Robin Thicke and Paula Patton separate after 20 years together | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 24 February 2014

Robin Thicke and Paula Patton separate after 20 years together

I'm truly surprised by this. I mean, there have been reports and photos of the singer messing around with other women but I thought Paula was cool with it. The couple, who have been together for over 20 years and married for nine, announced their separation today to People magazine
'We will always love each other and be best friends, however, we have mutually decided to separate at this time,' they told People in a joint statement.
The 38 year old actress and Robin, 36, began dating when she was 18 and he was 16. They have a 3 year old son, Julian. Just recently Robin said of their relationship, "We're pretty sure we've loved each other for a few lives.". Anyone surprised by this separation? Kinda feel bad for them...

217 comments:

1 – 200 of 217   Newer›   Newest»
mimi said...

I soooo saw dis coming

Good to hear that....the guy is really disgusting....all he knows is to flirt,kiss and disgrace himself in public while his wife is at home...if he truly love his wife he wont be doing that....nice decision..

Are you having problem with BBM version 8 on your Blackberry smartphone or having hanging or freezing problem with your Blackberry...no long story
Get solution Here

I saw that coming,she wasn't cool with his behaviour though she pretended to be.

wemimo said...

Better for them..wat kinda marriage is dat? Mtchew..

Is not news bcos every one knws that this is going to happen...... The relationship is so much fucked up that even when married, robin thick still flirt openly and paula patton engages in same act...... They didnt even show respect for their marriage....
***CURRENTLY IN THE SUN***

Happy seperation!

A woman will neva be happy with her man messing around. And by the looks of their joint comment they sound confused....

annonymous said...

WOW!!!can,t blive this,,they are so cool together

Fola said...

Sincerely they tried. 20yrs together, and married for 9 yrs! Woooow much beta than lots of celebs. Infact...Dem try well well.

Celebrity worst marriage........ They dont even deserve each other... They took the best way.....

Really linda u never saw it coming?

How many women can truely be kool with their husband messing with other women?

Well, that's weird. Good for them.

But nna mehn, this paula patton is such a beauty...... Her smile is one million.... Some men are just lucky but they dont knw.....

queen.blinks@yahoo.com said...

Too bad I love paula,so unfortunate they ended up this way, shes too good for Robin thicke A.k.a LADIES MAN!!

Omg really sad. Like both of them together but robin jeez women no go gree make he rest . The all want a piece of him. Fine boy na wahala ooooo

Fola said...

Linda, could a lady be cool with seeing her man, HUSBAND for that matter, messing with oda women? Naaaaaaaaaa.

Men! Why cheat on your partner? It hurts, especially when u re loved.

Fola said...

Sincerely they tried. 20yrs together, and married for 9 yrs! Woooow much beta than lots of celebs. Infact...Dem try well well.

Was this really a surprise? When you entertain infidelity/adultery/an open marriage, it was only a matter of time. These two obviously need Yeshua Ha Mashiach in their lives. Repent, and come under Him, as their banner in their marriage.

Thank God

sheila slim said...

Hmmm ow wud real husbands of Hollywood be lik now Paula tnk GOD u had d balls to do dix

Mystic Falls said...

They really looked perfect for each other,I just wonder why they will part ways after 20 long years ...am just pitying their cute son,he is the one going to suffer the most from his parents decission.

sad

bola said...

kokan aye mehn

Awwwwwww yyy

Candice said...

Noooo not my paula, can't believe they are separating please come back 2geda robin and paula love her crack voice oh my gosh

Awwwww 20yrs dts long ooo....sista linda bt ur amebo i swear na 16g lite oooo.....u dn pick up d gist sharpaly

im not suprised..it was about time..they were always messing around with other people so I did not see the point

Best frdz ma ass....diz madnx.hw could de do diz afta al d 3sum nd group bangin,I luv dem 2geda, *cryin* I ve 2 do 40dayz dry fastin so dey will b bck.paula ma ruv,ha!!!

It doesnt matter how long, but how well.Anyway they couldn't stand the heat

Felt same way too. How can a woman be happy with her man messing around. And by the looks of their joint comment they sound confused.

