How I got pregnant in SS1, lost the child and got my life back - Ogun state lawmaker reveals | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 14 July 2014

How I got pregnant in SS1, lost the child and got my life back - Ogun state lawmaker reveals

In a very revealing interview with City People this week, Hon. Adijat Adeleye Oladapo, a lawmaker in the Ogun state House of Assembly, opened up about her life, of how she got pregnant when she was in secondary school, how the baby daddy denied the child and how she had to relocate to have her baby only for the child to die 18 months later. In this very deep interview, Hon. Oladapo talked about what she did to change her life. Read below...
"While I was in secondary school, I was a brilliant student. In my primary school I came second best student in our G2 exams but unfortunately, I started moving with some people who were more experienced and exposed than I was. One way or the other, I got pregnant when I was in SS1. The person who was responsible denied it because I was young and naive. I usually keep to myself a lot. My parents didn't know I was pregnant after four months and the guy also didn't know until about 4 months, although he equally impregnated about 2 other girls at the same time. He was a big boy in secondary school, the Senior Prefect, very brilliant.
It all started by exchanging novels and textbooks. I had to leave Akute where my parents stayed to live with my paternal grandfather in Kajola, a small village which was hard for me to endure because the viallage had nothing. I had my baby in December 1991. After the naming of the baby, my family held a meeting and asked me what I wanted to do and I told them I wanted to go back to school. My paternal grandmother was totally against it, simply because she felt it was a waste sending a girl child to school after what I had done but my father was ready to give me another chance which I will forever be grateful for. I enrolled in a school not far from my house because of my baby and I repeated my class. Unfortunately, the child died at 18months in 1993. It was like double jeopardy for  me, nothing to show for the stigma and missing school. When he was buried, I went to his grave and requested from God to help me because I was determined to be successful which was like a vow. I even cursed the boy who got me pregnant because he denied the pregnancy, that he would not be greater than me in life. I don't know his level now but I am grateful for what I am today.
I have forgiven him. After my secondary school, I decided to leave home to begin my journey. In 1998, I was admitted into the University of Lagos, things were tight for me then but someone introduced me to a job which was thrift collecting and daily contribution. I started working there and for years, I collected daily contributions in Ketu market and some other popular markets in Lagos state. I didn't have enough time to attend classes. I had to trek some places so my money would be enough. It was while I was working as a thrift collector, while coming from the office one day I stopped at my mother's shop to take some foodstuff from her shop. I met a man there who bought most of the foodstuffs and we started talking. That was the man I married and we have two kids. After then, my life changed" she said

106 comments:

o wow... dis is painfully inspiring!! wow...

Hmmm! Wot a touching story! There's always an happy ending after d struggles!
Mamafunkky@gmail.com

Interesting!

Thank God 4 life Madam. I dont want 2 talk much. But Linda I dont understand the relevance of this story to us. Anyway I'm out ***CATCH. ME IF U CAN***

Don't give up in life

What's the moral of this story cos seriously I didn't gain anything from it...@blissful_jay

Wow! I love stories like dis, there's always HOPE as long as there's life

I expect a retraction soon cos Nigerians are never open about their private lives like this. Big kudos to her for picking up her life and moving on.

AT THE BEGINNING HER STORY WAS A SAD ONE, BUT AT THE END SHE IS GIVING GLORY TO ALMIGHTY GOD. HAPPY ENDING...

Mrs E said...

Thank God 4 u. Having a baby out of wed luck isn't the worst thing that can happen to any1, infact its a blessing(the child). In fact it spurs most peolpe on. Ie genny

Happy ending...
#PICCANTO#
lausmithuj@gmail.com

What a life,what a story !
Now look at WHO YOU ARE TODAY.I REALLY PROUD OF YOU.Those that said that OUR DESTINY IS IN OUR HANDS ARE DAMN RIGHT.

Lorenx said...

who won read all dis tin... d boy don fuck werey commot 4 ur body u dey say one way or d oda u got pregnant....sssssior next pls

God can change anybody's story.

CoolDiva speaks!

bbm 7439955a said...

Why didn't u tell the world before u became a lawmaker. Let's see if you would have won the election. Political talk. Watch and see maybe shes planin to come out for a higher political position. ENGR Emy

WOW.... WAT A STORY.. SORI U LOST UR BABY, BT GOD KNOWS BEST.....

THANK GOD FOR WHO ND WHERE U RE TODAY...

ITS NEVER TOO LATE TO START AGAIN...
Moye B

Thank God for her life and she's strong to reveal that

DOBY DOBY said...

Touchin story. . D senior prefect really took advantage of her nd odas he impregnated. . Thank God she didn't abort d bby dats y God didn't stp lovin her..

F.T said...

quite a touching story.The downfall of a man is not the end of his life.she refused to be tied to the ground despite her challenges.Lessons: perseverance,discipline,determination and hardwork.

