God is indeed merciful, kind, patient and gentle. If not, some countries are supposed to have been wiped off from the surface of the earth. Rest on beautiful one
Tuts!

PEGGYSOUP said...

So tourching

I just hope one day people would let to love one another

Really bad...cuff009@yahoo.com

I cldnt help but cry

Its a pity . She's such a cute lady. *****QUEENMAYA*****

A piece of me just died! This one of the most touching things I have read this year. God bless her soul and help her dear mother.

So touching. God help us.

its really touching

This world is very cruel.. rest in peace

Eyah....RIP!

So sad

Oh gosh,well God dey..

Foolish religion called Islam caused all these shits....Animals, RIP beautiful sister.

alexis said...

so painful

I was close to tears...May ur soul rest in peace. May ur accusers, prosecutors go unpunished. Amen

Too long.

This is heart-wrenching! I thought of my mum when I read this and tears came to my eyes. RIP young lady. You maintained your dignity to the end.

this life is so cruel!!!!and we women carry the burden the most.may the evil that men do come to judge them on the last day.#this I pray

lynne said...

so touching. rip brave lady. I pray u see God. ogooakpa@yahoo.com

So touching and painful

blaq said...

Omg so sad may your beautiful soul continue to rest in perfect peace
Injustice everywhere God help us all

So touching

God will surely judge dem

Hmmm....life n it's mysteries.#crying

Vivienne said...

too bad! soo touching! R.I.P gurl> God knows best

OmG my emotions failed me here i can't help crying. May her soul rip.

jenny said...

So heart wrenching!!!!

God, dis is man inhumanity 2 woman...God will
judge.jeniesonia6@gmail.com

Nawaooo dat is serious ooo

kemele said...

Very touching

Tears rolling down my chick. It's unfortunate she was hanged. May her soul rest in peace.

touching

MissW said...

hmmm....so sad i had tears in my eyes...

She told us she was about being raped and couldn't prove it in court. You can't trample on justice system Linda.

kemele said...

Very touching

Mo said...

Really really painful and touching letter. May Allah forgive her sins and grant her ibada.

Where ever you are, I degree that you are saved in the name of Jesus Christ Amen!

You are definition of Fe-male(Iron-man) ,you are an epitome of strength and truth beauty.

Oh my God i feel like crying eamobi2002@gmail.com

Really sad...

chaii!! crying already.

Touching.. I hope she rest well

my God this is so touching

This brings hot tears to my eyes. So painful to see your death coming to you for a clear case of sentiment. So unfortunate to be born in this kind of society that is so cruel to women,a society that sees women as merely sex toys be to exploited,not seen ,not even heard.And when they tend to challenge the men,they either get stoned or hanged publicly while the World watches. It's quite agonizing. RIP Lady.

this letter brought rain of tears to my eyes, why on earth did i
read this???? gosh!

rttyy

V.D WESLEY-MANUEL said...

LINDA PLEASE THERE MUST BE SOMETHN WE CAN DO I MEAN LIBERS TO SAVE THIS PREETY ANGEL. AS A FATHER OF A PREETY DAUGHTER WHOM I ADORE SO MUCH I SHARE IN HER PAIN. LINDA PLEASE THINK ABOUT IT WHAT DO WE DO? " FATHER LORD JESUS INTERVENE AND SAVE UR DAUGHTER".

Just wini said...

God my heart aches, why did she have to suffer this. so pretty a soul. even in her troubled state her beauty still radiated. may God reward all those who denied this poor woman the justice she deserved

so so sad. imagine how brave she was till the end. hope her mother finds the peace in her heart to deal with her death, it is well.
Rosita Bonita

This epistle is enough to kill the poor mum. RIP Reyhaney! There is no justice in the world. May God comfort your dear mum Sholeh. Such a kind heart...The ruthless rich ones have a domain in hell.

She was born in the wrong country where women are treated same like men.

chygal said...