Proof that Uti Nwachukwu is gay: caught in bed with Lagos big boy Photos HERE

I have been expecting this one for a while now. E remain Beyonce n jay.

Not surprised !

Happy divorce in advance...where's d parri at?

surprised ke? when I no even know them.

Doctor Gaga™
Location Report: White House, Washington D.C.

Olivia Silk said...

She deserves so much better than him!!
He cant even sing!!!!

Nt surprised cos I saw it comin wth d whole partyn evrywik wth diff ladies....

before nko? the man will look for a woman that can hold him down. y would she let him get on like that ffs

Paula patton...lovely actress,didn't knw she was married to a douch bag like robin thicke....love ur acting anyway....especially in the movie "jumping the broom"......#stillinshock...GOODLUCK JONATHAN

best opinion said...

omg nooooooooooo

Normal thing

i blame Robin Thicke...white man who is now getting famous and moving around with all them black guys...it's getting to him...all the sex and fame...

Apinex said...

After 20 good years,una seperate,how come una stay 2geda dat long? Anyway both of them dunno wat they want(confused set of humanz).... Apinex

My Man tho

Soul said...

I feel horrible. Dang. Maybe it would have worked if they weren't celebrities and don't have their indiscretions on page 6 every other day. Oh well.

Oma said...

My best couple

Oma said...

My best couple

Whatever next pls... no be open marriage/relationship that they had before

Oooh sad

sweetchyj2000 said...

All thanx to Miley Cyrus.

Only a. Fuckard wld be surprised! Aw cn any woman be. Cool with her man flirting and sleeping with every woman regardless of open marriage.....TORRES

HM! OPEN MARRIAGE WAS'NT WORKING ANYMORE? TSK TSK.....

She will be off the market in a jiffy. He should know how many guys are dying for him to screw up so they can join that bandwagon.

It's obvious, that their stardom is on the rise cause for the better part of 20 years they were together they worked at been celebrity now they have arrived (known names) they don't need each other.
My 2 cents

Hmmn

Robin u mess up.

The price of fame

Nothing lasts forever in Hollywood, soon the institution of marriage would no longer exist!!! Generation of bastards!! Inglorious bastards!!!!whizman

kidykuz said...

Dats y I always advise we celebrity meanin cebrity lyk me...nt to get maried to ourselfs

KUCHI said...

not surpirised one bit oooooooo...i still told my friend they'll divorce 2 days back.

Wow... how awful

How awful

Iya e!

kaychi said...

Hollywood, are youhappy now

constantine said...

Why wnt dey separate wen dirs was an open rship?! Mscheeeeew. "Farts"

He was 15 not 16 when they met and the son is 3 & half not three....and besides how can you THOUGHT she was okay with the messing around?? Name she tell you that one...hian.

Robin overplayed his hand. He took his lack of respect for his wife public. And she couldn't bear it.

I saw this coming.no lady can eva be cool wit her man messing around

20 happy years

Wow 20 yrs 2geder & married 4 9 yrs out of dat!!think it was d pressure of his renewed fame wit his hit song & d fact dat dey had an open marriage(stupid idea in d 1st place)sad really sad!

This is sad

The.real.Presh said...

Truly Sad for them... they have come such a long way so why mess everything up now? I tire for these Hollywood peeps o!

constantine said...

Just passing

Both of them are on cheap drugz

Liked the idea of them together
Bad Break

Kamto Haf Tok

Not surprised at all! Hollywood does that even to the best of marriages and the only way to escape it is to step back from the limelight. And who wouldn't expect it, especially with all the Robin Thicke mess in the media! That sh*t gets to you.

haters-slayer said...

hmmmm! The man is fresh,nah dis type i dey like.

Mrs Funke Aremu. said...

Divorce on the case of infidelity is allowed. Next story.. And please on the ONYX GODWIN case as earlier stated. Our team @ Anti-gay enforcement agency here in Lagos is willing to help anyone who has gay history as we have seminars and educational guides on how to becone transformed.. Let's fight against this satanic act as it is not in our African heritage. Thank you

Come linda. Why you no wan tell us. About sochi.olympics.where people have sex. Any were.on the roads,in the restaurants,any where .it call sochi olympics.live sex.you don't. Need a room to do it.or you no like sex.

suzydiva said...