Bright Kelly said...

Hmm dats what I called never give up in life no matter what and to dos girl dat think once you have give bith urs have finish is a lie never give up to ur dreams.

Bright Kelly said...

Hmm dats what I called never give up in life no matter what and to dos girl dat think once you have give bith urs have finish is a lie never give up to ur dreams.

What a beautiful story

Dat its how my life will change too! So hapy 4 her,grass to grace.My testimony is on d way,Amen.

Tracyomodon said...

eya thank God for her life.
This is a really powerful story.No matter how down you are u can always come up.

is challenging...nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

Juliebabe said...

This life but am so happy for her @least she didn't lose hope after de child birth

Eugenia Ekeji said...

God has a way of doing things. Always believe you'll get there.

EbonyAma said...

Nice, God pls continue to help me.

mynae said...

It doesn't matter how you start...what matters is how you end
nmynae@gmail.com

lin lin post my comment na.

...and that man she married is my uncle Segun. She's so nice and humble. Her position doesn't get to head at all

Open Your Paypal With Ease As A Nigerian said...

hmmm what a big screen story

Linda Ikeji

if you fall, rise up
that is the moral of the story

memes said...

nyc story,serves as an encouragement.whatever situation u r in,a better you will shine if only you do not give up

Mine testimony is coming very very soon by Gods Grace••happy for u#GiftedDiva#

if you fall, rise up
That is the moral of the story

eagle eye said...

eyah..God no bst u lost dt baby.d God dt clean ur shame do same2me ijn!!!

Tales by moonlite..thank God for u

Good story! But why do some guys always denied responsibility, it happen to me 2 and he said "sorry am not d only one involved".

This Is Super Story. (Linda's Man)

#King said...

Girls own better..u'll stay on ur own and meet a rich nigga..d guys walks into ur lyf n change ur lyf..great story..@wilHOEmina moses its nt too late..be useful to urself..being an asshole on Lindas blog won't make u rich....................................#KingOfKings

Good for u your life is better afterall.
Cooldavoe@yahoo.com

ANYA IKENGA said...

Runs babe got lucky. All thanks to Thiefnubu for imposition of candidates.

nkiru said...

i tap in her testimony God will do it for me too blcos the world will tell a positive story about me and family IJN. Amen! this life is nt easy but if u know God and also determined u will make it.

Thank God for her life.

One way or another you got preganant? My dear na only one way oh...lol. Thank God still for ya journey.

Cynthia Iyede said...

What a touching story. So happy for her. God that remembered u will do So for me too n every1 who desires it IJN

Wao!!!. Happy for her

How can you curse someone years ago that he won't be greater than you in life, mention that you have forgiven him and also say you don't know his level now. No matter how much people offend us, we should have a good heart, pray for them and wish them well in Life. I would have appreciated if he had said, I have forgiven him and hope he was able to live the life God had planned for him. Some Nigerians though... I can't understand our kind of culture...

David Iyke said...

Not a role model for growing girls period!

Is she trying to encourage teen s to carry belle?

I alspo cursed the guy who dated me for 5 years and went ahead to marry someonelse, causing me so much pain and heartbreak

Some men deserve to be cursed......................

alaanu titilayo said...

Xo happy for her

good for u.. patoswife@gmail.com

I"m also loosing hope nw cos I fink I"m pregnant..my parents are pastors and I'm so concerned abt ow it will affect dem..it was all a mistake and we both regretted it I knw he wnt deny it but I'm scared..dunno where to start from..I av cried and prayed for my period to come but it is nt and I dnt av anybody to tell..I'm scared to hell..

The first job i had in my life was being Hon. Adijat's PA. I was 11yrs old. lol. Such a beautiful heart. My Boss, I remain Loyal o

hmmmm!is it just me or does this story NOT add up

mimi said...

ermmmmmm NOO!!!! she is not a bad role model for girls. Infact her honesty will help a lot of girls who have fallen in the same situation by giving them hope as well as deter young girls from acting irresponsibly. we need more honesty from our leaders. not everyone or woman for that matter will have the courage to come out and say this. we must recognise that what she is trying to achieve(at least i hope so) is to encourage pple that it doesnt matter what your past is, you can rise again with God on your side. SO NO!! SHE IS NOT A BAD ROLE MODEL SHE IS A "REAL LIFE" MODEL shearing how she overcame the obstacles of life. xo

Loooool

Amen dear I wish you well IJN believe god

Very inspiring.... Lovely story no doubt...

Its easier said when u are not the victim imagine how she felt in 1992

Wat a transformation... Am happy she got d oportunity

YOU ARE A STRONG WOMAN AND I ADMIRE UR STRENGTH. GIRLS OF TODAY WILL USE WHAT U WENT THROUGH AS EXCUSE TO BE ON THE STREETS. BUT YOU DEFILED ALL ODDS AND TODAY GOD HAS BLESSED YOU.