Teary may her soul RIP, with dis letter can the poor woman bear all this? May God help her and see her thru.

LINDA PLEASE THERE MUST BE SOMETHN WE CAN DO I MEAN LIBERS TO SAVE THIS PREETY ANGEL. AS A FATHER OF A PREETY DAUGHTER WHOM I ADORE SO MUCH I SHARE IN HER PAIN. LINDA PLEASE THINK ABOUT IT WHAT DO WE DO? " FATHER LORD JESUS INTERVENE AND SAVE UR DAUGHTER".

Jenny said...

Sad

Peter said...

hmmmmmmmmmmmmm how i wished the law did not hang her. The world is full of cheat...God have mercy upon us

heart wrenching...

I'm still in tears. So heartbreaking

tragic...

Heart Breaking. I pray no member of my linage marry anyone from that region.

I feel like crying now sorry dear R I P lenebaribere@gmail.com

lovlyivon said...

Quite pathetic indeed something cud hv been done atleast d international community cud hv mounted more pressure RIP God knows d best for the death of a believer is he release from d wickedness of his world

And Who Approves Linda

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.......

chenybaby2001@yahoo.com said...

chai!

chai! Dia is God o.Goldensarah9@yahoo.com

Lifematters-Mattersoflife(PEOPLE AND SOCIETY) said...

Very much unfortunate, thank God for countries like the West that does not allow the female folk being discriminated against. It is rather unfortunate.This is jungle justice

Lifematters-Mattersoflife(PEOPLE AND SOCIETY) said...

Very much unfortunate, thank God for countries like the West that does not allow the female folk being discriminated against. It is rather unfortunate.This is jungle justice

This is very sorrowful... her letter brought tears to my eye. May God almighty punish all the people who contributed to her being hanged. I pray God give her family the strength to bear the pain...pedrotoki80@yahoo.com

well.... its so sad!

Wow!

shit!! this brought tears to my eyes. short of words

What a heart touching last statement! May her innocent but wrongfully judged guilty soul find eternal rest in ALLAH. Innalillahi Wainna-ilaehi Rojihunna

Tears dropping from my eyes...May Allah grant you Aljana Fidaus

Hmmmmmm this letter weakened me.#Speechless

Jesus! I feel sad

So sad..

Touching.....rest in peace dear...God's judgment will prevail..and may HE console the loved ones you left behind!

Rike said...

so touching. may her soul rest in peace.

People no longer have the fear of God and are un ashamed about it..sometimes I wonder wot the whole essence of this life is

*TearsDrop* God accept Your Soul. AMEN... sleep on!

baba ali said...

SO SAD......RIP DEAR

edith said...

So touching.... may her soul RIP

Really heartbreaking ☹

Joyful Joy said...

What an heartbreaking letter. One thing that I pick from her letter is when she said she said she will charge them in God's court. It is well.

I have never commented on this blog but this is sooo heart warming that it bought tears to my eyes...ALLAH will grant her mercy and those that did her wrong will see what will come to them..

ihejirika concilia said...

so sad. she might be innocent

Le bebe said...

So touchy. May God rest your soul. rosaire_uche@yahoo.fr

Tears dropn 4rm my eyez, jst lyk d rain drop falin 4rm d sky..RIP.

My God! What a touching letter from a brave girl. May her beautiful soul rest in peace. We all live in a cruel world.

nkiru said...

linda even though the letter is long tears drop from my heart as i read the letter, it is so unfortunate but may her soul RIP Amen!

it is so sad

Mech said...

So sad.

really heart warming..ppl should see muslims are kind hearted unlike portrayed by the media which make us seem like violent ppl

it is so sad

Wow

Hmmmm words

Modupe

olabanji oladiran said...

Wahalai...proffessorjoe@yahoo.com

She was not a killer but a self willed woman.

So sad to read this. I really fee for her

Touching letter

Make Money Online said...