"They will b lost without each other", too bad they had to part ways after having lived their lives together for dat long... But Robin can b singing all those emotional songs and still b measing round, Robin practice wat u preach "Lost without you"

SaphicDerrida said...

Nothing ever last forever

Yeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah this calls for celebration!! Another Reason To Pop Champagne..

..[EMI O TUSH OH]
.JUST
[Mischevious And Naughty]
>>My Comment Moderation Disabled<<

Awwwww..they look so Cute together

She was too good for him, I loved her in "jumping d broom"

Dee Tee said...

it seems celebrities are now in the season of defection. separation and what again? hmmm
...#NewsBlist

Hmmm na wa o

katrina said...

I'm not surprise

~Medusa~ said...

Kevin Hart over to you... wish them the best hopefully this might make Robin sing another version of "Lost Without You"

whizzev said...

nt api hearin diz

Awwwww! Yh I really do feel bad abt deir separatn

Toyeen Alimi said...

I truly did love them...they were the ideal hollywood couple. Will miss seeing them together

One word- Miley Cyrus!

Wow, surprised

Gentlemeko said...

They try shah.It's not easy for celebs to live 2geda.

MINTO said...

Finally,i stand a chance. Hehehehehe. I can dream shey? Started crushing on him when i saw him on #Kevinhart's real husbands of hollywood. Newaiz they'll eventually work it out. If not,its a win win situation. The babe is hawt and very much marketable. She'd score herself a good man.

Linda, don't you have news on couple who are happy and have grown old together, stop putting fears in the minds of gentlemen and ladies joor..use your blog to teach people how to make their marriage or relationship work; not frighten them up.

Me and my babe argued about this forth night ago, I told her this relationship may end soon...

King Fahad said...

Surprised??? I saw dis one coming cos robin has overstepped a long time ago. It was long overdue happy separation Paula

Awon Stephen Oshi said...

Not bad. Open relationships must be the way forward because they lasted way longer than normal couples.

For the first time I ‎​​A̶̲̥̅♏ feeling pained by a break up/separation...pls these two shud stay together,I like them that way! Mtschew,vexed!

Ooops

Igor said...

They looked happy together,but this is Hollywood where anything can happen.

In Hollywood no surprises.

La'Veee!

That's wat an open marriage can do to a rshp

Too much fame causes separation. His blurred lines made him so recognized n she's been doing alotta movies lately. Both of dem feeling they wanna test waters now.

With Robin recent paparazzi ? It sure was long time coming ....i wish em all the best

#daveydave

They sure had their reasons!

Awww, I love this chic. Eya, I wish her the best. I don't feel sorry for the guy, he is so randy. She try sef.

witches Don said...

I don't understand why everyone is saying celebrity marriage don't last? What's the difference between them and the average person who is not a celebrity? All over the world marriages won't last anymore. Get it into your head. Our generation is the new DIVORCE era. Marriages won't last anymore up to 30years. Infact 5years na LUCK

Essential matter this!!!

Yeah from their youthful days till nw shaa una try where is d seperation party holding

Alotta Niggas were secretly wishing for this. #kevin hart. Hehe

tahtah said...

We will always love each oda bla bla bla if I hear.

A.A.O said...

Badoo of Ajegunle you are just a very stupid idiot with your silly comments always. Rejoicing at people mishar. Stupid idiot

They said they'll alwayz luv each other, if true then y separate?

So sad. Must they always separate? Whatever happens to forgiveness, kissing and making up? Then they'll release that foolish statement of loving and being friends. Mwiuuuuup!

OMG!!! They were my favourite celeb couple :(

Hmmm shit happens...on to the next one...life's too short...

Y shld I feel bad?they even tried sef.

Why?Why?Why oh why?! Bt if de feel dats best 4 dem,wats my own inside d matter? Bt I think d best for all dese celebs is to marry a non celeb,d union wil sure last longer aldo its nt a guarantee esp if de mess around openly..................VivOtex

Wow! I am so shocked! They love each other anyone can tell.eya! Wish they can reconcile

Robin has been flirting everywhere..... and i think the one that spoilt everything was with that 20year old girl
it gets served this way

candygirl said...

