Emergency response in Lagos..is it still working? Photo | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 1 November 2014

Emergency response in Lagos..is it still working? Photo

That's not a dead man so it's not a graphic pic. Apparently he was knocked down by hit and run car at 10pm yesterday Friday October 31st. The person who took the photo said for two hours, the man was breathing, that they called 767 and 112, but all they got was that emergency response were on their way. But he said until he left the scene around midnight, the emergency response team hadn't shown up, and there was no traffic at this time as the road was free.

So, we need to know; does emergency response work in Lagos? Why does it take them forever to get to the scene of an accident? The relevant authorities need to look into this biko...

74 comments:

Nigeria has a long way to go in security and a whole lot of other departemnts. Fire, paramedics and many more.

this is just so funny...can't the people there or the person that sent you the pix render help to the victim?we all know the govt. is faulty but wat of our emotions

Not only in lagos state....we need it here in ph..biko....FRANKISE SAID SO

What good does standing around and taking photos do?They should have carried the victim to a hospital.So for 2 hours people gathered round doing nothing?Granted the emergency response clearly doesn't work but it's even worse standing around watching an accident victim dying without doing anything.

I doubt if it works o. I called severally during an incident and was told they'll b thr shortly After asking for all the info. My dear it was d nxt morning I was called n dey were asking me if the situation is under control.

It is working but nt called emergency again..they dnt respond quick..hmconcept2000@gmail.com

APPLELIPX said...

I hpe he dint eventually lose it...

We need to set~up committee to look into this matter.

jerry said...

Nawa ooooo...... Are those emergency response noy working.

Eka Joy said...

So they were all standing there and looking at him, a group of them couldn't rush him to a nearby hospital

Eugenia said...

They do this all the time. They're never quick to respond to any emergency.

hmmmm the person that called 767 and 112 is funny..u tink say na yanki u dey??you go call taya..naija emergency service wont show up.#crazycountry

Goziem Oh LORD said...

That wot we get coz we live in a country where govt doesn't care about their people

No.. Sue those guys standing there and taking photos.. If d mountain can't come to Mohammed.. Then Mohammed should go to the mountain.. That's not fair.. Why not take the guy to the nearest hospital instead of taking pics

Linda, where is Pearl Osibu's piece?

Chai. #MagicMoments

So sad

So sorry, get well soon

jerry said...

Nawa ooooo...... Are those emergency response noy working.

Nah so @linda must of emergence number's isn't working in Nigeria oooo we're tire

Namecheap Sub-Domain said...

Artikel berita dari Anda selalu menarik dan memberi saya suatu pengalaman yang amat banyak.

Lagos state government over to you..we need response...

If u nt calling frm a political family or ur street aint one of the tush area where they can get good tips
Hmmmmm u will cook beans and corn finish dem neva show smh

Doesn't work #bright bravo# 269beb21

Just like every typical project in nigeria that starts well but ends a huge failure. The so called lagos emergency line is ( if care is not taken) going through the same phase.I will advice people not to totally depend on it- and i say this with full confidence to challenge anyone. About a year ago i called the line, it worked and they responded, and just 2months ago called again to report an emergency and i was shocked to what i experienced only for them to call me back the next day for a feedback. Ofcourse i gave them a full dose of the feedback they wanted.

ChincoBee said...

Yes oooo people have been complaining lately but I wonder is it that they have too many people to attend to?or they still don't have a viable job description?its not fair ooo that lives will just be wasted just like that.

Dis our Governemnt sef. All wot they knw and want is their selves

Nothing works in Nigeria.
Emergency response zero, security(defence) minus, electricity error, employment & empowerment inactive, & terrorism very active.
Our dictators & politicians are busy with forthcoming election. Am tired of this nation

Yes you are right about the emergency response in Lagos. I had a similar case i called and called and they never came.

I called them one time about a fire at maryland and d person that picked cut me off saying they only respond to life threatening situations. I was so upset

Lol what do u expect

Neks said...

Phew! first of all, thank God he is not a dead man, Emergency response in Nigeria, was it ever working?

shocked they even have one.. not surprised one bit they dont respond promptly

I hope the man survived. It's not working. This is the sham and charade that fashola and his cohorts have sold to the public.. it's non functional

It doesn't work at all. I lost someone close to me because they kept saying they are on their way, but they didn't show up. and they didn't even call back to ask how far.... we were the one who kept calling and they kept saying "emergency is on the way". But we didn't see any until we got to the general hospital....And this happened last year....it hurt.....but this is the country we find ourselves......A country where ambulance buses are abandoned, while government officials change cars like underwear.....We Nigerians should use the social media to fight this injustice, instead of using it to abuse and criticize celebrities......

Kindly like this page https://m.facebook.com/fakoyejoolalekanblogspot

@saucekiz_SMILEs

It's gud to call emergency but those people calling emergency can't dey take him to d nearest hospital first? If dey were with d man wen it ha penned and d man wz dia loved one will dey b waiting for emergency while d person dies? It's so sad we no longer know how to show love in dis country d xtianity some people claim is just show off.I pray he survives.

Why didn't they take him to a hospital? Please we need to be our brothers keeper. 2 whole hours and they were waiting for imaginary emergency response? What if he had died? We need to do better as a people please. We already know how useless our government is. Let us try to help our brothers where we can. I hope the guy survived/survives.

2hrs no good samaritan to take him to a nearby hospital?No hospital nearby?If emergency response no work nkor, abeg help each other leave govt alone!