Very touching...

so touching....r.I.p

SOMETIMES THINGS LIKE THIS HAPPEN SO THAT WE THAT ARE LEFT WILL NO THAT THIS WORLD WE ARE IN IS NOT WORTH IT, WE SHOULD JUST LEAVE AND LET LIVE

oh my dear GOD. so FULL of tears

God is the best judge!

So heartbreaking

Irole Charlesblog said...

My heart bleeds. RIP

Wow so touching

Dis letter made me cry,may soul RIP@usmasgoalboy

Very touching....

sleeky said...

OMG it's so touching, continue to rest in peace

Hmmm....words r hard 4 me 2 say ryt now

Wow...am really pained,so sad

Am speechless...

Jennifer Collins said...

*tears.....so touching

Awwww....so touching #crying#

OMG. this is so touching. May her soul rest in peace. This woman had a golden heart and all those people who had a hand in her death will rot in hell while still on earth!

So sad, touching and painful! I pray God gives her mother the heart to bear this loss. May her soul rest in peace Amen #onelovefromSnow#

speechless...

Why r women always the victims? This has to change.

This is sad,justice world over is for sale

My Heart is Heavy , I'm weak , this brought me tears , the world isn't fair RIP rest in peace you are freed from torture , this is really sad

Just too bad,lauretb@yahoo.com

I cried my eyes out reading this letter.

Awww..so touching dat I almost cried

May ur soul Rest in perfect Peace

My God!!!, I pity her mum because the worst thing that can happen to anyone is to see your love one in pain and you can't help or do anything to stop it. May her soul rest in peace. Amen!!! Chiukam23@yahoo.com

So touching. RIP

It is broke.......not breaked
May her soul RIP

Ur so foolish

Which allah?mchewwwewwwwwwwwewee

There is nothing like being a Christian, RIP dear miss.

Hmmmmmmm.... This World. May her Soul Rest in Peace

Yao ming said...

Fuck you! There is no "abt being raped" kit!

Pls park well. Go and study ur quantity nd tell me if it speaks of being kind hearted. Ok

Yao ming said...

Dude she already dead!

Omg! *tears*...dis is so touching, n d paart wen she wrote 'in d court of God...i'lll charge all of dem...where u n I willl b d accusers n dey will b d accused' I almost cried ma eyes out!...may God judge. RIP

God!!! Dis is so touching. Can her mum withstand it after reading it, cuz to b frank I did not. But why will God always allow the rich to oppress the poor in any given chance? God u shud hav done somtin

R.i.p

So sad so touchy rest in peace.

Rest in peace my Dear...So so sad that the weak and the poor can not get justice in this world but then i ask, what is the purpose of a law court if they can not deliver justice to who truly deserve Mercy.

okeke odinaka stella said...

pls let her wish be granted, am more than touched, God of mercy, I hate injustice!

So sad so touchy rest in peace.

Tears fall off my eyes, As I read this letter. I really dont know what to say about this. It s is so unfortunate. Lets leave the Judgement to the righteous judge, the only one that can kill the body and soul to give the final judgement. Rest on dear

oilandgasdissertation said...

heart breaking

I can't stop crying dis hurts may she rest in peace n may her killers face d wrath of God.

Heart rending! Even I cried as I read...

Very very unfortunate but God knows all.RIP.

May God strengthen ur mum..*sosad*

the world is turning so unbelievable...embracing darkness over light....Am so down in my soul right now...I know the true verdict will prevail soonest....Rest in peace righteous soul

R.I.P

This is soo touching,may her soul Rest in peace...IMO she shouldn't have been killed,they should have just given her a few years in prison
@RealPrizeOkoli

Abeg linda this one make me cry hmmmmm. C.Ubochi@yahoo.com

Gen 3: 15
"and I will put enmity btw thee and the woman, and btw are seed and thy seed; it shall bruise thy head, and thou shall bruise it's heel".
It is the work of the Devil.