Lol always knew all that "I don't care I love and trust"my man atittude is all BS!she's human she can't be cool with all that ass grabbing etc..well I kinda don't feel bad,its more like I told you so!hahaha sue me ;)

she even fine pass him sef. she has no worries. sure there is a long line of men waitin

Nkitalas celebrities are the worst people on earth

I'm nt happy @ all.I luved dem 2geda.so sad

Are you kidding me?
I'm perplexed!!!
Thought they were too cool to separate.

CELEB said...

Its cos of them blurred lines. Robbie is lost. Hope he will c clear now!

Opelicious Morgann said...

Wow!!! Guess the love finally faded....so sad that marriages these days don't last. But by Hollywood standards, they really tried! However I kinda wished they tried harder.

Not surprised at all.

I wonder how this pple find it very easy let go of some1 they love...smh.all they say is that they want to be happy...it's well

majalah45 said...

Celebrity in the best

I'm Surprised ooo!! Shuuuu! All dis pple sef

I wonder how this pple find it very easy let go of some1 they love...smh.all they say is that they want to be happy...it's well

SalmaLena said...

Really surprised....thought they were awesome together....Paula is hot though

Knew it was gonna happen, with all d women flockin arnd Robin

nekkyville said...

Hmmmm..na wa oh.afta so many years,how do dey both begin????pracTically dating frm childhood. N nw u av issues.cudnt dey work tins out?

JhoJho said...

I saw this coming

Queen.C. said...

i feel bad too

*Eyaaaaaaa, 20yrs of being together en 9 yrs of marriage..its not easy though..dey really tried. Wish dem d best*
Asa Julie UC

Robin! Paula! Una no gree dey well abi?

-Blunt Ibo boy-

Pretty couple! Why the separation? Looking @ you both, your marital life should be excellent.

eeh yah

Linda no woman will be cool with her man messing around with other women, the man no dey try at all.

WOW soooo sad

I am not surprised. With the way Robin was behaving, it was only a matter of time. I mean, open relationship or not, he should have at least, been discreet with his ashawo behavior. Paula might have been cool with it initially but I guess she's finally had enough. She can find someone better!! **kween**

Eyaaaaaaaa , why na ?

Chidimma said...

Hmmmm! No comment

Chidimma said...

Hmmmm! No comment

Awww d guy should come my way, he's cute n d lady to bona's way.

Am sure dat hollywood short dude would be smiling now dat he can have paula.

PRETTYSILVIA said...

But linda why are u suprised.wen they began doing this open relationship tyn I knew somtyn will soon go wrong.no matter how free they are with eachoda in their relationships somtyn will go wrong.they need d seperation though nd den they can. Decide if they want to stay together or split.

@edDreamzYou are a fool, cuz u av never kept a relationship dat has lasted even a year.. Idiot!!!

Shakira said...

Robin thicke is a very handsome man,d guy looks so cute so what does she expect,its not his fault cos ladies r d ones running after ur hubby so u r very stupid 4 divorcing ur husband,women will neva learn

atterol said...

OMG!!! They seemed like the perfect couple...sad

Trust me, he'll be back. Paula Patton is too beautiful for words!

Jolof Hearts said...

this is good news for kevin hart

Everybody wanting to be on their own hmmm, bible is fulfilling it prophecy

mimi said...

no surprise here. no woman can be truly happy seeing her man groping other women especially in public. such disrespect!

Yakno said...

They rilly look good 2geda....but it gets to a point u can't bear some things anymore no matter how hard u try..20years they rilly tried

OMG crying my eyes out....... Luv them both

Naija babe said...

Why should i be surprised? Do you really think there's anything like an open marriage? There's no such thing like it my dear. Love in itself is JEALOUS. It is only when you dont love somebody dat you'll be prepared to share him or her with other people. Nobody wants to sit and watch his or her partner mess up with another person most especially before the whole world.
If a woman finds out her husband is cheating but does not know the person, she will be pained but will still remain in her husband's house. Trouble starts when she put a face to the other girls name. The mind has a way of controlling our emotions.

How can you be surprised? It is Hollyweird. I wonder if she will now play fully for her team.

Oooooh! What a sad sorry, they look so good together! OMG!!