That one pain you.there was a guy convulsing outside coldstone. We called the emergency numbers and the lady who responded hissed when we told her d situation. "Hello,hello,hiss" I was in shock.KD

and when that oyingbo man said Lagos is the worst place he had ever visited, you called him an ode... Evidence no.1 to prove his point

It is not working again because APC is too busy parking their load to leave.

No one should blame the bystanders. If the man died in their car while taking him to the hospital, the police will arrest them for manslaughter or even murder. The hospital staff will ask for a police report before they handle the accident victim, and even a cash deposit. Are the bystanders prepared for all that hassle? I simply cannot blame them for doing nothing. Its just a sad situation.
LS

Emergency no my foot!!Really,,,it so sad our country is like this,,,we still have a loooooooooooooooongeeeeesssssTttttt way to go in this country..#GiftedDiva#

Those ppl standin thr shld rush him 2d hospital naw...if he dies nw they'll blame GEJ for it
Twit @successralu

This hit and run issue in lagos is turning to something else. That is same reason my friend died last 2 months. RIP IYKE ONUOHA

This hit and Run issue is turning to something else in lagos. This is same reason my friend died last 2months in this same lagos. R.I.P IYKE ONUOHA.

This hit and run issue in lagos is turning to something else. That is same reason my friend died last 2 months. RIP IYKE ONUOHA

yao said...

StI'll working? Did it ever work? :/?

And you guys cried foul when Lee said Lagos is one of the worst place to visit. In my opinion, it is the worst on earth! Nigeria is a big joke! Very unprotective of her citizens!!

BrendaN

IS anything working in this country?
SECURITY
UNEMPLOYMENT
ELECTRICITY
BAD ROAD
SOCIAL AMENITIES
HEALTH CARE
CORRUPTION
EMBEZZLEMENT
INFRINGEMENT OF HUMAN RIGHT
NO RAIL WAY
AVIATION
INFLATION
ETC ETC ETC ETC (COMPLETE THE LIST)

So the IDIOTs that sent the photo could not take him to the hospital ?

They seriously need to look into it.

Neso said...

They shud v taken him to the hospital instead of waiting for emergency response that wil never come. So sad, he could be anybody relation

Not only Lagos, the whole Nigeria abeg. I hope the guy didn't die.

We still have a long way to go in this country,Our leaders are busy ain't helping matters atall #onelovefromSnow#

Those saying the bystanders should have taken him to the hospital obviously don't know the kind of country you live in. There are many people rotting in jail today cos they renders help to a stranger and a gun was later found on the stranger, no one carried out investigation in this country, they will be beating to a pulp at the station and forced to admit to committing to a crime they know nothing of, spend years going to the magistrate court and when luck finally smiles on them, the statement they wrote alone and the gun found on the other guy (dead or alive) will be enough to convict. Here, it's all man for himself, God for us all. Chikena!

Let them just put him in a car and take him to the hospital jare instead of taking pictures of a helpless man. Emergency response ke.

The people standing there are worse than the government. No emotions! Instead of them to rush him to the nearby hospital.

Scholes

"What did Lee say about Lagos again?"......Oh I guess it's best for Oyibo men to enjoy Nigerian dishes than a Nigerian getting the Emergency help he fully deserves

Chichi Taichi Okere said...

Fashola d media guvnor...

May God not let you help someone and get jail...you won't blame them cos if anything goes wrong, the doctors will hold the people that brought him and you know 9ja case. ..may God just protect us

Na only Ebola case Lagos State Govt dey take serious now ! May God heal our land.

You should always call 911 it works here in Nigeria, to confirm you can try it. Things will get better in Nigeria IJN Amen

E dey work ooooo

the policy in general hospitals is theatif u bring him as a good Samaritan, u better be ready to pay for everything he needs and stay there until a next of kin is reached. if he dies and u mamange to escape, his relatives will say the hospital killed him or even worse, used him for rituals. sadly, I don't lame the bystanders, neither do I blame the hospital staff, no one has their back either. meanwhile, ask any 2 or 3 'paramedics'working with those emergency services the definition of resuscitation or the basics of CPR then you will know that we haven't even started!!! most of those that survive survive inspite of the system, not because of it.
I rest my case

That's naija for you

Mystique said...

God bless America! Before you hang up from dailing 911 the police, medics and fire service will be at your door. I pray Nigeria will get there someday soon.

The emergency line works! Ive called severally n dey responded tho it tuk dem few mins..n a lady cald me bk d flwn day to ask hw long it tuk d agency to respond....I think its a gud project buh den we all knw our country.. d lagos state govt is tryn..deyll gt better wt tym. D ppl tkn pics shld ve actually tkn d man to a hospital tho

surshima samuel said...

U all talk like kids abi una no knw Naija again? Take him to a hospital and they will ask for a police report first b4 treatment, and police will arrest u after numerous questioning

It is not working

Naija nids strong prayers seriously

They aren't working jor.2yrs ago my sister-inlaw had serious stomachache around 12am and she was pregnant. unfortunately, dre was 'oro' in our area dt tyme(Ogudu)we now called dem n dey said dey are on dre way,dey neva showup till now maybe dey will come 2mrw sha n before we could summon courage to leave d house it was really late and she lost the pregnancy. dey re nonsense.

Onyi said...

what if the guy dies in ur car on ur way to the hospital? then you go see gobe!!