SHARIA LAWS JUS 4 D COMMONERS OPERATED BY LIKES OF SADDAM,GADDAFI,IBB,ABACHA,BUHARI

woow tears dropping. all dis countries or pple that keep using religion to cause injustice and harshness among women ur days are really numbered by God.

xo touching..yeti

So painful, unfortunate and touching am close to tears reading dis may her soul rest in peace

Sunshine B said...

So so touching

PROF said...

The word "God" is the root cause of all the evil in the world. Think over it deeply. if with our civilization we could as well lose ourselves from the shackles of religion i can tell you this world would be far more better than your imaginary heavenly paradise. Religion thrives on fear, fear of the unknown of a being you cant even explain. She's guilty by association therefore she will be judged based on the tenets of her religious belief. Our tradition teaches us more than all these foreign religion how to respect and treat women. But know their propaganda over our ethnic values has blinded us from the real facts. Very soon they will tell u about the end-time *i laugh* cause your grandkids will still be talking that same end-time. Pls i will urge you to read more and "think" objectively. Because in knowledge there is 'freedom'

Temmy said...

Mr Wesley, u can't save her now cos she's dead. If u read all d details u wud know dt she was hung yesterday or so, amnesty international cudnt save her na Libers go save am. There however remains somethings u cud do.
1. Respect women, never use ur religious, financial, emotional or physical strength to their disadvantage.
2. Teach ur sons the same.
3. Teach ur daughters to teach their sons the same.
If all of us do dis, it may take sometime but we would have a new breed of men in the not so distant future. As for d present crop of men in dis generation, only a miracle can save us. I believe in miracles even if it did not save Reyhaney Jabbari. RIP

This world is wicked.. so sad, couldnt help crying for this woman.. RIP..

PRETTYSILVIA said...

Manuel there is notyn we or Linda can do.she has been hanged already.so sad dat in dat part of d world women re treated like furniture. God really will have a lot to Judge on d last day.

AGB said...

What a touching letter from a beautiful & brave lady. I feel so sad. God rest her soul. Amen.

Hhh

Stephy said...

Quite touching

Emalumba said...

so touching.... rip dear

God!!!!! Dis s hrtbrking

You are an animal! A wild one at that! Does such thing not happen in naija also? Where innocent people are punished wrongly? Unfortunate human being that's what you are bastard!!!

May her soul rest in peace

Your comment shows how worthless you are! Does the story in any way cite religion? Abi because na Iran and you see say she wear veil? Anyway sha from your English I know you are a certified dunce!

She is brave. Shame to the evil ones

You are a bigger animal! Who told you religion is involved here? Demented wolf that's what you are! Shebi the one wen dey happen for naija too wey innocent people are denied justice na Islam cause am too! Alu four na Islam Abi? Shameless pig!

Anon there is no Islam in this story abeg don't confuse the matter! What happened to the young lady also happens here in Nigeria! If you took time to read the story, you will see where she mentioned being from a poor background hence she was denied justice! To say na rich girl now the tory go different! It is just sad!

ukbliss said...

RIP dear one

i beliv she's on God's right hand........RIP..........bt t so touching m soaked in tears........Life is so unpredictable......Life is like football anything can happen....sometimes i wish we could rewine d hand of time or mk replay or flashback of d past but it not possible......Baba God Na your hand i day oo.......Let life favour mi ooooo....... BoluBoi5

Only God know best

May her soul rest in peace.

Ademola oguntona said...

Humans forget the "Highest Court' which is the Court of God. This is how every rapist kill women. Men should respect themselves and women too should honour themselves. Too much provocative dressings can lead to your worst nightmare. Cover you body my fair one. Just be chaste and God will honour you. People can't touch what they cant see. Rape is like premeditated murder. It doesn't just happen. The victim must have been 'arranged'. The weakest man, less potent than the impotent even, is the one that rapes. You are either the world's problem or it's solution. Say No to rape all ye rappers! Advancedbusinessclass.com/forum

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 237   Newer› Newest»