Am sure your father broke someone else's heart...its called karma n its a b***h.

R u sure u r not d one who impregnated her years ago???dis ur comment is suspicious cos any very young poor lil naive girl will feel devatated by d father of her child's irresponsible actions&will course d man as pained as she wulda been den,so expecting her to behave like a very mature woman wuld av done years aga is heartless of u!moreover she said she has now forgiven d stupid irresponsible man!!If u r d Useless man who impregnated her as i suspect cos of ur foolish talk disguising under anonymous den go on ur knees&beg God fervently for forgiveness else God will not forgive u for taking advantage of a lil young naive girl even if she has!

Anon 4:32PM, abeg quiet there. Firstly, she was young, and naive then, @SS1, she got pregnant as a teenager, d guy denies it, what were u expecting? That she shld pray 4 him then? Na true... secondly, when one is deeply hurt, u only thing u think of @dat time about d person that hurt u so badly is misfortune n ill luck, especially when u re young n naive. I have been there before n so I have a deep closure of where she was actually coming from. I had to spit to high heaven n cursed d man who made me feel so miserable @that time, but today it's a bygone issue, cos we re living our lives n time have struck away that pain. So it's safe to say I have forgiven d guy who almost ruined my life atleast I'm in a far better place. I know 4 sure that d law maker has gotten that closure that is why she says she has forgiven, though she doesn't know d level d man is as of today. Thirdly, when u hurt someone, it lingers for sometime b4 it fades away, no one is a super human that won't feel hurt, dejected n miserable during that period, so anon STFU, thia has got nothing to do with any freaking culture.

Happy she shared it so girls can beware. Well done for being open. However her story of triumph in adversity is very common in Nigeria. Hoping she changes lives and not fall prey to corruption.

This*

Mumu, talking rubbish, u dn runz her b4 abi??? Afi Anya Ikenga, spilling rubbish like a kid.

This God ummmm so wonderful marydanladi180@gmail.com

Easy for you to say. You to say. You were not in her shoes. Speak for yourself. She forgave him eventually and God blessed her for that. I appreciate her honesty. She is a living testimony.

Amen! Amen!

Wow interesting d Lord is ur strength

David are u this stupid, is ur life perfect? Go suck up d sun or get a life. Lucian says so.

jumi said...

What a foolish comment. I just had to reply.

jumi said...

And why? Because you are an egocentrical typical Nigerian man

You didn't know they were pastors b4 opening your legs? Ok what about the thing called "condom"?

FUNMINISTA said...

But mehn asewo na asewo.@ss1 u don start to dey fcuk.

You'll be fine, just trust in God. Take each day as a step to being stronger. You'll be surprised at the support you'll receive from your folks....Our parents love us no matter what our mistakes have been, just as our Heavenly Father shows us mercy. Be strong girl and trust in God for the strength you need to carry on.

What a touchn story

Touchin story...tnk God u neva gave up

*d cheerful 1*

she was a THOT.

Never give up.. #inspired

Mumu! Dats wat u ar

I love ur gele onyekababyface@gmail.com

Whether she aborted d baby or nt, God never stops loving us.

madam, please learn to keep intimate part of ur life secret cos u are a politician. dont let ur opponnents use dis against u. good luck

The moral is "fuck early and become somebody in life!

I guess you also started fucking while in SS1!

You regretted it or you enjoyed it??prayers doesn't bring out period my dear.I don't understand you o.

@funminista ur mouth no gud at all.haba.

ok

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

HALLELUYAH SOMBORI!!!!!

Who is she? The heading of the story doesnt give much detail. This has happened to millions of ladies all over the world. Dis she make her own name for herself, or was it husband influence???

Linda na wa for u self. Is it every story you carry from one soft cell evening news that u bring to ur blog?? You are even getting cold and lazy self.

Anonymous 9:00, u r a true Christian who u truly understands the doctrine of Christ. God's love is not conditional

Oh! U ar nw. A success,

And hope she has stopped sleeping around because the society is worse now than in 1991 when she wa in SS1?
And she is a politician now! Sleeping with party chairman. Wondering why she didn't share that part of the story.
Senseless story!

sugar! said...

U beta watch wat u r proud of..adijat is still very much a slut! Everyone in abk knws her story..like, who doesnt she sleep wit? Abeg leave mata!

unknown said...

Lmao! Cynthia Haba naa

Wow...she went thru a lot buh turned out great.. Oyindamolaharvey@yahoo.com

JNA$$ said...

When did u start urs?

Hey Linda, for those who can't seem to learn something from the story, they should check the dictionary for morals of the story.

Cynthia kama u r on point

ZeeZee said...

This is inspiring... God has a plan for us therefore weshould not be lazy - we should pursue our dreams

Hmmm... really! I thank d lord for ur life oo ..