Why nah I love dem together n robie is a good singer, but dis separation is not real, cos they said they loved each other so one day they will defo come back

Awwwww

Harnikky said...

They tried together buh they are not suppose to separate cos they can still make it work if they want to! All the Best in their separate ways.....

Not surprised one bit! They look good together but not meant to be together till death. I've gat love for Robin but come on, wha' kinda man goes around flirting with other women regardless of whether their marriage is open or close? Tot Will and jada share d same school of thought but none of 'em go about flirting and flaunting nah. Paula deserves berra.

Yeah it's been a long time coming....not surprised at all.

I've bn xpectin dis

M shocked dey looked perfect 2geda...I pray d seperation doesn't last

I'm very surprised and pained too! Regardless of Robin's stunts, they had a pretty good relationship. Hollywood and its surprises

How are u surprised for goodness sake? He was messing around how long do you think she could put up the "we cool like that façade"
abegi

It's an urban myth for women to genuinely look away from their husband's escapeds with other women ... #Smartclown

Capt. Planet said...

Truth is, it was never going to work being more of friends with benefits!! Eventually! And this is coming from one who has experienced this

Capt Planet

it all started from a twerk by miley cyrus

PaulaPattonProf said...

Mschewww. Success can cause failed relationships sha. All dis while wen he looked like white trash b4 blurred lines wen he was Δ one hit wonder they were together o. One platinum album and he thinks he's d king of the world. BS. Good riddance. He's an old pervert anyways. Paula is facking hot so she'll even rebound before he has time to hook up wiv anoda call girl. Shikena.

I knew it wld happen wen he was twerking with miley.

Not surprised.... We saw that a mile(y) away.....!! Paula hun,you should hv waited for additional one year....10yrs is a big figure for spousal support, mr blurred lines would hv paid through hs teeths....And am happy for their seperation,she deserve an upgrade...#cheezyjayne

I loved dis couple oh...*sad face*

sdoT said...

Come baby, come to maama.. yur arm is all I've been yearning for.

Well linda! Not really u kw I told u b4 they wr in an "open-relationship" #anyone can go out and blow# but the truth is no matter how civilised u may claim 2 be,it gets to a time u just get tired and wana really 4get civil nd speak ur mind.....am very sure the woman asked for divorse

OMG!WOMAN said...

Hmmmn! Though I didn't see this coming, but that marriage was just something else, I think paula is done lieing to her self, pretending she's not hurt when he's messing around, worst thing to do is to act like she was cool with those, sticking around a man for all those years, you're bound to feel hurt, deeply hurt, I guess that's as far as the deceit can go.

â„“̊ have always said dis ....God gave oyibos almost everytin but took away relationship and marital endurance from "em ......
Na dt part Africans come be ogbonge ...u go dey hear .."join us as we celebrate 50yrs of marital bliss......Jenifa Lopez would see such and shout, "are u freaking kidding me ?....
#umu Africa na - enwe endurance jaree

WAMISAUCE said...

Are you kidding me? My girlfriend and I just commended them few weeks ago on how the have kept their marriage...sad!

Hi dearie ..me ÈŠ̝̊̅Úª stil feelin u lik mad. Muahhhh :)
#Crush.com

Topebrass said...

Ehya....

BOOTYLICIOUS said...

well there is still hope... separation not divorce thank God. sometimes separation is needed in a relationship

That's what happens when couples tries to act smart in their relationship and calls it"open marriage"

D woman try sef, I mean check out thicke's videos

I saw it coming! Even wit the open marraiage tin Robin's own was too muc! No woman can be cool wit her man grabbin assets around.

why wont they seperate? When the guy luv women that wears panties and bra, he cn neva do without a woman, but y seperating now? Didt she knw bfore she agree to marry him? Ashi ashawo

Mumu wat do u know?

Aaaaw... I'm pretty sure dese 2 love each other unconditionally, dey probably wanna try new things after 20yrs togeda

Mumu wat do u know?

Nawa
Ds celebs,making marriage scary
Convent and seminary shld be the way forward.....hehehehe

Sally Rue said...

Really sad about this separation. Always thought it was so cute of them to have been together all this while.

SLEEKREEK said...

Watever rocks dia boat....

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 217   Newer› Newest»